Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aster 3 stars

Dante 40, 39012 Merano, Italy

#36 of 62 hotels in Merano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 453 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    A lovely experience in comfortable Hotel with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some traffic noise - we live in the country at home!

    The staff, the best we have had in Hotels this holiday, they more than made us welcome and were so accommodating to our needs, even providing what we did not ask for. The outside terrace area for breakfast, the size of the rooms, the balcony off the room for relaxation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant hotel, recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a 17 minutes walk from the very pleasant city centre, a large part of which is up-hill (or down-hill). There is a bus stop and even a bus station at about 250m from the hotel, though. Those who can manage the exercise, will enjoy the walk. Not many restaurants close to the hotel. Restricted times and rules for swimming pool usage, but some will appreciate that; as well, not many deckchairs for sunbathing. The room price seemed a bit high, but Merano may be an expensive city to stay even in low season.

    When we arrived we were received by a bit stiff but, as it turned out, very friendly gentleman who showed us the room and informed us about the hotel and gave some tips. All staff were friendly by the way. We had a very large room and a very decent bathroom with two basins. Good shower, fluffy towels, and a soap dispenser which however we don’t like. A good bed, plenty of space to put your stuff, a safe deposit box, a sitting area, and a nice balcony with a view of the surrounding mountains added to our delight. Breakfast was excellent and could be enjoyed outside next to the swimming pool, surrounded by lush vegetation. There are a few parking places around the hotel; we had no trouble parking as the hotel was not fully booked. The hotel is located in a very quiet residential neighbourhood with quite a lot of large turn-of-the-century villas. Down the street, at a 5 minutes’ walk a recommendable restaurant (Kirchsteiger: good pizzas but also a good choice of other food) can be found, with an outside dining area (Saturdays: restricted menu, Sundays: closed) and a bit farther on a second restaurant of somewhat lesser quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice and comfortable accommodation in Merano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in the corridors outside the rooms.

    We were lucky since we were offered a superior room. Nonetheless, it is a nice hotel, clean, with attentive staff, a nice pool and a tasty breakfast. At a 10 minutes walk from Merano centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with a pool, set in nice peaceful...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a 20 min walk to the town downhill - got a taxi back.

    Beautiful hotel with a pool, set in nice peaceful surroundings with breakfast served on the patio & very nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    We had a very pleasant stay. Great was that the charming city of Meran is in great walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reservation through booking.com didn't work.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating as the booking of the rooms via booking.com didn't work. When we arrived there were no reservations for our rooms in their system.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.3
    Big rooms, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not central so we needed to use the car to visit the city centre. This wasn't a skow-stopper though.

    Correct hotel. The room was fairly large; we were very confortable there. The breakfast is worth mentioning too (what a coffee they serve!)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Lovely setting within beautiful town clean and homely with...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting within beautiful town clean and homely with excellent care and service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a wonderful experience. Everything was as expected. Nice job!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Very nice location and the rooms are comfortable and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms do not air conditioning.

    Very nice location and the rooms are comfortable and well equipped.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English language TV

    Large room, great breakfast, several restaurants nearby

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.6
    Very nice overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only suggestion would be a "do not disturb" sign, for the morning I wanted to stay in room.

    Very nice overall. Friendly, helpful staff. Room was exceptionally roomy, with sofa, table, desk, and balcony. Good breakfast with lots of options, including meat, eggs, fruit, cakes, brioche, and good coffee, plus garden view if you choose. Ample parking. Not many Americans have discovered Merano, but we loved it!

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    10
    Nice location in calm region of Merano, 15 minutes walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice location in calm region of Merano, 15 minutes walk to the center. Nice, clean. big room, very helpful pleasant people working. I was staying 8 nights. Many thanks.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.5
    Good location not too far from the center (20min walk).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was clean but not spotless. The carpet was stained and there was mold in the shower.

    Good location not too far from the center (20min walk). The breakfast on the terrace next to the pool is unbeatable. Good value for money. Friendly staff (although with a slight attitude).

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    10
    The breakfast in particular was very good and ample.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast in particular was very good and ample. Rooms very comfortable. Staff extremely friendly. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    9.6
    The staff, the comfort of the hotel, the great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only the location, without car it is not so easy to reach.

    The staff, the comfort of the hotel, the great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    9.6
    Great view of the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet always logs out

    Great view of the mountains

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    8.8
    quietness,cleanliness
    • Group

    a bit out of cener

    quietness,cleanliness

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: