Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Occidental Aran Blu 4 stars

Lungomare Duca Degli Abruzzi 72, 00121 Lido di Ostia, Italy

#3 of 11 hotels in Lido di Ostia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1131 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    General Maintenance.

    The Hotel is lovely but Not a 4 star Hotel. Maybe when it was new. Now rusted lift shaft, untidy Cables everywhere in Dining area and Reception, Extension cords lying on floor everywhere. The tiles are cracked , lift shaft has never been cleaned inside, Restaurant closed excepyt for Breakfast, No rooftop bar as per brochure, Paint peeling and cracks everywhere on outside. Just run down.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and customer support of all the staff was way beyond expectations, particularly the front desk from Chiara, who guided us as concierge to deal with some challenges while visiting Rome. Great words of advice and help. Staff as the kitchen were very good and the food is delicious and not expensive. The overall environment is good and very relaxing to wake up with the wind and ocean view. It is close to buses and trains to go to the historical areas and the Vatican City. Only cost you $1.50 euros to dom it by bus and the by train (same ticket). Also, it is close to the airport (Only 20 minutes). Consider traffic jams when planning your day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked this hotel at the very last second due to a flight cancellation. I was very impressed with the hotel during my stay as it was very clean, the rooms were modern, sizeable and nicely furnished. I would recommend this for anybody in a similar position, or anybody looking to hit the nearby beach!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reserved another room approx a month after the first room and got a much higher rate to pay on the second one.

    Location and small distance from the airport. Everything was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    prefer walk in shower to one in a bath. a bit risky for older customers. location was not great Surrounding streets are rather scruffy. I thought it would be a coastal resort area but was a suburb of high density housing. not a great location for the airport either as traffic is bad between here and Fiumicino. we went in the off season. May work better in the summer months.

    bed was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle was a taxi. Cheaper then the rate I got to the airport, but it isn’t really a shuttle service.

    It was very comfortable and the staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though it was only a 14 minute cab ride from the center of Rome, it cost 80 euros each way! Unless you're fluent in Italian, it's very difficult to figure out the metro from this area since English communication is very sparse. Also, the public beach shown in the pictures is actually very dirty with waste all over the shore/ water... including dead animals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dead plants in planters on balcony, no coffee or tea in room--just empty holder. View from rooms on back of hotel of torn awnings, trash, etc. extremely hard mattess and pillows. Very, very small rooms. Definitely not a 4-star hotel. Have stayed in 2-stars that were much nicer.

    Helpful staff, good breakfast. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room at the back of the hotel was a really bad sight for sore eyes. Although staff were really friendly, room had rot, shower trickled water so had to use a family members room for a shower everyday. Breakfast consisted of about 4 hot items - no vegetarian options. Restaurant was closed so no room service or food throughout the day. Closest convenience store was about 20 min walk. Won't be going back there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff was excellent, the young men who was helping me with check in was brilliant. It was my first time in Rome,i had so many questions. He explained to me everything what I asked for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner didn’t work.

    Breakfest was delicious. View form balcony was very nice. Near the hotel is a street with many restaurants. The buss stop was near to the hotel. Stuff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was booked through the booking site and I was surprised that the hotel told me it was non-breakfast, but the staff treated them well. The second topic is that there is no coffee or tea in the room, nor coffee or tea as in other hotels

    I was booked through the booking site and I was surprised that the hotel told me it was non-breakfast, but the staff treated them well. The second topic is that there is no coffee or tea in the room, nor coffee or tea as in other hotels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of elevator was out of order. Restaurant is open from 1st June. So I had only breakfasts. And when we were sitting till late laughing and talking someone call reception that we are too loud xD expensive mini bar and breakfast. But I think like most of hotels.

    Room was awesome. Beautiful view. Some members of staff very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody told me that they WILL charge me a day before check in I had card problem and had to resolve all of it during night time to save the room... Kinda unpleasant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a kettle in our room but there was no cups, tea, coffee or milk to make a drink. When we asked we were only provided plastic cups with just very basic coffee an 2 small milk pods. The bathroom door would not close and patio door was filthy and difficult to open. Also the hotel restuarants were closed.

    Bed was very comfortable, shower was hot and the breakfast was good. The hotel reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a tad hard even for Europe. Staff was great although a tad uninformed. It was about 2330 when we arrived and we asked is there was a pizza place near . We were told it was too late , but when we drove into town there was many places open , some until 0200 Also , Cleaning Folks started too early and made lots of noise. Realize they must clean , but recommend they wait until at least 0900 to start.

    The beds were a tad hard even for Europe. Shower was great. Staff was wonderful, although a tad uninformed. It was about 2330 when we arrived and we asked is there was a pizza place near . We were told it was too late , but when we drove into town there was many places open , some until 0200 Also , Cleaning Folks started too early and made lots of noise. Realize they must clean , but recommend they wait until at least 0900 to start.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms at the back called 'city view', have frosted glass so you cannot see out. Very claustrophic. A kettle is provided in the room but no cups, tea, coffee or milk. The cleaning staff would take the cup away again (I stayed 4 nights). It is a long walk to centre of town.

    Sea front rooms have a nice layout and good view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a small cube. While fully equipped (excapt no coffee or tea in the room) there just wasn’t much space for a couple of open suitcases. The walls are thin so we heard our neighbors activities quite clearly. But the staff was happy to bring us instant coffee and loan us coffee cups. We did not have their breakfast as the price was steep.

    The little balcony overlooking the sea was great even though we had rain and cold out there. The bathroom was very nice with a big soaking tub and a variety of shower heads. The bed easily pulled apart into 2 twins so we were less likely to keep each other awake. There was interesting lighting and proportions in the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheap prices and then they try to make money by extremely high taxi prices - totally out of control.... they asked for 45 EUR for less then 10km... on the website they say that there is a shuttle service "for free" from the airport... what a lie.... will never come back again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging 4 euro for a small bottle of water is simply not a good way to keep customers coming back... the flooded front makes it impossible to walk outside ... staff was friendly and helpful

    This place is only okay on the summer time but in winter basically is not okay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning. The windows were covered with plastic curtains which on a hot day made the room ridiculously hot. An unpleasant stay.

    Staff were lovely, the bed was comfortable but the air conditioning wasn't working and our room was like a sauna all day and night. They didn't move us, they simply said it will get cooler at night. It was the most uncomfortable stay of our 4 week Europe trip. They should have offered us a refund. The cost of this room was expensive, we expected better. A lot better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurants in the walkable surrounding area were all closed early. We were able to get a pizza delivered which was fine.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The buffet breakfast was great. View from the sizable balcony was fabulous!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent the last night of our 2 week vacation at a hotel near the airport since we had an early flight in the morning. When we took a taxi from the airport, it cost us less than 15 euros; however, the taxi to the airport (same distance) cost us almost 40 euros. Apparently, there's a different taxi company that is allowed to pick up from the area that this hotel is located, and so you're stuck paying their high prices. Just something to keep in mind. As for the hotel itself, it looked like it was recently renovated, with lots of amenities included (albeit, the quality of their toiletries wasn't great). Their breakfast spread was amazing...everything you could have wanted is included in their breakfast. Not many dining options in the area, but we were able to grab dinner on pier area across the street until about 10pm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    15 minutes and 30 Euro to get to the airport - not really an airport hotel

    Reception staff helpful and provided breakfast pack as we were leaving early

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well our first day our towels were not totally clean. On the first cleaning day the cleaning lady take our bathroom carpet with her and she did not leave another. There was none of carpet in the room. The floor was very cold. On our last night the weather was not the best and could not make some heat in our room. And it was interesting because there was no music channel in TV. It should be nice to have one. Maybe the foreign visitors will appreciate it. The biggest problem was with the minibar. In the hotel website said: free of charge. There was no price list in the minibar so we thought it is free. And we had to pay what we drank and eat from the minibar. It was not expensive, we paid 18 EUR for 5 thing. But I think they should clear this anyway for the future.

    The breakfast was very good. We had lots of choices. They helped us to get transfer from the airport, it was not cheap, but it was very impressive anyway.The rooms are well separated from the neighborhood. We did not have see side room, so it was nice that we could not hear the neighbors anyway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly & helpful Breakfast was amazing Bedroom had a balcony & a beautiful view of the beach. Nice walking track along the beach. Location of the hotel is a bus and train trip into Rome but it was a nice experience getting into Rome with the locals. Friendly neighbourhood - especially the shop owners - they were happy to assist with directions & questions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No downsides here!

    The location was wonderful, right across the street from the sea and a beautiful walk both to town and the marina. The staff was so very kind and accommodating, helping with the wifi setup, recommendations for dining, arranging a taxi and providing a boxed breakfast, since we had to leave too early for the wonderful buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a hallway door that kept making very hard noise and would wake you up, especially in the morning. Breakfast room was too little and crowded - we had to wait in order to get a table.

    Nice room with sea view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To the front of the hotel, the promenade/ port etc is lovely. Round the back the area is pretty squalid with little to recommend it, but this wasn't an issue for us as we weren't planning on exploring the immediate vicinity. We just wanted Barcelo comfort, by the sea, close to Rome & the airport. The hotel is at the far end of the strip away from the Lido centre with most of the restaurants. There are restaurants within the port but check with the hotel for recommendations - we didn't and ended up with food poisoning! Following advice from the hotel, we later had a lovely meal at Cafe Friends (Margherita Ristorante). The hotel restaurant is only open for dinner in high season, along with the roof bar.

    The staff were exceptional at Aran Blu - so friendly and helpful - even printing our boarding passes out (thanks Claudio!). The seaview from the room balcony was lovely (worth the extra) - you could hear the waves lapping the shore. Secure car parking was convenient - you just need to ask for the gates to be opened at reception. NB - there's a buzzer to reception at the bottom of the ramp to exit. Room was very comfortable, if slightly smaller than expected but the bed is large! Lots of toiletries, room safe etc. Breakfast choice was good with hot & cold options. In all, a lovely hotel, close to the airport, convenient for the city, and with sea views! Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is very sad to see that the village of Lido di Ostia is really very poor & totally not maintained well. The garbage is lying on the street. Shame on the politicians who let the place crumble to pieces... Sad for the people living there although they could also help to keep the place cleaner. There is totally no controll on who is paying or not on the buses. That is also not good for the city as they lack income through this.

    the people at the recepetion were extremely helpful, friendly & professional! The service at the breakfast restaurant was very good & the capucciono was top notch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was broken, the inroom safe didn't work, not even the front door key card would work until staff changed batteries. When we asked to talk to the manager 'he was occupied' and left for the day without even reaching out to us. Beach is poorly maintained and dirty. Hotel was hosting 'a meeting' and therefore bar and restaurant was off limits to guests. Unbelievable! Manager should not write a thank you for feedback response we will use to get better because he wouldn't even talk to us when we were there.

    Leaving

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators Did not work and had to cary our own suitcases to the 4th floor. When arriving in the room the lights did not work and in morning no hot water for the shower... when complaining at the reception nothing was done and no manger available!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think of. I was very pleased with my room.

    My room was just fantastic. Just what I requested. I was very tied and hot after a long flight from Sydney Australia. It was modern, so nice cool and comfortable. Lovely water views, very comfortable bed and pillows. Lovely friendly staff and a enjoyable breakfast the following morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool. Occasionally street noise can disturb likight sleepers so keep in mind but there is a sea view to enjoy.

    Clean and comfortable. Proximity to the airport is good. Beach is accross the street.. Small shops and nice restaurants are three minute walk away. Staff is extremely kind and speak English. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Public beach area was long way from the hotel, it is situated close to the yacht port, but far from the town center. Still some beaches also close to the hotel, but better to go 1-2 km from the hotel.

    Hotel was nice and clean. Breakfast was splendid. Good pleace if you enjoy walking or local public transport. You can rent bikes from the hotel. Port area is nice. Trip to Ostia Antica is worth beside beach holiday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was dusty under the bed and under the wardrobes Very small wardrobes, there is not enough place to put the clothes

    The breakfast was tasty and varied. The mattrasse was very confortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a long day, we checked into the hotel and decided to grab a quick bite. The hamburgers my kids ordered were terrible...the buns were very hard and inedible. The pasta carbonara wasn't very good either.....but the waitress was very funny and nice. The property was fine for a quick overnight near to the airport. But when we went out on our balcony it was clear we were in a rough neighborhood.

    The staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In theory, this Hotel should be a good place to stay, not too far from Fuimicino Airport. In reality though, my stay was frustrating in many regards. I chose this Hotel because I had two (2) days of business in Rome, but wanted to avoid having to stay in Rome itself. It's about 9 - 10 km from the Airport and easy to find if you have a good GPS in your Hire Car. Without a GPS, forget it (but in all fairness, that describes very many Rome Hotels). I booked a Sea View room which looked out over the small road in front, to the beach. It was a fairly standard room with all tiled floors, but with a comfortable bed and had a nice balcony area. Thank goodness I paid the extra and chose that type of room, because to the left and the back of the Hotel was all built up residential apartments three or four storeys high in typical high density, with barely a bit of foliage to be seen. Quite old, not attractive at all, and without being 100 % certain I would expect there would be privacy issues with all those windows facing each other. To the right was the large Rome Public Marina area, where you can have a very pleasant walk and look out over all the boats, yachts, and some very large super yachts. The proximity of the Marina is really the saving grace of this Hotel. It has a few shops, a McDonalds (that has a very low profile, behind blinds all daylight hours), quite a few pizzerias and cafes, and two or three proper restaurants. Of course seafood features regularly on all the menus. At the Hotel the restaurant area was functional, but the Dinner menu was very uninspiring, and even though the choices were limited, there were several items that were not available. You wouldn't starve there, but that's about as much as I could say in it's favour. For breakfast, the spread was adequate, but all the items were placed around the corners of the large dining area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Double room was far too small. Nowhere to put the suitcases so we had to step over them to move around the room. Only 3 hangers in a very small wardrobe. Tea and coffee facilities in the room were on arrival only, they were never replenished after the first night. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, but all the hot food was put out and left to go cold, no hot plates were used to keep it warm. Eggs, bacon, beans etc were cold most of the time.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as I got into the room I experienced a bit of a shock. The room stinked of cigarette smoke (non-smoking room), the bathroom had a very unpleasant smell. The room was poorly cleaned. The curtains are absolutely hurrandous, their are not shown on the pictures of the hotel. The "sea" view was more like a s**t view. The floor was dirty and with a lot of sand. Once I was back from the beach and I had bread crumbs on the pillows!!!One of the hotel reception stuff was very rude, absolutely unhelpful, and didn't help me resolve my problem. After not resolving my problem she wasn't even paying any more attention when I was approaching the reception. The manager was not in the hotel, didn't have a chance to speak with her. Absolutely disgusting area, I would hardly advice you not to come for more than one day! The private beach (if you like your comfort) is 15 minute walk away from the hotel, and the prices are pretty high too (16 euros for a sunned and an umbrella). The hotel breakfast was very poor with absolutely disgusting coffee (it's Italy, at least you can have some nice coffee). Totally not a 4 star hotel! Not worth the money! There are so many other nicer places around Italy, so please do check them out! Disgusting hotel, I left few days earlier and they did not refund me! It was a flexible rate! I couldn't stay in such horrible place! Disgusting-that's the best sum up!

    The wifi speed was rather fast, never experienced a single problem.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room closed for the evening meal.

    Great location close to airport. Breakfast offered was truly exceptional except for coffee machine, just lukewarm cappuccino.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor cleaning 1. there was a killed mosquito smashed on the wall in the bathroom (see photo) 2. There was cigarette on the balcony (see photo) 3. The back view pretty bad 4. The brioches were not fresh

    location directly at the sea

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach out front but that is it!

    It was right on the beach with an amazing view from the roof top terrace. The rooms were on the small side but manageable wirh 2 adult guests. The bed was a bit too hard. The shower was a bit too tight and awkward to manage with its size. The tile had some black mold in one of the corners but is easily fixable. The hotel is right between two apartment complexes where there are pets; dogs barking all dau and late into the evening. The room was very clean and modern. It has lots of potential. The restaurant was ok. The cook n waitress was very very nice. Breakfast was great too; it offered lots of options. The terrace closed at 5pm which is just right STUPID! The best time to be put there is later in the evening when the weather is more bearable, when the sun is setting. They have hot tubs up there as well. Who wants to sit in a hot up at 3pm when its over 30 degrees celsius; it just doesn't make sense. We were up there around 8pm and the sun was setting. The view was amazing and the outside temperature was perfect to sit out there and enjoy the beautiful evening with a cocktail or espresso but NOPE!!! The cushions were even removed from the outside furniture. Very sad and just right stupid in my opinion! One of the pictures on here of the ocean view in the evening sold me on this place. Lastly; they don't have ironing boards or irons for their guests to use. You have to pay someone to do it for you. I wouldn't stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty city. The hotel itself was just fine.

    The hotel was quite nice, unfortunately the city it's located in leaves much to be desired. It's a filthy dirty town with trash and overgrown weeds everywhere and nothing one would expect for a seaside town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room smelled of cigarette smoke.

    Breakfast was nice with lots of choices. The cappuccino machine in the breakfast room was not great, but we also had the staff make us a cappuccino in the kitchen and it was much better.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was much smaller than it appeared in the images when booking. The beach isn't that clean (though that isn't the fault of the hotel).

    The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful with choosing a restaurant for dinner. There were some lovely restaurants nearby in the marina- would recommend Poseidon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area is a little rough so would recommend using their underground car park .

    Easy access to Rome , bus around the corner to the train station , 1 train and then use the underground trains to any location in Rome for €1.50 ticket each way .... can't be bad .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -i would recommend changing the awful plastic curtains, they really destroy the beauty of the room:))) -the breakfast needs some upgrade, i know we visited off season but still ...

    -the room was nice and spacious -we had a nice sea view and nice balcony -the bed was comfy with super clean bed sheets -overall cleanliness was good, we were happy with that

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in a very beautiful place. The staff was friendly, helpful. The breakfast was ok. The hotel is mostly suitable for those traveling by car. There‘s a nice promenade right in front of the hotel. As we arrived in the evening and didn‘t know the promenade was being locked for the night, we barely managed to leave on time. Anyway, it is a perfect place to stay in summer; you can both spend time at the beach and easily reach Rome. The place is a bit far from the city center, but there is a bus stop next to the hotel from which you can go to the centre of Lido di Ostia. We had booked a transfer from the airport and were pleasantly surprised that even though our plane landed way earlier than it should have, the driver was already there waiting for us. If you have the possibility, book a room with a sea view – you won‘t regret it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Great breakfast with much choice for buffet, the view from room/terrace over the sea was a welcome surprise. Free parking along boulevard.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here to be close to the airport on our last night of our trip and that was a HUGE mistake---while it's only 4 miles from the airport it takes you over an hour to get there with traffic as this area is SUPER congested--it was also a 40EURO cab ride---40EURO to go 4miles to the airport SUPER RIPOFFF---we should have just stayed right by the airport--DO NOT STAY HERE---no restaurants, nothing to do and the breakfast is terrible!!!

    free wifi

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was good and the view was excellent. Staff was amazing in helping us to retrieve a camera backpack left in the lobby and placing it in a private car to Cittavechia in time for our Cruise ship departure. Truly priceless!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not have dinner service, and only one restaurant can be found within the walking distance. Could not find a table for breakfast because the cafeteria is not big enough to serve tour group but they did take care some tour groups. Noise control is also not good at the room.

    Close to the airport.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TUB/SHOWER IN BAD SHAPE, WATER IS POURING ALL OVER THE BATHROOM

    GOOD LOCATION IN THE SEA FRONT VERY NICE STAFF GOOD TV, RARE IN ITALY! PARKING IN HOTEL BASEMENT PRIVATE BALCONY WITH VIEW, TABLE & CHAIRS GOOD BEDDING CLOSE TO FIUMICINO AIRPORT, 10' BY CAR

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location to beach and shopping. The hotel has a very friendly staff. Very close to excellent restaurants. Wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed here our last night in Italy because it was beautiful and very close to the airport. People watching from the balcony is a plus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was listed on your site and on their website as "Adults Only". Upon our arrival, a family with 4 loud, unruly children walked in to register. I asked the hotel staff about the adults only designation marketed/ promoted on their website and they told me that as of 1/1/2016 - they were no longer Adults only. We would not have stayed at this hotel had we known. Secondly, they advertised a roof top terrace Bar - and upon our arrival were told that it closed October 1st. They also advertised a restaurant and bar in the Lobby - only to be told upon arrival that both the bar and restaurant were closed. On a Friday night. We would NOT have selected this hotel had we known there would not be an inhouse restaurant. We had to walk about 3 blocks to a restaurant. We were tired and not happy with the restaurant selection within walking distance. Finally, we had 3 sea side rooms reserved, and it was not in their records. Thank goodness I had my confirmation from the hotel with the sea side rooms reserved. We ended up getting 2 seaside and once corner room. Finally, if you don't book seaside - you will be GREATELY disappointed! The back side of the hotel was awful! It faced an apartment building. Toilets and sinks on the balconies of the apartment building directly across from the hotel. Laundry, junk and many unsightly piles outside the building. It was a horrible site. I also did not like the hotel location as it was at the end of the vacation strip and very far away from the city center. All-in-all the hotel site was not a reliable listing. The worst Booking.com experience I have ever had. Actually it was the first time I had ever been disappointed by a Bookings.com listing. Most of your hotel descriptions are spot on, but this one was a huge miss.

    The rooms were very nice, modern and the beds were comfortable. Hotel staff was accommodating and brought ice and got us taxi's which arrived on-time for our 3:30am departure from the hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    city view... was a bedroom window that looked directly into the slums. unfortunately not the fault of the motel but our timing was bad, the roof top bar closed the night before, it was raining, and the choices of dining for our last night in Italy was sad.

    nothing really

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely not a 4-star service, a lot of mosquito came in the room when we opened the windows, we asked for an electric anti-mosquito plug, they did not even bother to find one for us. The girls who served breakfast showed in their face that they hated their job, no glasses for juices, no coffee capsules , no 'cornetto'... You need to beg for everything during breakfast. The buildings nearby are so shabby, look like poor labor district.

    Room is in general comfortable. Elevator and garage security is good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    That's were it ends, nothing around it, all the streets are filthy, weeds and rubbish everywhere, bar was always closed, restaurant was closed and when it was open it was booked by people not staying in the hotel, restaurants out the door to the left are very far and to the right in the marina were all closed, Breakfast was very limited, they cut everything into quarter's from the bread to the sausages, they put a very limited amount on display and it took forever to replenish. But most of all the view from the back end of the hotel is frightful, a real view of poverty, people crammed in like sardines. Roads were in an awful state with rubbish everywhere, all their green spaces were closed to the public and overgrown with weeds and graffiti on everything. We also felt the beach was dirty. Its a real shame as it could be amazing

    The hotel was clean....that's about all

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an early flight and when we went down to check out, they had breakfast packed & the cab had been called. Lovely place by the ocean! Had a fantastic dinner at RIZCAFE on the waterfront!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to keep asking for the breakfast items to be replenished. Also the breakfast ends at 11am but they wouldn't put anything that was missing from the choice after about 10:15.

    The location. It was out of the main part of town so was reasonably quiet. It also gave the chance to walk into town which took about 25 mins. Good exercise for a couple that don't get enough during the working week.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom dirty. Terrible location for Rome and Airport. Takes hour + to Rome centre and same to airport. Airport shuttle is a shuttle to a shuttle, useless if you have baggage. Breakfast poor service but food ok.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is quite far from a good hub of restaurants. The area is also quite smelly.

    Buffet breakfast was great! Close to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is surrounded on three sides by apartment buildings. Lots of graffiti on those buildings. The area we had to drive through to get to the hotel was full of apartment buildings as well--again, lots of graffiti and several of the buildings looked rough.

    You definitely want the rooms overlooking the water. There is a nice marina with several restaurants near the hotel. Hotel room itself was very modern with nice amenities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit grim. Be sure to request an ocean view room or you will see an old and run down tenet net type building.

    Location is across from water and close to marina which is why we chose it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet paper was pretty cheesy; It took a lot of it to adequately wipe. There were no facial tissues in the room.

    The sea-view is superb. Architecture modern with very clean lines. Very clean room. I liked that there were adquate hooks in the bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you for making my parents feel so welcome. Excellent location, beautiful hotel. Looking to book another visit soon. Thank you Kind regards Janet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Limited restaurant menu, lacks ambiance, Lido de Ostia is not what is used to be, no night life anymore

    Comfortable hotel, helpful staff, nice rooms, good amenities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great quiet location and a modern hotel is such a nice experience after so many old hotels. Choice of restaurants at the marina. Perfect location for access to the airport.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms facing away from the beach look directly into apartments of locals, definitely go for a beach room, bathroom had a sewer gas odour

    terrace, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel could provide some basic beach equipment to its customers, especially an umbrella. Otherwise you need to rent it from the nearby beach facility at €5/day. The room we had was quite dark with a tiny window, seaview rooms could be much better.

    Great location by the beach. Free parking. Very rich breakfast. We were given the chance to check-in early as the room was ready at no extra cost. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could not make cocktails at the bar and required you to go to the rooftop bar to get sub par drinks. Chef forgot cheese on our meat and cheese plate.

    Nice accommodations

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tidy but not that charming.

    Had to book last minute due to flight delay. Neat hotel at a close location to the airport and next to the sea. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so nice and generous. We were tired and hot. from traveling and with out us even asking the person at the desk just brought out two cold bottles of water for us. They also had big clean free beach towels for us to use. They put a smile on ours faces after a long day of traveling mishaps.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is only a 15 minute drive from Fiumicino and a couple of minutes walk from a couple of restaurants,some bars and a gelateria. The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Occidental Aran Blu traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: