Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Arbatasar 4 stars

Via Porto Frailis 11, 08041 Àrbatax, Italy

#11 of 27 hotels in Àrbatax

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 500 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The top manager of the big, noble hotel was unable to talk the world languages English or French and was completely unflexible to provide a closed room for a small, but expensive road bicycle and forced me to let it on the open parking space, only protected by video surveillance Only one chair in a double room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything.

    Fantastic hotel with friendly English speaking staff. 1st class restaurant with extensive food and wine menu and pleasant waiters. Reliable internet and off-road parking. Very quite at night, Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel restaurant is overpriced and the food quality is not great. The included breakfast is extremely basic. We were shocked to be told that we weren't allowed to bring any outside food into our room. The location of the hotel was not great. We had to drive almost everywhere we wanted to go, it is not possible to stay here without a car. Getting here from the airports is a long drive - about 3 hours. Arbatax itself is a town with nothing going on. There are many better places to stay on the island.

    The hotel is nice, clean and the grounds and pool are well manicured and lovely to look at. A really quiet and relaxing environment. Our room was comfortable, clean and well equipped. The view from the 3rd floor is beautiful. There is secure, off road parking which was very convenient. Most of the staff were friendly and very helpful. The price of the hotel is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication before visit was misleading. I was told there would be body lotion and hair conditioner and tea and coffee in room but nothing of those except tea bags. The bed was VERY hard. The bathroom smelled of drains.

    Staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not very good, not much hot food to eat no veggies Coffee was pretty bad Arbatax is a small town from late September there are really not much to do around

    Bed was very comfortable, room was really clean Hotel restaurant is really good, a bit pricy but very good quality food and service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive and a bit disappointing you couldn't take in your own water and snacks

    The bed was very comfy, the hotel was very clean with friendly welcoming staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, fabulous.

    First off, I have to applaud the hotel staff who were very helpful in liaising with our previous hotel in Cagliara to retrieve a wallet containing credit cards, which was left there in a safety deposit box. They sorted it for us very efficiently and quickly, it arrived at the hotel the very next day - massive Thank You. The hotel is very charming and quirky, the room was spacious, clean, comfortable, plenty of wardrobe space. Breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely with great surrounding views. The food selection was excellent with cereals, juices, cakes, meats, cheeses, yoghurts, scrambled eggs, toast. The pool area is a great relaxing place to spend time. It's only a short walk down to nearest restaurants and bars and also only about an easy 15 minute walk to the beach at Porto Frailis.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very average quality, generally unhelpful staff, more interested in their wedding party guests. Not much going on in the area. Rooms are outdated and restaurant overpriced.

    Decent enough breakfast on a nice balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was too tiny and anything extra was chargeable... like room service fees (€10 per person) and towel deposits (€5 per towel per day) and even asking for your egg to be fried instead of scrambled during breakfast.

    It was clean and the staff were very attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At breakfast It could be more salty choice and not mostly sweets...

    The breakfast on the Terasse was great. The hotel looks really great whith all what you need for nice vacation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could be a bit more rich in local vegetables and fruits :-) You need to rent a car to go to the beach (all hotel guest had their rented car - sth you must know)

    Hotel is real 4 star hotel!!! Not only stuff is great. But first and foremost - hotel itself - the interior design and the details were exactly as anyone could expect from 4 stars hotel. I was very pleased for the first time of my life that hotel can keep their promise of great experience :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very clean, great and helpful staff. We were with two kids 4 and 6 years old and they loved swimming pool which is very ergonomic designed. Great place to rest for couples and families as well

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on the 3rd floor had a nice view. The choice of meal excellent. Private Parking and you can reach the harbour in mins. Supermarket near by, Gelateria, hairdresser everything you need. Lovely place to relax at the pool with excellent services.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Turned away at check-in ten minutes before due time. By no means Superior room but very average family room with 3. bed. Poor sound insolation (room next to lift and stair and above outside seating area) - very noisy. Staff with an attitude. Breakfast staff clearly overwhelmed at peak times. First morning no coffee machine but a lukewarm dispenser. Addressed with hotel reception, response was unsatisfactory if not arrogant (you should be here in season).

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard bed. Outdated, in need of a makeover.

    The hotel has a nice Mediterranean feel about it. Nice kept grounds surrounding the hotel. Various breakfast. Nice personnel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning shut off, for this season. (Mid october) + 28 C in the room. To open window, no alternative as temperature will increase. Upon request no real answer other than "it will cool down in the evening."

    Very nice building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No beer on tap

    location is quiet and provided excellent facilities. parking was easy and free. Very clean room and everything worked. Staff were friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - 4 € a beer at the pool - 3 € per item if you use the fridge on your room for your own things - not allowed to bring a backpack or handbag to the breakfast room because you might steal some food - I was charged twice per night, at first my credit card by booking.com and at check-out I had to pay again although I told the receptionist that my credit card has been charged alreday. Because of the mistake of the hotel I had to do many calls and mails and am waiting for the refund now.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that the floor we stayed, the wifi router was not working; therefore, I had to be in public areas to use the internet instead of my own room.

    Beautiful hotel situated right in town. Plenty parking. Very clean and comfortable bed. Breakfast was plentiful and restaurant in the hotel was very good and competitive prices.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would like to have wifi in the rooms (and more solid wifi in the public areas), although lack of wifi seems fairly standard in Sardinia.

    Really nice hotel with a great pool area, amazing restaurant, and very relaxed vibe. While Arbatax is quite small, it's a perfect location to explore the gulf of orosei, which the hotel organizes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arbatax itself is not that much as a place for holidays...

    building and furniture new and accurate, staff kind and helpful, breakfast in the roof garden, parking free inside

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like much was actually the village itself, Arbatax. Nothing to do or see, far from the most interesting places. The hotel is just behind the port and the surroundings are not that nice.

    The hotel is very classy; nice room, nice facilities, very clean and friendly staff. It all looked quite new and it was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff is unfriendly, ridiculous rules (refrigorator:penalties!), a lot of noise at the east side by hotel machinery/airco (no reaction after complaints)

    hotel, zwembad, uiterlijk is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stay for 5 days, and the only thing that was a problem for me is the breakfast. I think they can change the "menu" ..... for the 5 days it was every morning the same.!!!!

    Clean and friendly. Enjoy it very much

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit expensive the minibar

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the breakfast terrasse! Splendid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no vegtabels served at breakfast

    Good and clean hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff very kind and always ready to accommodate your requests

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff , on the reception ( check in and especially check out) , was rude and very unpoliet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had a small pool.

    Very well kept facilities Good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building and property. Centrally located near the harbor. Not far to a beach either.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mechanical noise outside our window was annoying.

    Perfect grounds and professional staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice hotel and great breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do.

    Great facilities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent, friendly and really helpful. Hotel food is very nice, pool area chilled and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi problems

    Nice swimming pool, good location, nice staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Shower in bathroom is small.

    Very friendly and professional staff. Cleanliness of ALL areas, perfect. Very good restaurant. Relax pool area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving the hotel ;-)

    The Arbatasar hotel is just fabulous: this is a very elegant hotel in a perfect location to visit the east coast of Sardinia and we have to insist on the kindness, the hospitality and the professionalism of all the staff: from reception, breakfast room, restaurant to the cleaning staff, the whole team made us feel very welcomed from day one and always had a smile on their face :-) - The room was big and elegant with a huge bed and nice furniture choice - we particularly enjoyed the decoration/style/furniture in the hotel: rooms and corridors: old and classic furniture, very stylish. - The breakfast is rich and varied (but of course this is more of a continental Europe/Italian breakfast style, do not expect an Irish breakfast ;-) (but there is savoury choice) - the hotel restaurant is excellent: customers from outside the hotel were coming every evening: it was always very busy, which is a good sign. The food was 5 stars ***** - The pool area is lovely and relaxing. - We thought that it was a great starting point to visit this part of Sardinia, but you cannot do without a car! (however we quickly realised that this is the case everywhere in Sardinia: have a car, you cannot rely on transports) - Arbatax is only a very small village, nothing amazing but this is nice for a walk and the pizzerias and restaurants are all good and with reasonable prices. Only a 3 minutes walk from the hotel. We would definitely go back, we loved it!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was so so, the choice was not very extended, moderate bread quality and most of all really poor coffee! I mentioned it to the staff but they indicated it was a special machine grinding the beans etc. however not what you would expect in Italy! Wifi is not available throughout the hotel.

    Very nice and spacious room. Good location for exploring the surrounding beaches (by car).

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was very tiny and there was no dressing gown, slippers, and no kettle. Also, the swimming pool had a nice overhead shower feature but it was only turned on during daily pool cleaning.

    It's a value-for-money hotel type. The rooms are a little bit outdated, but they are clean and bed is comfy. Staff is friendly as well. There's a free car parking and the location is close to the port, but not so close to the centre. Make sure to have a car if you choose this place.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was amazing, especially the guy in the reception, didn't catch his name, but I got a parking ticket and he fixed all the paper work etc for me. He also fixed us a sandwich when we arrived after midnight. Really helpful! The cleaning was really good, always tidy and super clean. Great breakfast, great restaurant. Small town though, so it's good to have a car unless you're happy with the immediate surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all....I Will only say at this property

    The young blond lady at the front desk was extremely helpful and gave us the best recommendations for dinner. The location is not on the beach but its only a 1 minute walk away. I was in Italy for 10 days and my favorite meal was at Arbatasar Hotel restaurant.,,,Service, price and wine list were spot on. Thank you for an amazing stay!!

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only let downs were no fresh orange juice at breakfast, and the only cooked food at breakfast was the same 2 choices of small boiled sausages or scrambled egg every day. The rest of breakfast was great however. It was a very minor detail but the shower cubicle in our room was looking a bit old and tired and in need of updating. Honestly though - the only thing we didn't like about this hotel was leaving it!

    This is a lovely hotel with a feel of luxury. The pool is amazing - it is really well designed so that you can sunbathe in an inch or 2 of water round the edges, and big enough and deep enough to swim in the middle. The temperature was perfect. The surrounding gardens are pretty, tranquil and well designed. The restaurant is wonderful, with impeccable service and absolutely delicious food. The reception staff were amazing and just couldn't do enough for you. They were very professional and friendly. The room was really nice, with a very comfortable bed, and easy to adjust air conditioning. We stayed at 4 hotels during our holiday and this was by far the most comfortable! The upstairs terrace where breakfast was served had lovely views and was just the right temperature.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - very tiny french style balcony; - very poor breakfast for the price you pay; - the restaurant seemed a bit overpriced for what you get.

    - original and antique design, nice surrounding; - amazing view from the terrace, where breakfast was served; - quite good location if you want to walk to a seaside and visit red cliffs; - the hotel is located off the noisiest road.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from outside in our particular room.

    Courtesy,architecture,facilites,classy.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Flooring

    Ambience

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the garden and the swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location e design

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Best hotel in Sardinia, we have visited. Excellent restaurant and staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimming pool, the garden, the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    bad wifi. No chargers for iPhone at reception, come on its 2015.

    Amazing restaurant! Nice hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Amazing staff Location Friendly Great care

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing wrong with hotel but Arbatrax itself was a bit disappointing

    Lovely roof top breakfast venue

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice breakfast big room

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Hotel Arbatasar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: