Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Astoria Palace Hotel 4 stars

Via Montepellegrino 62, 90142 Palermo, Italy

#66 of 72 hotels in Palermo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4591 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    3.8
    The barman was very friendly and engaging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost felt as though international visitors were treated with disdain. Arriving very late due to a flight delay, were given single beds in spite of prepaying for a double room. Reception did not answer phone so needed to return to be given a double room of the worst possible location, with no apology at all. Facing the fruit market, we endured screaming and honking from 3am onwards each day. The location of hotel is ordinary, far from city and surroundings resembled a tip. Sitting in our next hotel eating brekky, we now realise just how uninterested and aloof the staff at Astoria were. Locals seemed to be treated quite differently. Very disappointing experience.

    The barman was very friendly and engaging.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located out of the business centre by a good 30/40 walk but bus 107 stops right outside. With the main fruit and vegetable market just a block away I was expecting some fresh fruit for breakfast other than apples.

    Everything else apart from location and no fresh fruit for breakfast was 1st class.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of the central area where most of sites are located. Taxi around 25 euros which was excessive.

    Staff very friendly. Free car parking Clean & comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The public bus services is very bad. There is not a fixed timetable in which you can take the bus. You have to wait at the bus stop for about twenty minutes and hope.

    The hotel is comfortable, even if it is not well connected with bus services. Rooms are big and clean with comfortable bed (hard mattress) and international breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast was below expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition did not work for 2 nights, then it returned to operation. The breakfast was every morning the same with medium quality. We missed fresh vegetables, like tomato, cucumber and paprika a lot!!

    The rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    The pastries served for breakfast we're incredibly tasty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is not great at all for a holiday location, very far from tourist attractions and restaurants/bars.

    The pastries served for breakfast we're incredibly tasty however the hot breakfast such as eggs/bacon/sausages we're poorly cooked and rarely enough serving.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location isn’t particularly lovely. If you don’t drive it’s probably best to get a taxi or take the bus as to walk you’re either on very busy or very secluded roads.

    Nice room with AC, breakfast really exceeded expectations and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Okay value for money but I wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is limited: it covers 10% of the total rooms and as a result you can never find a spot there, meaning that you have to park at the streets outside which doesn't feel very safe (for you or the car) Location: The hotel is located just next to the big vegetables market (for wholesalers) which means that it opens at 05:00 AM, the streets are filled with trucks the night before waiting to leave or to receive load and all this creates a rather stressful, noisy environment at the early morning. Hotel rooms; The key card never worked after the cleaning lady has come, meaning that we had to pass by the reception to reactivate our key EVERY DAY. Overall condition: The hotel is old and the rooms are dated - it might have been a great hotel but that was in the '80s.

    Big hotel with rich breakfast buffet which is (however) the same every day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is a bit dated There was a funny smell in the corridor

    Very good value for money, we paid 50 euros per day at the end of June (breakfast included) Breakfast was decent with savoury options as well (not that common in Italy) Car park in the hotel although spaces are a bit limited Close to metro station Good air conditioning Comfy room including comfy bath Relatively comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Good options for such a price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    old furniture. "tricks" with serving coffee :) and with this I mean that at the breakfast you'll have an machine with solubable(instant) coffee and an recipient with filter coffee or something like that..without any taste of coffee. I think these is unancceptable for Italy and 4 stars hotel. but we discover that you can order to waiters the normal esspresso, capucinno... at the breakfast no vegetables and just apples as fruits, the luck is you can take the canned fruits. a little bit noisy if you want to sleep with open window or balcony door, near is a fruity/vegetable market and at 2 am o'clock they something load, unload, cleaning..

    very clean! every day cleaning is done and changes the towels. the staff very kindly and good speaking of english. private parking. taking into consideration the price, I think per average it is ok hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    had a great stay.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom needs some updating. could start with removing the black spots on the silicone and install glass partition instead of the shower curtain.

    location & breakfast are great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    I would not recommend this place to anyone.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I did not like the neglectful attitude of the staff. We had issues with air conditioning constantly, as well as issues with Wi Fi. Michele, the man at the front desk was absolutely the worst, his response was always "That's the way it is here."

    Not a lot, I guess the breakfast was passable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    The hotel was fine but fruit markets are loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms where a little bland. And the fruit market across are extremely loud and kept me awake from 3am .. nightmare especially as you can hear so many lorries beeping at all times in the morning. But if your a deep sleeper you won't have a problem.

    The roof top bar was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were super rude. Played loud. Music till 2 am. When asked move rooms they said all 900 rooms were full mean while on their website rooms were available. Staff were not helpful nor did they confront the issue of the loud music. They hid behind the wall when customers complained and asked for the music to be turned down. We were told we could have dinner on the roof then they had a private function so you couldn't have dinner. We booked the hotel based on 4 stars and aircon. The air on want working in the entire building and we were told 1 hour it will be fixed. Well that never happened. Although its 4 stars we were better of booking a hostel. Much better customer service.

    Buffet breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Very dissapointed with Sicily no fault of the Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The general dirty rubbish everywhere and the general bad manners of the people driving cars, scooters and motor bikes. Nothing to do with the hotel.

    A good business and travelling hotel walk able to the city centre and also close to underground. Very disappointed with Sicily!! In general rubbish everywhere especially on the roads and in lay-bys. My wife and I have visited 72 countries in the world with many of them being third world countries and Sicily is on a par with some of them. Be very careful especially with the motorists and scooter drivers. Do not trust walking over a zebra crossing even when it is green and you have the right of way. If you find a toilet with a lock on the door it’s a bonus it you find one with a toilet seat you have just won the lottery. We flew into Catania and out of Palermo and travelling all over the island there was not much we did not see. Some spectacular scenery and some great buildings but not enough to make the journey. We live in Spain and have visited Italy, our favourite country many times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Convenient for my needs for the one night I stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not working...however I could open the window and there was a nice cool breeze that night! Had to leave by 6 am so unfortunately I did not get to have the breakfast that was included, but the setup looked like it was going to have a variety of foods!

    Convenient for my needs for the one night I stayed. Everything was clean and room was very nice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    The air conditioner is broken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner is broken. According to the other reviews this has been going on for months and they never fixed it. There's a ridiculous amount of dust in the vents and it was incredibly disgusting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Overall not so bad but it started by a huge disappointment (rooms and location)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not like at all that the room we reserved did not correspond at all to the pictures showed on booking.com. This kind of advertising is just bad. We just wanted something decent (a double bed for a couple, a somewhat modern room as showed in the pictures) and the 2 first rooms were just like old, with a weird smell and not very clean. Half of the window of the first room was below some wall so no light... This is why we changed the room until having a good one. This one was good but it could have been more clean in the bathroom. Then honestly it is quite far from the center of Palermo (we should have better check the location) and the public transport do not connect well this area. Thus you end up walking 40 min on the side of a Highway or walking in a strange neighborhood. The included breakfast is not bad but too fatty, there are almost no fruits, and the coffee is way above the Italian standards

    We tried 2 rooms that were not reaching our expectations and came back to the reception. Finally the third room was nice, especially the shower, the clim and the comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, nice resort, but no English speaking TV programmes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With all the satellite TV programs available, not 1 of them was in English language!

    Extremely clean hotel, really good breakfast, and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -the corridors are dirty -the furniture in the room is old -the staff at the reception are grumpy -way less parking space inside than needed -the surrounding area is dissappointingly dirty -the hotel overall isn't really a 4 star category

    -great breakfast -plenty of shops and supermarkets are within walking distance

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    A busy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double room for 1 person (that was the only choice) with breakfast included. I was allocated a room with a single bed and was charged the price of a double room and breakfasts for two people. They said nothing else was available even though I had booked.

    Staff were friendly. The Breakfast (included in the price) was good with a range of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    It was further from the city than we were aware.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was further from the city than we were aware. The room was very basic but clean . The shower pressure was excellent. Roof top bar very nice. My only real negative comment is the carpet in the corridors was filthy and should be replaced ASAP.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location near the market perhaps but no real problem.Ex

    The choice of food at breakfast was excellent.The staff were very helpful .The room was clean .The shower was hot and didn't,leak(the best shower in 5 weeks.)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.9
    arrogant and badly behaved receptionist Michele
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    arrogant and badly behaved receptionist Michele very loud hotel much traffic around aircondition extremly loud also in the night very hard pillow and mattress no good location - takes long time to center, morning market (3 a.m.) next to hotel no shuttleservice to center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.2
    Over priced and no A/C although advertised, so uncomfortable and eaten alive.GO TO MONDELLO INSTEAD!
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the hotel advertised air conditioning but there wasn’t any. And when we would ask about it we were either mislead to believe it would be turned on the next day, or told too bad with the impression they really couldn’t of cared less. We asked about it 3 times to 3 different people and each told us something different, we kept the window open a few nights due to absolute necessity but I was eaten a live by mosquitoes because there’s no screens on the windows and couldn’t sleep a wink. Nor could my aunt who coughed up close to 3 grand CAD for this place, which in all the places I’ve stayed all over the world in my travels this hotel is over priced and they false advertised the air conditioning to us, so this place is a rip off. We left to go to another hotel 3 days into our 7 night stay because we could tolerate the heat, my scratching and the blantent disregard from the reception staff. When we told them we were leaving and willing losing the money spend because it was beyond torture trying to sleep or be comfortable in this place, staff just shrugged us off, not any sort of minimal effort of “oh we’re sorry to see you go...” “we are really sorry about the air conditioning or that bugs in the room..” (which for a little extra icing on this disaster cake became infected and I’m covered in scabs and I’m red and look like someone from the movie Outbreak)we were told that the air conditioning hadn’t been turned on yet, which is absolutely and completely fine with us, but there was nothing on the website, or at any time Was it stated from anyone Upon check in, or the numerous times we went down noticeable uncomfortable and not happy was anything mentioned; until the night before we left of course. If it was stated at any time online that the air conditioning wouldn’t be turned on until .... whenever we wouldn’t of commited and gone else where and I would not be leaving such a gross review.

    The cleaning and kitchen staff were really awesome and nice, and the food was good. Supper especially the basil risotto was so delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    passable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location

    The dining room restaurant was excellent but expensive. The hotel is out of the main town centre and although they had a shuttle it was expensive. We caught a bus about 300 metres away from the hotel. They said in the description it was close to the train station which we intended to use. However this was NOT the main station but a secondary one and useless to go to town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Nice Hotel and what a great view of the mountains and the markets in the morning....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All their Air conditioning was out of action in all rooms and not being able to sleep well was the result - after a while someone did manage to find small desk fan

    Nice Hotel and what a view of the mountains and the markets in the morning, really nice and great breakfast too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Fair for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't provide AC and it was hot in the room so we had to sleep with window open. As result, because the hotel is in a busy area, we were waking up at 6h00 with the sound of ambulances and cars. Bathroom with head shower broken and old curtain, would expect better conditions for 4 star hotel.

    Bed confortable and room clean. People very kind, good parking area and safe. Breakfast has good variety

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    3.8
    A long way from the city centre! No shuttle available as mentioned on their website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very basic room, supposedly "superior" but the same as Ibis Budget. A tour group hotel that is situated next to the fruit and veg market - think reversing forklifts etc. Breakfasts are a disaster!!!

    Leaving the Astoria Palace hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.0
    Room was clean but very old style.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition was broken. The lower end of my bed was broken. Breakfast was pretty reduced and not much left when we came at 9. As well i only found out on the last day that you could request proper coffee instead if the one from the machine.

    Room was clean but very old style. Would beed some modifications and upgrades.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Not reccomend ! Too high price for such quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ugly smell of smoking rooms of early times, in corridor and room same ugly smell, old hotel,with open window very noisy outside area, area around is few km away from city centre and dirty, market around, servicy was bad and not kind lady on reception and at least she forgot to order lunch boxes

    Hotel is only for 1 night stay/ business trip, bed was comfortable and room big, we stay 1 night as have early flight from Palermo airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Super breakfast, very comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking difficult and a bit of a trek from the city centre especially if walking to and from the city centre on a very warm day

    Super breakfast, very comfortable rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Passable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restaurant was poor, air condition was broken for the whole stay, area very weired

    Very friendly and helpful staff, big room with balcony large, rich breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trash bin in the bathroom wasn’t empty. It had stuff in it. We dare not see what it was. Drain in the bathtub/shower in room 415 doesn’t work very well. The windows let a considerable amount of noise in; it’s a bit jarring. The hotel restaurant is a tad expensive, considering how reasonably priced the accommodation is.

    This is a very old 5 star hotel. Must have been something in its day. Now it’s a white elephant. But I like it all the same, this enchanted ruin. Free parking? Hell yeah. Breakfast included? Yes it is! And it wasn’t even half bad. Spacious rooms? Yes they are. Shoe shine machine in the hallway? You bet. It’s Sicily... having shiny shoes is more important than clean drinking water. Phillips radio built into the bed? Check. What a trip down the memory lane!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.8
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot and the air conditioning was not working. There is virtually no sound insulation between rooms and every noise can be heard. It was not possible to fully turn off all the lights - even in the off position one light remained on dim, although it was not so dim at night. Removed the bulbs during the night. Parking was free but overfull. It was a 23 Eur cab ride down town. Mostly seems to be tour groups that stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is very good for a night or few in Palermo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have been better informed before leaving the hotel about deaparture/arrival of last train/metro on week days and holidays.

    Breakfast was very good. The location is ok. It was very convenient with the parking for the car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Always perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only time in 7 years that we have been coming twice a year to this hotel that I needed transport from the airport to the hotel, I called to ask for help at the hotel since my flight was very late at night. The person who answered just did not bother just directed me to tha many taxis found at the airport. I was just asking for a booked ahead shuttle taxi and I just got indifference. I was always helped by everyone in the hotel.

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Good if you don't want to stay in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very old. The hotel is not near the city centre , it's very far away , more than 25 minutes walking.

    The breakfast is amazing. The bakery is very good and there a lot of different types of pastries and cakes that you can choose. There is the free parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Handy to stay in Palermo for a short trip to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although not needed the air conditioning provided by a fan coil unitdidn't function

    The evening dining experiece was a delight, I recommend an evening meal here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Safe and comfortable stay in Palermo (with parking space!!)
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift is frustrating - we were on the 12th floor and it can take a long time until a lift with enough space to get on it actually stops to get you there (or back down). Coffee at breakfast is not up to Italian standard. Dinner was good, but very expensive, and the staff were so obsequious that we felt rather hassled at times. Hotel has seen better times, but in a way, the fact that it hasn't been updated makes a very good hotel in a reasonable location affordable. Bus connections to town are rather unpredictable, and it is very difficult to get to the next shop that sells bus tickets (on the other side of a road that is impossible to cross during most of the day. Try to get bus tickets well in advance if you want to use the bus). Walking to town is possible but not very nice.

    A very comfortable room, and, given stories about Palermo, I really appreciated that there was a safe deposit box available in the wardrobe. Despite the high-rise buildings around, appreciated the view to the harbour. One definite advantage of this hotel is that it has a reasonable amount of parking available - we managed to get a space every evening - and it is fairly easy to drive to, given Palermo standards. There is a bus stop right outside, and a reasonable connection to town (at least in theory). Good breakfast, with a good range of choices. Dinner at the hotel was very good. Dinner at the very local pizza place/bakery two doors up the road was even better (if a lot less glamorous).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable. Good facilities. The only downside is it is not the most beautiful 15-20 minute walk into the heart of the old town but overall very satisfied

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.8
    Satisfactory stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tired in places. Decor in the rooms and restaurant could do with updating. The hotel is about 30 minutes walk from central Palermo and through the outskirts. Fine for us but those not wishing to walk will need to use taxis. There is a metro station nearby but this is limited and not quick.

    Shower was nice. Car parking on site. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Book this hotel, you will not regret it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was not much to see around the hotel like malls or stores to shop for Italian products.

    Monica(?) in the Front Desk was very helpful. The Breakfast offerings were very good. The free parking was a bonus. Our room was very spacious and I appreciate the cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.8
    Nice traditional style hotel with free inside parking and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    200 students was in the hotel and they made the stay a nightmare. They were so loud it was impossibile to sleep until 2am.

    Nice traditional style hotel with free inside parking and very good brekfast. Also the Wifi was super powerful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    4.6
    Useless hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and musty. The bed was uncomfortable. We had no quilts but only old horse blankets. Further more the photos on booking.com are very different from the room we had. The hotel was full of young students all making a lot of noise. The spa was out of order. Over all a disappointing experience.

    nothing at all

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room equipment and also equipment for restaurant is quite worn out and not very stylish. Hotel is also quite far from city center - you have to go by bus or metro (which is nearby) or go walk for 3,5 km

    Parking is realy easy in the hotel - you can use front main entrance and parking is on the roof with lift directly to hotel reception. Breakfast was good, tasty coffee and orange juice. Room was spaciou enough

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Great quality hotel for excellent value with exceptional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff were very courteous, professional, available and always smiling. The room and bathroom were spacious and quiet. Parking was provided at the hotel, which is located in the western part of Palermo, felt safe to walk outside at night. It is in a good location, bus stop in front of the hotel to go downtown and small shops, eateries within close vicinity. The hot, comprehensive breakfast was outstanding with too many choices to list with most attentive waiters. Great quality for excellent value. Would return in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Good comfortable & neat rooms. Spa is not recommended at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I opted for a pedicure at the hotel spa and it was very poorly done. The person was very inexperienced and felt like he was doing a pedicure for the first time, lasted 15 minutes! The spa was also not open during the said timings.

    We stayed here on our last night in Sicily. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Parking lot within the hotel premises is a great advantage. Overall comfortable experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.0
    Definitely not a place for weekend getaways, very dirty neighbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad view with a marketplace, very noisy, laundry service ând spa doesn't work on weekends (when else do you expect people to have vacations) ? No possibility to even have an iron.... Dirty neighbourhood.....

    Nice breakfast, 15 minutes of drive from mondello beach Honest staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    4.6
    the breakfast is reasonable , not meet the 4stars hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Iron available for the guests as a 4 stars hotel! If you simply just want to iron your shirts, you will be asked to put the CLEAN shirts into the laundry bag ,wait for whole to get the ironed pieces back. Of course, even without washing them, you still need to pay the ironing service! Ridiculous!

    the breakfast is reasonable , not meet the 4stars hotel level but can fill your empty stomach in the morning at least.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    We have got a good breakfast,staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First we got an uncleaned room but when I mentioned it at reception they are gave us a clean and biggest room as before.

    We have got a good breakfast,staff were friendly and helpful.Sometimes heavy to get a carpark at the hotel but is not impossible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Clearness and staff 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that they were repairing some aerias, starting works very early in the morning and is not the best way to wake up in vacation

    Clearness and staff 😊

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel, good position (by car)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The impact with our room was ruined by a bad smell. At first we tought it had been a smoking room. But in the next days it was OK. I didn't like the bathroom door which was too thin. From the bed my wife could easily hear me breathing... Imagine the rest.

    I usually prefer small hotels, so I can feel a little at home, but this huge hotel (the type for conventions and business meetings, with large breakfast hall) had an extraordinary value for money. Large parking for our car and rather near to Palermo centre, to be reached by car.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    This isn’t not a family hotel, most of the people staying were teenagers. Okay for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, if you are with a group of friends this is probably an okay place to stay. I was here on a family road trip. We went to bed early since we had an early start. When using the bathroom I had already noticed the insulation and the walls were not very thick enough/ sound proof, I could hear everything going on the room next door. At 3am we were woken up with the sound of a couple next door having sex, it was very unpleasant to say the least. The neighbors on the couple’s other side knocked on their door, but still the walls were so thin... This is not a family hotel, 80% of the people I saw were loud teenagers.

    Beds were comfortable enough, bathroom well equipped and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    The view was nice, the breakfast quite decent (no vegetables...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - we stayed 3 nights in 2 different rooms. First room 1014 had a very-very terrible tobacco smell, reception denied it is a smoking room but at the end they gave us a different one after 1 night. room seemed ok, till the toilet blocked, they came and fixed it, but seemed something regular... - the environment is very bad, market and industrial territory, not nice to walk in the neighborhood - parking places are very very few, if you arrive in the evening it is not possible to park Conclusion: I would never recommend this hotel! 4 stars is really too much here...

    The view was nice, the breakfast quite decent (no vegetables at all for example.)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    All was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not possible to borrow an iron. Exaggerated prices at the lobby bar.

    Clean room and comfortable bed, a good variety of sweets for breakfast, attentive and helpful staff. Overall, a good experience and value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were amazing helpful. We had car problems and the guys in the garahe got a mechanic to come and fix it for us. The staff were all very accomodating and friendly. The cocktails at the bar were delicious, as was thr food in the restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend it to our friends and relatives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was a little expensive but good.

    Helpful staff at the front desk. Very good breakfast. Reliable wifi in room. Adequate free parking spaces onsite. Staff kindly allowed us to keep our car parked onsite for a few hours after we checked out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    The cannoli siciliani offered for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some customers were quite noisy during breakfast

    The cannoli siciliani offered for breakfast. Free espresso coffee served by personnel, to avoid the dish-washing water distributed by the automatic dispenser of cappuccinos and coffees!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is rather far from city center. There is a big vegetable market right nearby the hotel, and its territory is extremely dirty.

    Nice experience. Convenient and spacious room, professional personnel, tasty breakfast is included, and - last but not least - very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    the diversity and the quality of the products offered at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you do not feel comfortable if you have in mind to make a short walk on the streets around the hotel : it is a rather dirty corner of Palermo ! with garbage all over the place in the streets!

    the diversity and the quality of the products offered at breakfast super image at 5 hrs. a.m. from our room window upon the gross-market for vegetables and fruits

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    5.8
    Heating didn´t work for two days, so I didn´t feel quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Heating didn´t work for two days, so I didn´t feel quite confortable at the room at all. Decoration perhaps a bit old fashion but ok. I missed vegetables at breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    The hotel itself is a great place with a great service, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The hotel itself is a great place with a great service, and also the staff was amazing. Always ready to help you and show you some great places to tour

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    4.6
    i would never stay there again !!!! overpriced and not as good as the pictures !!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel management and staff, was not very friendly and not very helpful in resolving issues as i had a shower with almost no hot water for all my stay there. at best it used to be luke warm but not comfortable enough to have a decent shower. on top that they try to convince me that the shower mixer model was like that and that nothing could be done to resolve it ( they must think that i am uneducated to accept a excuse like that ), they did not even offer to move to a different room, very disappointing seeing as i stayed there for 27 nights. Restaurant was of very poor quality in food and service. Got a bad food reaction ( food poisoning ) on my first night at the hotel and some of my traveling staff members also experienced the same symptoms, so did not eat there for the remainder of our stay. at breakfast we stayed away from any cooked food from the hotel. the hotel parking was a huge issue. INTERNET was mediocre and barely enough to do emails , not good enough for a vpn connection. ended up getting a prepaid internet card from vodafone which worked well. the hotel is located next to the local market and was noisy every morning starting at 4 am and also very dirty area. the laundry service was highly overpriced and ended up using a local service which was a fifth of the price. the fact that they charge you for the full stay ahead of the time and on top they don't entertain any kind of refund should be a warning to anyone and everyone !!!! the impression i got as a customer is that the staff do you a favor in being there and that you don't count at all, especially if you are not an Italian !!! i would not recommend this hotel to anybody , not at the price they charge !!!!!

    the size of the rooms were good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Great stay, excellent value for money, great staff and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get heating to work, it was very cold and rainy day, but we used extra blankets so all good.

    Breakfast was good and plentiful. Reception excellent. Rooms large and well equipped. Very pleasant hotel. Great chicken restaurant just across the road behind petrol station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.4
    We should have only stayed 3/4 days and not a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was tired and basic not what we in UK can compare with 4star. The location was not good right next door to a major fruit market with rotting vegetables and the stench was horrific when walking into town and quite a long way from main centre. No DG so could be very noisy especially early hours of morning

    It was comfortable and clean and there were a few very helpful employees

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.0
    Palermo yes, this hotel NO.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast ok,although not much variation, dinner ok. Location of hotel is poor, long walk into the centre 30mins and yes for those who like a quiet hotel not this one next door to Palermo's Fruit and Veg market so noisy from 3:00 am weekdays. It is the suburbs of Palermo so price of hotel reflects that. For anyone visiting Palermo pick a hotel dead centre of the city well worth it.

    Good facilities for £46 per night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Good location, can walk to the center or use bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real minus! Ask on reception what are main shopping streets and spare some time searching for them.

    Good location, can walk to the center or use bus. Good breakfast! Would recommend this hotel!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel but not a good town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn’t recommend coming to this city. It’s dirty and there’s not much to offer, we decided to stay here for the last of our Italy trip. Wish we stayed in Taormina.

    Breakfast was good, the rooms were clean. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Business standard Italian style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast choice could be better, especially if you're not too keen on the "Sicilian style" sweet breakfast food. Very bad coffee, you have to ask one of the staff to get you a proper one. Artificial juice from the machine, poor choice of meats and cheeses, no vegetables available

    Comfortable bed, room overall clean and well furbished, friendly staff. Very good secure (however unattended) parking, especially when compared with street parking in Palermo. Astoria Palace is not in the centre, but not too far away from it, you can take a bus or taxi to get there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    On my e-mail it was saying that one must check-out at 12 AM, but in reality you should do it till 11 AM. Staff wasn't doing any problem with us doing check-out past 11 though.

    Staff was quite nice and helpful, breakfast was good, although it would be better if there was some fresh vegetables. Comfortable and clean hotel room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    Quite far from the centre, but comfortable to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking to the centre is along dirty and busy roads, but safe enough. Mosquitos in the room. Breakfast menu is the same all days: eggs, sausages, one sort of cheese, pastry, musli, coffee machine, milk, but it's enough to load up your stomach. It's very dirty and noisy around.

    The price is very good. MiniFridge and safebox. The room has enough space and furniture for two. There's a parking but it can be difficult to find a place. Sound insulation is good, we didn't hear anybody. Half an hour walking to the centre but the road isn't pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.8
    Rooms looks like a 2 stars hotel , vegetables at breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms looks like a 2 stars hotel , vegetables at breakfast are missing , breakfast area is too small for this hotel (you must wait every morning in order to get a table)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    3.8
    Reception Desk, just desagreable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception Desk, just desagreable. Would not even answer politily outs questions. They would not even look at us on the other side of the counter. They have much to learn about good services. Noisy room. All nightong we would hear something that sonded like an open air market. Glad it is over. Would not recomend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was fine but not a great location for it. Don't drive a car in Palermo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Palermo is a very dirty city and extremely busy and loud.

    The driving in Palermo was very stressful. To walk from the hotel to the main downtown core was about 30 minutes but you had to walk on very busy roads and what sidewalk were there and the road itself was filthy.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: