Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Antico Borgo San Lorenzo

Loc. Pian Dei Campi 10, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy

#3 of 13 hotels in Poggibonsi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 67 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    The location is beautiful and historical, overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar and restaurant (Casa Bandini) were closed when we were there (except for the free breakfast included with our stay). We were very disappointed that the cost of the property wasn't adjusted for the fact that not all of the facilities were open. We stayed Wednesday night through Saturday morning, October 18-21. There was no advance notice that the restaurant or bar would be closed. Thus I gave a rating of not so good value for what we paid for our stay and there was no attempt by management to adjust the pricing. Also, we did not know there would be an additional tax that was added onto the cost of the stay (maybe our fault for not reading all terms and conditions). The location is down a gravel road, a little hard to find if it is dark.

    The location is beautiful and historical, overlooking the hills of Chianti region of Tuscany. Individual apartments in a old village setting, and quiet area of Chianti. Apartments are very spacious and clean. We were able to sit outside and overlook the hills from lawn chairs they had available. Kitchen had everything that anyone would need to cook meals if they wanted to. Beautiful pool, although we did not use the pool (water temperature too cold for us). Staff, especially at breakfast were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Cute place but not well run. Would choose differently next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is difficult to get to (two gps systems sent us in different directions) and not really central to anything. There is nothing to see in the town itself. The breakfast was sparse (although coffee was good) and the waiter was very angry at us for sitting at the wrong table even though nothing was marked to let us know we shouldn't sit there. He let us know more than once : / Also, they need more staff. Went in to office more than once and no one was anywhere to be found. Also, if you require wifi, definitely do not stay here. Does not work in rooms at all.

    The hotel itself is very unique. The weather was not very good for us so we did not get to enjoy the pool but it looked nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The seating area outside our self catering apartment was basic with no view.

    Location was perfect for exploring the area. The pool area and sun beds were luxurious, helped by the fabulous views across the Tuscan countryside. We ate once in the restaurant and both the food and service were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Relaxed and refreshed after our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gate in the pool fence should be kept closed for the safety of young guests.

    The private garden with view over the valley was a lovely place to eat. The pool was gorgeous and large enough that it was never overcrowded. even in the middle of a heatwave. The attached restaurant Casa Bandini served delicious food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    The staff were fantastic and only too happy to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Five-Bedroom Apartment (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I just wish there had been air conditioning in the 10-person apartment. Otherwise, it was fantastic!

    The staff were fantastic and only too happy to help. The pool was amazing, and everything was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Everything! The place was amazing . Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Our 2 bedroom farmhouse was spectacular! Views over the Tuscan hills from our terrace. Pool was lovely and grounds were beautiful. Perfect base for traveling around Tuscany. One of my best holidays. Was very sad to leave this fantastic farmhouse. We will definitely be back ! Thank you to everyone there for your hospitality x

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dark in the room

    Pool Restaurant Playground

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.6
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly. Great location and amazing restaurant!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.8
    Lovely tranquil hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful setting that was calm and quiet with very friendly staff. The restaurant food was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful location, privacy and warm welcome from the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Missing an information pack in our apartment, to help us get to know the house/ area.

    Restaurant being open, even when few other guests.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Great location close to many historic hilltop villages, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to many historic hilltop villages, good value restaurants in all villages.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.3
    Great place, huge pool with very nice view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Five-Bedroom Apartment (10 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety of the meny at the restaurant.

    Great place, huge pool with very nice view!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.6
    Place was just perfect.
    • Family with young children

    Everything was just great. The shower is not the biggest but that is very normal for Italy and did not bother us very much.

    Place was just perfect. We loved our stay very much. Staff was great, our little appartment just perfect for us and the fact that there is a restaurant available as well (which serves great food) gave my husband and myself the opportunity to 'go out' for dinner while our 1,5 year old was sleeping in the appartment. The beds are a bit hard but we actually liked it. The kitchen is vwry well equipped and we have enjoyed very much our terrace/ garden outside. The views are amazing and the place is very well located for visits in that part of Toscany (and recognized by our GPS so it was easy to find). The appartment was not the most modern (kitchen bathroom etc), but we did not mind at all. Everythibg worked, it was clean and it is all part of being on the italian countryside. We were there at the end of April so had nice weather but was a bit too cold to use the pool (which they were redoing anyway), so we did not use that. For us it was also vwry convenient that there was a laundry machine available. We just loved the place and were said to go. We would definitly come back here. )

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The apartment we were in was a little dark. The view from the windows was fantastic, but the windows were small.

    Breakfast was delicious. We also tried the restaurant for dinner and it was also very good. Service was fantastic, Lavinia was the perfect host.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Wonderful location, with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi wasn't great. But sometimes it's better not to be connected...

    Wonderful location, with great staff. They were super nice with our two (small) children.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.6
    Nice fully equiped appartment, very helpfull staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to do within walking distance

    Nice fully equiped appartment, very helpfull staff and owners. Simple but tasty breakfast, playground with swing, see-saw, tabletennis, pingping, etc

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.6
    Fabulous countryside apartment with incredible views out our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fabulous countryside apartment with incredible views out our bedroom window. Centrally located with easy drive to Sienna, Florence, and San Gimignano. Restaurant onsite was wonderful. Pool was great. Overall a lovely Tuscan experience!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    We absolutely loved the scenic views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi is a bit spotty, but it didn't bother us too much.

    We absolutely loved the scenic views! They upgraded our stay from a regular room to an apartment, which made our stay even better.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    9.2
    The location and the facility are absolutely beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi did not cover our apartment, called Girasole. In the areas where it was available, it was weak. For example, I wouldn't be able to send a photo via whatsapp. Breakfast buffet is not very good. For example, one day they only had one type if cereal, chocolate flavoured, which meant my husband couldn't have breakfast. Restaurant closed on Monday, they didn't tell us in advance. That gave us trouble in feeding our one year old.

    The location and the facility are absolutely beautiful. We travelled there in mid April, with our one year old son. It was a beautiful place for him to hang around and play. There is a children play area outdoors, and large areas covered in grass. I had chosen this place also on the basis of other reviews saying there were rabbits in the garden, but there weren't any to be seen. Location is convenient to visit Florence,Siena and the several fortified towns in between. Good value for money. I'd recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.2
    Location,view,clean room every day ,stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad quality wifi just one day

    Location,view,clean room every day ,stuff

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    Lavinia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No a/c

    Lavinia

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: