Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria Garden 3 stars

Via Vittorio Bachelet 8, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#326 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 242 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window very small but nothing can be done about that

    Perfectly fine although one of the smaller rooms in the hotel Quiet overlooking the inside garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The breakfast offering was the same every day. - The dining hall always smelled from the nearby bathroom facilities. - The towels were never changed, even after signalling this to the cleaning staff. - It was cold during the first two nights due to poor heating. - The heating system was always noisy enough to be distracting while trying to sleep.

    + Good location!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet service and breakfast are horrible to say the least . The breakfast is same for every single day and most of the items are left overs and not fresh at all. The silverware (spoons) yuk they are not clean at all. The internet service is awful to say the least, it never stay connected, may be if you stay in the first floor it might be a different story.

    We like the location, close to terminal train station and bus station. Close to restaurants. Hotel is clean and it is in a safe location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As most hotels in Italy do, there was no fridge inside the room. However, hotel staff allowed us to put our medicine inside the fridge in the bar. Thank you!

    Location was great, only about 5-6min walk from Termini Station. Hotel staff was kind and friendly. They all speak very fluent English. Breakfast was very good. We loved scrambled egg and salami a lot! We really enjoyed staying at Astoria Garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not great and room very basic but okay if only staying a couple of days and visiting attractions.

    Friendly staff. Easy to get to. Perfect location for venturing out to all tourist attractions. Small garden lovely to sit out and have a drink before going for dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable and our room was really small, but for us it wasn't a problem

    Location is good if you come to/from Rome by train as the hotel is about 5 min from Termini railway station. The hotel garden is open 24 h a day and it's very nice. Friendly and helpful personnel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    From my room, wi-fi connection was little bit slow. We have needed to move to lobby to connect internet strongly. The shower water temperature was not stable. We didn't care but some bugs live in the garden.

    very close to Termini station, less than 5 min on foot. some shops and restaurants are also close. friendly and kind receptionist always helped us. nice pretty garden. Drinking wine in there was great time ever.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was poor, the coffee was horrible.

    The location is great, near the train station. The receptionists were very friendly, we checked in at 11:00 instead of 14:00.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a bit hard

    Had read some reviews before I went and was a bit unsure of what to expect. But I found the staff to be most friendly and helpful have been to Rome before stayed in a more expensive hotel and it was not as good. I would highly recommend this Hotel. To sit in the garden with a glass of wine was a delight. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice I can not really fault it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay turist tax 4 euro/day/pers because it wasn't inclus in the price from the site.

    The staff was very kind. Breakfast was good including ham,cheese,butter, eggs, coffe,juice, cereals and milk and a lot of sweets. In the room was hot,(even thar it was january), hot water. Wifi was good. It's very close to termini. They kept our lagauagge after chek out until we had the plane.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very, very friendly staff. I would certainly return. Room perfect for me, vista giardino. Breakfast all well, price quality really more than perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really small room, old fornitures, dirty walls, old and unconfortable mattress...

    Location is good, nice quiet Rome area, walking distance from railway station. Poor breackfast with horrible coffee from automatic machine and no fresh bread (is not good coffee and good bread an Italian characteristic anymore???)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had problems finding the light switch in our room when we arrived. No tea/coffee facilities in room!

    Really liked the garden area and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel room was very very small, it appeared suffocating. Around the bed there was just sufficient space to walk in the room. The room did not had sufficient light. Also booking a hotel near Termini was not beneficial at all since the Metro in Rome are highly overcrowded.

    Being close to Termini, there were quite a lot of eating place around the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked like pfobie the bed is for 10 years old kid.

    I booked for only one night not from Termini. But their single room bed are for children beds not for maturn persons, extremely uncomfortable. I booked in Barcelona, Krakow and in Portofino for single but what a difference night and day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable room. Nice internal garden. Ask for a room with a view to the garden ( 306, for example). Close to Termini train terminal. Excelent breakfast, full of options.Front desk very helpfull

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spotless, close proximity to Termini and all other public transport. Great base for exploring the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the garden

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast Great reception and helpful staff Cleanliness and room amenities good Good wifi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise.

    Clean. Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room

    Location, friendly staff, lovely balcony

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Clean, but very old decor. Breakfast was a bit disappointing.

    Staff are so helpful. Lovely people.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the same hotel last year in a much bigger room....for a lot less money....

    Great location...near Terminii..

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful and with a small garden

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is a bit outdated but we slept fine

    Close to Termini station with nice restaurants close by and good metro access to key sights of Rome.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was really too small that with just one step you can reach anything. Bed was totally uncomfortable, mattress was I think 180cm or less, my legs were almost out of the bed, pillows were uncomfortable as well.. I woke up for several times during the night and couldn't really sleep.

    The garden is just beautiful and quite! Also, location of the hotel was quite good! Termini station is just 2min walk. Touristic places such as Pantheon, Trevi fountain,Spanish Steps etc. are also close, it's like 20 min walk. But location doesn't feel so safe whet it gets dark.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    if you want to keep your luggage after your check out at the hotel, they charge you 1E for every piece of bag after 3pm. The room was rather dark, lamps were poor.

    the staff, the location was great, wifi at room - great

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is great for the train station, rooms are small, but not too cramped. Breakfast is a good selection, though coffee is more American than Italian! Staff and general standard of the hotel is fantastic. Very clean, will definitely use again.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was filling with many choices but would require real expresso coffee (this is Italy!) not coffee from an automatic machine that is practically undrinkable. This fact needs serious attention.

    Good location! Very close to Termini Station (the north side) but in a good and quiet part of the Termini area. The multi-lingual reception was very welcoming and professional. The room facing the garden in the back was small but with all the required conveniences.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had my wallet stolen on my last day in Rome, so I had to ask for cash back but the man at the reception said they couldn't do that.. I was quite desperate.

    Good location, fair price.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Uncomfortable bed although all beds in Italy seem to be on the firm side! Poor wifi access.

    Excellent reception staff very friendly and informative. Lovely garden and bar. Clean and tidy bedrooms. Excellent location for central termini.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No fridge and bottle-opener in the room. Small space near the toilet bowl

    Staffs are very kind and professional. Room is well maintained and clean. The garden is nice.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only issue with the stay was the lack of wifi, which was broken during our stay. However, the staff won some points by researching train times to Naples for us while the wifi wasn't working and ran it up to our room, which was very nice of them. The only other minor point would be that the rooms are a bit small, but it didn't bother us.

    Goid location on a nice street near Termini - some areas around Termini are a bit grim but certainly had no issues here. There are a lot of restaurants nearby, some good some bad but in general better than you'd find in the main tourist areas. The hotel itself was great and staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was great. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms and especially tapestries could use some update as they are starting to show their age. Otherwise, no complains at all !!!!

    From breakfast to WiFi and room comfort everything was good. My room was behind a very busy street and with windows closed i could not hear a single noise. Excellent.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THE BED! I felt every coil in the mattress,

    EVERYTHING but the bed.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful reception staff booked a couple of trips for us which was very helpful. They had a good knowledge of Rome and what transport to use.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some staff is very kind, someone is not.

    It is quite close from Termini station. Small and clean room.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pricr

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Perfection

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel location is perfect!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was very nice, friendly, and helpful

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fourth visit to this hotel. Excellent Staff. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Truly dreadful coffee. Unpleasant smell in room

    Helpful & friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, walking distance from Termini.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower a little too small.

    Excellent service, location and accomodations. Very good!!!

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing! It was all positive!!

    Very polite and concerned staff ! We felt welcomed and respected with our requests and needs. Clean and well run hotel!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice, well furnished, comfortable rooms, very polite and helpful staff, great views, great views, all at a very affordable price

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed here numerous times and it's always a pleasure

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cleanliness of entire hotel, and courtyard garden area.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is close to Roma termine station. Breakfast was abundant and delicious. I felt good value for price.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No air condition. But it's normal there.

    View from the bedroom

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Garden. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast is beyond 'don't like'. Its terrible!!!

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very quiet courtyard room. Walking distance from central station. Very helpful friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I would prefer a full hot breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The garden was very pretty

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The coffee at breakfast is truly terrible!

    Location good, garden very restful, cool and quiet

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff were always very helpful

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Position of tv

    Almost everything was perfect

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A great hotel with loads of character. The staff were very helpful and suggested good restaurants nearby. The banana trees in the pictures are real.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    from the garden room, you cannot get the wi-fi signal.

    almost everything was really good and professional. thanks a lot.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Hotel Astoria Garden traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: