Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aracoeli 3 stars

Piazza Motta, 34, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy

#8 of 10 hotels in Orta San Giulio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 300 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a little tired.Lots of water went everywhere from shower

    Great location with side view of lake from small balcony.(3rd floor) A good range of food for breakfast. Right on the edge of square with plenty of restaurants and shops

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very confusing to check in as no staff were actually in the hotel itself. Check in had to be carried out at an office some way from the accommodation and this was not clear at the front door. To be fair, if I'd been able to read the instructions in the booking confirmation email this may not have been a problem, but I could not download the attachments on my phone. Secure parking above the village for our motorcycles was very expensive at E20 for the night!

    The location is beautiful and the facilities in the room were super. View from the balcony was simply gorgeous. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bedroom is very cool but it was leaking water through the protective glass and must be fixed. Not easy and clear understand where the reception is if you didn’t read some reviews before. The reception is close Ristorante Olina, few meters before the main square and the Hotel. ;)

    Position. Little picturesque balcony overlooking the village’s square and part of the lake. The bed was really comfortable. Snacks, water and a couple of juices complementary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusing check in / check out procedures. Parking is outside town centre and a long walk if you have a lot of luggage or a baby with no shuttle bus available

    Funky rooms. Amazing views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The location was fantastic. Quirky design, if a little awkward for those expecting a regular bathroom setup. Breakfast also excellent...quite an unexpected extra.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is a very small town who doesn’t open up to tourists until March, I was not informed pre my arrival of its peculiar schedule and services. There is no reception in the actual hotel as the owner is also the owner of Restaurant Olina down the road, where the reception office is so my check in wasn’t easy. When I arrived the Hotel was closed, with a door code I did not receive upfront and a phone number that wasn’t picking up. I lately found out that check in wasn’t until 3 PM and that I had to check in at the restaurant. I recommend sending each guest an e-mail with details instructions for a smoother experience in advance.

    The excellent, minimal but warm design and its location made me feel out of this world, cocooning in the perfect inspiring refuge is what I loved about my stay, a few days I had chosen to retreat in Orta San Giulio. The shower is basically a built in spa and a lavish, wonderful relaxing experience that made me feel the taste of a modern luxury experience in the midst of an ancient town. The room has all comfort including cable TV and it is walking distance from anything with wonderful views of the lake and town. The names of the rooms were humourous and researched, like « room of one’s own » (a Virginia Woolf tribute), « no logo », « monday or tuesday ». The breakfast is a banquet, delicious and fresh every morning. As I was there in Febraury, which is very low season, I was the only guest in the hotel and a kind lady was agreeing with me for breakfast time every morning and cleaning up my room pointly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I misinterpreted the description regarding parking. We arrived in heavy rain and found a public underground car park for 10 euros per day but had to walk through the old narrow streets to find the check in location, which wasn’t the hotel building, and then we were shown to the only restaurant open in town which was fairly average. The room itself had seen better days and could do with a bit of tlc.

    The family room was nice and big with a lot of character. Both showers worked but one did tend to make the room floor wet so we stuck to the shower nearest the door. The beds were comfortable and the room was nice and warm with great views. Breakfast was fantastic. Lots of cheese, meat, cereal, bottomless coffee, cakes and bread.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    awful facilities. no wifi in the rooms. no amenities provided by the staff (it rained, no umbrella given) we were there for a wedding and it seemed impossible to get us an iron. in the end we didn't get any of these things.... the check-in is not even in the same building its down the street, good luck trying to reach staff.

    location is amazing. nice snacks provided for free. cool industrial style/decor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was in the main room and water splattered everywhere and ran across the floor. It was quite dangerous on a smooth painted floor. There was no where to put your soap or shampoo except on the floor. There was no bedside table or lamp for reading. It was designed with style rather than practicality in mind.

    The position was central and convenient. Staff were helpful. Three room was "interesting".

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks as if it has been designed and put together by children. The room was adequate but lots of rusty bits on radiators and shower in middle of bedroom. It was not very clean and the bed seemed to have a foam mattress. The girl scowled at me when we came down for breakfast at 9.55 and didn't want us to have anything as she was putting it all away. We did have breakfast but the coffee was lukewarm and the rest of the food had been sitting outside for hours. Wifi only downstairs and that didn't work well. Reception around the corner. Light in shower difficult to turn off and receptionist not interested. Would not recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very noisy and unstoppable air vent system in the room during the night Open bathroom in the room -> sleepy floor Lack of room lighting Small beds

    Good location in Orta San Giula Good breakfast buffet Design of the rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad service, cleanliness of rooms is totally absent, broken lights in the room, very bad state of repair, in general no value for money

    Good Design of the rooms, central location, views from the rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked nice, but was a bit unpractical for a group of men, e.g. showers integrated to the room. Car parking was a bit far, so needed to carry the luggage quite long way.

    Great breakfast, central location with restaurants and shops nearby. Room had a great view and cosy setup.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar in hotel but a rite good few within yards

    Lovely breakfast , decent size fridge in room, shower in middle of room a bit naughty, view from room magnificent ( 705 ) couple of nice comfy chairs in room too, skinny dippin in lake after midnight 👍

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in this hotel 5 years ago and there is some deterioration in decor, comfort and breakfast. This is quite understandable given the economic climate! Having said that, we were all more than happy with our stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Thank you to the staff for their assistance.

    The location couldn't be better for a family group where 3 of us are disabled. Hotel Aracoeli has a lift! The young lady who checked us in was really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i felt the room was quite basic and was let down by little annoyances. Such as, no extractor fan in the toilet, only one mirror in the whole room that wasn't even a full length. Only one light that was more for mood lighting rather than function, making the room very dark. The shower was in the main room, very good for couples like ourselves, but the glass panel wasn't flush to the shower tray, so water leaked across the floor making it EXTREAMLY slippy

    Loved the size of the room, it's quirky touches, and the close proximity of its location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the air con was a bit dodgy/not strong enough for the 33degree heat. some broken lights on the floor outside our room.

    amazing breakfast and really nice helpful and friendly staff. location was perfect. right on the main square!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the air con was a bit dodgy/not strong enough for the 33degree heat. some broken lights on the floor outside our room.

    great staff and gorgeous breakfast! literally ON the main square! location couldn't be better.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel just needs sprucing up a bit. Furniture is tired and everything needs a lick of paint.

    Perfect location. Great breakfast. Great view from the balcony.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not easy.

    Lovely breakfast, balcony overlooking the square was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The room was really quirky, with beds on the floor but very comfortable. The view was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wardrobe or drawers to store clothes

    Nice room, great location fabulous shower

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed

    Great location and breajfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky electricials

    Quirky large rooms Great view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Breakfast exceptional.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little noisy at night due to wedding parties

    Location price facilities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room was poor

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfy

    Breakfast was good and the room was quite quirky

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A decent receptionist in the hotel would have been nice, not a rude boy in an almost unfindable service point located 200 meters from the hotel. The open shower is not a good idea, the shower itself worked well but standing in the open space is just plain stupid. There were two spikes coming into the room just outside of the shower area that could be hazardous if someone would slip and fall onto it, the furniture was at it best mediocre and the wifi was, ... well there wasn't any. Also these rooms are not airconditioned and our room was so hot we couldn't get it cooled down before midnight.

    This is not a hotel, it's at best a B&B, it has no reception and only in the morning there was staff to provide the outstanding breakfast, which by the way was together with the scenery the only good thing about this 'hotel'.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower design and function were very poor. There was NO on-site support or assistance available. Wi-Fi was not secure and was available only in public area on main floor. Room lighting was minimal.

    Breakfast and housekeeping were very good. Balcony and view were outstanding. Sound proofing was good. Refrigerator and coffee/tea set-up in room was nice feature.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could do with WIFI in rooms..... also, the open shower bit; could be a bit intimidating. More lighting; difficult to read at night and the paperwork definitely needs to tell guests where to check in... it took us ages to find "Reception" - we just managed to grab someone leaving the hotel part who showed us.

    Location, location, location; I didn't mind the noise at night (had doors open anyway onto balcony), it made me feel like I was somewhere different, and it was all youthful Italian anyway. In the morning, you opened the French doors and saw a glittering lake, the alps, a 1585 Town Hall and the sound of birdsong and church bells. It was all very Lucy Honeychurch, albeit not Florence.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find. No signage. Also when we booked it said that they had parking. BUT that parking was a 20 minute walk from the hotel. We probably would not have chosen this hotel if we had known that there was no 'usable' parking.

    The breakfast was good. Once we found the lady that checked us in (after a lengthy search) she was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We'd recommend you don't drive into the town itself. VERY narrow streets and lots of pedestrians. Park up top and walk down.

    Lovely spacious room with glimpses of the lake. Comfy bed with a very generous breakfast. Staff in the hotel itself were wonderful

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A great location with a lovely view from our balcony. Very attractive modern room although not sure about the trendy shower in the the room. There is an enclosed WC. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The broken loo seat, the bed was 2 sofas put together, very poor lighting, no working air conditioning, floors spotted, minute TV. I have photos.

    The location near the lake

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed in a room for four, shower against wall the in room with the beds. No privacy, separated by one clear glass panel only. Furnished with worn out IKEA, college dorm design.

    Location and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is right on the square so can be a little noisy at night from the people sitting outside drinking.

    I loved the location, beautiful part of italy. Went for my friends wedding and I would love to visit again for longer. The lake is picture postcard. The people are very friendly and welcoming and lots of bars and restaurants to choice from.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just needed a mirror in the bathroom and wi-fi although you could pick up the wi-fi frim the restaurant across the road if you were out on the balcony.

    This hotel is located in the main square and so perfect for all the local shops, bars, cafes and restaurants, and the beautiful views across the lake. The choice of food at breakfast is vast, fresh and delicious. The rooms are cleaned daily to a high standard and the free mini fridge topped up. The air conditioned rooms make a comfortable nights sleep. The main square is busy at night so it doesn't quieten down until about 2am. But this did not disturb me going to sleep early if I wanted to. The only thing i needed and didn't have was a mirror in my bedroom when doing my hair. My sister stayed in the 5 star San Rocca but after seeing my room, which was very big, and the fact that I had tea and coffee making facilities and she didnt, and she had to pay extra for mini fridge contents - she said she would stay at this hotel next time.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi did not work in upper rooms. I had to hang clothes in front of door to room to block light at night.

    Breakfast was wonderful Room was excellent location was perfect

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi did not work at our room wich was the penthouse. The hotel is very difficult to reach. The parking is located far away from the hotel and the town - wich is very beautiful - and full of stairs, hills and brickroads is NOT good with suitcases.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Badly positioned mirror and lack of full length mirror. 2. Lack of useful lighting over bed and solid bedside tables. 3. Unstaffed entrance to building, so didn't feel secure.

    1. Breakfast was excellent. 2. Location good - very close to the main piazza. 3. Most design features were stylish.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had the junior suite and the shower water freely flows into living area and our toddler slipped and hit his head on stone floor. WiFi does not work in your room Nowhere to sit and relax in your room other than the bed which is low to floor The reception staff at check in extremely rude.

    The breakfast was nice although parts of the Parma ham had gone off. Had a lovely selection of cakes,hams,cheeses,breads, rolls,fresh fruit

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Only a wardrobe for clothes no drawers to unpack so have to live out of bag also shower in middle of room which is ok for couples but for a family of adults not ideal the situation was made to work. No safety deposit box available anywhere for us to use so was uneasy leaving things at first as we were travelling for a wedding. Wifi only available downstairs in breakfast area.

    Excellent location right on the main piazza. The rooms are big with plenty of space.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lumpy pillows! The bedding was a bit sub-par, but overall, it was absolutely acceptable.

    Loved the "homey" feel of the hotel, there was always food stocked in the community fridge and the mini-fridge in the room...free of charge! The hotel felt warm and safe, although it's not what I would consider a luxury hotel. However, I would stay there again in a heartbeat due to the location and the sweetness of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tiny complaint, scratchy bed linen (feather quilt)

    We were amazed at the location in the centre of the piazza with our own balcony with waterside views.The breakfast here was something else! never have I eaten what can only be described as a banquet before.They gave us 10% discount to eat at their restaurant which was the best meal of our holiday.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning in the room wasn't very good. Difficult to find staff to speak to. Reception about a minute walk from the hotel.

    Shower. Layout of the room. Space. Free snacks in fridge. Views from balcony. Cake for breakfast! Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything else!!!!!! hotel staff, food, staff, rooms, wifi.....the list is long! the shower is in the middle of the room and has two uncovered sides and so water covers the bedroom floor. the beds are uncomfy. at breakfast there was no room to sit and the very rude staff said we couldn't have breakfast then, so we had to pay for breakfast elsehwere. WIFI only works on the ground floor so useless if you in the room.

    Location on the square but can be noisy!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet connection was very bad. Hotel management said it was a constant issue which the internet provider cannot rectify.

    Breakfast table is superb. Although it is buffet, the constant service, the quality and variety of food is is highly commendable.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be warned that the office of the hotel is a 200m walk away from the hotel (wasn't a real problem for us!)

    Situated right in the center of Orta in the main Piazza. Lovely and clean/modern. Nice spread at breakfast and facilities were good.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not a bad experience but the bedroom wld have been more comfortable with another chair and a good mirror and a table. Bed side lights cld have been better and why no bedside tables?

    Bathroom good and the shower different but very good. We enjoyed our stay and it wld have been perfect it the other comments had been considered.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It feels like being at home! The staff are polite and breakfast was quite sweet but had cereal and yoghurt to keep everyone happy

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole experience of staying in orta was very nice. The people, the place, hotel, staff. We have in fact booked our wedding there in sept 2017!!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Futon beds, no chairs, bad lighting

    Location, shower

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bar below which had patrons till 2.30am so no sleep the first night. We moved to another hotel by the kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    Location

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds

    Loved this hôtel, location, style etc but VERY unconfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No bath in a family room found hard to wash my daughter. Lack of mirrors

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    While preparing breakfast the doors were open so the birds came in eating from the cakes.

    Location and excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    shower in the bedroom with clear glass

    size of bedroom

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy Irish outside drinking until 2 in the morning. Can't be helped as they were at a wedding

    Excellent service, great place

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was great!!! AMAZING BREAKFAST!! Thank you for everything!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI should be all over the hotel not just the breakfast area

    Friendly staff great location

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just note that the reception is at a little Info Office about 50m from the hotel.

    big room

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    shower room and wifi

    friendly staff , Gorgeous breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Angela Merkels Picture at the Reception, rather choose Berlusconi in italy, smile!

    Location Staff Design of Rooms Service

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Browse Hotel Aracoeli traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: