Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ariston and Palazzo Santa Caterina 4 stars

Via Bagnoli Croci, 168, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#53 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1770 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Could not fault the Staff and the hotel in general. Would love to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much large very tired furniture for quite a small room. Shower very difficult to get in and out due to proximity of the basin to the shower entrance. Lift very small and slow.

    Wonderful location, staff were the best we've ever encountered. Lovely views from our balcony. Food really good and a sensible price. Wine was great and again reasonably priced. Could go on and on. Thanks for a lovely 40th anniversary stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    3.8
    Disaster from start to finish- AVOID!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told we had been ‘upgraded’ and shunted off to a nearby building. When I queried why I hadn’t been given the room I had booked, the receptionist eventually admitted it was due to the fact that the hotel was over booked. No apologies. Just a fib about an upgrade, assuming I wouldn’t query it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable and shower kept switching from hot to cold. The room had no outside space at all.

    The breakfast was simply fantastic! The views far beyond our expectations and staff very helpful. Location is excellent too since the lift takes you straight to the bus station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location and relaxed atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and relaxed atmosphere. Beautiful views from the hotel. The hotel is very dated. The room we booked is not the room we got. This happened to quite a few people & they offered to upgrade you at an extra cost. We were happy to stay were we were as the room was quite large, away from the main hotel and we had a small terrace. The pool area is lovely, but just note that the pool has no shallow end at all. Drinks by the pool etc are quite expensive. There are also a lot of steps everywhere, so people with mobility issues would have problems. The breakfast is good, lots of choice. We were happy enough with our stay here as the location was one of the best things bout the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.2
    One of the most unusual hotels I've ever stayed in .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the most unusual hotels I've ever stayed in .and I've stayed in a few!! The signage to get there was confusing to say the least..you pull up at the front door only to be told you "follow these instructions!!" and this is where you park your car...fine if you are driving a FIAT BAMBINI! because navigating the bends and dealing with parked cars on the way up was awful. We even helped other people (who were confused) find the hotel when we were out walking! We came back to find our luggage in the middle of the lobby where we had unloaded it!..we then weren't really in the hotel (was it because we booked on BOOKING,Com???) so we trundled our bags down the hill to another section where we supposedly were lucky we had a terrace!!! Room was very old fashioned and every time the people above used the bathroom we heard strange noises. Nobody said hello when we came into the lobby for breakfast, in fact hardly anyone in this hotel engaged at all. When we left we trundled our bags again down flights of steps and left the key for the car space in the box! I would never stay there again and would not recommend it to friends either.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Great Location to the bus station and the town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Romm booked was premier room with mountain view but did not like the room .View was of the mountain slope very little light so up graded to sea view which was hassle free.

    Great Location to the bus station and the town center. Shuttle to local beach which was good value .Pool was locked until 09.30 which meant sun beds we're available all day .No need to get up early to bag a Bed. Promotion on drinks from bar made it very reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful Sicily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed on the day we were leaving there wasn’t a courtesy room as you have to be out of your room by 10am and our flight was not till 9:45pm

    The hotel is very typically Sicilian it’s in a fantastic location to walk into Taormina town center also the bus station is right at the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Does not worth the value of money. Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not worth the value of money you pay. Rooms are outdated. We felt like the place froze sometime in 80s. Moldy smell. Old furniture. Old phone. No information with phone directory of the hotel. No robes or slippers. Problems with hot water temperature in the shower. Most importantly, our room suppose to have ocean view, was on floor MINUS 2 (yes, -2) had garbage view first and then ocean view after. Every morning at 5 am the garbage track would come to pick up the garbage... this is a rip off to sell rooms like these for the same price as other ocean view rooms. Maybe hotel does have nice rooms, but ours (we had 3 rooms for 6 adults) were beyond horrible. Breakfast is good but no omelettes offered. Just scrambled made from powder and not the real eggs.

    The staff was very helpfull. The hotel is conveniently located close by to the major city street with shops and restaurants and Greek ancient theater. Wednesday gala buffet is an absolute must to go: lots of Sicilian food and deserts with live music for 25 euro per person. Wine is additional but very reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location in Taormina. Sorry to have to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use a little sprucing up, but didn't bother us.

    Location is perfect. Beautiful views of the sea. All the tour buses leave from just below the hotel which makes it so convenient. Also short walk to restaurants, Greek Ampitheater, etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    great to have a swimming pool in this hot september weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    my fridge making loud noises so night staff plugged it out and italian family staying in room near me really loud very late at night.

    location fantastic ... literally to left of bus station hotel is dated but facilities are great... big rooms and bathroom Maurizo allowed late checkout breakfast was very good for the price you pay.. Taormina centre just around the corner as is Cable Car.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast is fine, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seems to stay from the 80s, needs serious renovation. The overall look and decorations are looks so old. Expensive.. I suggest staying a B&B hotel instead. The pool ends at 6pm, far away from the beaches.. The tap water smells like bleach

    Breakfast is fine, quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic - we will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We recently returned from a 10 day stay at the Hotel Ariston, and loved every minute of our time in Taromina. Upon arriving at the Hotel Ariston, there is a slightly slightly steep bank to gain access to the hotel entrance, although they do have a porter who will come and collect your luggage. There is a lift, or stairs to access the main part of the hotel. The photographs of the hotel on the site do not do it justice in our opinion, and we were really impressed with our first impressions. The reception and restaurant area offers amazing views over the sea. Our room was comfortable, bright and as described when booking and we had no issues whatsoever. Complimentary shampoos / conditioner etc were provided. There is a safe in the room and a mini bar with items for purchase. The hotel itself is in a perfect location - right next to the main bus terminal in Taormina, and only 5 minutes walk from the Cable Car to the beach, and 10 minutes from Corsa Umberto, the main centre of Taormina. If you're arriving by Coach from Catania you will be dropped at the bus terminal, and the hotel is accessed via the back of the station. There is a hotel car park here also. The pool area was great - it opens from 9:30 to 18:00, and we never had any issue in obtaining sun loungers. They give complimentary towels every day and have a bar serving drinks etc. The sun is on the majority of the pool for most of the day, however it tended to become shaded at around 5pm due to the location of the sun. There are two restaurant areas. Breakfast is served inside the building on the reception level between 7am and 11am and had a wide selection of both cooked and continental breakfast options including Gluten Free and Vegan. The other restaurant and bar area is situated on the level below reception and serves lunch and dinner, however once lunch has finished there is limited food available from both this restaurant and the pool bar area (Only ham and cheese toasties).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Stunning views and a overall good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were thin (noise from other guests). Breakfast staff were rude

    Room was nice. Views were superb. Location was good, not too much noise from outside

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel with fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Difficult to find. Orange juice and coffee at breakfast needs improving. Quite a walk up to the main street of Taormina with lots of steps and steep slopes. Handy for the cable car.

    View tremendous, terrace restaurant lovely, pool great, staff friendly and helpful. Offers on cocktails, etc. well worth taking up.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little tired. The bed was uncomfortable and although the room was plenty big enough to accommodate a family of four, it was quite basic.

    Excellent location. Walking distance to town and bars and restaurants. Very close to bus station making journey from Catania very easy. Excellent food and very good breakfast each morning. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.8
    The car park is a big issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is a very nice place but such a big hotel should be able to offer better facilities to park your car.

    My room was very nice, the topic of it was “cinema” and there were many great pictures of movies on the wall.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay, very nice views, clean and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was not so comfortable.

    Breakfast was excellent and pretty good choice. Dinner and lunch were great too. Waiters are awesome but the pool boy, the older one was a bit grumpy and frustrated to the people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Sicily Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would say it is very hilly but actually although at the start it was a struggle you soon get used to it

    The whole experience was stunning and the staff are so friendly Upgrading to a sea view is a must

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    Hope hotel management will read it and make the changes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel feel old. Our room which was on a different building was big but downhill from main building. Breakfast has a huge selection of options but didn’t feel fresh, bread was dry and without fresh coffee. The restaurant area is on a beautiful terrace with amazing views but the food was awful, the service was very slow and our waiter was rude and impatient. Lucky it is inexpensive. Better to eat on the Main Street in town where it cost more but the experience is nicer and food is delicious. Internet in the room is very slow and kept disconnected. Every time we had a question they gave us the wrong answer (re shows and restaurants in town). Don’t trust their recommendations.

    The location is excellent, close to bus station and all main attractions. No need for a car. Lovely pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Loved the Hotel, great staff and service, will stay again [but book a balcony view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The first room that we walked into, at the rear of the building and facing a rock face, as we did book a room with a view. The pool area closing at 6pm, the time that one would enjoy the cool water after a long sightseeing.

    After asking for a sea view room, originally we were tucked in the back facing a rock face , after asking for a sea view which cost us 100 euros extra, the corner room, 3rd floor was great, 2 large window/doors, which of course let in the evening sounds of people and music [OK] the Location was just great, easy walk to centre and tour bus terminal only a few minutes walk. the service was great, the food a- plenty, staff were always at hand to attend to our requests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Very central clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very busy but lots on offer you have to use a card to pay for any items u get at hotel the bar takes cash don't like using this system like to pay as I go

    Location from main bus terminal brilliant upon arrival and they help With luggage they let u have a room to shower if u are checked out and have a late flight bus from terminal goes to airport which was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Broken shower, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main shower in the room was broken so had to use the tap extensions and the basic pillows were hard as rock. Staff at reception could have been more helpful.

    The location was perfect. Close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.8
    Horrible Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Tired, run down and away from the town centre.Pool was at the back of the property with a view of the back of the building. Paint came off the pool interior onto my bathers. Smelt of a gas leak

    awful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.8
    The view from the room was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old decor and carpeting in hallways. Coffee at breakfast was bad, came from a machine and tasted artificial. No mattress pads on the beds. Swimming pool had no shallow end. The air-conditioning was not great. Overpriced for the experience.

    The view from the room was amazing. The pool was nice and you could order drinks and snacks at the pool. It was close to everything especially the bus depot and tram to the beach was easy walking distance. Nice breakfast except for the coffee. There was an espresso machine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    Thumbs down....boooo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was challenging, either scolding hot or freezing cold, mattress was very hard, tv was mostly Italian channels, BBC news was available but with static. If you sat out on the balcony, drips of water came down from above balconies, from other guest drying swimming costumes, defying stated rules. There was WiFi only if purchased from the hotel. We had to leave the hotel site to use our phones and to use our own data which appeared to be blocked?? We did not use the swimming pool as it was closing on our arrival, the following morning it appeared ALL the sun loungers was reserved with towels by other guests, so we made other plans off site that day. The next day we took an excursion and on return the pool was closed. The last day we booked out of the hotel before the pool opened. By our calculations, and simple mathes, the hotel has over 100 rooms, with sun loungers for less than 25% of the guests. The hotel entertainment was too loud, even whilst eating, loud music was funneled through speakers, speaking to other people was impossible. We left site all but 1 night to escape the racket, to find it still going when we returned after 11:30, our room was almost above the entertainment.

    Breakfast had a wide choice of foods, although some was odd. The hotel was quite well placed to access Taormina. The staff was polite and visually very busy. The room was clean and aircon good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Convenient position in Taormina. Easy to walk into town and close to local transport links. Comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool shut at 6pm and would've liked an evening swim. The staff didn't seem happy in their roles particularly in the bar and restaurant.

    The happy hour was good with tasty nibbles. Very useful for transport links. Right beside the bus station. This wasn't clear from the description. We were able to get a bus direct to Catania Airport at a good price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    We came in very late on a Wednesday, stayed for Thursday, and then left Friday morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was quite far from the front entry and it was hard to get to the rooms with all our luggage and two elderly companions.

    The breakfast was very good. The view was great, it was easy to get to town, and the rooms were fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel, location and facilities. Chilled vibe with great breakfast and dinner menu. 5 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cannot find anything to dislike.

    The hotel is in a great location in Taormina, secluded and quiet but close enough to the shops, bars & restaurants. Hotel staff are welcoming and very helpful, hotel is clean with plenty of outdoor space including the large pool area. 5 stars from me. Top Tip - Take advantage of the €22 four course dinner served on the terrace, great value and fantastic local cuisine, the grand buffet on a Wednesday is also worth doing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall very enjoyable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered an expensive bottle of wine on first night and drank two glasses.I asked them to keep it for me but was told I had to take it with me.The next night I was not allowed to bring the bottle with me to the table.

    Able to take dog into dining area and pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    nice time and we enjoyed our stay but the above issues need sorting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The photos of the Triple Premium Room on Booking.com were very misleading. When we arrived and taken to our room it was basically a double room with a put up bed stuck in the only place available but this blocked access to a cupboard and the dressing table making it impossible to access either and making the room very cramped. I took this up with the management who said this was the correct room but nothing like the photo suggested on your website which I showed them so the hotel need to put this right very quickly. We were put in a bigger triple room at an extra cost of 210 euros which was not acceptable but our only option. Put a big dampener on the start of the holiday!

    lovely hotel with fabulous grounds. food was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Fanatastic will definitely be coming again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool had something in it that made my white bikini yellow so just bare that in mind

    Amazing location, breakfast was so good there was so much to choose from and it was all fresh.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Fab hotel, shame
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, 703, wasn’t in the main hotel. We had to walk down the slope to the separate block which wasn’t a problem except I’m heavily pregnant so was a struggle getting back up to reception/pool/restaurant. Our room was lovely until it seemed like anyone in our block flushed the toilet or had a shower as we could hear every drop of water and flush coming down our pipes!!! As if it was in our rooms. It was so load too, even woke my partner one night.

    The room was very spacious Location was good as only 10min walk to the town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunbeds are a strange contraption but they seemed to be the same ones everywhere in the area

    Exceptional customer service and wonderful warm and sociable atmosphere.The public areas may seem a little dated but somehow this adds to the charm of the place,the layout of the hotel is so pleasant renovatingit doesnt seem neccessary yet.The grounds are beautiful and the outside area is a photo oppurtunity in itself.I have never encountered such excellent customer service anywhere in the world, from reception staff to all restaurant staff, they were utterly professional and the reception staff were especially polite and patient( i know how annoying i can be with my utterly daft and endless inquiries) and they never seemed put out.In terms of atmosphere the vest hotel ive ever stayed in without a doubt.I have to add that I was not a fan of Taormina itself, generalky an overpriced tourist trap, so to have such a nice place to sray was a big relief(we ended up having food most nights in the hotel restaurant overlooking the terrace,it was very reasonable and mostly very tasty).A great place and a hotel I would return to often shoukd I be a bigger fan of Taormina.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.9
    Unhelpful staff, extremely poor experience during my stay at Hotel Ariston. Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I have just checked out of your hotel ariston Taormina and unfortunately i was very happy to get out of there. This mail is to highlight some big issues that I had with this hotel and the money that it charged. Our poor experience started before our arrival when i emailed to see if they could arrange airport transfer. I mailed twice and got no reply! On our arrival we were left waiting at the gate for 10 mins for someone to take out bags. I waited too long so carried the bags to reception myself. Then we got our room at the bottom of a hill. This was explained to me by a member of staff who never showed me the room or even building and never offered to have our bags taken to the room. Breakfast was a joke, often no fresh juice , very rude staff, often there were no clean tables. On one morning there was no cuttelery for 10 minutes. We had lunch one day an our server was ignorant after giving him our hotel card he threw the card back to me and his delivery of average food was not much better. Our room was not cleaned to a 4 star standard once. Tgere was dust on every surface in the bathroom bar the sink. How this hotel has 4 stars is a mystery. We have stayed in lots of hotels all around the world and I have never complained before but this warranted this mail. Please address the customer service , people work hard for their money and should not be charged for four star if what they are going to receive is two.

    views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Not a four star by any reasonable world standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds, low quality sun beds, restaurant & pool service quality: mediocre to poor. Not a true 4* hotel for those reasons.

    Great location for town cable car down & ocean views. Clean pool. Housemaids: excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They blocked my first night of accommodation on my credit card. I paid all cash at the reception. Two days after I asked if the unblocked my money. The laday from the reception told me yes. When I came back home, the money were still blocked. I spoke with the maneger, a lyer man, who told me the same, that he unblocked my money. I spoke with him at the phone, but he still kept lying. I had to go to my bank, to show them all the documents that I paid everythinh cash and my bank unblocked on my credit card the money. Everybody there only lies. A team of lyers.

    the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    View from bedroom (at additional cost for balcony with sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor sound-proofing in room, possible to hear conversations in adjacent room, kept awake by neighbouring snoring! Also, room with a view came with the downside of having to listen to the music from the terrace every night until after 11 pm. Staff were quite surly, especially bar staff. Service with a smile would’ve been welcome! Swimming pool opening hours were from 9.30 am to 6 pm....very limited in a hot climate. Seemed to be to suit the staff more than the guests.

    View from bedroom (at additional cost for balcony with sea view) was stunning. Generally good location. Buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel in centre of Taormina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and really lovely rooms. Great views over the bay. Parking on site and easy access to centre of Taormina. Great breakfast selection everyday and terrace gardens to have a drink in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Everything else location service cleaning perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The card system was not perfect one item was wrongly charged to us and we have not had a chance to check the rest of the bill. This was our only problem with this beautiful hotel.

    Everything else location service cleaning perfect. A la carte food exceptional . Buffet night not to our taste food cold.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.2
    Very rude manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was extremely rude and unhelpful. The balcony view was a brick wall and you couldn't open the doors and it was too.small, he was very unhelpful and didn't seem to care that it was for 30th bday, he would not downgrade either very unreasonable and expensive

    Pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.6
    Extremely disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a room with a balcony, arrived late at night and given a room with 2 windows, no balcony. When I returned to reception and questioned them regarding the room with the balcony I was told to “wait until tomorrow “ to sort it out - not acceptable practice in a venue that calls itself 4 Star!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    A pity there were a number of things I had to ask to be rectified for a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overcharged for meals and overnight tax with no explanation, though this was resolved. Had to ask for repairs to be made to electrical sockets and shower screen had a panel missing, which meant water sprayed all over the floor. Pool sunbeds and towels very old and in poor condition.

    Breakfast choice was good, on the whole. Proximity to bus station was very useful for connections.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.1
    Fantastic 2nd trip to Taormina. Would definitely choose Ariston Hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Enjoyed everything about our stay

    Beautiful, varied, plentiful breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice. Lovely terraced areas, plenty of sunbeds round the pool area. Pool would not be suitable for non-swimmers as there's no shallow end. Happy hour at the bar was always popular! Excellent location - short walk into town area (Corso Umberto), 2 mins away from cable car which takes you to Mazarro beach. Lovely, experienced staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    We had a wonderful time and recommend staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with balcony and panoramic view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were not comfortable.

    The view from our balcony was spectacular. The rooms are small, but given the area we don’t imagine anything much larger. Linens were clean and fresh towels were replaced as needed. Breakfast was amazing with many choices!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    3.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst localization, price too expensive and dont worthy, terrible experience they dont cleanned My room, and My tv was broken, tried a solution without result.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Family holiday June 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one dinner in the Hotel restaurant and it wasn't great. Great value but preferred dining in any of the many local restaurants. On the other hand, breakfast was excellent...

    We had a beautiful triple room with sea view and balcony - it is worth paying extra for each. Great buffet style breakfast with lots of choice. The hotel is in a great location with cable car and town centre a short walk away. Staff were friendly and we had great room service. We had to leave room at 10am and our flight was at 9.40pm - we were able to stay at the pool then use lovely lounge area before our departure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful. Better than we expected. Position of the property was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the pool area, the terrace for drinks, the position of the hotel for transport, restaurants and shopping was fantastic. Couldn’t be in a better position. Metres from transport to take you on day trips.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.3
    rude staff, poor facilities, not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff I encountered were very rude and unhelpful, they charged me twice for the hotel but wouldn’t help rectify their mistake. The hotel itself was mediocre at best.

    Taormina is beautiful but there are many other hotels and villas so just stay in one of them instead of this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The downside to the hotel was the steep climb although to be fair it is probably the same in the majority of Taormina

    We had booked 2 rooms facing the cliff and were put in the Palazzo St Caterina. Excellent rooms with a balcony and a view. The evening set menu was excellent value with the added bonus of music all evenings

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.0
    We had an exerlent stay. Apart from the hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is not suitable for anyone with walking difficultys, we were lucky to have two young men with our party otherwise we would not have been able to get up the very steep hill to hotel entrance

    Very nice hotel, plenty of cupboard space and really nice food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant first trip to Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps, steps and more steps. Didn’t realise how many we had to climb but I didn’t know Taormina was so high up so everywhere was the same. Certainly got my exercise that week.

    We had a fab stay in the Ariston for our daughters wedding. It was clean, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly. We were allocated rooms in the annexe which was set down a steep hill but they were lovely. They were nice and quiet too. The Ariston is not too far from the cable car or the centre of Taormina and the bus station is literally on the doorstep making everywhere easily accessible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed my stay. Would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I liked that there were no children around but this was probably down to there being no children's pool there. The pool has no shallow end either. The hot tub was not hot according to some American guests who tried it out. If you are staying in Palazzo Santa Caterina there is a steep climb up to the hotel reception and all amenities, i.e. bars, restaurant, pool. Lovely hotel and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel with beautiful pool and outdoor areas. Fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were great and very accommodating, but there was a few staff members who weren’t very helpful and appeared to be inconvenienced by the guests.

    The breakfast is really generous and the food at the restaurant is quality. The rooms are nice - plain - but nice. The pool is beautiful and location of the property is convenient - as well as the view. Loved the happy hour at 5pm with 5euro cocktails and complimentary snacks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel in a great location but let down by it’s staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff (with the exception of the breakfast staff who were always very friendly and helpful), we found the rest of the staff to be generally rude and unfriendly, especially the bar staff. I was also surprised that the hotel did not have an iron, this wouldn’t cost a lot.

    Always clean. Our room 705 was spacious. Always seemed to be sunbeds available at the pool. Pretty grounds and seating areas. Good shower pressure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    A beautiful place hotel fab staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem I had with the room was I was underneath the dining area for breakfast and you could hear the chairs being moved around like musical chairs very early in the morning.

    The room was very large bed was comfy, breakfast had a great veraity

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    The restaurant and staff were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room itself was simple.

    The restaurant and staff were superb. We felt that this was the detail that made the hotel a great place to stay. We ate a lot of our meals there. The hotel facilities were ample. The room itself was average, but clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    When we booked the room it was advertised as a premium room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked the room it was advertised as a premium room and the pictures had a balcony.. however when we arrived we were given a room facing the back of the property with no balcony just a small window. Also the beds were uncomfortable .. we were a couple but instead of a large double bed we were given 2 single beds put together and it kept separating in the middle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with a fabulous team of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are a tiny bit noisy - mainly the flushing bathroom sounds from the rooms either side.

    The location of this property is exceptionally beautiful and it's very easy to get around Taormina from it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Fantastic pool, and patio area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fees, parking location (not telling the customers where to park in advance). Also, the room did not have any view

    Fantastic pool, and patio area. The property was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Incredible stay at an exception hotel in Taormina!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great but they could update the mattresses. The staff was generally knowledgeable but we were given a few bits of information that weren’t quite right (I.e. mass started at the wrong time), and the pool attendant had other duties that kept him from being at the pool at all times (although he was there frequently, you had to wait 10-15 mins sometimes to get a towel or drink).

    The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The breakfast was delicious and variable, as were the options for lunch and dinner. The rooms were spacious and well-ventilated with good amenities/furniture. We loved the outdoor patio with bar and live music. The location is spectacular with good views and a distance from the busy tourist area without being too far (10 min walk). I highly recommend staying here!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff were fabulous and the outdoor facilities were first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property is a little tired. Beds could use updating. Suggest they let you know before you arrive, where to park at the bottom of the hill and how to get to hotel from there. Very very difficult if you drive to their entrance. They picked up luggage at parking lot later when we found out the parking.

    Staff were fabulous and the outdoor facilities were first rate. location was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    If it is going to cost more than £600 per week each go to a different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and food were below expectation, though for the cost it was fine. Don’t eat the bacon and eggs at breakfast I was seriously ill for two days due to them.

    The price, it cost my girlfriend and I £900 inc flights for a week. In future I’d go to a different hotel. Spend a bit more money as Taormina is definitely worth a visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast had good choice but poor value. One waiter was particularly rude.

    Excellent location and bar staff welcoming. Hotel has so much potential and could be so much better with just a few little changes. Owners are missing out on some potentially great reviews.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    We were there to celebrate my wife's 70th.Hotel well located with nice terraces and stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear lots of noise from the room above so they kept waking us up really early in the morning. You could hear them walking across the floor, dragging chairs and using the bathroom. We would have expected much better soundproofing in a 4 star hotel. Beds might be considered hard by some but just about ok for us

    The view from our room was stunning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful hotel in a great location - I would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although rooms were clean ... a little thoroughness would go a very long way. There are lots of steps and steep slopes up to the hotel which is great for those who can manage so just be prepared for that. Walls are a little thin ... so just bring ear plugs ... it is a hotel after all.

    Beautiful Gardens and surrounding area has plenty of space to relax. Position is amazing and views are incredible. Very central to the main strip and amphitheatre. Rooms are comfortable but you must get a sea view room. Reception staff extremely good to us and bar staff had good service. Great value for money. Everything pretty much within a few minutes walk away. Loved every minute of our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous setting and views. Hard to drive to, but worth it once you're there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking situation at the hotel is awkward. It's below the hotel in a school parking lot and cost 15 euro per day. No offer of help with luggage, so we had to climb a steep incline with our bags to get to a lift. It's also very difficult to find this place with GPS. Very frustrating. And the room could use a bit more character and decor. Very stark, but with the view, it's a minor complaint.

    The views from this hotel and the outdoor patio and pool are stupendous. Our room on the fourth floor faced the sea and the vista was amazing. The buffet breakfast is HUGE and very tasty. We had lunch on the patio and it was very good. The property is full of interesting nooks and crannies- it's built on the site of an old convent. About a 15 minute walk to town center, but it's a beautiful and charming walk! Great value for the price point.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Views from its restaurant balcony was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the city's main street. You have to take vehicles. But, due to that, you can have peaceful time.

    Views from its restaurant balcony was amazing. I couldn't get out of there day and night. And room has quite space to stay for 3 persons.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Old and dated room, but great views and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having compared it to other hotels & BnBs we stayed in at Sicily, on reflection this hotel did not really feel like a 4*. The blanket on the bed was rough on the skin and not very comfortable. The room feels old and dated, and the amenities provided were minimal (no slippers, no fan / ventilation in the bathroom). The room was small and smelt rather bad when we first entered. The walls were so thin it felt like the person next door was right next to me. Staff were helpful but some obviously lacked knowledge and couldn't answer our questions (others were better depends on your luck) - guess we just expected a bit more from a 4* hotel.

    Booked a sea view room and the view was indeed breath-taking. The hotel is located on the cliff and is a few minutes walk from the bus terminal and around 15 min walk into Taormina town, so very convenient. Breakfast selection was good, and the pool looked good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like that booking.com advertise that the hotel has an airport shuttle however the hotel does not and does not offer this service. Also the hotel location is great but it is not advertised that it is on a steep hill with lots of stairs. I have a bad hip and wouldn’t have booked this if I knew how steep the hills and stairs were.

    Location is great. Staff are really friendly. The breakfast is good and offers lots of choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Okay. Wouldn't stay again. Do not have the evening buffet. The hotel parking is very difficult
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "hotel parking" was very expensive (the price was not listed in terms and conditions!) The parking was also not convenient. The hotel is high up on a hill, so you have to take a funicular railway down to the beach. It is also very hard to find the hotel, as it spans several street levels and is tucked away around very small one way streets. Hotel needs updating. The evening buffet food was dry, bread stale and looked and tasted old and fatty. Breakfast was better though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay and I would reccomend this hotel, but not for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls in the room were very thin and you could hear some noise especially early in the morning, toilets flushing, hairdryer from next door etc....

    Great location and close to all attractions, great breakfast and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    The location and view were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Palazzo Santa Caterina with Terrace Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn't work and our room was very hot. There were lots of tour groups. The place seemed like it was cutting corners - not really 4 star service.

    The location and view were good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice for relaxation - short walk to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have benn better signage in the hotel to both the bus station exit and the other side.

    Excellent location, short but steep uphill walk from the bus station. Amazing views from the many outside seating areas. Quick walk into town either way. Breakfast was comprehensive with good choice of food which was constantly refilled.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Lovely town with lots of restaurants and trips out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we booked was awful - it was above an incinerator. Asked for an alternative- which faced into the cliff face 3foot away so in the end had to pay a supplement for a better room which was ok ( spacious and shady balcony) but bathroom was very tired and the air conditioning didn’t work. If booking this hotel I would recommend paying for an upgrade as the standard rooms are not really acceptable

    Good location next to bus station so convenient for arrival and departure and day trips. Breakfasts good with lot of choice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Ariston in Taormina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking lot could have been covered. All the spaces were under a thick canopy of trees and every morning our car was covered in bird droppings.

    Our room was very spacious, clean and quiet. The location was great, very close to the pedestrian zone of Taormina's centro storico. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The views from the terrace are fantastic. THe bartender madde a great classic dry martini.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75