Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Antico Borgo Etneo Agriturismo

Via Calatabiano Pasteria, 8, 95011 Calatabiano, Italy

#1 of 15 hotels in Calatabiano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 293 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The agrotourism is wonderful. Surrounded by olive trees and fruit trees. Breakfast is fantastic, freshly picked oranges, homemade cakes, homemade jams. All delicious. Very friendly staff! The dinner we booked one night was delicious tasting sicialian cuisine. We really had some very nice days. It is very close to Taormina. I recommend this agrotourism is an authentic rural tourism experience!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little scanty and very poor WiFi connectivity in the room. Property is located next to a highway so not that quiet.

    The room layout and surrounding gardens is well kept and beautiful Good location to visit Taormina and Giardini-Naxos.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the highway and railway station was close, it could be heared at night

    very nice agroturismo nice garten, very nice old house comfortable rooms with nice equipment very kind owners

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road is close and you can hear a little sound. Was not a problem for me, but might be for someone who cares too much about it.

    Breakfast and dinner (available on Saturdays and sometimes on Mondays) were excellent. The room was clean, nice and stylish. The territory around is full of trees and even features a small playground. Overall great value IMO - the price is really discounted at the same time!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms may be a bit noisy if you are sensitive as there is a highway near by

    very friendly staff wonderful atmosphere nice enthetic building Inside plantations wonderful view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not aware that it was so close to the highway and thus a bit surprised of the unfortunate noise level. But there is nothing the owners can do about it.

    We would have a lot of reasons to recommend Antico Borgo (proximity to train station, to mount Etna, villages, contact to nature....) but above all we highlight the warm welcome and disposition of employees and family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As everyone else mentioned, the austostrada noise is quite constant. This can be annoying, maybe more in summer when you want to leave the Windows open. Other than that: a little Paradise!

    Wonderful room with sunrise and seaview. Nice and friendly hosts, beautiful and exceptional property with orange and lemon trees to have a walk and enjoy. Very tasty breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was right next to the main road so we could here the noise of cars and lorries all night. No wonder the hotel is closed over winter as it was very cold, luckily though we did have reverse aircon in the room so we had a bit of heat. The towels were quaintly old fashioned but useless and the children's beds were very hard.

    The staff were extremely helpful. The views of the sea and Mt Etna were lovely and walking through the lemon and orange trees was a treat. The breakfast room was amazing and as we were there on a Monday, the staff very kindly organised great pizza to be delivered from a local restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect except the noise

    Lovely farm stay. Gorgeous rooms. Very friendly staff. We were very sorry about the constant noise from the adjacent highway and train tracks. I feel bad writing this because it's really not anyone's fault. We were in the two bedroom apt. Maybe other rooms are quieter. If you are not a light sleeper this agritourismo is a wonderful choice. We couldn't sleep well and checked out after one night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location of the property is less than 50 m from busy highway and therefore very noisy

    very cosy place, friendly staff with nice rooms and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was located opposite the Autostrade leading to noisy night, the walls thin in room 15 leading to disturbance early hours from other guests leaving and voices and activity could be heard clearly. Restaurant closed after a long day driving we had to venture out again.

    Receptionist very welcoming upon arrival, grounds very nice surrounded by Orange and Lemon trees. Only when we had wifi at the hotel had we realised that we had received driving instructions...very important as Google maps places you on the autostrade!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to carry our luggage through a flight of stairs to get to our room however most rooms can be reached with the car.

    Host was very nice and helpful and even offered us a cool drink upon arriving. Bedrooms were spacious and clean. The agriturismo is beautifully kept and had plenty of fruit trees with which they make their own jams and juice which were served during breakfast. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Espectacular views and lovely garden. Each room has its own terrace and very cozy decoration. Everything was perfectly clean and the facilities are kept in good condition. Good Sicilian breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hire a car or just dont be in a rush! If you don't have your own transport,you are a little stranded as you can only rely on the train which only goes every 1.5 hours into taormina and only from 9am to 6pm coming back - there is only one late direct train at around 4 and after that one train at 8:45pm that requires changes. But you can plan your day around it.

    The setting is really amazing! The view of the sea on the one side, perfect view of Mt Etna on the other and trees of lemons, pears, oranges, mulberries the works in between at this ancient farmhouse. Nice and tranquil to come back to after the busy taormina. I will definitely book again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * Mosquito, just be ready for it. Stuff provide in room mosquito electric killer

    * Very kind and friendly host. Salvatore will explain you everything about Etna, just ask him * Great location, close to Taormina (25 min by car) and also nice base to visit Etna. Object is located nearby orange and lemon orchards * Room are very nice, clean and specious in old traditional farmhouse style * Breakfast was more than delicious, lots of choice, homemade cake and croissants, orange jam, freshly squeezed orange juice. All things are made from local product. * Wish to stay longer

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would really prefer to have towelling towels, not linen (like big tea towels). Bed quite hard.

    Lovely setting in a little farming area surrounded by fruit trees. Antique furniture in the rroms was a nice touch. Breakfast with farm fresh jams and juices. Views of Mt Etna from some rooms but our room just backed on to a small courtyard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom design is not great. The shower is so small one cannot bend down to pick up soap etc, and there is no holder for it on the wall inside. The basin toilet and door are also arranged so that ingress/egress is a little hampered, but otherwise bathroom is good. Also a little annoying that you have to specify an arrival time beforehand to meet staff at the property, otherwise you won't get through the gate.

    Beautiful location 5 mins walk from a small village on a citrus farm. Old rustic style buildings but well equipped and comfortable. The breakfast is amazing, including home made citrus cake, jams and marmalades and fresh orange juice. Our staff member Francesca was very helpful and made herself available at the property with short notice after we changed our arrival plans. Amazing value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant sadly closed on weekdays. Enjoyed the restaurant a lot on a previous visit.

    Nice grounds so one can have a nice morning walk with a view of Etna.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything.Very nice and clean room. Breakfast was delicius. Good location to see Taormina and Etna. We took Etna tour with Salvatore and it was a good decision. We had wonderful day and learn a lot about the vulcano.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you are a light sleeper, you may hear noise from the highway. Breakfasts are Italian style, perfect juice from fresh oranges but no eggs or vegetables.

    Location is perfect and the smell of citron flowers in the morning just amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit Noisy on the room...

    The situation is perfect, surroudings is beautiful. Wonderfull dinner !! Available in a gluten free version. Lovely hosts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big noise from the motorway which is very close this is opposite of the purpose of the place, the garden little bit abandoned

    Very beautiful cosy rooms, very near to Taormina and Etna , very beautiful home made breakfast home made croissants and sweets option only for a weekend to have dinner in the same restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing find! my dad and i were incredibly surprised when we got to the hotel, everything from the view, bedrooms and staff was brilliant! the staff, specially Francesca was incredibly helpful and kind. The cakes served in breakfast were home made and delicious! I would definitely reccomend Antico Borgo to everyone, and will be coming back for sure. Thank you Francesca for your help and making us feel so welcome :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved to stay on Antico Borgo agriturismo, with a great view on the Etna and the sea. We enjoyed the dinner in the restaurant, the antipasti were delicious! The staff was very kind, they opened the restaurant earlier for our children!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner maybe🧀🧀🧀

    Outstandig place. Felt as if I was living in a convent 🌸 a peaceful place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing remarked

    Very nice and very clean and wonderfull

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely location and mansion, great for relaxation. We would definitely like to come back! Great staff, thank you very much for everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We missed the special local dinner, which we regret.. We were very pleased with the assistance/information provided for the Etna tour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy in the night due to the main road traffic

    Marvelous agriturismo

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra delicious breakfast, very beautiful nature and stunning views to mountain Etna and to the sea. Helpfull and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the beautiful room, views, gardens, atmosphere and dinner!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good accommodation. Away from the crowds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great place to stay clean and with a good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully remodelled country villa. The breakfast is excellent and served in an amazing space

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, clean, Natural

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The outlook towards Mt Etna was beautiful. The staff were amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Resteraunt only open Saturday

    Friendly staff good breakfast ambient surroundings

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    State of neglect in surrounding streets.

    Grand place restored in a magnificent manner. Fine detail into their food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nature.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice location. Amazing views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some traffic noise

    Everything perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price to high

    Help from the person who Assist us!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, very old traditional farmhouse, good breakfast , very nice staff. Wish to stay longer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather noisy surroundings with a motorway passing by.

    Good breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place itself is great, lady Maria, the owner, is a wonderful person.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only convenient if you have a car. No eggs at breakfast

    Beautiful, green, peaceful, wonderful Francesca. Big dinner, couldn't eat all the courses, so they charged us less. Francesca organized our trip to Etna immediately upon request, though it was late at night for the following day.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise from the motorway. I am asthmatic & was affected by the proximity to aforesaid motorway.

    The restaurant serves delicious Sicilian cuisine.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The cons are the mosquitos (which will be present in any farm/agriturismo stay in any case, just be ready for it), and the location is too close to the highway, which can be heard (but not so much from within the rooms). No wifi in the rooms.

    Excellent breakfast with homemade jams and pastries. A huge garden with fruit trees - picj and eat! Very friendly staff. The dinner was nice - the entrees much better than the main course though.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is only available in the public areas. Having said that, this has got its own good side.

    Antico Borgo is an amazing and very charming place to stay, close to the beautiful beaches inTaormina . It is run in a very friendly and professional manner. Astonishing breakfast. The room was quiet, nicely decorated, spacious and extremely clean. I would recommend this place and I will definitely come back!

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was just wonderful. So beautiful house and garden (kids eat fruits from the trees), great and helpful staff and the food! We recommend to order dinner in Antico Borgo, it was soooo delicious. They also arranged a guide for Etna trip for us - it was also great. Wish we could stay longer!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Lovely view of Etna from terrace. Coffee and tea tray in room, which is always nice. Good midway point to local sights. Nice, filling breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wonderful place, authentic, great location very close to Taormina, also great for visiting mount Etna, Catania or Siracusa. Superb breakfast, very warm and friendly staff and proprietors. Beautiful surroundings with big estate with orange trees and many kinds of flowers and trees.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very friendly staff could not be more helpful

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Unfortunately it is close to a highway, what can be very noisy

    Beautiful garden, fantastic food, nice hosts.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice and clean room. Everyday a delicious breakfast, and if you want dinner it is possible too. (for a good price).

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the only what can be mentioned is noise from motorway

    kind staff, nice garden with garden furniture, good location

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Just perfect

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Difficult to find the place, asked several locals to locate the place.. going back and forth with the rented car..

    Great nature, nearby beach..

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sounds from the highway

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Near a noisy road

    Lovely building and grounds with a super friendly host.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great welcomming from the owner

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Antico Borgo Etneo Agriturismo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: