Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Il Giardino 3 stars

Piazza Manin 1, 56126 Pisa, Italy

#41 of 49 hotels in Pisa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 923 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    Only book if you value being very close to the Tower.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The discription of the room mentioned that there should be a view, however the first two rooms (I have moved rooms three times) had only roof window. Having known this, I would have never stayed here. Rooms are also fairly small - some rooms have toilet within a shower).

    The hotel staff was kind and helpful, in particular Ms Dea(?).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is just behind the Pisa Tower, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very, very small, you can’t even walk. For two people, one need to stay on the bed for the other one to pass. They say there is parking, but they don’t have, when you get there they tell you to park on the street behind.

    The hotel is just behind the Pisa Tower, great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    Do not trust the reception personnel. Everything is tiny.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are really small, no space to turn around with the luggage. The amount of light coming through the blinds at night was so high that was impossible to sleep well (lights from the hamburger restaurant just below). Noises from pipes all the time. The breakfast is really a tiny buffet (some croissants, cereals and almost nothing more) drinks restricted (you can not repeat coffee!). The worst thing was that we asked for a taxi to the reception personnel, and the man called a friend (car without license, not a legal taxi) and we MISSED THE PLANE back. We had to purchase new tickets!! I wrote to the hotel complaining and no reply or apologies back. Do not trust this place.

    The location, close to the Piazza Miracoli, is perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    It was right in the heart of the action.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had a pretty small shower cabin. I’m 1,83m and had a hard time taking a shower.

    It was right in the heart of the action. I mean, literally you walk out of the hotel in the cathedral garden. The staff was very nice and we could have breakfast on the terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    We had a neighbor who left their room with the TV super loud...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a neighbor who left their room with the TV super loud and the staff weren’t too helpful in getting the TV turned off. It took about 2 hours for this problem to be solved and it was at night when we wanted to Sleep so not too pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.3
    Good localization and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WARNING! WARNING! WARNING! WARNING! WARNING! WARNING! 1. Paper thin walls. You will hear all of the guests from the hotel. 2. Air Conditioning not working. It is unbarable to sleep there with Pisa temperatures 3. Smalles bathroom you will ever see 4. Staff so incompetent that they could not order a taxi for us. It was requested several times during the day and we almost missed our flight because of this I know what you are thinking. The price is not high and the localization is great. I will spend most of my time outside anyway - DONT! Consider yourself warned. It is the worst hotel i stayed in and i traveled through Eastern Europe sleeping in hostels. We were here only for one day but i want to warn everyone that would want to stay here longer.

    Good localization and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    excellent location for leaning tower but bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are small just about able put your lugagge and very little room to move around. struggled to sleep at night because there were no windows there was no fresh air to breathe. definetley do NOT choose to stay in room 22.

    staff were help full and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    Very stressful and a difficult nights sleep, room might suit a very small person or a child.
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a socket near the bed for my respirator, which was provided but not functioning. Also the bedside lamp was not working. the bed was very small and the room tiny.On entering the room I injured my right leg on the corner of the bed as passing it. I was on medication for an injury to the left leg and now have skin removed from right. I had to go to the pharmacy to purchase medication and bandages. The staff on duty tried to help offering some very old disinfectant, I would suggest the hotel.buy a first aid kit. I found the 24 hour pharmacy by chance myself, the hotel did not tell me it was just around the corner. The man on duty tried his best to fix the respirator situation and finally by plugging it into the tv socket it worked. the bedside lamp did not work and he suggested I sleep with the bathroom door ajar to get some light during the night. it was now 12.30 am. I wanted to have an early night as I needed to be at the airport for a 10.15 flight to London. I asked the man on duty to arrange a taxi in the morning for a taxi at 8.00 as I knew that the airport would be busy in the morning. He said there would be no problem to order one in the morning. In the morning no taxi could be had and only because the young woman on duty asked a friend to take me to the airport I was able to arrive at the airport with ONE minute to.spare before it would have been too late to check in. The whole experience was very stressful. I live in Tuscany and wanted to have a restful night in the hotel before catching the early flight to Gatwick.The staff tried their best but the situation was.beyond their control.

    the breakfast was fine, outside with a view of the Baptistery.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    The terrace pointing to the Duomo is very nice, I just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was not in a good condition, it was quite an old, should be reconstructed. The windows were also old, but all in all it was a good stay. I liked the breakfast, the fridge in the room, the friendly staff. 🙂👍🏻

    The terrace pointing to the Duomo is very nice, I just recommend to have your breakfast here and enjoy the sunbathing. 🤩 Excellent location of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location and good staff made our stay enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can easily hear other people coming and going in the corridors.

    The Hotel were close to the main attractions and you can reach all interesting spots within short walk! Excellent service from the staff! And a great terrace to enjoy your breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location 2 mins from leaning tower of Pisa with fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, but this was not fault of hotel.

    Location was excellent. Bed was very comfortable and we were quickly accomodated when we requested extra pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff was very nice and the location was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pretty loud in the morning from the daily 05:30-6:00 street cleaning of Piazza Manin

    The staff was very nice and the location was perfect. It was also inexpensive considering the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    right next to the tower
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although parking is easy and not far from the hotel, location and the 'what to do' could have been communicated upfront.

    We did like the location. The hotel is just in front of the wall where the baptistery, cathedral and tower is behind. Vey convenient. The room was clean, had a beautiful view towards the baptistery and the staff was friendly. The breakfast wasn't any special but the coffee was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is right next to McDonald’s and the Leaning Tower of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of tobacco in our room/ entry... The breakfast could be better but it’s not very very bad.

    Hotel is right next to McDonald’s and the Leaning Tower of Pisa. There’s also a bus stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel has 2 good points : its location and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has 2 good points : its location and the staff which is friendly and efficient. Otherwise, what is offered is below average : tiny rooms, tiny bathrooms, shortage of common space etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location for visit to the Leaning Tower of Pisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location just outside the gate to beautiful Piazza del Duomo (includes the Leaning Tower of Pisa). Lovely breakfast on the terrace with view of the Baptistry. Friendly, helpful staff. Good English spoken.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable, great location. Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a window in our room but not able to open and not able to remove the blinds either. It was broke so not quite a view.

    The best thing the location just next to Pisa tower. It was clean and comfortable not very fancy but good enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Good address
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the main street side and the street was noisy owing to the market. Furthermore the hotel is next to a Mc Café.

    The staff was really kind and available. The spot is really good: close to the tower and well connected to the downtown/rail station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    If you want to be near the tower then you can't get any closer with this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room i stayed in only had a ceiling window in which made the already small room feel even smaller. It was fine for a night but I wouldn't have wanted to stay in that room for any longer.

    Excellent location with a lovely terrace to enjoy your breakfast on

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is cold in the room and rooms on the highest floor provide no view at all (it is also impossible to open the roof windows). Other than that, everything was fine!

    Location is perfect - as close to Campo dei Miracoli as possible, you can see the Battistery from the hotel's terrace (a very nice to place to sit in the good weather). The staff is really nice and helpful and breakfasts are also good, with a variety of products.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Good location and costeffective
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is narrow.

    The location is very good, 10mins walk from the Pisa S.Rossore train station, and just outside the wall around the Piazza del Duomo.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.3
    it's very closed to the tower, and it's possible to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel finds really noisy, there were people talking in the hall in the evening until eleven oclock.

    it's very closed to the tower, and it's possible to arrive the train station and airport by foot (20 min and 45 min).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Hotel really well located for Pisa's main sights. Simple but comfortable, clean accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room (Superior grade) was comfortable but fairly basic, not a huge size but OK. Ours overlooked a piazza - could be noisy in summer with shutters open etc. Shower room was a good size. No English channels on the TV!!! (not even BBC world news etc).

    Staff all spoke English and were v helpful. We had a Superior room at the front of the hotel, and were happy with it. Included fridge, hairdryer and bidet. Room overlooked piazza, but it wasn't noisy at night (October). Prime location, next door to the leaning tower, Baptistery and Cathedral. PAM supermarket and San Rossore (local) rail station both only a few mins walk away. Continental breakfast - simple but fine. Lovely sun terrace - even in late October. Wi-fi was fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Love the location, highly recommended
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double bed but there was two single bed attached together as a double

    Great location to Pisa tower, Welcoming staff, cosy, quiet and lovely staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Conveniet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could use a lick of paint The bathroom could do with a deep clean

    Could not get any closer to the Leaning Tower if tried! Friendly staff and easy to find

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location and pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a little more variety of food for breakfast.

    Excellent location, great base for sightseeing and very near the Leaning Tower, public transport and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel had a nice "quirky" ambience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    4.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very dirty, the furniture very, very old. The hotel seems to be a room in mc donalds, you can hardly see the entrance. The room was very small and very noisy.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    Not recommended: great location doesn't justify uncomfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are tiny and very old and are in dire need of updating, there is only a very limited choice in breakfast (yogurt and only some (very) sweet buns to choose from), and there is a guy that uses a leaf blower every morning at 5.30 to clean the market square, which means you will be woken up even with your windows closed and won't sleep afterwards, because they start building their market stands. If you still want to go here, insist on getting a room facing the rear or so... The wifi uses an internet access page, which means you have to fill in a gibberish username and password each time you want to use it, which is a nuisance.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms and good house keeping (including bath rooms), and most of all a great location at a 3 minute walk from the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Would deifnitely return, but hopefully with a better room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom a bit basic and depressing. Railway line at bottom of garden.

    Very nice garden and opposite beach/promenade. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Good breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    4.2
    a shabby hotel hs 3star?
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    in first room was absolutely no soundproofing interior n furniture are old n shabby a location is in center of a street market

    reception desk girl ws very nice n welcome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    4.6
    The hotel is 20 m from the tower and offers espresso as part...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It used to be a good hotel many years ago - now is closer to a hostel then a hotel. Our hotel room was above the reception desk and in front of the hotel there is a market place for magnets and piza stuff. Honestly this hotel needs a lot of improvement and renovation in order to have visitors

    The hotel is 20 m from the tower and offers espresso as part of the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    Service was nice enough and the breakfast included cereals,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned very well, there were several different hairs which were not mine stuck to my socks after a walking in the room. The walls were not clean, especially the wall adjacent to the bed (yellows, browns, blacks). Light switches very dirty - probably not wiped for several months (they were cleaned easily with a moist paper towel). Shower was moldy, didn't use it. Very loud from other discurteous guests - poor sound insulation.

    Service was nice enough and the breakfast included cereals, milk, yogurt, mass produced rolls and croissants. Coffee was also included from a good espresso machine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.4
    The good thing about this hotel is the staff absolutely fantastic - the property not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom had damp ,bed very uncomfortable - staff moved us to another room bed slightly more comfortable but tiny shower

    The staff are very good extremely helpful Went out of their way to help

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    3.3
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was described as a superior double with views of the city walls or the square. This was a lie, the view was of the kitchen/dining area. The room was very small, with two badly shoved together twin beds. These were very uncomfortable, and they were not clean, my partner and I were both bitten. The bathroom was tiny, the shower cubicle could barely accommodate one average sized person. Breakfast was limited and not very fresh. The pictures of a superior double room on the website were not of the room we were given at all. At 100 euro per night this was very poor value, dirty, and not as described on the website. We checked out after one night as it was such a bad experience. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    100m from the key sights

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location, really good price/value, really nice staff, strongly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On my last night I asked the staff to get me a taxi in the morning to the airport. They were nice and left a note for the next receptionist to do so. On the next morning the receptionist gave me a ride to the airport and charged me for 20€. Just to compare when I arrived to Pisa and got a ride to the hotel by an official taxi, it was 8.40€. I think it was a bit too expensive, but I don't really care, because I had a good time. I can still recommend the hotel.

    The location is perfect, just next to the attractions and restaurants. The smaller train station is really close as well. The central train station is a bit more far around 2kms, but still doable. The staff is nice and helpful. I got really good recommendations about where to travel and spend time. The room was okay, nothing special. It was equipped with air conditioner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Value for money ! Good location and hotel I wound say 2 *
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very basic ! Bathroom very small! Doable if you are going out all day and want to save money on taxi.

    Very very good location ! About 1000 yards to all the main attraction! You can go at night to see Pisa. Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Coffee really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small we were in top room only a attic window could not see out.

    Coffee really nice. Rooftop terrace an extra bonus.location brilliant very close to Leaning tower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    LOCATION LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning wasn't working for a while and the room was very hot! At the front desk, it was a very slow check-in at midnight and we just wanted to get to our room, but I think he was new. The staff for breakfast the next day was amazing, she was very kind thank you! Small bathroom but sufficient.

    We literally were outside the fences of the Leaning Tower which made our short stay even better. If you're looking for the perfect location, I think this is it! With a limited time, we were able to walk 1 minute to see the main highlights of Pisa so were delighted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photographs were not really a representation of the hotel, not sure how long ago they were taken. The rooms were a bit shabby to say the least. Air con not working very well and WiFi not working.

    Location was excellent, the lady who checked us in and made the coffee at breakfast was lovely. The breakfast was ok. The roof top terrace was great. Value for money for the location alone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location - 2 minutes from the Leaning Tower. Easy to walk around in the city. The hotel has a roofterrace, that I think is great for a break.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    4.6
    location top hotel a flop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    fungus on the walls in the room and bathroom everywhere. breakfast was a joke not even near as it was descriped and shown on the hotel pictures. it was very basic with cheap juices and discusting pastries.I stay in hotels worldwide up to 60 nights a year and this hotel was way to expensive for what the property represents and offers. never again

    location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.8
    Great location. Not so great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night staff that checked us in was super strange and the room was o.k, at best. The air conditioner had filthy water in it and there was mold in the shower but the sheets were clean and the room was cool at night. The morning breakfast staff was so polite and helpful and we ate on the quaint terrace. BASIC breakfast (croissants and juice) but they have a cappuccino machine. :) The only super weird thing, honestly, was the front desk staff (the wanted us to leave our passports with them when we checked in...? Uh...no.) and in the morning they made us pay for our room with cash only because "it was different management from the night before"....? Great location though. Steps to the Tower.

    Great location. Breakfast staff was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Good hotel near the Tower of Pisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed one night and nothing to dislike

    Rooms smallish, but shower room nicely tiled, clean and well appointed. Air conditioning in room worked well as temperature was 30+ Friendly staff, continental breakfast was good. Very very near the Tower. Bus from station stops right outside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    a good place to enjoy the peaceful of Pisa
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room is a little bit old and small, but it is fine for me

    it is just next to the great Piazza del Duomo of Pisa! the hotel is in a wonderful location if you want to enjoy the peaceful of Pisa in the mid-night time, as you know tons of visitor are there in the day time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.8
    Poor room in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom very tired and shower not clean. It was in a good location but we were disappointed with the quality of the room. Poor

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.1
    Room was far too hot;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was far too hot; the air conditioning didn't work at all until eventually someone came to fix it. However, the room was still uncomfortably hot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.5
    No wine in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    We had a wander around Pisa then fancied a bottle of wine on lovely terrace, with great view. We were told they had no wine but agreed we could go & get a bottle to bring in, which we did. They then had no wine glasses, so drank it from plastic tumblers. We were next to breakfast room so we're woken at 6ish as they started to prepare. Apart from that great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.5
    At Piazza dei Miracoli's Gates - with all pluses and minuses of that!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms - a bit tired. Air-conditioning (as we were told) stopped a week ago and the room was a bit cold. Arround 5.00 o'clock at the morning the local street cleaning companies started with their job and the tracks made such noise for an hour that sleeping was no more possible before 6 AM. The tourist flows probably make additional noise because the hotel is located at Piazza dei Miracoli's Gates. But had no problem with it because we stayed just for one night.

    Location - 20 m from Piazza dei Miracoli. Just beside the Bus stop which gives you easy connection with the Railway Station and the Aeiroport. Staff - very friendly and helpful. Breakfast - good for an italian hotel. Soft drinks selling machine at the reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.1
    Great location,very helpful and friendly staff but our room was very dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double room cramped Radiator in bathroom didn't seem to work. No hot food with breakfast No window in room just a skylight.

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    5.0
    The location and the breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My friends and I got a triple room for a night and what we thought would be an enjoyable night turned into a nightmare. After spending the night in this hotel, we woke up with bed bugs - scratching and itching our hands and legs and with chunks of red blisters. As a major third party for flights and hotels, I think booking.com should take some responsibility as it's the site's responsibility to ensure it pairs with good and safe hotels. We should be compensated for all the cloths and backpacks we have to throw now as we do not want our homes to be filled with bed bugs as well. I have attached some pictures below of how bed bugs have infected us and I think we deserve a refund for all the troubles we are currently going through.

    The location and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    4.2
    The location was THE highlight!
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a complete disaster!...dirty rooms..no heating....the flush was running constantly. Eventually was moved to different rooms both nights we were there.

    The location was THE highlight!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.5
    Location is very close to PISA TOWER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift/elevator, must using stair so pls book in lower floor. Room so cool due to weather and because the Air heater can't warm up the room. The breakfast is so simple but nice.

    The Location is just in front of PISA Tower, if you are travel without vehicle/car then this hotel is the right choice. Once you wake up in the morning then can walking distance to explore and learning about PISA Tower.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.3
    Location - 100m to Pisa tower
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long time no refreshed room Lousy breakfast Noise! from neighbors room No kettle in the room Standard like one star hotel

    Location - 100m to Pisa tower Staff - helpful, friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant staff make up for inadequacies....
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small. THere. was no chair in the room. Hot water pressure unpredictable......

    The front desk staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    I would recomend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This Hotel was in the perfect location and everything in the room was adequate for a few nights stay. The breakfast was a continental buffet style.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    5.8
    Great location but less hygiene
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't so bad but could be more rich. Hygiene of WC and shower wasn't good. Bed is uncomfortable.

    Great location. It's close to Pisa Tower. If you take the breakfast in terrace, you'll be able to see the roof of baptistery.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    2.5
    Horror hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an aweful hotel even for this price. It is unhealthy while the bathroom is full of mold and musquitos. Windows en curtains cannot be opened. Personel is sick and couching in your face. Even the location isn't great above the McDonald's and yes it is very near the tower of Pisa however Pisa is so small that if you walk 15minutes you have crossed the centre of the city. The pictures on booking are not from this hotel. Have seen a lot of hotels, hostels and campingsides, I have never seen this before. They didn't have another room while it was fully booked although we didn't see only 1 other couple. We just stayed for one night and only stayed while it was too late to find something else.

    It is an aweful hotel even for this price. It is unhealthy while the bathroom is full of mold and musquitos. Windows en curtains cannot be opened. Personel is sick and couching in your face. Even the location isn't great above the McDonald's and yes it is very near the tower of Pisa however Pisa is so small that if you walk 15minutes you have crossed the centre of the city. The pictures on booking are not from this hotel. Have seen a lot of hotels, hostels and campingsides, I have never seen this before. They didn't have another room while it was fully booked although we didn't see only 1 other couple. We just stayed for one night and only stayed while it was too late to find something else.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.9
    You Would only stay IF YOU WERE DESPERATE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like anything about it Room Tiny walls wafer thin Could hear people getting text messagesonly stayed one night that was enough

    The Location Right next to the Leaning Tower

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise levels from outside were a bit much so better soundproofing like double glazing would be a massive improvement. Stairs were bit tricky as no lift and quite steep. TV has a lot of channels but as no sky etc nothing in any other languages.

    Location couldn't be better, unless you could stay inside the leaning tower! Lol. Breakfast was good. Staff were excellent and ever so helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    5.4
    Hotel dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirt in the room, dust on the furniture and TV. The refrigerator smelled of carrion. I asked for room cleaning and the reception staff changed with another clean refrigerator. On the reservation of on the booking.com I was assured by the hotel that has parking and no reservation is needed. The truth is that the hotel has no-one parking, and left her car in a private parking 600 meters from the hotel (fee 22 eur) True, I have not seen it!

    Perfect location, near the tower, close to the promenade the streets of the city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.1
    Very close to Tower of Pisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom requires to be upgraded but we paid for what we got and it served the purpose on our last night inTuscany. We walked for an hour from central station...realised we should have got off train at earlier station, so our mistake.

    The rooftop garden with view of the duomo. Very close to leaning tower of Pisa, so we got to front of queue for first slot in the morning. Also allowed to use the rooftop after check out until time to go to airport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    6.3
    The location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel rooms (at least mine) should be refreshed a little. Particularly the sailing and the walls, where one could see dead mosquito with shoe tracks around. The breakfast could be improved (but the croissant were tasty!!!).

    The location of the hotel is excellent. The staff is very kind and was always available. I found some small insects in the room the night I arrived, but when I reported about it they called immediately someone to fix the problem. They have been very kind with me.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    The receptionist was really sweet and even offered to carry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi in the room wasn't working that day apparently so I had to sit in the dining area to use it and got bit by a lot of mosquitoes as the door to the patio was kept open.

    The receptionist was really sweet and even offered to carry our bags to our room. Location could not have been better.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.4
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room which was supposed to be with city view. We ended up looking in the heart of the restaurant. That was a real disappointment. The personnel: 1/explained we weren't the first to ask them what happened; 2/blamed booking.com for putting wrong pictures. Mosquitos (at least, in this room). Noisy (at least, this room) - you are in the process of breakfast preparation :), and the air-conditioning of the other room is beside your window.

    Perfect location. Nice breakfast. Patio located before the walls of the fortress and you can see the baptistery while having a snack.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.1
    Great location, need some improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities are tired and our room had a window at the level of hotel terrace, so practically we kept it closed

    The location is really great, just a hundred meters from the Leaning Tower and the city center. The staff is helpful. AC in the room worked well

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.9
    No parking on site even though this was the main reason for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking on site even though this was the main reason for choosing this hotel. Staff were very helpful however in sorting this problem

    No parking on site even though this was the main reason for choosing this hotel. Staff were very helpful however in sorting this problem

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.8
    Great place if you want to visit the city centre and you can relax on the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are quite small and slightly outdated.

    The location is fantastic - from the terrace where you can have your (limited) breakfast you can see the top of the duomo.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.9
    Staff was very nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed had a window on the roof,so we did not have view to the piazza.breakfast needs more variety

    Staff was very nice and friendly.The balcony was beautiful and the room was small but well-stuffed. The hotel stands literally next to the baptistery.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.9
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridor was a bit noisy, no other remarques

    Nice little hotel. Stayed 1 night in a superior single room. The room was clean and spacious with well functioning airco. Bathroom small but sufficiant to have a good shower. Staff was very friendly. Hotel lies next to the tower. Breakfast looked good but they were still putting everything in place when I had to leave for the airport.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    8.8
    Excelent 3 star for an excelent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The sun patio was untidy..

    I liked the staff, very helpful, the room was cleaned every day, I paid for a basic room no window means no mosquitos, good A/C very satisfied.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.5
    Great staff. Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room had only a skylight. AC was very bad so the room was constantly hot. Wifi was constantly disconnecting

    The staff was very friendly. Location was the best by far a few steps away from the tower.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.2
    The best location for sightseeing in Pisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a blessing I get an air conditioner in my room. But it was very noisy and I had to keep turning it off because it was waking me up.

    Very helpful staff. Booked us a taxi and it arrived almost instantly. Nice breakfast on the terrace.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought it was ideal for one or two nights maximum as was very dark in room and quite noisy first thing in the morning. (We stayed one night)

    Great location. Good value for money. Room comfortable with air conditioning. Great shower.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Terrasse tres agréable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrasse tres agréable Excellente situation pres de la tour

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early morning noise market below

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Il Giardino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: