Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Antico Borgo San Martino 3 stars

Località San Martino, 56046 Riparbella, Italy

#12 of 20 hotels in Riparbella

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 765 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool doesn't work, reception is working on strange time and not available at all times.

    Great Tuscan hotel with safe private parking, located on the beautiful place with a lot vineyards and olive trees. Free wine tasting in few wineries for hotel guests. Breakfast was very good and lady who works in restourant is very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In low season the location is a bit isolated and it is not possible (restaurant in the complex is close in low season) to find an open restaurant at walking distance Wi-Fi a bit erratic Be aware In low season the swimming pool is closed and also the bar and the restaurant

    The complex is in a large park and is well kept and has a nice open air swimming pool Relatively good quality breakfast buffet Easy to find location Personnel is friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool needs attention

    Great views, good breakfast, friendly helpful pool bar/restaurant staff. We had a problem with our car and reception called local garage and translated for us and it was fixed. Outstanding customer service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is extremely small. The walls in the garden can be fixed a little bit, would be nice to see more flowers!

    The room was clean, free parking and good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the hotel didn't have air conditioning. The fan in the room was cumbersome and ineffective. The room was in dire need of a facelift ... This stay didn't offer value for money.

    The friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's the third time I stay in this property and there must be a reason, but it's not acceptable to spend 90 euros per night for a single room with no air conditioning in August...

    I like the location, facilities, style of the rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty rooms, unhappy staff, old facilities, pool is dirty and falling apart, inner pool is closed and for 10 euros just on the weekend. Rooms are not equipped as they are stated on booking.com...

    Nothing. It has potential but not in the hands of these managers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived with the car, the reception is not well indicated. Greeted very coldly. Given 2 rooms floors apart and we were a family with a child. One of the rooms had the bathroom for disabled, with molded shower curtain, stained wc and more. Poorly illuminated. The frigobar had only water, and was placed on the floor (and not inside its cabinet). The furniture overall was old and poorly maintained. No A/C, just a noisy old fan and 35degrees outside. We asked for another and after a lengthy discussion got an upgrade. The breakfast (included) was below average, and nothing was typical or representative of the country. Bread was the industrial frozen one, as well as the croissant. Industrial jams, honey, no Nutella or cookies. Even the salty part was obviously lacking quality (ham, cheese, salame). Maids were screaming at each other. Pathetic. Was definitely expecting more for my money.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was of poor quality and selection. Our room didn't have air conditioning and with outside temperature of 40 degree I let you imagine. They sell pool access on Groupon than it might be that you don't find a sun bed at the pool.

    Nice location and nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WC water tank not fixed while we were there, only faking a fix. Had to use the shower for cleaning. Also there was a door communicating with another room so we heard our night loving neighbours as they were in our room. Very turbulent nights. Also no mosquito nets forcing us to keep the window closed the evening and the night.

    A very nice property and nice villa. Pool also was very appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very helpful and our dinner reservation request was forgotten about...luckily they had space for us anyway. The breakfast was disappointing eg. Tinned fruit, no toaster & fake croissants.

    The pool is a good size and restaurant and bar were fairly decent value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the beds become in line with the rest of the accommodations it would be close to a superior stay. Example look at Box spring matrasses like Swiss Sense or similar

    Nice buildings in a quite Toscana area. Nice swimming pool and reastaurant. Prices are acceptable Buildings are very clean !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maybe monotonous breakfast. It is more adapted to the Italians, who like pastries and sweets for breakfast. We lacked vegetables, omelet, bacon.

    Great ambience, large, comfortable and clean room (superior), nice staff, especially reception. It was pleasant to be there... location, nature, environment... everything. Value for money!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very very noisy in the morning one cannot sleep. The staff was rude, at least at the restaurant

    Well the hotel was a tipical Tuscany house... really nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon. Pool only had access via one ladder-no integral steps for those less mobile. Restaurant food wasn't great.

    Our lovely room was situated in the grand main building. Spa facilities, staff and treatments were excellent. Good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was a bit basic with no choice difference each day

    All the staff were friendly and helpful from reception staff through to bar staff and waitresses. The pool was excellent. You were not ripped off with high prices and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was mediocre. The check-in was a challenge, as we did not receive the room, we had booked and the hotel was full. Called Booking.com customer service and after 1 hour the problem got solved. However I will never return to this place, I cannot recommend it.

    Nice big pool The room we eventually got and has booked from the beginning was nice. The restaurant was nice and had good selection of food. Staff was very nice over all at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, shabby towels with chewing gum (pictures), very rude staff. It's not agroturismo but few hotels with one swimming pool and one breakfast room. This stay was the worst time in the Toscany. Don't go there!!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place feeling was a little cold, maybe some carpet could help

    Food was good, the restaurant and the breakfast as well, and the cats :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To remote. No a/c. Food wasn't great

    Clean rooms. Peacefull. Pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to buy coffee, snack or drink during the afternoon, everything closed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The younger staff was NOT good at english, so we had many misunderstandings when we ordered something in the restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of anything not to like about this hotel.

    Very friendly and helpful staff; clean rooms; good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No balcony/terrace to our room

    Lovely setting. Good value for drinks. Food excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning not standard. Nothing else.

    Big parking, nice swimming pool outside, kind staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice pool area, and good value in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    noisy air-condition

    Swimming pool Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No airconditioning.

    A quiet place. Very nice "old" building. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found it hard to find and GPS could not locate but we got to see the local countryside It's just off a roundabout ...but easy to miss

    Beautiful bedroom Happy pleasant welcome Very nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Don't book here if you are going to the teatro del silenzio!!! It's too far away. I booked here because Booking says that laiatico is 19 km away but it isn't. .. It's at least 35 km of very bad country roads.

    Beautiful place with lots of facilities. Nice to be able to have breakfast outside. Great pool.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wireless network was not available for all the time. When reported the staff said that there was a problem, but it has been never resolved. The coverage of mobile network was very weak. This was not a problem for me because I was on holiday, but it could be annoying if you are in Antico Borgo San Martino for work.

    The location is super, with a big parking lot.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Benessere

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Benessere

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No airco in a hotel in tuscany

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great, we willl certainly return!

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All breakfests (we stayed for one week) were all the same, coffeee automat was pertly broken

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Antico Borgo San Martino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: