Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palazzo dal Borgo 4 stars

Via della Scala 6, Santa Maria Novella, 50123 Florence, Italy

#243 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 786 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Palazzo Dal Borgo is a very nice location to visit Santa Maria Nivella and surrounding. Palace is an old dimora worth staying and visiting. It’s bit expensive but in the end is fair value for money. Enjoy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fellow running the breakfast was a priss. He needs some help.

    Wonderful traditional and historic property near the gorgeous Plaza Santa Maria Novella. Relaxed, calm, inviting and friendly. Try the new restaurant next door, also named Santa Maria Novella. Good breakfast, and our room was most comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unusable WiFi. Loud noise between 6:00 to 7:00 in the morning, when I compliant to the front desk they do t even care!

    Room size is huge, but bathroom setup sucks!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar staff had to find someone when you want a drink,, no tea or coffee making in the room, do not refill toiletries each day, not enough sockets to power pc etc in the room. Better hotels for less money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was nice, adequate for 3 persons and it was clean. Breakfast was very good and the garden area where you ate was wonderful. Staff was great, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom is more like a makeshift one and is very small and the shower was broken

    the hotel is walkable distance from the train station, the interiors were really grand - they have made efforts to preserve the grandliness of the 14th century building. the staff were very friendly and supportive. When notified that we have a guided trip for which the pickup from the hotel is at 7 which means we will miss the breakfast, they have made take-away boxes of breakfast items and have it delivered to the room in the night itself - it was a very good gesture of them. the breakfast is served in an open garden as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I feel I was ripped off! Recieved a Standard room and paid for a Supior. Staff said they could not change.

    Great location, close to train and just outside of tourist area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was right on a very noisy street with no double glazed windows. It was very hot during our stay and no one could find the remote control for the air cond. in our room. For the whole stay we had the choice between sleeping in a boiling hot room or enjoying the party goers and cars noises. I really didn’t sleep much during my 3 nights stay. Not what I would expect for a 4 stars hotel.

    The staff was always very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the little courtyard was the perfect start of the day. The hotel is very closed from the historic city centre and the station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very well situated. The staff was extremely helpful. I only stayed one night, and then returned after 5 days just for the day. They allowed me to leave my luggage on that 5th day, while I spent my last hours of sightseeing in Florence before my flight back home. I would definitely recommend them! A lovely surprise was that the oldest pharmacy in Europe is located just a few doors from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have nothing negative to say. Lift was small but that's typical/usual for buildings of that age.

    Lounge to play cards, close to everything, valet service for your car, good breakfast, outdoor patio. Nice boutique, charming hotel of the type we prefer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Due to the weather we were unable to use the courtyard for breakfast

    The breakfast was good but a little background music would have made the experience a bit more relaxing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom extractor fan did not work. One of the electric sockets was broken with a cover that was loose, exposing live wire to fingers when trying to insert a plug! If you don't like mosquitoes, watch out because I counted and dispatched 8 of them on day 1, another 6 on day 2, and 9 on day 3, despite leaving window closed and do-not-disturb sign - perhaps entering thru the bathroom's ventilation pipe.

    The location is very good, just a 5-10 minute walk from the main sights in the city. The hotel is a beautiful building, the room was very large and clean with a good bathroom. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old hotel. The room was very plain and ancient, not like on the pictures. Horrible coffee for breakfast. Americano coffee for Italians is different from what the rest world drinks (they could adjust and google how to make American for there foreign guests).

    I was disappointed with the room we got. You can't find it on the pics in the ad on booking.com.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect, only 5 mins walk from Florence Central Station. Easy to get there from station even with luggages and young children. Close to all scenic spots as well. We didn’t need to worry about taking bus or taxi during our stay. Breakfast is the best in our European trip!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was one of the most uncomfortable I ever had in my life. Two beds closed together that kept moving apart and a very thin mattress. The bathroom door would not close all the way.

    I only liked the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness was not very satisfying. The room was not spacious enough. It needs some renovation (e.g. the toilet lid was broken).

    Excellent location. Friendly staff. Nice vintage feeling.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand going an old place from outside could be nice, but paying 170 euros for a very old bed room and the toilet was bad, the shower is awful! No bathrobes, no tooth brush, no slippers! We had all these stuff in all the previous 4star hotels in Santa Margareta, Genoa, Pisa, and no water and no coffee!! Weird that they don’t want to spend anything on customers although we paid 170€ we paid 120€ in metrople santamargertw, 120€ in grillo, Genoa, 110€ in NH Pisa all with breakfast and all 4 Stars hotels I have them all between 8-10 on rating. The room is spacious, and I understand that Florence could be more expensive but common I paid more for that, so give better logical service, bathrobes, slippers toot brush, coffee, water!

    The location is close by, 3 minits from the station, they gave us extra spacious room but the smell of the room was weird, my wife didn’t like it, I had to open the window and go out for a couple of hours, we stayed for one day, the staff were super nice, Andrea is a super fun and cool guy, also the reception lady was very welcoming, the manger of the resturant at the breakfast was amazing too, salute!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin bed in fact is two separate beds. There is a risk to fall down between them if you are not quick enough.

    Good location, hotel staff is friendly, quite warm inside the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the top room I believe it's called penthouse room. Very spacious and views amazing! Would stay there again. Staff very helpful and friendly, felt really welcomed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As it was a very cold night in Florence, it's obvious that the room was very cold when coming back from dinner and the automated heating strenght was not enough. It took some time until the room was warm enough to comfortably sleep, but the staff was very helpful and manually changed the heater. The varity of the breakfast was also not great, but the coffee was fantastic!

    The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and made a big difference throughout the stay. My room was very spacious with a newly renovated bathroom and spacious bedroom and "reception" area. The hotel decoration is very nice and makes the hotel feel very "italian". The location of the hotel is fantastic, and If you're travelling alone and would like to get around the city with a taxi, it is easily booked by the reception. The city river is also only a short walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place built in the 1400s. Our room was large, bright, private. Breakfast was good and they provided gluten free options. Hotel staff made some great recommendations on how to see the city and didn't give us a hard time when we locked our key in our room :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Тhe area around the hotel is currently under construction and is difficult to approach the hotel by own car (even with GPS)

    Feeling the centuries (more than five) in Palazzo dal Borgo

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Horrible wifi, both speed and accessibility. Cannot access google.it, google maps. It was so painful to wait for websites to load. 2. Soundproof was quite bad. You can hear hotel hallway sounds (kids running around stairs, etc) quite clearly. 3. Heavy keys. Other hotels with similar "palace-like" keys did not make it heavy. 4. There are stairs after getting off the lift to go to the rooms, which is annoying with luggages. 5. Horrible indoor cigarette control. People smoke inside hotel hallway, and hotel does nothing about it. Smell comes into your room. 6. Hot water supply suddenly stopped. 7. Luggage storage could be more secure, instead of leaving it "somewhere in the hallway unattended". 8. Blanket came without covers.

    1. Spacious rooms. Really like a palazzo, aka palace. 2. Clean washroom 3. Kettle was available upon request.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English tv channels.

    Nice small hotel, 6 mins walk from the train station and 5 mins from the city center. Our room was huge with great bed and wide bathroom with all what you need. The breakfast was sufficinet, the most amazing, friendly and helpful staff either the front desk or the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it’s a four star hotel but unfortunately does not meet the expectations. Simple rooms without any facilities ..

    Location is good , very kind staff , very nice breakfast !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zilch

    Really fluffy towels, great breakfast and located in a fashionable area and one can walk to all the sites. The four poster bed was special as was the bath and shower. To top it off a bottle of Prosecco on ice was complimentary for my Birthday. How did they know?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Noise! Sound insulation was terrible. We could hear drunk Italians wandering the street outside the hotel singing and yelling at 2:30AM (note we were on the "highest" floor which is 3) There was also a wailing child/yelling parents from the family staying next door to us. We had requested either to switch rooms (none were available) or to have the concierge handle the noisy residents next to us; both of which the concierge at the time was not very helpful and wanted to just watch TV at the front desk. - We had booked a Superior Double Room but got placed in a room that looked nothing like the picture shared on booking.com -- half the size, no view of the Basilica, and no paintings on the ceiling/ walls. Granted, they do forewarn that not all rooms look like the stock photo. We guessed that those larger superior double rooms were probably reserved for groups of 3+ people. - The selection of breakfast food wasn't very diverse. They had 2 types of cured meats, one type of cheese, sausage/eggs, and 2 types of croissants. If you're staying here, I'd recommend going out to local cafes and getting an Italian breakfast experience rather than staying in the hotel to get breakfast. - Had to carry luggage up and down stairs on the same floor.

    - It only took about 5 minutes to get from the train station to the hotel which made it convenient to walk with our luggage. - The bathroom was very modern and sleek with brand new marble sinks / tub - The staff serving breakfast was very warm and friendly. We had stayed two nights and he remembered our coffee order from the day before. - It was really convenient to reach an amazing restaurant right around the corner called Osteria dei Centopoveri. Even if you don't stay at this hotel, I'd recommend paying them a visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone knocked on my door at 1.30am on the first night and woke me up. Can hear everything in the corridor from your room.

    Breakfast was a good spread. It was really close to all the main attractions in Florence.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big modern hotel. In 5 minutes on foot from Bologna main railway station and 10 minutes from the historical center of the city. Rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and abundant. The hotel is undoubtedly worth the money you pay for it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is good but simple, a small choice if you do not want sweets.

    Some say that the proximity of railway station is the downside, but not in this case. Although Firenze Santa Maria Novellais only 10 minutes’ walk away from the hotel, there's no sign from a typical surrounding audience of a railway station. The hotel is perfectly located to reach almost all the tourist points of interest in 15-20 minutes’ walk. On parallel streets, there are some spots “where the locals eat” (thanks to very kind recommendations of hotel stuff), with great day offerings for the lunch at a very reasonable price (which also includes a glass of wine :-)) The room was comfortable, the bathroom is small, but with all the necessary. Clean room, neighbors do not hear, bed with canopy (a very romantic person's dream)!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wish there would've been more gluten free options. The walk from the train station to the hotel is short but the street seemed a little scarey. Turns out we were very safe but it didn't look like you'd be.

    The location was very close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing was there wasn't an obvious sign for the hotel and we walked past it. However, when we reached the square we just had to turn back 100 yards to find it.

    The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the station and the bus drop off. The staff were friendly and check-in was very quick and efficient. We had a 4 poster bed that was really comfy. The room was a good size and enough storage for 3 nights. Free safe was a bonus too! Breakfast was lovely. Fresh and with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was very difficult, although the hotel was very helpful.

    Awesome hotel in great location. Each room is completely different from the other and very artsy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was very weak and we often felt hot. The furniture and carpeting need renovation.

    The location was great and the room was very spacious with comfortable facilities. Lovely courtyard garden for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The room safe didn't work and when asked to repaired the staff couldn't help. (had to fix it myself) - Poor selection breakfast and "ok" quality. - Unfriendly staff - Noisy room (traffic) - Uncomfortable shower

    - Big room - Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room, because of hot outside. Quite dirty inner garden. Week wifi. Average breakfast not for special needs people.

    This hotel is just in the heart of Florence. You can walk home from your city tour. But you can not park close to the hotel. Even the taxi can stop only for a minute. The service is polite and nice. The hotel itself is in an old palace, so the stears are narrow and the elevator is small. It is not confitable for people with children or handicapped person. The rooms are confortable, but lighting is week as wifi also, but it is common in all hotel. Breakfast is average, but not for food allergics. It is an optimal place for a couple for 3-4 nigts to see Florence.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beautiful hotel, breakfast outside in a lovely patio with lemon trees. Delicious cappuccino, eggs, pastries. Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. About a ten minute walk to the Duomo.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was anemic and the bed was a bit hard. We had a bit of road noise, but our room faced the street and was expected.

    The building was charming; the breakfast and service were wonderful. The room was large. The staff were very helpful. Great location to train station and easy walk to key sites.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was terrible plus the use of the plugs for charging were pretty dodgy

    The man at the reception was outstanding and showed me on a map where the important places were to see, what bus to catch, places to eat etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's located only 5 mins walk to Santa Maria Train Station. Close proximity to main attractions, pizzerias and ristorante. Right behind Santa Maria Novella square. The staff is really helpful. The gentleman on reception Andrea greeted with smile every time we walked in and always ready to help. The family room was really spacious and clean. Breakfast was good and close to supermarkets to avoid spending fortune on basic things. Great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very beautiful premises. Nice backyard to take an excellent breakfast. Superb location to visit every corner of Florence. 5mn walk from train station. 10 star for cleanliness. Very comfortable beds (the 3rd bed not so comfortable but acceptable) - we stayed in a large triple room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old hotel and our bathroom shower did not drain well at all. Made it difficult for 4 of us to shower. Could only leave water on for a minute, had to turn off during shower otherwise tub would fill up.

    We were family of 4. Had quadruple room which was 2 rooms, very large and quite comfortable. It was very hot in Florence and air conditioning was excellent. Wi-if was adequate, but not great. Nice breakfast and helpful staff. Location close to train station, and 10 min. Walk to duomo, shopping and most sites.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything and when I return to Florence I will stay again at the Palazzo dal Borgo.

    Outstanding place to stay close to the train station and to all the major attractions. Great breakfast included and the staff were all attentive especially Andria!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rome 4 on the ground floor is at the same level/ adjacent to the path outside road. It is hard to sleep with the vehicles and people passing by.

    Great location at an affordanr rate

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was good if you want to be walking distance to the train station. The pictures on booking.com are nothing like the hotel! I was disappointed by the rooms and the beds were absolutely horrible. You can feel the springs. It wasn't clean and there are tons of steps to get to your room (we were on the 3rd floor). There is a an elevator. The breakfast was poor and in general it is a cheap hotel in every way. Very disappointed for a 4 star hotel! I would not stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is big.Great location.Very nice staff.We check out very early in the morning, the elder gentlemen at the reception prepare some food for us to take with.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast options can increase. Lifts needs to be modernized. inroom dining can be added for room service.

    good location close to station and all important monuments. Staff very helpful and courteous . Decent breakfast. Rooms really nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn't good and made a very loud noise when using it.

    Breakfast was lovely! Sitting outside was beautiful. The rooms were nice a big and the staff was friendly mostly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room doors are not really isolated. Thre was a tremendous noise of some clients from 7'o clock on in the morning.

    Situated in a historical palazzo, walking distance from the train station Santa Maria Novella. Breakfast in a small courtyard with citrus plants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first night was the eve of a national holiday and the noise from the street below was so loud it was as if the revelers and passing scooters were IN our room. The windows were not soundproof at all. We requested to be relocated and they graciously moved us to the back of the hotel while we were out the next day. That room was just as lovely, but much quieter!

    A very authentic, charming hotel right near the train station but also walking distance to everything. We had a room for a family of 4 and it was one king and 2 twins, which was perfect. Breakfast was excellent and could be taken in a luscious courtyard with orange trees and beautiful flowers. We loved the character and decor of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only draw back i can think off is that the hotel walls are so thin thay u can hear the people in other rooms easily , but looking to the age and year of construction of the hotel u can let such thing go especially we spent most of the day outside the hotel and when we come back to the hotel we slept reagrdless if there is a noise or not

    the hotel is 5-10 min max from train station 15 min from duomo cathedral, staff were nice and smiley helped us find our destination and they gave us map and told us where to go , nice breakast and especially u can have it in the garden, the hotel ceiling decoration were nice same for the rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a non-refundable room via booking after we saw the pictures on the site, but when whe arrived there the room was not even near those pictures. It is an old place, the walls were dirty, the bath was small and dirty, and overall the place is overrated, it looks like in a 2 star hotel. We asked the guy from the reception to change the room, because we wanted what we paid for, but he gave us a similar room and no other solutions. When we asked our money back, him and the manager told me that it is not possible and to deal with booking for the complain. Their attitude was bad and we felt robbed because we just wanted what we paid for, what we saw in the picture they posted as a description of the room.

    The staff who served the breakfast The bellboy who was nice and gave us a present, a nice book.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WIFI Internet connection was more off than on, and very frustrating.

    Good breakfast, very good position close to much attractions especially the main train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 1st room I got was full of black hair on the floor then I got changed to another room which was better but the floor was still dirty. There was a plastic packing of a cigarette bobox and lots of dust fluff on the floor. Obviously they don't take floor cleaning serious as part of cleaning a room. Had to wear slippers to not get dirty feet. No glasses in the room just plastic cups. Need to ask downstairs for a glass if u need one. Overall nice decoration and good location, bed is good and clean and fresh towels every day. Good amenities as well just the floor was ddirty in both rooms. Not nice!

    This place is 5 min walking to the station and 5 min walking to the duomo. Super central. Breakfast is very good. Service is also very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot find all the words to express our gratitude to all the staff of the hotel! One of our best trips! I do not want to rate the stars, cleanliness, breakfast... I want to rate the attitude. And it was amazing. All the staff was always with smile. Always trying to help us. We feel as a special guests... Even on the second day at breakfast (because I like some special coffee, not usual for Italy) - the staff in the restaurant just told me before my request - Yes, I remember... :) In a few words. Excellent rooms! Everything in the bathroom. Very nice and quite garden when you can drink coffee between a orange trees. In Florence everything is close - just few minutes by foot and we are in the heart of Florence. What to say more! :) Maybe one very important thing! We will definitely come back to this hotel on our next trip to Florence!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was great. The location is perfect, and the inside is cosy and spotless. The complimentary breakfast every morning was excellent. The hotel staff were all extremely helpful and took great care of us. I will certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -- the bed (two mattresses forming the bed do not hold together, we had to sleep on on half) -- the room facing the street is very noisy,even with the window closed. Room facing the back should be much better. -- breakfast is quite minimal

    -- location -- staff -- the building

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel a little outdated. Not up to 4 star standards. If you are going to Florence for your first big trip, spend a little more a get a nicer hotel. Bad internet too. Not the worst, but not the best, either...overpriced.

    Decent location close to the train station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you have a palazzo and the floor needs renovation,you do not do it with laminate floor.The poles of the bed are so flimsy,clatter every time you move in bed

    The reception personell was very nice.The room for breakfast was nice.Suite was on the quiet side so sleep was undisturbed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If the hair dryer in my bathroom were more powerful, I would have stayed this hotel again.

    Room was furnished with classical style furniture. Staff was helpful when my room was blackout. Close to Santa Maria Novella station. Good access to old city center.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location all around. Everything in Florence is within easy walking distance from the hotel. If you love art and history, you'd love the ambience of this boutique hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad WiFi connection Renovation works next the wall; so it was impossible to work inside the room during work hours because of noise. At least they should inform clients about this issue They charged my credit card for one additional night without any reason and explanation

    Great location Nice breakfast with cozy environment and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints, really!

    Elegant historic building. Room67 spacious, well-appointed. Very pleasant breakfast area and patio was lovely way to start the day! Staff very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is on a very busy narrow one way road with buses coming from the train station and mopeds all night. The room was extremely noisy all night and very difficult to sleep. Also room was hot and there was no air conditioning. I complained but the management said hotel was full and there was nothing they could do. Wifi was also very poor.

    None

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not enough hot water in our room they always ran out

    Great location Good staff especially joice at the reception desk anazing service gives us good tipa. The hotel upgraded us for better room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the evening there were quite a few mosquitos in the courtyard so maybe a few citronella candles would have helped keep them away.

    The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them, even helping me up and down the steps with the pushchair. The little courtyard was a lovely place to eat breakfast too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast and coffee where as good as our last visit we like this hotel as its close to train station and a short walk to everything in the city we love Florence for its art,buildings and general beauty,staff are very welcoming and always helpful with information or booking a trip.and its a charming old palace with painted ceilings in our room.. love it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really 👍😀

    Great central location. Fab suite for family, real wow room. Quirky but just what we wanted from Florence. Four poster bed, sunken bathroom & good breakfast in courtyard. All wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom light shut off every 5 minutes. It had a motion detector instead of a switch. Not fun to take a shower and be stuck in pitch black, having to step out wildly waving your hands.

    By far, the best thing is the court yard. We had 2 rooms, the larger room was wonderful, tons of space... Absolutely beautiful. The standard room was small dark, and kinda awful. Spend a little bit more, so you can actually enjoy the room. For a standard room, I would go somewhere else. Location is great. Plenty of restaurants, you

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little earlier than 7.30am and no coffee/tea making facilities in the room.

    Nice quiet room at the back (#64). Lovely interior courtyard for breakfast, great buffet selection of food (some of it cooked) and very friendly and efficient staff. Right in the middle of Florence. Very elegant hotel which was formerly a Medici palace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some rooms at the upper floors are reached after passing a labyrinth of small corridors and stairs

    nice place for the breakfast, specially in good weather; very central...and located near to good restaurants

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    all elevators in Itlaian hotels were small. So had to use the stairs most of the time. But it wasn't too bad.

    Small, hole in the wall hotel that we had a hard time finding. But once inside we appreciated the unique setting. The hotel looks like an old Italian house turned hotel, the staff was amazing and the bell hop was very helpful. Hotel was walking distance from the train station and to all the tourist sites. Room and bathroom were specious and clean,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stepping up to the bathroom, steppig in the room, "mind the step" was in order all the way in and out.

    A palazzo living feeling, great and elegant decoration, wonderful bed, felt like a guest in a fabulous aristocratic mansion. Best possible arrangement for three persons, plenty of space, our son had a separate - room in the room - area with a sofa bed . In addition there was a balcony with a table for two, which was giving the "plenty of space" feeling a boom. Nice breakfast, served in an inner very peaceful and elegant yard.In walking distance for the historical and the shopping center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No

    bedrooms and bathroom are very spacious with safe to use; excellent breakfast, great variety of choice; coffee is exceptionally good; service is excellent; near train station and places of interest

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast missing savory things, scrambled eggs too dry, pastry was though good and it was nice to find some fruit also.

    Location quite ok. Old building with historic flare. Basics were all there provided for a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Palazzo dal Borgo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: