Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria 3 stars

Via Fratelli Rosselli 14, 40121 Bologna, Italy

#87 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2098 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff on arrival not friendly or welcoming didn't provide any information regarding sites close by and the genius perk was not really a perk as the check in time was from 12 for everyone.

    Easy to find, central location walking distance from the train and rail station attractions shops restaurants and bars all near by. No noise in the evening. Lovely breakfast in the morning although the coffee could have been fresh instead of from a machine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast could be better. Bottles of fruit juice with no idea of the contents. Rolls and croissants served cold. Food uncovered so not very hygienic. One coffee machine. Was OK but not great. Some, (not all) of the reception staff were a little terse and made you feel like an inconvenience.

    The bathroom was clean but the bedroom floor was dusty, particularly under the beds. The maids were very friendly and the rooms were cleaned early in the day. The walls were thick enough not to hear noise from the adjoining rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not a single hook in the room to hang anything!!!! The room was also small, even by the European standards.

    The breakfast was great. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff, not unfriendly but very matter of fact could do with training in public relations, perhaps a smile??! The room clean but very basic, no window view, noise from outside.

    This a very average hotel with a very basic limited breakfast included and not too friendly of staff very matter of fact people. The room was very basic but very clean. The main reason anyone stays here is because it is so close to the Railway station otherwise for a long stay forget it!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BreKfast was chaotic,food not replenished .choice very limited. Room was clean but no bath mats,shower gel and toilet rolls not replenished on a regular basis.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    The hotel is very basic but at that price who cares. It is situated in a nice area and is very close to the train station. The location suited us perfectly as we were just passing through. The breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not everyone on reception was friendly or helpfu lOn 1 occasion.we asked a simply question and was told to go to the tourist office ! How you are received is so important.

    the location was good but the outside of the hotel looked rather tired! !Great bathroom.Very good breakfast. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Italian hotels always seem to have hard beds. I prefer a softer bed but the staff were quick to provide extra pillows when requested.

    Hotel had great location. Slightly further from the center of Bologna by about 5-8 min walk, but for us we also wanted to be near the train station to get to Florence etc, so location was perfect. If you want to see only Bologna then you may need to consider paying a lot more to be very central. The hotel, like most look after your suitcases when you check-out but don't fly home until later in the day - an added bonus was that the reception staff were happy to lock away valuables such as our passports and ipad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait for dishes to be washed to have breakfast. No glass in bathroom for teeth washing. Staff on reception extremely rude except for the girl she was very helpful. Hotel needs a serious makeover, very dated and run down looking. No actual bar just some drinks at reception area.

    Plenty of choice for breakfast. Location good for train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bar on the street so it was quite noisy at night. You can expect that in each Italian street though, it's not the hotel's fault.

    The room was quite comfortable and squeaky-clean. For a 2-star hotel outstandingly equipped, too. The breakfast was amazing, there was a huge variety of salty and sweet food and they even had a gluten-free basket prepared for celiacs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is a lot shabbier than in the photos. The reception area is untidy. The outdoor seating area looks great in pictures, and was one of the reasons why I had chosen this hotel, as we like to sit outside. But it was surrounded by flower pots full of weeds - we were there beginning of May, so the planting should have been done. It just generally looks like they can't be bothered. The man who checked us out didn't thank us for our visit or even said goodbye. General feel of neglect.

    The bed were very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verry arrogant and rude staff, didn’t want to give a second blanket, because we ordered double room, not twin. The photos of the room absolutely didn’t respond the reality. First room was terrible, disgusting, warn up. Requested to change and they did it. Second one was slightly better, but absolutely not what was expected. When booking a room the price was discounted from 150 to 78 euro, but it was a fraud. No way this hotel could normaly charge a room 150 euro. It was not even worth 70.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Top floor, air conditioning not working and it was very hot. No elevator from floor 3 to 4, so we took the stairs and I hit my head by a not signalised beam that was on the wall on the stairway. The room was not clean, we were afraid that the aid conditioning machine could drop on us, we hit ourselves because of unnecessary 2 levels in the room (see pictures), the windows where dirty. The breakfast was served in 3 different rooms but the staff didn't find it useful to announce this to us, only after many of the hotel's clients waited for several minutes and looking for places to sit. It is very common to advertise the best rooms, but this didn't look anything like in the booking pictures for the room we booked.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel emailed me 10 days before our stay with an information about the operations related to a disarm and remediation of a weapon of war, which was found about 1 km far from the hotel. we've been advised to check out from the hotel before 8.30, Sunday morning (instead of initially agreed 12 o'clock). This obviously affected our sightseeing plans, and wasn't the best start to our holiday in Italy. The hotel didn't give us any compensation for this inconvenience which was very disappointing. The hotel itself is fine, altough basic, but i will definitely not stay here again due to poor experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a long walk from the old town, Breakfast was not re filled so very limited choices available at 8.30

    Staff were happy to store our luggage as we wandered around town before catching our train in the afternoon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one flat pillow on my double bed. It would have been nice to have two pillows even though I was staying alone. No glasses or other amenities in the room except for two shower caps in the bathroom.

    The Breakfast was great with a lot of options. An easy walk to the train station and not too far from the city center. A plug on the headboard to easily charge my phone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated facilities (except the bathroom). Close to the train station but far from the city centre. Could hear conversations from other rooms. Unsympathetic staff.

    New bathroom. Good restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I regret to note that in this hotel the attitude towards clients is indifferent and not polite. I did not see a trace of hospitality. I was not informed that the hotel was closed till 18.00 on 8 April. The WW2 bomb was found in Bologna, the bomb experts were neutralizing it, and a part of Bologna was evacuated. Locals were informed about the evacuation from 7am, the operation began at 9:30. I think the hotel managers had enough time send messages about this problem to the guests who arrive on this day, to give them a chance to change plans (to arrive in the evening or to book another hotel). We came to Bologna at 12-00 and learned from the police that the streets in the area of our hotel are closed, until what time - it is unknown. One policeman said - for an hour, another for two... So we had to walk around the city with suitcases, having a prepaid room in this hotel. And nobody from the hotel warned us about the problem, nobody informed us that the blocking of the street was over, when it was over. And of course nobody offered a compensation for the time that we could not use the prepaid room and services. The receptionist said that he had to enter our passport details into the computer for registration, but did not enter the information immediately and with us, and did not make a scan or a photocopy, but asked to leave our passports for a long time, which also caused me discomfort, because I do not like being in a foreign country without documents. Also note that guests have to pay city tax despite the fact that the booking.com website says "taxes are included".

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fotos showed on booking website, and based on witch we've booked had litle to do with what we found. A horrible room in the back with no windows?!! And on top of this I had to pay 160€ for cancel. After saying that I've cancel it the hotel receptionist said that we should told him first to see if he could change us for another room so those back rooms are for people that doesn't complain?...

    Nothing, I've changed hotel because only the location was acording to the site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the courtyard building and the walls there were rather thin. Could hear the TV and people chatting from other rooms.

    Great location for the train station and the historic centre. Generous breakfast, including pastries, scrambled eggs, a selection of cold meats and cheeses etc. Good-sized bathroom that looked recently refurbished.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just some small remarks, like the breakfast space could be bigger and there could be a detachable shower head besides the fixed big one.

    Everything was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Common areas look a bit worn out, but over all it’s a good price-quality ratio!

    Even if it doesn’t look from the outside, but the hotel is really nice from the inside! The rooms are clean and way more modern than one would expect! Breakfast is very good and the stuff is amazingly helpful!! I was there for an opera audition and they were very helpful giving me the whole lobby area to warm up!! Their cheer up and making compliments came right on time for my self confidence!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were cold. The laminate floor was not clean and walking on it was very noisy. The baths did not have enough number of towels and soap for two people. The Internet did not work properly.

    The hotel has a good location and good breakfast. The staff is helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only criticism will be that the room smelled strongly of smoke and as non smokers for that is a bit unpleasant.

    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the hotel offers a very nice continental breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was not so helpfull and friendly, they didnt cancel pre-authorization from my credit card even I had sent them a message for 3-4 days and I paid it cash. Hotel was cold, there was just a thin sheet for the night time and a blanket which was not smell so good. ı got sick after my travel, because it was too cold and outside was snowy. And the bathroom wasnt so clean, towels were messy. We just stayed there for 1 night and even if it was too much.

    Hotel is too close to train station, just 5 min. walking. Breakfast was average.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have tried to turn on the heater but from looking at it, but it seemed it has been broken for an extended period of time. Finally, the smell in the room indicated that it is most likely no refurbishment or reinnovation has been made to the room. It should definitely have been offered or advertised for accommodation until it is fully reinovated:

    I was rather shocked to find windows widely open in the room around midnight when we checked in to our room when the temperature was around 0*C.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms which are close to the elevator suffer from the strong noise from it. Rooms don't seem old, but there was some mould in the bathroom.

    Close to the train station, quiet location, good breakfast (good choice and tasty products).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Annoying that there were 2 small breakfast rooms, instead of one large room Our room was very dark- good at night, not so good in the day! There were two small lamps, but the large lights had white daylight bulbs which were much too bright

    Very close to train station Acceptable breakfast, nice that there was fruit and a juice machine The weather was freezing but the room, and especially the bathroom, was perfectly warm Reliable wifi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The installations of the hotel are a little bit out of maintenance, there were some humidity stains on the roof and walls of our room. The breakfast could be better.

    The room and bathroom were clean. Very close to the central station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Completely outdated room, like if it had been abandoned or in the middle of renovation works. Humidity was visible on the walls parts of which were falling on the floor... At check out there was not wifi connection so impossible to pay by credit card.

    The staff made an effort possible to compensate for the problematic room and bad wifi connection. Breakfast was ok but not excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly and always available for any request. The location is really close to the train station and very few steps to one of the major shopping streets of Bologna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk staff customer service varied - the older gentlemen were nicer (maybe owners/proprietors?). Breakfast was included in the price but the buffet in the morning is a bit hectic/casino - perhaps arriving first thing when breakfast is available helps? I only ate breakfast one day out of 3. The other times I took coffee only. Last evening I was too lazy to walk far for dinner so reception had recommended La Verace around the corner - don't go there. It could be I went to the wrong restaurant?

    Standard 3 star hotel for Italy - amenities and comforts to be expected for this level of stars and price. Location is great, about 10-15 min walk from train station. I had room with street view but it was quiet. Bed was nice and firm and bathroom shower head was great (rainfall kind). Breakfast included. I would stay here again in Bologna.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very comfortable rooms, good breakfast and excellent location close to the city centre and all amneties. highly recommended. very good prices for the extra coffee or drink, close to very good restaurants as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt 'musty' / damp. Window didn't close completely in bathroom. Bedsheets were so old they had holes in them.

    Staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - room smell - bathroom - small room - 30 min walk to city central

    - quickly checkin - breakfast - staff - location - 10 min from central station and aerobus

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given room at the attic and it did not look like the one shown on the pictures in the website. It was much worse then the prisented on the pictures and did not cost the price paid at all. Still it has a good location but needs to be renovated

    Good location, real espresso as part of the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes the cleaning staff forgot to renew some items (towel, toilet paper) and we had to ask the reception. Besides that everything went fine.

    Breakfast was great and internet was fast. It's not fancy hotel but has everything a traveler needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very close to the train station, so I didn't need to walk a lot to get there. The staff was really nice and I also liked the breakfast as there was a big variety of food and drink.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels in the bathroom didn't smell good. There was not tea or coffee, despite having a Kettle in the room.

    The location was great, near both down town Bologna and main train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking place is difficult to enter (even with sensors). Garage has a huge slope and underneath the car was touching quite a lot! Price has to be add too. Nothing special to be mentioned about staff and same for the hotel. I found the price too high for this period in Bologna, as well as the hotel was not matching our expectation with children. I won't suggest that for traveling. Breakfast normal but nothing special. Coffee machine not very nice for a 3 stars hotel. Wi-fi not working at all....we were always disconnected! Fortunately it was price free.

    Hotel was a normal 3 stars, with one dispenser for cold water always available to customers. Bathroom was quite new and shower quite big. Unfortunately price expectation was not matching. Normal breakfast, coffee/cappuccino not nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air conditioner should work in the morning. Disconnection from Wi-Fi sometimes.

    The staff is very nice, rich breakfest, clean room & bath, taxi costs from airport to hotel 15 EUR. A supermarket (Coop) it is nearly the hotel (5 minutes to walk) . Central Station it's 10 minutes to walk. I reccomand this hotel :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because I was in the depandance, a bit far from the reception, internet was not working very well sometimes (but the staff offered me to work from the room used for breakfast, which I really appreciated!). If you need wifi I suggest you to ask for a room closer to the reception.

    The staff is very nice and accomodates your requests; the breakfast was good, I liked the different types of small croissants :) I asked for a quite room and they gave me a really quite one so I could rest very well. The Hotel is very close to the city center and to the train station, very central and quite area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room must be more clean but this is also about the old buildings.

    location was good, it takes 15 minutes from AirPort by taxi with cost just 14 Euro. hotel is 10 min far away from city center by walk. Breakfast was very good compared to the other İtaly hotels. Hotel offers free bike options, that was amazing for bologna. See around with biking, bologna is very suitable for that. Personel was very helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is in the city center, to the main square is cc. 15 min. by foot. Breakfast was so-so but better than nothing! Room was big and clean also the bathroom. The hotel has also a parking garage but cost extra and it is not very big so it's better to book it before arrival.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning in the rooms was not the best (although, we were there during a heatwave) and the buffet breakfast was not replenished very well.

    The proximity to the train station and the short walk into town made the location ideal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom needs some refurbishment

    Good Hotel inside city limits with a 20mins walking distance to Piazza Magiore. It is a typical 3 star Italian Hotel, you get what you pay for. Good breakfast, nice coffee and very important a garage where you can park your car. Would stay there again . . .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon is actually a ventilator under the window and it didn't face well the hot days. It is 15-20 min walk from the center (Piazza Magiore)

    The rooms are big and clean. Breakfast is nice, includes salty and sweet food. You can have for free coffee from the bar which is great! Breakfast can also be served in the garden. Rooms have mini bar. Staff is nice and helpful. Train station (where you can also find the bus for airport) is 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It appeared the hotel was not aware of us travelling with a young child, which we indicated clearly in the booking. After being insistent, luckily we received a camping bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is advertised with a bar, a little poetic licence on their part. They can supply spirits but the only beer were small cans of Heineken which though only having two on the first night they ran out and were never replaced. The air con in my daughters room leaked and wasn't fixed despite being reported twice.

    The bathroom though small was of good quality and clean. The breakfast was good. Air con was welcome due to the 40 degree heat at the time of our visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - except the tv which only had Italian channels but that wasn't really a problem

    Great location, nice and clean rooms, friendly and helpfull staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 4th floor and the elevator can go up to the 3rd floor only.. with some bags a pushchair and two kids its not easy to do the rest by steps!!

    The hotel is located in a good area and the breakfast is really good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got two rooms on the last floor-this is a roof floor. Part of the walls was 4 ft. high. Very small room door with steps. Every thing is very old. Breakfast room is very small, some people take the food to the room . Absolutely NOT recommend!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircondition was not making enough cold air to give the room comfortable temperature when the temperature outside was 30+ celsius, the room was very hot.

    Good space in the room, private balcony and clean bathroom. Minibar and free good wifi in the room. Everything you need. Friendly and helpful staff. There was a breakfast option, but it closed very early, at 9:30.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was too soft. This is not a problem, but I would prefer harder mattress.

    Good room and bath. Close to the train station. Few, but good restaurants around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desk and small table near bad have been dirty from drinks or icecream ( transparent big spots).

    Very good breakfast, I recomand it is very good and complete: vegetables: carots, cucumber, tomatoes, many fruits fresh,boiled eggs , chese, ham, croisants, good quality yogurt, chia. I have choosen this hotel because is 7 minute by foot from Train station Bologna centrale and because a good breakfast. I will come back for sure. I have received the invoice. It is a good choice for visiting the old city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very noisy (thin walls, squeaky doors and furniture), dated furniture. Air conditioning from the previous century.

    Very close to the main attractions in Bologna, as well as to the train station. A couple of nice bars and restaurants around.The inner courtyard and garden are very pleasant, especially if you don't feel like going out in the evening. Rooms are fairly large

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC was terrible. It was like a person in the corner waving a paper fan. Basically non existent. Thankfully, the extreme humidity and heat broke in the form of thunder storms while we were there and we were able to open our window to get some air. Otherwise, the room would have been stifflingly hot for us. Other than the beds, there was nowhere to sit in the room if you weren't laying on the beds.

    The price was good and it was withing walking distance of the train station. We took a train in to spend one night before leaving from the Bologna airport. It was fine for one night, but not great. The bathroom seems to have been recently remodeled and it was nice. Good closet space too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner Wash floors

    Everything was good, there was only difficulty with air conditioner, which was not adjustable and was very hot to sleep in the room for us. The room Itself is very good. Everything is there for shower. Not super clean, but alright. Would stay again, if needed to be by the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not really friendly, we have met several of them and neither was nice to us even though we tried to speak a little Italian with them

    It was central enough, not in limited traffic zone, we could park outside as it was Sunday! Room was comfortable and everything was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is near to the train station and not far from the hart of the city center. Staff is very kind and helpful, ready to make your stay the most possible pleasant . The apartment I had was new, very comfortable and well furnished. Everything was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn't very cold, at times it felt colder outside the room than inside. They also turn the air conditioning off in the morning, but do turn it on again immediately if you request it.

    This is a good budget hotel. The room was clean and large enough for two people. It's not somewhere I'd want to spend a lot of time, but when you're on holiday you're usually out and about, so it's fine and does the job. The breakfast buffet was reasonable too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very hot, and the air conditioning worked only minimally. They turned it off during the day, and so coming back from a hot outing to cool off was not possible. Even after asking for them to turn it back on, I was not accommodated.

    The location to the train station was very convenient, and walking to major sites was not difficult.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Astoria is a good place to stay. If your want the services of a 5 star hotel chose somewhere else. Hotel Astoria is the place to go if you want good value for money, attentive service, and the feeling that you are visiting Italy rather than the homogenous 5 star approach that that feels like the USA wherever you are in the world.

    Good sized room, comfortable bed, nice pillows, great shower. Great, helpful staff at reception. Excellent breakfast including espresso coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To keep the rooms cool, the curtains and blinds were always closed - which made the rooms VERY dark. The wall lights and lamps never really brightened the room. The buffet breakfast was very good, but someone needs to be told to ensure that there were always plates, cutlery etc as well as milk, fruit juices available. The number of people taking breakfast, meant that the offering was decimated so very quickly. The fresh coffee offering was a BONUS.

    The location was the primary asset for Hotel Astoria. Just under 10 minutes with cases from the Bologna Centrale railway station. If the traffic & traffic lights were in your favour, it was even quicker. Aero Bus BLQ from Airport to Station - 6 euro pp - every 15 minutes - about 30 mins journey. Could purchase tickets on-line, at ticket machines or on the bus, making transfer very easy. The air conditioning in the room worked very efficiently - a MUST. The mini bar meant that you had a refrigerator for fruit & drinks purchased outside the Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highest room in hotel was very hot and zircon not working. Swapped to room next door and was ok. Rooms are up 3floors in lift plus one up stairs.

    Fairly central. Lots of nearby restaurants. Good parking for my motorcycle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon didn't work, on arrival manager showed us how it would do so. When there appeared to be no improvement, I was assured it would be sorted while we were out site seeing. Got back at 10pm to room with a temperature of 32degrees and humid. Even with French window open no improvement. Staff could offer no solution. We spent a very sleepless night. Next morning after protracted negotiations we were offered another room. Note protracted negotiations.

    One member of staff tried to help.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff could have been more welcoming and nicer to deal with. Hotel needs some upgrading.

    Nice cappuccinos. Lovely outside breakfast area. Beds very comfortable. Wardrobe needs upgrading.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could use some redecoration and the bed was on the firm side.

    Very good location if you are coming by train and also very easy to get into the city by foot from. Room was a good size as was the bed. Lovely little garden to take breakfast or a beer in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy balcony on room 42 with two boxes of old tiles along with pieces of old wood on the very dirty floor, as well as cigarette butts on the tiles directly in front of the balcony. We did complain and were moved to a better room, but this rooms balcony had clearly not had its floor or door cleaned in a very long time. We cannot believe we paid £345 for three nights at this hotel. We will not be going back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty black mould in the shower. Window boxes full of weeds and cigarette ends. Broken furniture. Staff refused to switch on the air conditioning even though it was 28 degrees.

    Great location. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attic room not that cozy. Thin walls and able to hear your neighbors. I was expecting more from the breakfast but espresso provided was proper!

    Strategic location close to train station and within walking distance to downtown. Fair price for what was provided. Staff were polite. Quiet place and street in the heart of the city during the night which is important for a good sleep. A couple of good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe they should perform a refreshment of the rooms in the near future, maybe some new furniture, who knows? But nothing really urgent for the time being.

    Excellent position, good breakfast, decent room with a big bathroom and comfortable beds, quiet environment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The value for money is really low. The location is indeed convenient, but in general there is nothing nice about the rooms. Not even any glasses to drink water. The rooms smell like an old office where someone has been smoking a lot and are stuffy. The road outside is noisy too,so a loose loose situation when it's hot. Aircon not switched on until a certain month even if it is hot.

    Friendly staff and good location. They found a double room though I mistakenly booked twin.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No toiletries provided apart from hand wash. Large exercise bike was parked in room, removed the following day after complaint

    The location is good, some of the staff were friendly. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old, outdated room. Uncomfortable bed and dodgy neighborhood. Ground floor with bars on the window and whenever someone above moved the furniture (which they did a lot), I thought someone was in the room breaking up scaffolding.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Astoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: