Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arciduca Grand Hotel 4 stars

Via G. Franza, 98055 Lipari, Italy

#3 of 21 hotels in Lipari

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 176 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Perfection. I am looking forward to next September.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of anything additional that could be expected of a boutique hotel like the ArciDuca. Perhaps the coffee could be improved, at breakfast? There is a nice bar: i wish more people used it, to improve the bar-atmosphere. Perhaps the hotel could offer a happy-hour to encourage this?

    Really, really nice boutique hotel, ultra-convenient for the central restaurants, shops and ports. I love this hotels, and always stay here when I visit Lipari. We are definitely going to book for next year, as soon as my dates are settled,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi could only be used when TV was on. Reading lights didn't work. No massive issues though.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent. Pool lovely. Rooms comfortable but smallish.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    A bit sterile but friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Back room was dark and loud from road noise and pipes from rooms above - every flush or shower wooshed straight down right near our heads. Pool looks cool but is cold and impractical and uncomfortable with more than one person. No real character which we’d been spoilt with on other islands.

    View from hot tub on roof, good breakfast selection, lots of clean towels, fast Wi-fi when tv on

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Quaint family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and hotel was a bit tired. Air con was very loud and fan speed couldn’t be adjusted. Hotel is a family friendly hotel - wouldn’t recommend for couples. More deck chairs needed.

    Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Close to the marina.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Bright and clan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing negative to say about this place

    This place is immaculate in every way and the staff are so welcoming and friendly. Clean big rooms with such a huge variety for colazione.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice - but not fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in a building across the road from the main hotel complex & pool. Hot reception area, no air con (may be).

    Good location, nice pool, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Pool was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel bar service can be a little slow. Air conditioning was a bit weak in the room.

    Pool was lovely. room terrace pretty and private. Breakfast was superb (so much choice). Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Our second visit to this lovely small hotel and happy to recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Food in the restaurant seemed a little plainer than I remember from our first visit but although it's simple stuff it's still good, fresh, all prepared on site, and good value.

    Quiet location but only a couple of minutes walk from Marina Corta. Lovely staff (especially Ioana). Nice pool. Good hot pool shower. Pretty good restaurant with excellent wine list. Bathroom with tub so I could have a soak. And a washing line. Evening turn-down service wasn't just the beds but another clean/tidy in the bathroom too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel that added to our amazing experience of Lipari.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning didn't seem to work for long periods but in fairness we only tried to use it once so may not have been doing it right.

    Loved that you got a free shuttle bus to port & back. All the staff were really helpful & very pleasant, rooms were spotlessly cleaned every day, towels changed, you were provided with pool towels. Breakfast was amazing- so close to town & smaller port. So much history in the old town. Bus to Canetto was so easy to catch & the lovely ladies at hotel reception gave me a copy of bus timetables. Pool was exceptional clean & as not in a busy month we had it to ourselves. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Great place to stay on Lipari
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all

    The hotel was beautiful - stately and elegant without being over the top.. The staff was very efficient and very friendly. They offered a free breakfast, but it didn't start until 8:00 AM and we had to leave earlier than that for our ferry. They provided a free shuttle back down to the ferry dock. I'd highly recommend it. I only wish that we had been able to stay for more than one night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small & away from the main building. Frrom our room we had to cross a car park to go to the hotel, the swimming pool was too close to the breakfast/lunch area and crammed.

    Nice location. Ok breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect. Great breakfast offering a range of items both as a continental breakfast and local delicacies. Comfortable, fully air conditioned and super clean room.Free WiFi. Central yet quiet location. Helpfull staff and excellent service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    We loved every minute of our stay at the Arciduca Grand,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We loved every minute of our stay at the Arciduca Grand, nothing was too much trouble and the staff where all fantastic, polite, friendly and very helpfull! The hotel was immaculate clean and maintained to very high standard... We arrived by Hydrofoil and the hotel laid on a courtesy bus to collect and drop us off at the terminal... We would definitely return - Thx :-)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Very satisfied with our stay. Thoroughly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi for the room is linked to the TV, so you need to have the TV on to be connected. This was a little irritating.

    Very nice & clean hotel. Well furnished. Friendly & helpful staff. Wide selection of breakfast options. Clean & inviting swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautifully maintained hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Groups of tourists tended to take over dining room for breakfast and dinner.

    Beautifully maintained hotel with great staff. Hotel van meets you at the boat and arranges for ride to the beach. Short walk into town. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    A really top spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No significant negatives.

    It's a terrific hotel in all respects but what really stood out was the excellent attention, attitude of staff and service at all times.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    5.8
    Expensive for what it was.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. Coffee machine wasn't working.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Clean, no fuss hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor.

    Clean, no fuss hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Friendly, helpful and efficient staff. Good value

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, great position, not too far from town but just far enough to have a pool and be quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good.

    Pool great, breakfast great, staff helpful, beds comfortable, all good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast, clean and confortable room, staff is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Excellent breakfast, clean and confortable room, staff is very kind

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The pool area was lovely, staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was lovely, staff very friendly. Room was so clean and spacious. Would love to stay another time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    A very nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very nice place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast was amazing, room clean, beautiful facilities and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location was a fair distance from the port, but they do offer a free transfer. No one contacted me in regards to questions asked on booking form.

    Breakfast was amazing, room clean, beautiful facilities and lovely staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    Loved Lipari, loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shuttle mix-up on arrival; we requested hotel shuttle pick-up from specific fast ferry arrival, didn't spot where shuttle bus was parked, they picked others up but left us behind, then we fell for taxi scam (15 euros)

    Loved Lipari, loved this hotel. Owner-managed, correct in every detail. Quality throughout, especially bathroom, pool, all the lovely staff. And a great in-house restaurant serving excellent lunches and dinner, good choices at very fair price.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    The location is excellent for the little port (about 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the staff were very helpful and some were not. It was very hit and miss.The late night male receptionist was particularly helpful, getting us late night drinks and turning on the ceiling fans in the bar area and so on. Not all the staff were like that however. The pool water was very warm so it was not that refreshing as a way of cooling off. So we drove around to Acquacalda which has a very good pebble beach. It also has a very good restaurant at the far end (the end of the beach nearest to the island of Salina).

    The location is excellent for the little port (about 5 minutes walk) and it was easy to park just outside the hotel, even in July (they offer garage parking too but it is a very small garage so we just left our car outside on the street after the first night). Our room had a terrace and was large enough to sleep three people even though there were only two of us. So we had plenty of space. But I suspect the standard double rooms are smaller (probably too small judging by the other reviews) and therefore it may be worth paying the extra for a bigger room. Our room also had a very efficient air con system which was very welcome given the heat of the summer. There are several excellent restaurants nearby including a very good one on the same road at the junction and also one called Il Pirata down at the port. The hotel is very clean and the bed was firm but comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    6.7
    The hotel is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Despite some pictures on booking, this hotel has room with view on the sea. There is some sea view from the top terrace but it's limited and there are no much reasons to go up there. Although Arciduca is one of the only 4* in Lipari some of the infrastructure don't match the category. Wifi and Airco are a bit lazy. Issue getting water in room in the middle of the night, smelly bathroom. We wanted to have the fourth night in another island but our booking conditions didn't allow us without penalty and staff didn't wave the conditions (fair enough but a little flexibility would have been welcomed). Couldn't find the SPA, the people at SPA were never there and all access were closed. Good fitness machines but the room is very small and no appropriate aeration so prepare yourself to sweat:)

    The hotel is clean. It's perfect for a group or for a business incentive. The hotel is a combination of a few houses that has been put together to form a nice Liparian atmosphere with a swimming pool in the middle. Staff is generally nice and helpfull. The room was a bit small and they transfered us to a bigger one and manage to move all our stuff while we were visiting the city which was very appreciated. We also like the twice a day housekeeping (cleaning in the morning and doing it a second time at night with cleaning and bed opening).

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.6
    great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    great location. Excellent staff. Excellent breakfast buffet.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: