Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Apollo 1 stars

Via Carlo Alberto 18, 80045 Pompei, Italy

#27 of 29 hotels in Pompei

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 240 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    3.8
    Terrible stay & horrible "hotel"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable bed. No window in the room and the aircon didn't work so absolutely no ventilation. Felt like we couldn't breathe. Hot water cylinder is absolutely tiny and the shower stays hot for 1 minute max. The room was supposed to have a balcony but it definitely didn't.

    Close to the Pompeii site

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in a nice town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was great. It was located close to the FS train station and the Circumvesuviana. There are also lots of restaurants nearby. And the staff were also very jice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    Family of 7; 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking only street side and was metered; wi-do ONLY in lobby, not in rooms; showers only, and very basic and not very functional

    Close to Pompeii ruins

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Great money and quality value.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Friendly staff. Parking.

    Very good location! There is few parking lots besides the hotel for residents. Quite old furniture and equipment, but for the value of money it's very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    4.2
    only good point is that it's within walking distance from the pompei ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old room. no air conditioner. very shabby bedsheets and towels. old bathroom with leaking taps. we were unable to sleep because it was very noisy during the night. actually it's not a hotel, but a homestay.

    it's very near the pompei ruins. the staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    4.6
    Good location but poor quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's was very poor conditions, tiny bath, not very clean, the towels were " loincloths", just a fan for the heat and it was noisy from the street.

    Good location close to Pompei Ruins

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.0
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable, right on the main road so very noisey. Room had no fan or air con so was super hot and then needing to open the balcony door for air but then was super loud and got bitten by many Mosquitos. Everything very basic. Bathroom had no toilet seat or soap.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    The location of the hostel was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very outdated and the shower leaked a little bit. The pillows were quite old and lumpy. The mattress was more or less comfortable to sleep on. We took the dorm room.

    The location of the hostel was very good. They had new advanced window blinds that were powered by a remote control and blocked the sound a little bit and completely blocked out any light from the outside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Right in the city centre of Pompei.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right in the city centre of Pompei. Three free parking places, so you can be lucky to find your place....or not. Tidy and clean room. The staff very kind and helpful. A place to recommend if you visit Pompei.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    3.3
    Worst place ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 rooms. But she gave one of our booked rooms to a group that arrived before of us... Becaus "they arrived early", put everyone of us in a single room and were trying to ask the same amount of money as was booked. Strongly not advise!

    Nothing. No good points on our stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Pompeii as big friendly family
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was work only at the hall, but there was a table with chairs.

    Everything, but spesially the kind and helpful Dolores, beautiful landlady who give me more good advises and her own room, when I just ask about the room with window on sunrise. I feel myself as part of family in Pompeii.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    6.7
    Cute but with limitations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a dorm room online. When I got there she said there was none available and that she had a private room with shared bathroom for an additional cost. She speaks very limited English so I agreed but wasn't too happy about it. Also she was knocking at my room door at 9:45am telling me she needs the room! Also, she locks the front door at midnight, if you return after that, you're SOL.

    You can't beat this location! Walking distance to all attractions, cafes, restaurants, shopping and train stations.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    5.0
    The location was superb, and we found street parking very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not speak English so we could not communicate. The advertisement in the booking was not fulfilled: no wifi in the room, no breakfast included. There was no toilet seat on the toilet, and the bathroom was run down and unpleasant overall. There was no key for our room (it was broken and needed replacement apparently, though in that case it would have been nice to get a different room).

    The location was superb, and we found street parking very close by. The elderly (only) staff is friendly and animated, though we could not communicate with her since she did not speak English and we did not know Italian

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    4.2
    Very very very exclusive place......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First, too expensive for what you get. 50 € you pay for the location and 10 for the room. We got : bed, water, towels and toalet paper :) We missing : toalet seats, shower doors, silence and air conditioner. But we had very interesning experience in back to the 80's :)

    Location, just location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    Would absolutely recommend! Staff very welcoming and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was made to feel very welcome by the owner. I didn't know how long I would be staying, originally had only booked one night but I told the owner this and she told me not to worry, I could let her know on a day to day basis. One night I ended up getting back very late, at 1am so I had to ring to get back in, but the owner was fine about this and even apologised for locking the door, because she thought I was inside. I was the one who should have been apologising for waking her up! The last day, even though the checking out time is listed as 11am, she had no problem with me leaving my luggage there until the afternoon, and even said the room was still mine for the day. OK, it's 1-star, but you're very much made to feel welcome. Would absolutely recommend, as it's a 10 min walk from the station right in the centre of Pompei.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Location, value for money and friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, value for money and friendly owners

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Location incredible
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did not work well

    Location incredible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    good for 1 nigjt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wif

    kind of staffs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is really nice and helpful. If I visit Pompeia again I would book this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey

    Location was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Old atmosphare allow to feel like in old Pompei.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    All is very old, including bed lines.

    Location is goog and frandly atmospohare like at home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Good value. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Loved the people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Service excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Service excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Appolo is a great quiet hotel when you can relax and rest. The staff are very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apollo hotel is a quiet and lovely place , the staff are kind and available to help.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Surprise balcony that I really appreciated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness could have been better.

    Surprise balcony that I really appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Recommend this place if you like to stay up late.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy till 2am then quieter

    Frendly hosts good location good room service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Ideal Location for Pompeii
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic accommodation, perfect location for Pompeii, very pleasant staff. Yes, it's a little dated, but you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    3.8
    Dirty place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything could be better

    Dirty place, with no tv, broken furniture but friendly lady Who can't speak english.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    The staffs are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    The staffs are amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house is not in good state, there are many small details to improve

    The manager is nice and she recommended us a very good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.9
    Lovely staff, very accommodating, even let us hang some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi would've been good

    Lovely staff, very accommodating, even let us hang some washing up in the back

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    10
    Staff were like family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift so not suitable for elderly or disabled.

    Staff were like family. Really friendly and helpful. Room was great. Bathroom clean and spacious. 10 minutes walk from Pompeii ruins. Restaurants close and good.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.6
    Location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was all good the laundry down the road charged 13 euro for a wash and dry when we removed our clothes from dryer still damp.

    Location and good value for money

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    Fabulous central location overlooking the main piazza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Towels were clean but rather old.

    Fabulous central location overlooking the main piazza. Helpful, friendly staff...Anna and her family were charming hosts and were always happy to advise. Breakfast, if required, @ 2 euro per person is served in a nearby cafe/restaurant. Main door locked at midnight but hosts were happy to buzz us in at 3 am and again at 5.15 am after we discovered a wonderful late night bar (Blanco) a block away. Would definitely stay here again...amazing budget accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    8.8
    The location was central and the staff were very nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was a bit noisy at night but this was to be expected as our room was in the front and the area was very busy at night.

    The location was central and the staff were very nice and helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    6.7
    The staff were friendly and willing to speak our broken...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    towels need to be replaced and the saggy bed. No AC.

    The staff were friendly and willing to speak our broken mixture of languages and gestures. Being close to the back gate of Pompeii and the less used train avoided long lines. Lots of good restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    Staffs are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staffs are friendly. Nice location, short distance to attraction and station

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    5.8
    Only localization.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very old furniture and bathroom.

    Only localization.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.1
    Staff very good Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Property is tired in need of upgrading

    Staff very good Fantastic location

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    5.0
    The hotel is close to the ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hot water didn't last very long, it wasn't even long enough for a short bath.

    The hotel is close to the ruins

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42