Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Antico Doge 3 stars

Cannaregio 5643, Campo SS. Apostoli, Cannaregio, 30131 Venice, Italy

#47 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 845 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Initially hard to find, but so is everything in Venice. GPS saved us.

    Location, friendliness of staff, accommodations, breakfast. Very nice spread for breakfast with wonderful selections and fabulous coffee. Felt very authentically Venice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, historic building, very nice breakfast, close proximity to water buses including airport line and vaporetto to Murano.

    Decorations, art, marble floors, very Venetian.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not particularly comfortable. The hostess recommended a private water taxi tour, which we happily took, except she didn’t mention that it was basically a nice ride around Venice without any commentary or guide. That was a bit misleading and disappointing.

    Amazing location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic building, very friendly and helpful staff, great location around Rialto and for arrival and departure from the old city, comfortable beds, very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was very quiet. Location was close to Rialto bridge and not far from San Marco. Reception staff arranged a water taxi for us at the end of our visit. Very comfortable place to stay and very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit noisy at night as near a lively little bar. We did sleep fine though.

    Hotel is excellent nothing to complain about. Breakfast great very fresh and enough choice. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were beautiful and clean, and the breakfast was delicious! The staff was incredibly nice and I will definitely return when I come back to Venice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi signal was poor, however didn't in the slightest stop us from having the best couple of days.

    Everything about this hotel got our stay in Venice off to an excellent start. From the detail and decoration of the building to the location being central to everything we wanted to see. Staff were approachable and very helpful when called upon, especially with transfers and restaurant recommendations when asked for. Perfect room for my wife and I, really did set the tone and the canal view was a pleasure to wake up to each morning. Will be returning and 100% recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel possition is just perfect. It is within walking distance from all the sightseeings. Good coffee, pancakes and lovely service. We were happy with our choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    €25 charge per day for babycot seems outrageous and a first in my experience. Especially since the hotel is offering a ‘free alternative’, i.e. the baby can stay for free if it shares a bed with parents, which is a bit gimmicky.

    Very nice hotel, wgood location, very spacious room & super clean. Good continental breakfast included in price. Overall very satisfied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Easy to get to from train station. Waterbus 1 to Ca´oro, and 5 min walk ( over 1 bridge). Lovely marble interior. Porter carried our luggage up the stairs. Also noticed they had a stairlift, if need be. Room was wonderful! Clean, stocked minibar, safe, a small desk, Gondola ride right outside Breakfast was ok. More cakes than actual food. Toast, yoghurt, croissants, fruit, enough to get by, but not amazing Also five min walk to rialto bridge ( you can take the ailaguna orange line to the airport from here ( takes 50 min cost 15 euros) 10 min walk to San Marco square Easy to go any where. Would definetly stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For our needs nothing could have been bettered.

    Having never travelled to Venice before we took notice of your hotel rating and it was spot on. The hotel is easy to find, ideally located and the staff were very helpful and made us feel very comfortable. We have recommended the hotel to several of our friends and we intend to make another vist either later in the year or early next year.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect.

    Friendly helpful staff, beautiful room, clean and well maintained. It was a special Anniversary and we were presented with a bottle of Proseco which was a lovely touch. Would definitely stay again next time we revisit Venice. The hotel was the residence of a Doge and the furnishings etc. evoke that era.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A spray was used in the room which I was allergic to but on request this was not used during the rest of my stay.

    The reception staff were very helpful and attentive, and helped to organise extra trips for us. A good continental breakfast with GF options available if ask ahead. There was no lift but the staff were happy to help me with my luggage

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find a fault. TV was a little tricky, but wasn’t a problem.

    The Location was perfect, couldn’t be easier to find your way around. The breakfast was exceptional, with every option you could imagine. Warm welcome from helpful staff. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was well equipped. Pleased we could adjust the temperature of the room!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints, other than the pesky mosquito that took a few lumps out of us.

    Room was large and very comfortable. Great location. What’s not to love about a selection of cakes and biscuits for breakfast?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room would get too hot with the air conditioning and would get too cold without it. The wifi was very poor. They charged my credit card the entire amount without confirming with me even though my booking said "card was used to only hold the booking"

    The room was good and the staff were helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints. It was nice.

    This hotel had a good location. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was our first visit to Venice and they helped tell us where to go. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Small hotel with historical feel and the proper Venice design. Big rooms, breakfast had all one needs in the morning, including coffee with the lovely lady in charge. Everything is walking distance. Easy to reach from airport by boat arriving at Fondamente Nove

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast choice in really very limited. SATERDAY WAS VERY BUSY IN THE SMALL BREAKFAST ROOM. I missed a cosey hotel bar.

    Beautiful authentic hotel. Used to be the home of a Doge. Very central. Leonardo da Vinci exposition closeby in a church. Nice small shops. Good restaurants. Walk to Rialto Bridge in 10 minutes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady who had her duty on breakfast on Tuesday, the 21st Nov, 2017! She was not only rude but also made us feel so awkward when I requested to take my breakfast to my room as my baby started crying. She could speak in English very well so it’s not that we misunderstood her. My experience with her spoilt my impression of the hotel.

    Vera!!! She was so amazing and warm and made our breakfast extra comfortable. We traveled with the baby and she was very accommodating despite not knowing our language.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the room was tricky to manage as the room was cold without it on and way too hot with it on.

    Lovely authentic hotel, good location. Great simple breakfast - special mention to the breakfast lady who did a fantastic job everyday!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wireless internet connectivity at the hotel is almost zero speed. So doing any work related tasks is impossible and tourist browsing and bookings need to b made in the breakfast room. I almost would not book this hotel again for this reason.

    Great central location, fantastic breakfast buffet selection and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a bit poor, the options of savoury were limited. Very noisy room if looking at canal. The mattress in the first room was better than in the second room. In the second room, the bed had slipped forward and our pillows would fell in between.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating, we went for the deluxe double with partial view of the canal but it was extremely loud, the windows look into a square that is very busy with tourists and the canal with boats arriving early morning for deliveries. We requested to change rooms and we were given a much better room, with no noise at all. We preferred a good night sleep over a partial canal view :) The location is superb, 10 mins walk to San Marco and literally to everywhere, Venice is small and felt we were very central to most places. The hotel was very clean and the facilities were good. They also helped us with the transfer from the hotel to the airport as we didn't book it in advance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was lovely, however the toilet obviously had a problem as the water just kept running... get the plummers in! Booked a superior double, supposedly with a street or courtyard view, but got a view of a lovely wall instead... I suppose the tiny alleyway could be described as a street in Venice? Still, I wasn’t in the room long enough to be bothered what I was looking at... and I had a lovely stay

    Breakfast was plentiful, and in a lovely ornate room... but the best bit was the lovely service, and made to feel very welcome! The location was perfect, so close to everything you could need... Will definitely rebook again on my next trip...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be more variety (e.g. different kinds of cheese or cold cuts, bread) for breakfast. Unfortunately there were not enough tables in the breakfast room.

    The rooms are just amazing!! Fresh fruit salad for breakfast. The staff was very very helpful when we tried to organize some wedding surprises for our friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice for this hotel to have a lobby to sit in to wait for friends or guests or just a place to sit. Also guests should know that this hotel starts up a floor and requires walking up about 20 stairs, which might or might not be important to some.

    This property is well located.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was excellent and staff very helpful. The breakfast was great with plenty to choose from before you head out to explore Venice. Close to many sites and great restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The a/c in the room was loud. Our two level room had a steep staircase - if you have any mobility issues you should mention when booking - they do have other types of quadruple rooms.

    The continental breakfast was excellent, pastries and coffee were outstanding, served by friendly, pleasant waitresses with prompt refills. Comfortable beds in the two level quadruple room with well appointed bathroom (strong shower, powerful hairdryer)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not so great in the evening.

    This is a beautiful hotel and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean and spacious. Wifi was good in the morning but not so good in the evening. The hotel is in a perfect location for restaurants, shops and Rialto Bridge. We loved this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't get a room on 3rd floor. A long way for my wife and I to haul luggage. VERY low ceiling. Bed is hard as slate and pillows flat as a pancake. The staff was nice except the man that checked us in, in evening. We asked for different pillows and he said the owner would not allow us any. We did get them the next day. He was more concerned about making a dinner reservation for us than the comfort of our room. The other staff we encountered were very nice.

    Breakfast was great! The woman (forgot her name) was very accommodating. She had us try different variations of coffee, espresso and cappuccino. Hotel is close to water taxi drop off spots. We had a great dinner next door at Trattoria Al Vagon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get into shower because the door was hitting the toilet and would not open all the way. Tiny night table. Front desk sent us to a glass sales showroom on Murano without telling us before hand. They said it was a free taxi to Murano, but it was a free taxi to a glass factory and showroom. Misleading. Also, There was no lobby, just a desk.

    Cleaning, bellman, and breakfast staff were excellent. Front desk staff - some good, some not so much. The breakfast room was very beautiful and the food was very good. Central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was fabulous, easy to find and very central. The staff were wonderful, taking care of our every request. The bed comfortable, the room very clean and the overall service was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few things there was no iron available we were told there was an ironing room and it was shut after 3pm and we couldn’t iron our clothes for Saturday night no one told us when we came earlier that day about this and the communication regarding this was very poor then they charged us ridiculous amounts to get our clothes iron the next day and my partners jumper came back and was still creased as was folded?! 30 Euro’s for that plus!!!! All hotels we have ever been with offer a free iron to the room Also we got bitten by mosquitos the first night and this was awful the ac wasn’t cold enough and the next day we found a mosquito spray in our room which helped but wasn’t pleasant to have as a hotel room Breakfast was ok not a great selection but had some tasty things

    Overall a beautiful designed and clean place to stay and great location with 15min walk to st marks square I looked at many properties and they were double the price in this region so value was reasonable but still quite costly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long day walking didnt like being on the top floor ... my poor knees!

    Continental breakfast was delicious with lots of choice, fresh and waitress was loveky and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit of a tight squeeze, but considering the age of the property, this absolutely to be expected!

    I think I had to pinch myself when we saw the interior of our hotel; in addition to being in a great location and quick access to so many sights in Venice, this hotel was a treat!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful hotel, location could not have been any better. Looking to re-book for go with my husband as traveled on a girlie trip with my mother and sisters. The only thing that I could possibly have a slight gripe about is that there are no tea and coffee facilities int he room however you could order these through room service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fantastic breakfast buffet with endless coffee! The location is excellent for the whole of Venice. The grand canal is only a two minute walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Loved this hotel, clean,tidy and very stylish.Staff were excellent and very friendly. I would most definitely stay here again with my family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We walked from the train station (about 25 minutes) and found out once we got to the hotel that there was a public water taxi that leaves the train station and drops off only a few minutes from the hotel. If I had done a little more research on my end, our 25 minute walk with 3 suitcases could have been prevented!

    The staff was extremely helpful in answering all of our questions about what was in the area and how to get to/from places. They upgraded us for free to one of their deluxe rooms. Very comfortable and cozy place to spend a night!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Antico Doge is an exceptional hotel, lovely premises, convenient location, breakfast options and cappuchino great, super friendly staff, especially the lady at the dinning area. Will definitely come back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To small bathroom. I wonder how heavier people mannage to shower. The breakfast is good but every day exactly the same. Only a cold boild egg, no other options.

    The location is very good..central, walking distance to Rialto, San Marco. Very friendly reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A stunning hotel in a great location with friendly and welcoming staff. A very Venetian feel with chandeliers and cushioned walls without being at all 'tacky'. Very classy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a ton of stairs and no elevator. The twin bed was very small.

    It was very pretty and looked historical. It had a water taxi stop directly in front of the property. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast could have been more varied and would have been nice to have a cooked option

    for a 3 star hotel i wasnt expecting much, yet this hotel by far exceeded my expectations with service and cleanliness on par with 5 star hotels. the rooms and communual areas were immaculately cleaned and maintained the silk lined walls and murano glass chandelliers everywhere made it feel very venetian

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Freshly baked pastries for breakfast would have been a plus.

    The hotel is beautiful and very well decorated and the rooms are fantastic. It has a great location and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The options for breakfast were quite limited.

    The location is perfect and the hotel is really beautiful!! The decor in the room is awesome (very Authetic) and the overall ambience is fantastic!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was far from the city center

    Classy room with royal ambiance. Good breakfast and nice staff. I asked the hotel for a specific room and they assigned it to me. They did not have a kettle in the room but they always availed hot water with a very nice serving set upon request. they also offer good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower room was a bit on the small side.

    The hotel is in a very central location and is easy to find by Venice's unique standards. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Having mentioned while booking that we were celebrating our anniversary we had the surprise to find a bottle of chilled Prosecco in the room on Day 2. Very clean, and good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was frugal and the staff in dining area was a bit curt and rude.

    Jewel of a property....excellent location...wonderful decor and ambience.The reception staff was very helpful , polite and friendly.Must visit place !!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We received a warm and friendly welcome upon our arrival. All of the personnel that we interacted with were very knowledgeable and polite. The hotel lobby, room, and breakfast area were super clean. Our room with the Murano Glass Chandelier was beautiful! Restaurant recommendations were very good - enjoyed Vedova - twice! Staff provided helpful information to us regarding our departure from Venice. Thank you kindly for contributing to my birthday celebration : ) and our enjoyable stay in Venice!!! K

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was average.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The decoration of the room was very beautiful. Very nice location; only a short walk to the Rialto Bridge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We would have liked the drapes to have been thicker to shut out the early morning light.

    This little hotel is a great find, tucked away off the Grand Canal, and fronts a smaller lovely canal. We booked a private taxi (from the airport) to take us to the water taxi that in turn would take us to the hotel. This was booked through the hotel. The private taxi never met us at the airport as promised, but you can walk to the dock from the airport to take your private water taxi, so that is what we ended up doing. The hotel gave us a discount then on our return private water taxi trip since we were not met at the airport. When coming to the hotel, the private water taxi can take you right to the door of the hotel, unless there are other boats docked out in front, and in that case they will drop you off on the opposite side of the hotel. You will then have to cross the bridge outside of the hotel, but the staff can send a porter to help you if needed. We booked the main suite in the hotel with the canal view and it was worth the extra money. Just standing out on the balcony and seeing how Venice operates on a daily basis without any vehicles on land is amazing. You can view the mail boat come in... Packages delivered... Groceries that come to restaurants... Trash pick-up... all via boats! A fascinating vantage point from your balcony on seeing how the average Venetian lives. We also did not find the noise too loud in our room that comes from the walkway outside of the front of the hotel. There definitely was some noise from outside, but it was not overpowering once the doors were shut and we are pretty light sleepers. The breakfast buffet was adequate and served in a beautifully furnished room. It was not the largest breakfast buffet we have been served in Italy, but it was not small by any means. There was a platter of fresh bananas, apples, and kiwis each day. Also, the fruit was cut up into a bowl, so there was fresh fruit, as well as some canned peaches.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi.... didn't connect most of the time. no elevator for luggage/very monopolized taxi service. We were given different fare prices for same trip. It would have been nice to have 1 English Channel to stay connected ... with current news .

    On canal..very quaint.. good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could complain about was the view from our room (110), which was just looking at the next door building, but it wasn't a huge concern. In fact it meant our room was very peaceful and quiet indeed. The price, while not great is pretty fair considering the location and levels of comfort in the rooms.

    The breakfast was very good. Room very comfortable, staff were very helpful and polite. The location is marvellous, being about 10 minutes walk from the Rialto Bridge and St Marks Square, right next to Strada Nova for shopping, and there is a square right outside with lots of food choices available too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is old and authentic to Venice. The beds are old and worn out but the bathroom had much newer facilities. No elevator.

    The staff was nice. The location was convenient to St Marks square and the grand canal. Great shopping and restaurants all around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no English channels on the TV. Not that I wanted to watch for hours, but did expect either Sky / BBC or CNN to be there for news. I switched between watching films I knew and guessing at what they were saying in Italian, and watching VH-1 and wondering how I used to spend hours watching music videos. Staff didn't advise me that on the Sunday all the water buses would be stopped until 3pm due to dragonboat races on the grand canal. Thought it could have been mentioned. No coffee facilities in room.

    Decoration was like old time Venice, but clean! Breakfast was generous continental, with plenty of choice. Room was very spacious. Bathroom small but big enough modern shower. The hotel was close to Ca d'oro, and Rialto waterbus stops, and literally across a bridge from Campo SS Apostoli, which is where the free walking tour of Venice starts! Staff friendly. Showed me where the best ice cream places were. Room had enough storage for me. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Location was perfect. Staff very helpful and personal. The palazzo was like a soft Venetian silk dream. Breakfast was fine, slightly monotonous but maybe we wouldn't have felt it if we'd staid for fewer days. The bed was great and air conditioning well functioning. It was so nice to come back home from the busy streets into a chilled, clean hotel room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't have any problem.

    Very nice location, just beside small Plaza and canal. Helpful staff willing to help and guide any time. Good breakfast. Easy to reach by public transport either the Vaporetto 1 or long lines to the islands and airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was intermittent, even dependent on our location within our room. The TV was unplugged, then it had no signal for two days. Then it powered on all by itself. The bathroom was extremely small.

    The breakfast was great. Wonderful coffees made to order, meats, cheese, pastry, bread, fruit, cereal, yogurt... Can't beat the location. The decor is boroque and suits the buildings maze of guest rooms. The staff was very knowledgeable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was delightful. Each member wanted to make sure we had a fabulous time. Took my suitcase across the bridge to the boat/taxi. Breakfast was UNREAL. LOVELY, lovely hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be slightly better, not a huge selection, but it is included and goes till 10:30 which is nice. You can also hear the sounds from the other rooms, halls and street. But the great things about it outway the bad 10 fold

    This is an amazing property located in a busy (but not to busy) area of Venice. It is a really beautiful hotel. The rooms, dinning room and lobby have an antique luxury feel and the staff are friendly and very helpful. It is the absolute perfect location, walkable to everything and with water taxi located right outside of the hotel. Bed a pretty comfortable and the shower was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad wifi.No electric kettle and coffee maker. No complimentary water bottles. Small rooms and not even a table to put tea trays.furnitures were not good.

    Bathroom was clean but very small with shower cabinet door blocked by WC so does not open fully making it difficult to enter shower cabinet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a bit of street noise but not bad enough to stop you from falling asleep

    Great breakfast, staff went above and beyond, so kind when we were running late. Very clean room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was a bit noisy, because it was next to a canal bridge and a busy square.

    The room was very good sized, nicely decorated with modern bathroom and great canal view! It was very clean and the stuff was very helpful! We really enjoyed having our breakfast there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the breakfast to be poor. Although it was a classic continental breakfast, everything seemed to come out of a packet and nothing felt fresh. Even though breakfast was included in the price, after the first day we chose to grab breakfast when we were out as we really didn't like the hotel offering. The hotel is also on a busy thoroughfare so some rooms can be noisy. We took ear plugs on the recommendation of other guests and were fine but you definitely needed them!

    The hotel is in a great location in easy walking distance of all of the main areas. The rooms are also kept to a high standard; the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom very clean. The staff were very welcoming and we're very helpful when we asked them questions about directions etc. They even left us a complimentary bottle of prosecco in our room on arrival as we were celebrating our two year anniversary.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not enjoy the tea as the water was not hot enough, we didn't know there was a choice of coffee until the last morning when we over heard another guest ask for a cappuccino. We both ordered one and this was delicious.

    The staff were excellent, very helpful and the hotel was very clean and smelt devine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view of anything from our room. Bathroom was nice and updated but the room and carpet was not.

    The rooms were a decent size. Easy to walk the Rialto Bridge and very lively area around the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    City tax that was not included in the initial price paid at the time of reservation. Had to pay at the end of the stay in cash. Unpleasant surprise.

    Clean, well maintained room. Great breakfast (freshly made fruit salad was the highlight).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No plug in bath for romantic soak

    A little variation in breakfast menu would be nice,same choice as our last visit two years ago,and so much fresh produce in the markets ! ?

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a delightful fragrance is used to keep the room smelling amazing, it was often a bit potent for me and did make me sneeze a lot, it's a lovely scent though.

    We stayed in the magnificent Doge's room, the room is exactly as the photos suggested, the walls lined in fabric, the upholstery is decadent throughout. The doors open up onto a bustling square and canal, with a small bridge almost directly below the private balcony...although it can get quite noisy below, it added to the experience somehow for me. This room was the setting for my fiancé's proposal, he couldnt have chosen a more romantic and history room! The room's bathroom is well presented. We parked at the Tronchetto and used a water bus to get to the hotel, then a short walk along the fabulous streets of this magical city, very easy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great customer service, bottle of bubbly on arrival in our room for birthday celebrations. Fantastic location, some people think a little noisy, this is a city hotel, always going to get some noise. PERFECT STAY.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could of been nice and soft but you can't accommodate every purpose to please all so still slept well

    Everything overall very satisfied staff very helpful location excellent 'continental breakfast 10/10

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central location, (Rialto 2 mins, St Marks 10) very clean and comfortable rooms in a typical Venetian style. Canal view room spacious with very comfortable bed but most of all the staff were all exceptionally welcoming and friendly. Also perfectly placed for one of the Venice Free Walking Tour itineries which left from the square outside.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish to have tea making facilities in room but that is a very British thing

    Great view great location great atmosphere pricing to be expected but still worth it

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Antico Doge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: