Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of L'Antico Forziere

Uscita E45 CASALINA, 06051 Deruta, Italy

#2 of 12 hotels in Deruta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 82 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Simple but cozy and warm, and felt very comfortable there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple but cozy and warm, and felt very comfortable there. It was hard to find but centrally located and easy to spoke out to many towns. The restaurant on the same location was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    A superb country house hotel and spa with excellent service and world class cuisine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    N/A

    L'Antico Forziere is a very special place – if you’re in Umbria (if you’re in Italy!) you should experience it for yourself. The whole Rodella family have made this country house hotel one of the most charming places we have stayed in. You’ll admire their attention to detail in every respect with service that is second to none from the moment you arrive. The gardens and terraces, including excellent swimming pool, are cared for with dedication. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable, have a rustic feel with wrought iron fixtures, original wooden beams (our Room 23 overlooked the gardens and swimming pool) with good sized bathroom (shower, bidet and even environmentally sound toilet paper!) excellent air conditioning and sound proof windows. One of us experienced the ingeniously designed spa and the other an excellent massage given with care and expertise. And then there is the restaurant…the cuisine is world class. We only hope Michelin never get their hands on it or the prices would probably go up! Eat outside in the summer under a huge and brilliantly designed canopy or inside under candlelight. If you can only come once then choose the tasting menu – your experience will explain why this and other reviews have scored L'Antico Forziere so highly. We stayed for a week and after the first night didn’t want to eat anywhere else. It’s conveniently situated not far from the E45 but any residual noise from the road sinks into the distance as the sound of the Casalina church bells float in the air. Mornings by the pool, afternoons touring the heart of Umbria and evenings eating the best food we have tasted in Italy (and we enjoy our food!). Our next trip to Italy will be geared to visiting L'Antico Forziere again. What a splendid place, what a pleasure!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place for serene vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a cozy hotel run by a very nice family. The hotel will surprise you as it has an excellent restaurant and a spa room with sauna and massage which we enjoyed. The hotel is wonderfully decorated and gives you feeling of an Italian traditional home. It was quite during our stay and often we enjoyed the swimming pool only for ourselves.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too early for the pool to be open. having eaten there in the past, the dinner in the evening was as expected a wonderful treat for a special occasion. The breakfast rolls etc home made and lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Lovely and peaceful setting with exceptional food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful country house, lovely garden and pool, excellent, friendly and helpful staff and amazing restaurant. Make sure you have lunch and/or dinner there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    - Good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - hotel location near the high way. - Unfortunately, on our first day we did not see any other guests. It felt a bit awkward. After day one there were more guests and then we had a good feeling at the hotel

    - Good restaurant - friendly staff - Service was good - location near other great cities to explore - clean and modern bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    A very memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really excellent family run restaurant - bordering on fine dining but at reasonable prices. eg appetiser before starter, and dessert appetiser before dessert! Samuel was a wonderful host. The pool and flower filled patio areas were beautifully laid out, and it was a place you could easily spend all day at if you wanted to. Perugia an easy 15-20 minute drive down main A road.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    A foodie's paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from nearby road. Steep steps inside and out and one step in room. Lighting could have been better and some communication problems. Earlier breakfast would have been welcome.

    Pool actually big enough to have a proper swim. Good bathroom. Excellent food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely small country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the breakfast and the room in which it was served a little underwhelming given the quality of everything else; maybe later in the season it's possible to eat outside. I don't want to be negative because there was a sudden death in the family on the day I arrived and this will understandably have had implications for staffing and the services provided. Samuele was apologetic and it certainly didn't affect the enjoyment of my stay.

    This is a lovely traditional country hotel in an ideal location for visiting the Umbrian valley and towns like Deruta, Montefalco and Bevagna. Samuele was very welcoming, both at the hotel and the restaurant. The latter serves delicious food, and spectacular desserts, but the options were a little limited for a vegetarian like myself, but this wasn't unexpected in this area! My room (no.26) was spacious, nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. I would certainly be very happy to visit again, and would like to make more time to enjoy relaxing in the pretty grounds or by the lovely swimming pool, or taking a bike ride in the surrounding lanes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Country Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the highway a little noisy when sitting outside. Inside with the doors and windows shut, one does not hear the highway noise.

    The cappuccino's were wonderful. The restaurant was amazing. The two chef's are the owner's sons and they prepare awesome dishes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Service was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is described as a restaurant with rooms - so facilities are limited It was a bit far out. You cannot walk anywhere You have to drive in and out by an unmade farm track. Only the manager/Maitre d' speaks English

    Service was excellent Rooms very clean Food was excellent The desserts are to die for. Great wine selection. Prices were good Swimming pool is good Free WiFi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Shopping pottery with the girls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.. it was very very nice.

    Great breakfast, wonderful dinner. Staff very accommodating. Great location.. the best while in Deruta.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Three Restful Days in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cuisine, although top notch and first class, needs a selection that is simplet snd more regional

    Old farmhouse setting with all the conveniences

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    This is the fourth time we stayed there. Convenient to a number of lovely small towns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love this place. Owners are great. Excellent food especially desserts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Very comfortable friendly family run unique hotel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable friendly family run unique hotel and delicious restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    10
    Fabulous restaurant, very comfortable accommodation,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - highly recommend this location.

    Fabulous restaurant, very comfortable accommodation, friendly family run establishment. Good base for Assissi, Perugia and surrounding countryside. Plenty of parking - you need a car to use this site. Quality of food is quite outstanding. Well deserve their two stove Logis grading.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.2
    Small family run Inn close to Deruta, an historic old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really. Our second visit in 6 years as good as the first.

    Small family run Inn close to Deruta, an historic old town making ceramics. It is an easy drive to Assisi. The staff are friendly & accomodating, the breakfast is excellent and the fine dining restaurant is the best in the area..

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.3
    The restaurant was a gourmet experience that was among the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location near the autostrada, while convenient, was also a bit loud in the evening.

    The restaurant was a gourmet experience that was among the best we've had in Italy.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    The inn is in a stone farmhouse just outside of the Umbrian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The inn is in a stone farmhouse just outside of the Umbrian town of Deruta, where many ceramic artisans make and sell their wares. The innkeepers are a wonderful family who operate a marvelous restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    The ambience, friendliness of staff, the support of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit noisy opening the window, as the location is near the highway. The worm breakfast could be more diverse.

    The ambience, friendliness of staff, the support of the staff concerning the visiting of Umbria area. Very sophisticated meals and nice wine card. Congratulations.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    Welcoming and friendly staff who made our stay very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming and friendly staff who made our stay very comfortable. My wife was 7 months pregnant and we could not have asked for a better place to relax. The pool was fantastic and the location is perfect to explore the nearby sights. The restaurant is Michelin Star quality.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    I was in the area for two amazing weeks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was in the area for two amazing weeks. Hands down, the Rodella Family that owns L'AnticonForziere knows their hotel and restaurant management. My stay far exceeded my expectations. They really go far and beyond to turn a country side vacation a true relaxing experience.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    9.6
    This was our second visit this year and the standards of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This was our second visit this year and the standards of the food and hospitality of the Rodella family makes L'Anitico Forziere well worth a visit. It is something of an oasis in and around Deruta.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    We wanted to stop off in Daruta and asked our friend where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We wanted to stop off in Daruta and asked our friend where to stay and she recommmended this place. The view and everything else was great and this was after our two and a half week trip around Italy. Was the best stop we made. Was ad we couldn't stay longer. Best food ever.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    10
    The food was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was great. The overall hospitality was great. I would definitely recommend to anyone that wants a quite holiday that was in a central location.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    10
    Charming hosts did everything possible to make our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You could hear the traffic from the main road which is very close. Not disturbing but very noticeable

    Charming hosts did everything possible to make our stay comfortable.The room was nice and the dinner was exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.6
    Very engaging staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very engaging staff

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic evening meals, brilliantly attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Whole stay was excellant

    Fantastic evening meals, brilliantly attentive staff. Pool area was spotless

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: