Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Archimede Ortigia 3 stars

Via F. Crispi 67, 96100 Siracusa, Italy

#36 of 45 hotels in Siracusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 114 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Breakfast was so bad that we didn't bother to eat. Coffee grey and tasteless. Only cheap sweet cakes no bread or anything else. Shockingly poor. They should not bother to offer it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Poor staff response when problems with functioning of room equipment were reported. Also, the worst coffee I have ever encountered, coloured water would be a better description.

    Comfortable bed, good bathroom, convenient for station/airport shuttle

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was homely, comfortable, and a wonderful cool (air conditioned) retreat from the intense summer heat. Hotel Archimede's staff were friendly and very helpful - from carrying my suitcase up the stairs, letting me check in early, to lending me a power adapter. The location was very conveniently located near the train station - exactly what I needed (it was about a 15-20min walk to Ortigia, which I didn't mind). I enjoyed my stay and would book here again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was unusable in the evening.

    In my Italy round trip, this was the first hotel, which was not just called "hotel", but is was really a "hotel".

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast service needs a better organization. It seemily was set as buffet but also there were 3 persons by the coffee and juice table trying to help. There was not a lot of room for the table, the guests and the helpers, so having a coffee was problematic. They need to thing that over.

    The manager and all the staff were very very helpfull. They gave us excellent advice on how to organise our 2 1/2 days in Siracusa. We didn't waste a minute and have a lovely time. The manager (Ruben) spoke english and spanish with us and was patient with our basic italian.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There was nothing that we didn't like. As it is december, there was sometimes a bit cool, but air conditioner perfectly solved the issue.

    1.Brilliant location, 1-2 minutes to the railway and bus station; 2.lovely design of the hotel, it has a memorable style, many small pleasant details and, of course, the symbol of the hotel - Archimede the perrot :); 3.reasonable prices, the hotel accepts cards; 4. but THE MOST important - SOOO INCREDIBLY friendly and helpful staff!! Without them our stay would have been completely different. Ruben - smiling, energetic, always active, very emotional and perfectly italian person and Stephano - very calm, also so polite and so considerate. There was also a very friendly worker from Sri Lanka. Our best regards to him also :) Allora, as you say, Ruben, grazie mille, guys, you are brilliant!! You made our stay very special :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we disliked

    The staff were outstanding.They were knowledgable pleasant and very kind to us.The room we had was very quiet and spacious. I had parking in one of the hotel spaces. This was our third time in the hotel and we have been very satisfied on the previous two visits but this one was exceptional. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Ortigia and the archaeological zone

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuffy dark old fashioned place, needing a refurbishment. woken repeatedly by street traffic noise at night. Cramped bathroom.

    Near bus and train station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - broken toilet flush - breakfast was below average (especially bad coffee) - no elevator

    - staff was very friendly and helpful: they even made us a dinner reservation at a local restaurant - architecture of the old building

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    close to the train station, walkable to the sites, welcoming staff, comfortable room. Exactly what we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby needs a refurbishment as it looks quite shabby.

    The price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive for the rooms and facilities available.

    Walkable distance to Ortiga. Easy to park your car in the street if you have a hire car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast.

    Fantastic place to explore Siracusa and seaside!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit outdated, it looked kinda old,...

    It is very close to Ortigia, the receptionists are very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a smell of ash tray, terrible experience. Poor internet. Actually it is B&B Hotel.

    Good location and very friendly stuff. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wi-Fi reception, had to go to lobby.

    Lovely period decorations and we felt like we had our own private wing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom need to be refurbished !

    The staff(three receptionists )are really hospitable and helpful!especially the one with glasses on day shift and the one from Sri Lanka ,they are really polite and thoughtful to the guests!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The style of this hotel reminded me of the hotel in Fawlty Towers, but the people are much nicer. Breakfast was a very pleasant surprise with a much wider choice than most other hotels in this price range. The staff speak English and are very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One has to have realistic expectation of a modest establishment and we found the breakfast perfectly adequate in amount and range, and in a pleasant room. But in our view good hot fresh ground coffee would make it significantly better.

    Our main purpose was to take an unhurried look at the Graeco-Roman remains and the Ortygia area. From Archimede's excellent position both were very easily reached on foot. There was hotel street parking just outside. The lively and friendly young woman manager spoke good English, was kind to my Italian, and pointed us to a quite excellent fish restaurant two streets away. For a modest hotel it's very decent and extremely good value for money with to our tastes no real downside. We quite seriously considered staying there longer and not going on to our other - more expensive - destination.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is really nice and welcoming

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very convenient for both trains and buses, and Ortygia only c.10 mins walk away.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    Good location,easy to find. Staff speaking English very well. Hotel can offer city map and professionally advise to travellers!

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The atmosphere, position and comfort are all good.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very helpful reception when we arrived early, next morning again more help when I had failed to book breakfast. A traditional family run hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi acess not in most distant room - had to walk down the hallway.(Best access is in the lobby).

    Location near train and bus.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had killed all mosquitoes in this hotel room, before our sleep time and every day, for 5 days.

    The city is very old and beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none, good value for money

    very good staff

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The double bed was really bad, you rolled into the centre.

    staff were very polite & helpful. While the hotel is old and dated, it was clean.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had parking opposite hotel and due to the hotel being central we had a day without driving which was brilliant!

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse Hotel Archimede Ortigia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: