Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Aretusa Vacanze B&B

Vicolo Zuccala' 1, Ortigia, 96100 Syracuse, Italy

#9 of 149 B&Bs and inns in Syracuse

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 814 B&B reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    Excellent location for sightseeing and best value for money. Breakfast for kings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The access to the apartment is hard if you have a lot f luggage (walking area).

    We liked the comfort of apartment. The place was big and clean. The breakfast was very tasty and served at the top of the roof.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay. Would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very spacious, cool and quiet. The location was excellent and the use of the garage was a real bonus. The staff were extremely freindly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast on the terrace was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on the terrace was exceptional. Fresh ricotta and homemade jams/jellies. Maurizio, the breakfast host, was extremely friendly and professional. The staff was super with dinner recommendations. They also booked our taxi from and to the airport with no problems.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Amazing and very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing could have been better

    We arrived very early for our check in and the staff were very welcoming making us coffee and amazing freshly squeezed orange juice. It was a family run business and nothing was too much trouble for anyone. Extremely friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting siracusa 😁

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Thanks for meeting us and guiding us to the car park! Breakfast was the best of our trip, and the staff serving breakfast were so cheerful. The breakfast terrace was such a nice place to meet other guests and start our day. The location was outstanding, near to many attractions, and the entire island is very walkable. Our room was spacious, and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    A short but very sweet stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The establishment was delightful, we booked the budget ground floor split level room and it was fantastic. Very comfortable with excellent facilities including a fridge and hotplates. The bathroom was great and a separate 2nd toilet a bonus. The mezzanine bedroom was quirky and we loved it. The Internet was good and private parking availability a bonus. The location is also great, walk out and you are right there not far from Fonte Aretusa, but not in the middle of tourist central. To top it off next door there is an excellent restaurant, Osteria Mariano serving foods of the region. Breakfast was also just so good with freshly squeezed orange juice and local favourites as a bonus on top of the usual fare. The espresso was excellent too, something rare in a hotel or B&B. Everyone was served personally by our charismatic host, if only every B&B could be like this. To top it all off the staff were fantastic, they could not have done more to make us feel at home. This is a wonderful family run business. I thank you all for making our short stay so pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    A hidden little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely wonderful place and location was perfect to visit all the beautiful sites of Syracuse. The rooftop terrace for breakfast was simply magnificent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.6
    The ideal place in the heart of Ortigia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We can't figure out what could still be improved.

    The B&B is located in the heart of Ortigia, in a very small pedestrian street where neither restaurants, bars nor shops exist, implying that one is absolutely not affected by noise coming from people drinking or eating late at night. How often do you get a freshly squeezed juice on a roof terrace under an umbrella in the morning sunshine ? Even the cappuccino is served on the spot by two charming and pleasant waiters. Home-made pastry was also offered. Our room was clean, large enough and comfortable (there was even a tiny kitchen inside the room). Contrary to many other B&Bs, this one even had an elevator. The parking facility is a little bit far from the B&B but it represents the perfect solution to get rid of one's car in Ortigia (very) touristic ZTL (Zona Traffico Limitato).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    9.2
    A great find on the beautiful island of Ortigia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great quirky Bed and Breakfast in a wonderful location. Good size rooms with kitchenettes. Really good breakfast with a range of options served on the roof terrace. The freshly squeezed orange juice every morning was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    good location with comfortable bedrooms and very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent room for 4 persons because it actually consisted of 2 separate bedrooms with one shared showerroom and kitchenette. Breakfast is the best we ever got in a b&b.......fresh cheese delicacies.....fresh orange juice......scrambled eggs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    10
    Classic B&B in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Classic B&B in a perfect location. The interior is not new, but very clean & cozy & comfortable. Good breakfast, nice stuff... we would come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Aretusa Vacanze for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Aretusa Vacanze for the following reasons: - Ideal location in the heart of Ortigia; - Very helpful and friendly owners and staff; - Great value in having 2 bedrooms with a kitchenette for a wonderfully reasonable price; - Lovely breakfast on roof terrace with great coffee; - Great, high quality and quiet A/C; - Good sleeping conditions ; - comfortable beds; - Immaculate; - Good wifi; - Folk art paintings in rooms with beautifully stenciled walls and ceilings; - Generous amenities in bathrooom; Although the TV had one English language channel ,BBC ,!we would have liked to have additional English language stations. CNN would have been especially nice. We would certainly welcome a return stay to this property in the future

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended in Ortigya!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is far away from the Hotel. The hotel is well located in Ortigia, but it is in an Vicolo, what makes impossible to park your car nearby. This was the only inconvenient.

    Very good location. Staff very friendly. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.2
    Good value, decor basic but everything worked well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything thing worked well.

    Breakfast was really nice, On an outdoor terrace overlooking rooftops and the sea. The man serving breakfast was helpful and friendly with a nice sense of humour. Freshly squeezed orange juice was available plus good selection of cereal and delicious pastries, fresh fruit and good coffee. Property has a lift and very easy walk from fountain of Artemide where taxi could drop us with our luggage

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    The perfect place to stay in Ortygia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only improvement would be a longer stay.

    A remarkably pleasant experience in every way, from beginning to end. Excellent arrival instructions and Antonio met us at the fountain and then parked the car for us. the 3 person suite was very nice--large, with nicely painted ceilings. We followed Antonio's suggestion for dinner at Taberna Sveva--great food, and what turned out to be front row seats for the annual Santa Lucia Procession (patron saint of Syracuse)! The roof terrace breakfast was excellent. Most impressive was a five-star row of home-made jams, including tasty oddities like pumpkin. Not only would we stay here again, but we are considering coming back to Syracuse in order to stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    8.8
    The property is in the heart of Ortigia and all bars and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is in the heart of Ortigia and all bars and restaurants are very close. The property itself was clean, the staff were very welcoming and the breakfast on the roof was also somewhat special. The bruschetta with aubergines and the pistachio croissants were to die for :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    a wonderful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    This is a wonderful little gem.The room is very clean and the bed is very comfortable. The best part of our stay was the breakfast! Every morning, Maurizio greeted us on the beautiful roof deck which overlooks the rooftops of Ortigia and the sea He has a delicious spread prepared, from traditional Arancini, to meats and cheeses, to his homemade jams. The location is ideal, within walking distance to the large piazza, the market and to all of the shops and restaurants on charming Ortigia. The staff is gracious, helpful and kind. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    A little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed for three nights and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. We had a lovely stay. It's just the kind of place that makes your vacation special. Great location, nicely decorated, clean and quiet. The breakfasts were delicious, homemade, and varied. Rita, made the experience quite special. She gave us lots and lots of great recommendations in the town and it was very handy to have someone to ask questions about the local area. Communication with her before, during and after our visit was excellent. We highly recommend this wonderful little B&B.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    10
    Perfect, spacious and well decorated B&B in the middle of historical Siracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aretusa Vacanze B&B is perfectly located in Ortigia (but easy to reach by car, car park available close to the B&B), in the middle of typical siracusian streets and 2 mins of walk from the small but cool beach of Ortigia! We loved the interior design. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the breakfast on the roof simply amazing. The staff is really welcoming and helpful, special thank to Stefano, combining efficiency and kindness, always with a smile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, comfortable room and superb breakfast with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Besides a great location close to the Fonte Aretusa and the marina, the best thing was the breakfast.. from fresh squeezed blood orange juice to scrambled eggs, caponata bruschetta, hot cappuccino or caffe, meats, cheeses, pastries both sweet & savory, cereals, breads..all on the amazing 4th floor terrace with views of the sea and marina. Working elevator.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    10
    A very special three days on Ortigia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment - Ground Floor (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The location was excellent, so close to everything on Ortigia, yet quiet at night. The breakfast was wonderfully varied, even home made jams and tarts. Everyone was friendly and treated us wonderfully!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.6
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was good. Stefano is a really great host. He told me about the southern Italy in detail. Thank you, Stefano. The breakfast at the roof top was great. Orange juice was really good. Grazie mile , Stefano. Arrivederci

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    Family owned and he is very proud of his hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit hard to find , specially with a car .. but just call the hotel when u are close by

    Family owned and he is very proud of his hotel! Extremely nice people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit too noisy for me.

    Breakfast was amazing, small but well presented and made with love. The staff makes u feel like part of the family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the two bed apartment the access to the second bedroom was through the first (not a huge problem but it’s good to know)

    This B&B is very centrally located in the heart of Ortigia. It’s on a small lane and is fairly quiet despite the restaurant outside. It’s clean and modern, the beds are comfortable and there is a small kitchenette with a fridge. There were 5 in our group and we had a studio and a two bedroom apartment. Both were on the ground floor but there is a lift if you are on an upper floor. The windows were screened ( no mosquitos inside). There is a small terrace on the rooftop and we were able to enjoy a bottle of wine there at sunset. The breakfast is also served here in the mornings and is delicious - a good variety of breakfast foods to suit everyone, freshly squeezed orange juice and multiple cappuccino if desired. The hosts were very pleasant and helpful, recommending good local restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    Superb breakfast (better than 5-star hotels)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They took care up to the smallest detail. Very kind, thoughful, helpful and breakfast was SUPERB, with natural, local ingredients, everything home-made (jams, cakes...), fresh natural juice made of red oranges the moment you arrive to the terrace, highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was not well sound insulated

    Just about everything from the rooftop breakfast the amazing layout and chic room and lovely staff. The location is perfect for the old town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location, friendly staff and excellent breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room on the ground floor was quite noisy. The parking (generally difficult in Ortygia) was essential for us, but unfortunately meant our car was virtually inaccessible during our stay as it was parked along with other cars in a basement and in order to extricate a car it would take half an hour of moving cars around. This meant we had to change our plans.

    Friendly staff, breakfast on the roof terrace, good position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    MidTerm Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No issues to report.

    The property is very central to the beach, main attractions which is a big plus when you don't rent a car and have small kids. The staff made us feel very welcome and were helpful whatever the questions we had. It was great value money during Mid Term season. Very clean and all of the key hotel stay requirements present - good shower, comfortable beds etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    7.9
    Good spot with an extraordinary breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were okay, the rooms a bit dark. The bacony was closed.

    Nice spot on Ortigia with an extraordinary breakfast on the rooftop. Check-in and -out was very caring and warm-hearted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    Great location, clean and spacious room, friendly hosts,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, clean and spacious room, friendly hosts, delicious breakfast, close to the parking (which is not so obvious in Syrakuse). Worth each penny (travelling in March, probably prices are higher in high sesaon ).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    10
    Great location, great staff and a wonderful rooftop terrace for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps this was advertised somewhere, but we were not able to find a legal parking place near the hotel. The staff was very helpful arranging parking in a local underground garage for 12 euros a night. Just plan for a bit of time to recover the car as it will be parked behind many others in the garage. In this end, this was just a minor inconvenience and I was happy to have the car secure.

    Great location to serve as a base for exploring the historic part of town. It's a family run business and all the staff was very friendly and welcoming. Everyone speaks great English. We had a wonderful, spacious room with paintings on the ceiling. Beds were very comfortable. The best thing was breakfast on the rooftop terrace on a sunny morning. What a great treat! We would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    10
    Best B&B in Siracusa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    From the moment we entered this classy b&b near the southern tip of Ortigia we loved it. With its warm vibe, comfortable atmosphere and brilliant, playful folk art on many walls (by local painter Fiore), this is an ideal place to stay in many ways: perfectly located away from the noise but in easy walking distance to all the attractions, restaurants, bars, shops and the beach. Our room was large, clean (housekeeping daily), quiet, with a nice bathroom and kitchenette. There are many stairs, but unlike a lot of places of this sort it has an elevator. And then there's breakfast, which is served on a terrace overlooking the amber-coloured rooftops with a sea view. Breakfast is sumptuous, with delicious cappuccino, freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs, cheese, tomatoes, yogurt, pastries, etc. Adding to the great spirit of this place, the staff are lovely and helpful. Thank you Maurizio, Alessandra, Flavia and the gang -- you made our stay in Siracusa special.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    7.1
    Great location if you don’t have a car that you need to park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult parking situation. The day we left, no one helped us with our luggage and had to walk quite a way to our car and had to pay 15$. Wouldn’t recommend this place if you have a car.

    Good location, lovely room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    10
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our car could not drive close to the property because of temporary road blocks. So we had to lug our bags through the narrow streets. However, Antonio (staff) did come to assist .

    A nice quaint B&B, walking distance from where the actions are. Staff and the owners were very warm and helpful. Enjoyed the breakfast prepared by the owner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to explore Ortigia/Syracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No views from the rooms, just on the wall of the building opposite.

    Perfect location, big rooms and the best breakfast we have had during our holiday. The rooftop is great. Go for it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    10
    Great location, amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a strong perfume/freshener/cleaner? in the room when we stayed. (Not a big deal, we are a little scent sensitive )

    We loved this location- the staff were AMAZING! The breakfasts offered a large selection of amazing options, fruit, breads and cheeses. The rooms were large and we were able to cook simple dinners while we stayed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.5
    Great location. Super breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The way staff handled our arrival. Parking.

    Super central. Great breakfast area, on a terrace with a fantastic view. Delicious breakfast, including freshly made orange juice, great cornetti with ricotta and pistachio creams and delicious jams.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    8.3
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 4 is dark and airless. You have to keep the lights on during the day. There is a restaurant in the narrow street below the window so you have to keep the window closed at night to keep the noise out. Room 10 is better than room 4 because it is quieter and has some natural light. These are the smallest rooms, which are allocated to single travellers. I would have booked a triple if I had known - the bigger rooms are better.

    The proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was excellent. The location is central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location. Close to restaurants and shopping. Directions to property excellent as was assistance with parking. We were recommended a very nice restaurant for dinner. Would recommend accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    8.8
    Great accommodation but parking a concern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked parking at 12E & staff escorted us to garage. On pick up we had 20 min delay. We supplied photo & license no and A V booking. One car came out that was not ours.Then we were told our car had been given to someone else. 30 min later, after contacting Aretusa Vacanze, the manager came, discussed with garage manager, 5 min later our car emerged. Sorry sorry but no explanation.subsequent email from AV said it was a misunderstanding... Not really good enough. There is no receipt, paper trail to prove your car is there. A V promote parking; their pamphlet was on our dashboard from garage; they need to sort the proof of ownership to car. Totally dampened our memory of Ortigia. 2nd bedroom needed darker blinds as light from road shone through in the night.

    Apartment was clean, modern & comfortable. Breakfast was good & coffee great. Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    10
    Loved walking around the beautiful streets of ortygia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment - Ground Floor (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Organising parking was tricky but this is to be expected when you stay in an historic town.

    The position was right in the old town and the accommodation was very roomy. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast on the terrace was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    10
    Siracuso's Nicest Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy restaurant below on the narrow street.

    Comfy beds, good shower, nice desk staff, wonderful breakfast on on the roof with fresh squeezed orange juice and Maurizio cappuccino with a smile.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous stay right in the heart of Ortiga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No view from room

    Good size room. Comfortable bed. Very clean. Excellent Breakfast on Terrace. Plenty of choice for breakfast Freshly squeezed orange juice. Multiple freshly made coffees

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    10
    Very hospitable, good value, wonderful location, would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite alot of noise from the nearby restaurant on the Saturday night.

    Amazing breakfast, comfy beds, managed to lock the passports in the safe and get the code wrong and they were so helpful at sorting it all out... brilliant location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    7.9
    Highly recommend for the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs and hand rail up to the breakfast room were very grubby and I felt the hygiene should be better. Also, the pots of jam, salt, pepper etc. which everybody used, were sticky and not clean.

    Location excellent. Breakfast very good with lots of choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    9.6
    We’ll visit Syracuse again and stay a night here :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment - Ground Floor (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking service is a very good idea but still a little inconvenient. The cars are parked by the staff veeeery close to each other in a steep and small underground area and you have to wait until they get your car as it is a shared space and not only used by Aretusa Vacanze. The price is €15 a day while you can have another parking spot a little farther away but you can get it whenever you like for €10 (Talete is closest, San Antonio is about 15 Minutes to walk)

    The staff running this beautiful hotel are very nice and attentive. The rooms have a very beautiful decoration and wall paintings and are overall simple and clean, we’re used to more pressure from the shower but that’s nothing really bad. The bed is very comfy and the room in first floor was surprisingly silent so you can have a good rest there. The tasty breakfast with fresh scrumbled eggs, fruits or whatever you like is served on their cute rooftop terrace and the view is so nice that you dont want to stop breakfasting - and, again the waiters are very attentive and kind. Café also tasty. Definitely a preferred place to come back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    10
    I loved everything: the location is great;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved everything: the location is great; the room was very comfortable and well thought; the hotel is very quiet and clean; the breakfast is fantastic, everythig you need at a great quality!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    10
    My wife, adult daughter and I stayed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really, although as the apartment has a restaurant in the alley downstairs there can be some people noise into the evening, but not too bad.

    My wife, adult daughter and I stayed here. One apartment with two rooms. Apartment was nice. Good sized bedrooms. Lift present, so getting bags up and down was easy enough (but a word of advice ... the lift has internal sensors so if you or your bags get too close to the edges, the lift stops 😳which can cause some unexpected excitement). Really wonderful breakfast on the upstairs terrace with great views over the city. Very friendly staff. A bit tricky to drive your own car, but if you follow the instructions provided, you'll be met and assisted to the accommodation. We paid the extra to have the car garaged a 3-4 min walk away which was very convenient. Many good restaurants about (La Medusa our pick ... the Seafood Stew).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    10
    Excellent B&B hotel, we loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Excellent location, clean, new, stylish, well equiped, very kind staff (we loved the service at the breakfast) good wifi. We stayed in 3 places and this was the best one.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.6
    I strongly recomed this B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aretusa Vacanze is a really nice B&B! The location is excelent, very close to the Ortigia's beach, our room was big and very well decorated, with a small (but enough!) area to cook and to eat. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    10
    Charming B & B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice accomodations. We had a duplex for 4 people. It was very roomy and comfortable. The AC worked very well. It had one of the best showers that we have experienced in Sicily.. The location was also fantastic. Right in the center of everything. We also enjoyed the breakfast. Overall I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    10
    Didn't want to leave and miss it already!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic location, central to everything and stunning building. Staff super friendly and helpful. Lovely and clean, well equipped. Family room came with kitchenette. Delicious breakfast with great selection of sweets and savoury and a great view over old town from roof terrace. Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    10
    Sicily 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Wonderful staff very helpful. Room was quirky split level and very clean. Breakfast was lovely especially the fresh orange juice and home made preserves.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    10
    Great location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did have an air conditioner problem, but the staff made every effort to get it fixed for us. Though not necessary, the manager was kind enough to reduce the cost of our family room.

    Staff was fabulous...and location is ideal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The access to property was a little difficult but the staff were so helpful it helped enormously.

    The B&B is situated in the heart of the old quarter, metres from small beaches, good quality restaurants nearby. The room was spacious and the air con worked well. The staff were exceedingly helpful. Good breakfast on roof terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.6
    The Perfect Place to Stay on Ortygia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was worried that the parking would be difficult, but it went pretty easy, and only cost $10 Euros per night. The B&B was simply amazing. Loved the location and breakfast most of all. Wish we had more time there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    10
    This was our favourite stay in Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment - Ground Floor (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our favourite stay in Sicily. A great apartment in the best location - a few minutes walk to the sea and wonderful restaurants. We are already planning to return!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    8.3
    Ortigia fine. Facilities fine. Room not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not good. Tiny narrow spiral stair to mezzanine bed area. Everything else was fine for a town centre location.

    Location fine in Ortigia. Poor room on ground floor with mezzanine for bed. Noisy and stuffy. Helpful staff. Good breakfast on roof terrace. Parking is not free and located about 10 minutes from the B&B.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    9.2
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit spartan - A comfortable chair or couch would have been nice in the room.

    Very nice place. Clean rooms, great staff and a perfect location. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous place in a fabulous location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having 1 key for all of us what a bit testing especially when reception was closed, but we worked out a system.

    Fantastic location and the staff were great. The breakfast was delightful with lots of true Sicilian traditional cuisine. Thanks for making us feel at home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location for walking in Otigia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level (Ground Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room on the ground floor opened out on to the street so was dark. The second bedroom would be better for children than another couple or another adult.

    The breakfast on the roof terrace was great! The area in the old city was perfect for all the amenities. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The extra parking garage made for safe a and carefree parking of the rental car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    9.6
    - Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - None!

    - Great location! Close to cathedral. My room was facing quiet street therefore the hotel was surrounded by restaurants, it was not too noisy - Lovely breakfast on rooftop terrace - Our room was spacious, and so is the bathroom - Private parking nearby was super convenient. It would be impossible to find parking near the hotel - Last but not least, service here was beyond awesome. One of my friend decided to join Sicily trip last minute and she couldn't get a room at Aretusa Vacanze B&B, so she booked another nearby inn. Despite calling that property that she would be ~30 mins later than check in deadline, no one showed up to let her in nor answered the phone! Aretusa Vacanze came to the rescue, the owner went back to that inn with my friend and managed to track down the inn owner. Grazie Mille!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    10
    Wonderful BnB with a great ambience and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows didn't suit me but my husband didn't mind them.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The BnB was very cute and our room (triple) had a lot of space, was light and bright and had a kitchenette with everything we needed. To top it off the location was excellent too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2017

    9.2
    Great little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast room cramped but the staff do very well to organise it

    The staff were absolutely fantastic. I don't say this often and have stayed at a lot of booking.com hotels. They are genuinely caring and helpful. The location is brilliant in a quiet side street yet with all the sights etc very close by. You can even swim very close by off a little beach below the Fonte Aretusa. We loved it here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    10
    Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything great!

    Excellent location, just in the heart of Ortigia, near Fonte Aretusa, close to the sea and sunset view, close to all sight-seeing and good restaurants. B&B is located in an old building remarkably renovated, with lift and a lovely roof terrace. Spacious quadruple room with 2 bedrooms (!), nicely decorated and exceptionally clean, very comfortable beds, impeccable bathroom, very good WiFi, secure parking, absolutely delicious breakfast! But above all, an extraordinary staff! very hospitable, friendly, helpful, made our stay wonderful, thank you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast utensils could be improved - no plastic cups. A bit basic. Car parking in the garage, as agreed by email, was not available in the end.

    A huge room with painted ceiling. It had the most comfortable bed ever! New mattresses.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in Siracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was all-around a great place to stay. We arrived by car and Antonio walked us through the narrow streets to a parking spot on a side street and let the police know we would be there for a few days. The breakfast room on the rooftop is so nice and the food was some of the best breakfast food we had on our trip. A restaurant right next to the B&B was great and the overall location was excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    10
    Fantastic place on a Vicola.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment - Ground Floor (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maurice is a very pleasant host at breakfast. You will enjoy the fresh squeezed orange juice in the morning on the upper balcony. His daughter , Flavia ,and wife, will make sure you have a nice stay.This was my 3 rd visit to their B&B. A great spot for Ortigia and for night life.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2016

    10
    This place is a real find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was very helpful. They escorted us to the parking garage, recommended good places to eat and were very welcoming. The breakfast on the terrace was excellent and was included with the room. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2016

    10
    beautiful and friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to drive to, all streets are one way and extremely narrow

    hotel located in the middle of Siracuza's old town; nicely decorated spacious room; very tasty breakfast with fresh squeezed juice; friendly owners and staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    10
    Nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thank you Maurizio for the warm welcome. Good room, great bathroom. Very good breakfasts which are prepared by the owners. Excellent Wifi. All places of interest nearby. Not noisy at night. Thank you very much! Grazie mille!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2016

    9.6
    This is the place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to report

    Fantastic location, very clean, quirky place, enthusiastic staff, wonderful breakfast. Felt like family. Loved staying there...Thanks to Maurizio and his staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2016

    10
    Ocean View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely family run B&B. Comfy & very clean. Delicious & abundant breakfast buffet fresh fruits, yogurt, yummy breads & cakes homemade by the hostess. Great value, close to town & beach. Bicycles available complimentary.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2016

    10
    Great cost-benefit in the heart of Ortigia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given that Aretusa Vacanze is located in an old building in a small alley, we have to excuse the limitations such as the small breakfast tables and the slow lift. None of these took away from our experience.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly, the room was large and comfortable and the choice at breakfast was incredible, including various local delicacies. The small terrace has a sea view and can be used at all times by guests, so it was a nice place to relax at the end of the day when coming home from walking around Ortigia.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Aretusa Vacanze B&B Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: