Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto 4 stars

Galleria Umberto I, 83, Plebiscito, 80132 Naples, Italy

#63 of 158 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 529 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us, it just added to the experience and was part of the fun of it all, but if you are not comfortable in a small traditional lift, you may find climbing 3 or 4 flights of stairs a problem.

    As we only had one night in Naples to begin our Italian holiday, We wanted to find a place to stay that was a bit unique and special. We really nailed it! Our room was impeccable and the staff very helpful. We had a lovely welcome which included a glass of prosecco and some local treats while checkin was done. The juxtaposing of contemporary and classical art, inside this amazing building is unlike anywhere else we have stayed. The breakfast buffet is fabulous! Although the rooms are not large, the high ceiling and well designed layout didn’t make us feel crammed, and having a Juliet balcony into the galleria itself is something unexpected and wonderful. We loved it all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit run-down for the price. Nothing arty about it at all. Breakfast was poor. Needs a make-over.

    The Galleria is beautiful of course and just walking down the stairs is an experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a great position this property is great value and a welcome refuge from the bustling city. Staff are super always happy to assist plus a super breakfast to get you started. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was ok but no great shakes and if you have a room on the precinct side it can get noisy at night. So just drink more wine.

    The location was brilliant once we had our bearings, but when we got there we were a little confused as it is literally in a shopping precinct. We had read that to call the lift you need a 10 cent piece as we didn't have one we walked the 4 floors, which was a chore, what we didn't know was that you only need the 10 cents when the shops are open so we could have just called it !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The elevator, if not occupied due to not adequate handling of the former user, is a charming but very old one. Otherwise You will have to take the 4 four stairs, approximately 160 footsteps. We did it several times. Sometimes the elevator needs a 10 cent coin to start doing it's job. The room was OK but only two out of five days we had warm water. Breakfast was acceptable but be early. Otherwise You will risk to be left with out.

    Luxus? No. Exceptional? No Excentric? Yes. Old fashioned style. Perfection situation in the city. Close to Teatro San Carlo, Piazza Plebeicito, Palazzo Reale and Via Toledo. Locate within the Galleria Umberto I, not so easy to find and with a closed iron gate, open on request from the reception. The elevator, if not occupied due to not adequate handling of the former user, is a charming but very old one. Otherwise You will have to take the 4 four stairs, approximately 160 footsteps. We did it several times. Sometimes the elevator needs a 10 cent coin to start doing it's job. The room was OK but only two out of five days we had warm water. Breakfast was acceptable but be early. Otherwise You will risk to be left with out. Staff was personal and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all.

    This Hotel is in an excellent location on arrival we where greeted by the concierge bags taken for us, very pleasant check in process no fuss at all as was the check out very pleasant process. The staff where all very friendly helpful and courteous, the fabric of the hotel was lovely clean and very opulent we enjoyed every moment of our stay and will return soon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we got no sleep, due to staff toilet and store room directly behind our bed. Plus poor noise resistance from balcony door and door to corridor. Very very noisy. Staff not really interested and difficult to get anywhere as we had already paid.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent hotel in Galleri Umberto right in the centre of Naples. Lovely old doomed shopping gallery. Hotel on 3rd & 4th floors. Oozes character, big high ceilings, quirky lift to hotel. Only small family run with 16-17 rooms. Perfect for what we wanted. Great location. Friendly helpful staff sorted out early breakfast & taxi to airport for early departure Remember you're not in Crown PLaza or big chain. Just quirky family owned hotel. Reasonable price, great spot !! Excellent value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi was a bit unstable from time to time.

    Perfect location, with San Carlo Theatre just cross the road, main historical sites and shopping area within walking distance. The hotel is artistically decorated. Our room is specious, very clean. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. Lovely breakfast and great coffee. Our 7 nights stay was very enjoyable. Would come again and recommend it to friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a Junior Suite with balcony. It left a lot to be desired considering what was shown on the website. For starters, it was anything but soundproof. We could hear people from other rooms speaking, toilets flushing and water coming out of showers. The bathroom was abnormally small for a 4 star hotel.

    Nicely decorated, staff was very helpful and breakfast was typically Neapolitan. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice hotel in a brilliant location. Staff are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Nice varied breakfast with some Neapolitan specialities. Always kept very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift 10 cent each time to use. Rooms not on same floor as hotel and noisy back street view with of garbage. 3rd floor bedrooms appeared to be large floor made in to pods with old and new art. Not that clean for 4 star

    Good central position and comfy room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Was asked for 50 euro for late checkout, which was steep considering no one was in the room after us, they had us there for another 2 nights. I was full of cold so had to go out in foul weather. Also charged for "welcome drink" and when asked for a bottle of wine on room service was charged 30 euro when the menu had bottles from 15 euro. As a booking.com genius at least one of these should have been included with my booking. Also have come home with numerous bites which considering the weather could only have occurred in the room.

    great location, over looking Naples with fantastic art work in the rooms. Nice breakfast with lovely pastries and barista coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy at night but nit as bad as others had posted.

    The central location was handy for most amenities. The breakfast was fine and reasonably varied to give even the hungriest a decent start to the day. All in all decent value for money!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and ecohy due to location with the Galleria, also children playing football there until late at night. Breakfasts a bit and miss as ran out of bread on a couple of occasions and the hot selection was not very appealing. No milk to accompany tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom. Bar staff not always in attendance so had to advise other staff on drink preparation.

    Central location (was attending the opera) very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift is an antique and the stairwell wraps around it. It would be difficult for someone who cannot climb stairs.

    The location was excellent, and rather special staying in the upper echelons of the Galleria. Unfortunately it is being renovated at the moment, with a lot of scaffolding and sheeting around. The rooms were quirky with artwork and elaborate furnishing. Breakfast was very good, with lots of choice. Beds were quite comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator sometimes need 10 cents coins (provided free from hotel if needed). Also there was Some noise from kids outside the building

    Rich breakfast. Helpful stuff. Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfasts were a bit sparse. too many pastries. English guests would like TEA with MILK. This is a very simple request but is never easily available.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for 4 nights, couldn't sleep at all. Intolerably loud during the night, no soundproofing at all,the view from the balcony was nice, though. Apart from this everything else was fine.

    The location is great, close to everything. The breakfast moderate. The staff helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not offer the services advertised on the website e.g. Robes in the room , evening aperitif. The staff were not informative eg did not tell us how to exit or enter the hotel after hours. The room was very noisy from the other hotel bathrooms and from outside noise.

    Location was excellent for a short stay in Naples

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unless you can mange with very little sleep give this hotel a wide birth. We changed rooms at mid point through the week, rooms overlooking the rear with balcony are very noisy as they face the Main Street, restaurants. Cleaning takes place during the night, as well as deliveries. (See below) The other rooms overlook the galleria, shoppers and tourists all day which is fine. Then from 10 pm it's the local youth football team till at least 1pm then other assorted individuals, you may get an hour if your lucky before the macdonald staff throw the chairs out at 6 am In addition the galleria is being restored so deliveries of scaffolding at all hours and general building equipment. As the building is so big the noise echoes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night - the Galleria echos sound. The mall attracts (well-behaved) kids/young teenagers who play/hang-out until midnight. On one night I was kept awake by scaffolding works (this seems to be a permanent feature).

    Lovely location and rooms. Good view into the Galleria. Great breakfast, bathroom and beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is construction outside the hotel in the galleria that lasted through the entire night. We could not sleep at all. The lift was broken and the staff did not offer any assistance with our luggage. (4 flights of a circular staircase). For the cost spent on the booking, the room was rundown and shabby. For a four star hotel there was no complimentary water or coffee/tea. Parking is a nightmare. Use a taxi.

    The location downtown was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was super slow and intermittent. Bathroom was in poor condition. The walls are thin so it's quite noisy.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful. We were able to extend our check out by an extra hour which really helped.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be noisy at night. The lift was broken so we had to climb a lot of stairs.

    Really nice room, the whole building is impressive to look out at. Loved the hot tub bath

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is difficult to find as the entrance is within the shopping arcade (beautiful place but the sign to the hotel is minute). Arriving by car you'll probably need to park illegally (Naples, so not such an issue) and wonder about to find the hotel then get instructions on how to get to the car park.

    Good location and quiet, which is probably hard to find in the centre of Naples.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearly impossible to find, lift broken, climb four massive flights of stairs not knowing if there even is a hotel there. Massive noise outside from 4:30am, trendy wall-mounted minibar had see through door and bright light giving the effect of having a light on in the room. I pre-paid three nights but left after one as I couldn't stand it any more.

    Good art. Taxis nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gorgeous boutique hotel offering mostly peace and quiet in the hustle and bustle of Naples with rooms overlooking the fantastic interior of Galleria Umberto. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and English good enough to get what you need and have a conversation. Interior window panels cut out most of the noise of the evening - there is a very busy street outside the Galleria Umberto and it is open entrances so there were kids playing football til at least midnight when we stayed (school holidays) but didn't disturb sleep

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Around the location a bit scared

    We can't thanks the Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto enough for their service in our honeymoon trip. The room we stayed in a new zone was so clean, the great staff that know the true value of customer service (Especially, a receptionist guy), the great location for easy access to the subway, there are many awesome restaurant around here and overall amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The curtain in our room was broken and would not close all of the way. With the view being into a main shopping area, this was an annoyance for us. The safe would not open at one point and the front desk had to call their customer service to get it open.

    This was a very unique hotel and in a very central location. The staff was very helpful in arranging transportation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The area is loud. Inside a shopping centre which is open 24 hours, so constantly has people in it and noise early in the morning/late at night. The centre is currently under-going renovation but will be lovely once completed!

    The best thing about this hotel is the excellent location in the centre of Naples. Lots of shops, restaurants and bars close by. 5 minute walk to the metro station. Our room was large and comfortable and the bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath, and the hotel in general was clean and well presented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a day of sightseeing on arrival back at the hotel you'd be greeted with juice or wine and lots of snacks offered by staff. Vincenzo was particularly helpful, helping us plan our trip to Rome which we were nervous about and wouldn't have done with all his help and advice just the most brilliant man! Oksana was equally helpful finding out ferry times. Basically nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Our room was large, comfortable with a jacuzzi bath and sun drenched balcony overlooking a side street off the main street called Toledo. Location absolutely central unbeatable for the price and the lift was free for us the whole time! Would most certainly return if visiting Naples again! Thank you so much again particular thanks to Vincenzo and Oksana!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Napoli isn't a nice beautiful city to begin with. There were piss and graffiti everywhere. And Galleria Umberto is no exception. It was a far cry from Galleria Vittorio Emanuelle II in Milan. Homeless people sleep by the alleys and corners here and you could smell the piss as you walk in. It was easy to miss the entrance to the hotel too, which is shared with other offices and shops. Glad it was only a night. It was more than enough. And we met con artist at the parking area, next morning, we were fined by the police parking in the wrong spot.

    The room balcony has view of Galleria Umberto. Unique "very old" lift brought you up. It was an experience staying there. Breakfast room has disappointing view for the location. I was expecting a nice view. The food is ok. Many selection but no hot food. Cold hard boiled eggs anyone?

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly the only issues were Leaving the hotel gate was confusing and the elevator was very small but that's typical of Europe.

    Very quaint place in the middle of Naples. Close to shops and restaurants as well as the port, which was the main reason why we stayed there. Breakfast was respectable. Very beautiful decor and our suite was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The furniture in the room (104) looks great if you look at it piece by piece. But there was no feeling of overall harmony, some pieces of furniture seems to be placed in the room in order to fill the missing place. There was no feeling that everything in the room has its role in one play. The room is interesting itself due to its shape, but it was used poorly. I had a feeling of living in a corridor (this feeling is amplified with a mirror that makes the room even more stretched), it was a bit uncomfortable. The view from the room was poor: it goes to the yard which was quite dirty during the stay. Overall, the room did not impress me. I was expecting more from one of the most expensive rooms in the hotel. 2. There is a vanilla flavor used in the whole hotel which is not easy to get used to. 3. The breakfast was not great for me: the choice was not big, and the quality of food was not high. The bakery products seem to be bought in the shop, not prepared in the hotel. The choice of cheese and fruits was rather limited. In my opinion, breakfast in this hotel corresponds to a three-star hotel level.

    1. The location of the hotel is good, many historic places could be reached from it. 2. Staff answered all our questions, they were very helpful. 3. There is a small table with appetizers offered throughout the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking said there was a hottub, instead there was a shower over a bath that neither of us could fit under. I am only 173cm, average height for a woman. The bed was rock hard. Every night boys outside played football against the side of the hotel, it is inside a galleria so the noise was unbearable, we couldn't get to sleep for hours. The staff were unfriendly, one in particular at breakfast was basically scowling at guests. We wouldn't stay here again.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks a lot nicer in the photos than it actually is.

    It was easy to get a room with extra bed as we were 3. The staff was very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel Art Resort in the Umberto Galleria is a step back in time and it is very convenient for Opera lovers and first time visitors to Napoli. We were centrally located accross the street form the San Carlo, around the corner from via Toledo leading to the Museo Archeologico Nazionale di Napolito, the Piazza del Plebiscito, and a short walk to the Castel dell'Ovo. My italian is not conversational, but the staff welcomed us and immediately helped me solve a ticketing challenge with the Teatro San Carlo. I would definately book here again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a small dispute with cleaning stuff about lack of shampoons,

    Great location, right in the heart of the Naples. I also liked design of the room. It really fit to the landmark building of Galeria Umberto. Good selection of sweets for the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet did not work well inside of the room so I had to go to the lobby to use it. The shower was very weak. Some staff were very friendly but some were a bit rude. During the breakfast, there were many bugs around the fruits. Also many kids were playing soccer right next to the hotel every night, which made very loud sound. We shut the windows but still could hear and could not sleep well. I was a little disappointed.

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The location was amazing. Very close to many good restaurants and chopping street. Also very easy to go to Capri island as the ferry leaves from the coast that is 10 minutes away from the hotel. Some staff were very friendly and helpful to teach us about the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from our window was fabulous Unfortunately left my rings after me and they couldn't locate them in the room but other than that it was lovely The front desk very informative

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Complex was a little noisy at night but not unbearable and not too late. (just local youngsters doing what local youngsters do)

    The room was excellent and the air con was very welcome. We found the mattress a little hard but that was a personal thing and certainly not a fault with the hotel. The taxi service was very good especially the fixed rates to various locations. The Port and the Hop-on Hop-off buses were within 5 to 10 minutes walk from the hotel. (A trip to Sorrento costs 12 euros, a 24hr. Hop-on Hop-off ticket 24 euros, a good way to see the city. Overall a very relaxing break, top marks to the Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pictures online look good, but in reality the hotel is a bit tired. The bathrooms particularly need refurbishment. The shower did not work very well and water temperature was erratic. Lighting fixings were held (not very well) in place with Blue tack. There was very little cupboard space for clothes so we stacked clothes around the bedroom. Very few hangers so we bought some ourselves in local shop and wasted holiday time looking for this. Our bathroom (and our friends bathroom) had a smell of cigarette smoke, believe this may have been drawn in via the bathroom extractor. Rooms 108+109 have this. Other reviews have mentioned this but receptionist claimed had no knowledge. The description stated 'Hot Tub' there was none in either of the two rooms we stayed in. I asked at reception where the 'Hot Tub' was in case this was shared with other guests and the receptionist said there was not any. Children playing football outside in the shopping mall till around 01:00 was annoying and noisy at times. The hotel has a bar with fairly limited choice. Staff were totally not trained to serve drinks and when we wanted a night cap there was no ice at all for the duration of our 4 day stay. Anyone fancy a warm gin and tonic? Access to the room is via a lift only taking x3 people at a time or via four flights of stairs. There was not a safe in the room we could see or advised maybe valuables need to be left with reception? No doubt as with other reviews the hotel management will reply and probably gloss over the cracks, but there you have it our honest review. Adequate, but not stunning as the description and pictures would leave you to believe

    Had read other reviews about breakfast not being very good. The breakfast was continental style and ok. There was fresh honey from a honeycomb which was a nice touch and freshly squeezed orange juice available. Located in a good central area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    *Welcome to napoli - yes it's a bit dodgier than other cities so please ppl don't complain about "dangerous at night". That's city centre of a place like this, not the hotel's issue.* $$$- I had paid for the deluxe so I thought the room would be a little jazzier, but it seemed like the same as the regular room booking, so I'm not 100% sure what I paid extra for (unless it was the bathtub, then yes worth it). Amentities in the bathroom were "ok". Didn't touch the mini bar. The hotel is definitely gorgeous and has a great location, but not sure if off-season value for the price was 100%. Could have found something 20% less at a similar value (location/etc). Aside from that, all was great!

    The location was great, the hotel was gorgeous!!! Note~ the elevator is old style so people who don't close the doors properly will put it out of use for others. It's also paid elevator during "rush hour", 10 cents, but the hotel will supply change for you. The staff are very kind and helpful #1 - PET FRIENDLY! I travel with my small dog so I always look for these kinds of places. -The room had a bathtub (I did book the deluxe) so I enjoyed that ;) -BEAUTIFUL ART. Big bed. ;-) -Free wifi -Aperitivo and drink upon arrival, GREAT breakfast buffet! Stocked minibar (I didn't partake, though) -AMAZING VIEWS! (Had an inside of the mall view so I could see the beautiful architecture). The hotel is so beautiful I was in awe of that. -Rooms are actually quite large. -Right in centro storico you're near EVERYTHING so it's great! You can walk everywhere. Shopping, food, sights, sea, etc. -Free luggage storage after 11am check out (not sure if this is standard, but the desk guy was happy to help and we had small bags we just popped into the side office)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in a very central location and is within a few minutes of the metro station. All staff were very friendly and helpful, in particular a young gentleman on the night shift. Breakfast was lovely, with great selection and freshly made coffee at your request. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfort of beds could have been better noisy rooms in the morning (all rooms are located on 1 corridor) breakfast is limited

    perfect location (but quite difficult to acess by car) Nice style of the rooms. acceptable value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ours was the least attractive room in this very small hotel but was still very nice other than 0 view. the hotel itself is entered via the galleria in the centre of the attractions and on the edge of the Spanish quarter. easy to walk to everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking on site or even close, have to park 10 min walk away... bit of a pain to get to if you have a bit of luggage. Having to use coins in the elevator - really!? Can be a bit noisy at night, we had a room overlooking the Galleria and people were yelling and playing soccer till very late at night.

    Great spot, walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor check in service by the male at the desk (not Fransisco) Lift was not working - we didn't know where to go. My daughter walked up the stairs and was told that lift must be on another level and as door was not closed it meant it didn't work. She then found the level and came down. We were shown where the welcome drink was but told we could have it later. I had explained that my husband wasn't joining us because he had to go back home as our son was ill. He did not acknowledge this in anyway. He just took our passports. The map was on the counter but we were not given directions as where we were collected. The taxi driver had shown us as we did not know where to go. Later I went to ask and then I was given a map - by a different person. Still no explanation how to get in or out of galleria or hotel. If it was for comments made on this ap we wouldn't have known. Our room was dark and our booking sheet indicated we had a balcony when I pointed that out he was rude and see that we were given a bigger room because we were three. The next morning I noticed that the other rooms (the ones being cleaned) were suitable for 3 adults and all had balconies. My daughter and I were tired and concerned as my son was not well and so our experience was not a very favourable. Lucky we were only there overnight. We also didn't feel very safe entering galleria at night - there was police presence but still not a pleasant experience.

    Fransisco was very helpful. We only stayed overnight and the following morning we checked out and left our luggage. We did some sightseeing as our flight was early in the evening. When we came back he confirmed our transfer booking, showed us where to wait, offered us a drink, was very professional. It would have been nice to have met him the day before.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the first time since I use the services of Booking, i.e. more than five years, I was not staying at the hotel that I reserved. When we arrived at the reception they told us that they can not accommodate us because there was a problem with the water in our room. So we were accommodated in a hotel about 100 meters from this one. We had no choice and we went to the other hotel, dragging suitcases in the heat - at 2 pm. The other hotel turned out to be a 15-20 minutes walk, which in no way is 100 meters. Located on the fourth floor of a large building. Its name was Luxury Art Resort. We were us in a small room with basic furnishings. Depressing. We noticed that the logo is the same. Extremely unpleasant situation. I doubt very much that there was a problem with the water. For high price they put us in a miserable hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left the hotel minutes after checking in because of the smell in the room and mold in the bathroom. Despite the door to the balcony being open, the room smelled strongly of damp and must as if the room had not been opened for months or longer. We figured the sent might dissipate over time, so we opened our bags and my wife went to get in the shower but turned around after seeing the bathroom. There was mold growing up the shower curtain, in the grout, and around the tub. We decided to leave at that point. We experienced a hostel-level of cleanliness at a hotel that was well ranked. This was not the experience we were looking for during our time in Naples.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There had been a problemn with plumbing which caused our party to be split. I stayed here and was happy but it complicated our travel plans

    Pleasant friendly staff , good breakfast. ,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast far under a 4-stars hotel. Breakfast announced till 10.30am, but at 9.30 half of the food was already gone, and the waiter didn't re-fill with the words that all is finished,...

    nice location, in the tourist center, surrounded by shops, restaurants, harbor, metro,...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We were very late back from a tour and they gave us time to have showers etc and we had actually already checked out. Would definitely recommend this hotel and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful view from the window is very clean, wonderful service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The galleria was being renovated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all ok

    Excellent location nice area close to all public transport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed

    Location and staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At my sight, bathtab looked not so washed clean.l used shower only for 5 nights.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not use bathtab efficiently

    Location and good access to local transportation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a 4 stars hotel and services. Rather 3.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the the easiest to find,could do with being better sign posted

    Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast: although the breakfast is quite reasonable the reposition of finished items is poor.

    Location and the room dimensions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Comfort of the room

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection was great and staff very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to get proper tea.

    Location was excellent, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very limited and unorganised we left and then dident go back

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy location, weak wifi

    Clean and beautiful room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusing lift useage, No water in bathroom one entire day due to pipe repair work in building

    Superb location, excellent rooms, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complicated way to use lift for reaching hotel, No water till 7pm due to building pipe repair

    Excellent location, excellent rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlooked the shopping centre which seemed an attraction to local youths wanting to use it as a football pitch until 1.30 in the morning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place ... The decor is unbelievable and so very Italian :) The staff are so lovely too and so happy even when your checking out at 4am :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THAT IT IS ON THE 4TH FLOOR OF A BUILDING

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was awful; even had fungus in the cake one day

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard. Pillows flat and hard.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: