Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria 4 stars

Viale Fedeli 1, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy

#44 of 97 hotels in Montecatini Terme

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 442 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    loved all of it until the they asked us to pay the local tax? which we paid. i then looked at original booking information and it stated local tax was included, i then went back to hotel and spoke to the night manager and he got very angry and upset, saying booking.com have it all wrong and hes going to have to get in touch with you to sort it all out. i feel there is something illigal going on. how many people are paying this tax?. and i am going to take this further to get the money back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The breakfast could have been a bit more creative, always the same choices.

    Lovely homely hotel. The staff were all excellent and the location was quiet at night time. Maybe the decor is a bit dated but so what, it's not that important. A bit out of the main area but lovely park adjacent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, stair carpet and corridors a little tired, but adequate. The bathroom very small and the hot water only Luke warm. The pool was closed from 12:30 -15:30, rediculous when the whole of town was virtually asleep at this time. At siesta time being at the pool would have been more appropriate. It was summer time after all.

    We liked this quirky hotel. It really was a step back in time. The setting was great, breakfast good, Some of the staff very friendly. The position in town excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOT A 4* HOTEL! Room up in the roof! Very basic! Had to walk up 2 flights of stairs with heavy suitcase as lift didn't reach 4th floor. We were not asked if this was convenient.

    Close to the vibrant town centre where there were plenty of restaurants and shops

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Almost everything. When we arrived at the hotel, they said that we didn't book a room, and then gave us other rooms (that we didn't book). The room was pretty damaged and old. We thought that rustic should be something new that was ment to look old, not something that is really old and doesn't work anymore. The breakfast was the same every day. Identical. This hotel has not 4 stars. I personally give it 2 stars.

    The only thing we liked, was that the hotel was near Montecatini Center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This facility is showing it's age but the staff was wonderful.

    This hotel is a little off the beaten path but just as i would expect from a small Italian hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is nothing special - although clean and comfortable the property is starting to show its age

    Good location close to the local thermal springs , and walking distance into the town centre - good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was tired at best! No safe for valuables and bathroom long overdue for a makeover. Breakfasts ok but no better. Most hotels offer some cooked alternatives but not his one!

    Very pleasant and approachable staff. Good situation with access to main road network. Main groundfloor accommodation of a high standard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old fashioned design hotel. In other posh hotels there is usually a sense of arrogance. However the staff of this hotel was very friendly and polite. All of them. Top notch! The swimming pool is very nice. We booked extra days because of the good experience on all factors.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room that we booked was ugly - there was just one photo of the room on booking.com that did not show much. We reviewed guests opinions and saw that the hotel had gone refurbishment. Unfortunately this was not true for our room - walls were dirty and the room had a shabby overall feeling. The swimming pool looked rather dirty too. It's in a park so the water will never bee crystal clear but the pool looked like it had not been cleared since last season at least.

    Very friendly staff that is doing their best. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we understood, there are some renovated rooms and some are not. Unfortunatelly we got the one unrenovated (No 26). Our shower door didn't worked. We asked at the reception to fix it, but we were ignored during hole stay there. The bathroom was all in all terrible!

    It's in the good location and pool ia very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a brochure in the room explaining meal times, how to get swimming towels, the lunch availability (captains table), drinks at the bar etc?

    The staff were incredibly polite and welcoming - it is clearly a family business and we felt like we were staying in their extended home. They kindly arranged taxis to and from the airport for me. The Swimming pool is beautiful with sun beds etc. Our room (although I understand not all rooms) had clearly been refurbished to a high standard and the bathroom too. Easily walkable to the town centre, spa, funicular railway etc. I would love to go back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a little dated and tired. Needed a coat of paint, but I think the rooms are gradually being updated. Some were superb, I just wasn't in one of those!

    All the staff were fantastic. Couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was good, dinner was also good and the drinks were not expensive in hotel terms. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and chemical levels were checked daily. Lots of shade,too. Everything within walking distance. Lovely bar, lounge and dining areas and a lift to all floors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay here. The breakfast in garden was good, it's a calm and peaceful place. The staff are lovely and will help you on all way possible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'd recommend for the breakfast to be slightly more varied (maybe add a choice for scrambled eggs), particularly with more fresh produce instead of the biscuits inside small packs. Also, you need to be careful managing the pool as during my stay, a few guests would "lock" most of the best sunbeds with their towels for the whole afternoon and sometimes would not even come back.. I don't really feel this is fair on the other guests. Finally, if would have been nice to have some information about room service in the bedroom.

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Astoria, the hotel is very comfortable, the room was quirky and we could tell it went under severe refurbishment not long ago. The only place where you'd notice the age of the hotel would be at the corridors and we didn't really mind that! The hotel entrance is exquisite and you do feel, at times, you're in a Belle Epoque movie and that definitely adds to the charm! There are several good restaurants within 15 minutes walking from the Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was very basic and dated. More at two star than four star level. The safe in the room is tiny, being just big enough for a passport and a wallet. The distance to the town center is about 10 min, to the train station 15 min (the advertised 10 min to the station requires a very brisk walk).

    The hotel is located in a quiet area, surrounded by a park. It has a nice retro charm (if you do not like that, you would call it "old"). The pool area is great, it is a wonderful place to relax. The included WiFi works well. Breakfast is sufficient, but not great. Dinner is good and provides an opportunity to experience real Italian food (no pizza's). The hotel has a nice large lobby and outside sitting space.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all. I want to visit again. :)

    The most impressive about the hotel were the staff. They were so friendly, polite and helpful, they really made our stay feel like we were at home. The hotel is old but renovated. It has a spirit of the hotel from the 60s or 70s. It is elegant and warm. Room was nice and cozy, decorated in pink and bathroom was new and modern. Wifi was great and AC was working very well. Breakfast was very good, sweet and sour food. Waiter offered us coffee. Pool was excellent, jacuzzi was just perfect, very spacious. Around pool, you could lay on the sun beds and enjoy summer sun. Leaves were falling in to the pool, we felt like we were at a beautiful lake. Peaceful and relaxing. In front of the hotel was a free parking. Just around the corner, 500 m, is a spa with water drinking therapy. It is just stunning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was very dated and badly in need of refurbishment. The hotel does not meet the standards of four star hotels in our experience.

    The pool area was lovely

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to say wrong!

    Shame we had only 2 nights. The hotel is in excellent position almost near anything of interest at Montecatini Terme....with short walks to the famous Tettuccio Terme and the wonderful vintage Funicalore per Montecatini Alto. Staff were friendly and professionals, hotel clean and the piscina (pool) was great with spa facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything is a little dated and lots of small things were broken or past their best. Breakfast was by far the most basic offering we had on the trip. My biggest issue was the air conditioning (a must for me in hot countries). Despite reporting several times that it didnt work properly (if you turned the temp down below 25 degrees it stopped) ... they merely went to the room ... heard the sound of the aircon, said it was working and left. I had several very uncomfortable, sleepless nights in what was otherwise an ok hotel in a really nice town.

    The actually town is great with a nice central shopping area with lots of restaurants a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel itself has a very old world feel .... the staff were friendly .... shaded parking ... pool was nice ... room and bathroom were good (apart from aircon)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Good service for good price! The hotel is located in very nice place in big park,near the Montecatini Terma. Good swimpool whith jacuzzi.Very pleasent breakfast in the garden.Very hospitality and friendful personal.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Even though I have traveled a lot and stayed in luxury chains, a bit old, but very cozy rooms will give you a feeling of staying at your friend's or grandma's place. And Italy is all about that. And don't get this the wrong way. After getting used to it, this family run hotel will truly give you a very warm feeling.

    Perfect location, just a quick stroll to the center, extremely pleasant staff, excellent swimming pool, garden all around, no noise. Staff will assist with all the questions you have and provide you with all the necessary useful information.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms and a little worn. It does not compare to other 4 star hotels in Italy.

    Location was very good. Common areas were spacious and well appointed. Swimming pool and spa were great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    Great view from panoramic balcony from room. Nice staff. Comfort swimming pool with free towels. Free bicycles for morning exercises in the park.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and spa is closed 12-3.

    Excellent customer service throughout, gluten free options. Pool and Spa area wonderful after a day's sightseeing. Fluffy white towels and clean rooms. Fabulous views towards Montcatini Alto

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower pressure was low but the cubicle was large with a ceiling rain shower and a separate wall handset.

    This is a Family owed and run Hotel and all of the staff were excellent. We had a couple of items in the room that required attention and on returning to the bedroom following our excellent meal, they had been fixed. The Pool is set in the hotels grassed and paved garden with umbrellas and trees for shade.An outside bar was available for drinks and served to your loungers if required. The bedroom air con was user adjustable and perfect.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing actually, it was almost perfect. Even the small imperfections (a few scratches on the wall of the corridor and the button of the air conditioning that was not easy to understand) were nothing compared to the relax and quiet we could enjoy

    The personnel was extremely polite and kind, very professional. The location is great, among trees nearby a park, perfect for relaxing. A great swimming pool, and huge jacuzzi. I loved the feeling of being in a Fellini's movie. simply fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Just needs updating

    Clean hotel, Staff really friendly and willing to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nice old fashion style. unforgetable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved because it was like turning the click back. Almost colonial old-fashioned values

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit tired but very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    comfy beds and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little poor breakfast

    Very helpful staff, large swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine.

    Lovely friendly hotel with great staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..everything was excellent

    Everything...no complaints.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything was perfect. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    The view, the breakfast and the staff are very good !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Food a little repetitive

    Lovely staff. Great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old world charm , in great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff and owner were wonderful. Great place to stay a short walk from centre but we preferred this as wewalked off our evening meal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old then fore was everything ok

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special attitude to every guest feel at home... Thanks so much!!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel needs to be refreshed

    food and service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location is good and is in a quiet part of the town ... Very green area surrounded by park. The staff is extremely good and vey efficient and will go all out to cater for your comfort.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Concierge is absolutely amazing. He is very pleasant person like the concierge in old movies. Also breakfast lady is nice. Hotel has the charm of an old hotel. Great value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The balcony, I would have preferred a standard balcony but this balcony was the roof of the floor below.

    The staff were excellent with great customer service

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No tea/ coffee making facilities and the bottled water for drinking was expensive. The airport shuttle from pisa seemed a little steep. But I would recommend this hotel on behalf of my mom 100 percent.

    I made the booking for my mother and she absolutely loved it. She adored the location, the quietness and the staff. The beds were super comfortable and the pool was very relaxing. The photos did look amazing.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No dislikes

    Good car parking facilities.The rooms were clean and comfortable.Excellant choice for breakfast.Short walk to the centre of town.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very old, dusty, poor wifi, poor breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Huge Jacuzzi Perfect location Swimming pool Refurbished rooms

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse Hotel Astoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: