Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel Astrid 3 stars

Largo Antonio Sarti 4, Villa Borghese Parioli, 00196 Rome, Italy

#289 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1500 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.0
    ci
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 10 nights

    the location is too far from the city center. you have to walk a LONG city block to get to the #2 tram. there was no microwave in the room so that was a minus. the fridge smelled and was not cold or working properly the tiles in the bathroom were dirty and I did not like that the little park in front of the hotel was not swept and maintained. I picked up several plastic bottles and saw a bag of garbage there. There should be NO parking there at all for anyone. it should be for guests. they should have a shuttle service for the guests to the main area near Largo Argntina. The breakfast was bad too the food was stale and old, the cereal too, and the coffee they had like cappucino was from a machine and it gave you a tiny amound of half quality espresso. there were no eggs or bacon or sausage, no air conditioning in the sweltering august weather so I did not appreciate that there should be air conditioning the ladies that run the breakfast are rude too all they say is ROOM NUMBER PLEASE so they can charge you. I spilled wine on the floor and it splashed a bit on the wall so they handed me a bill for 50 Euro to mop up the wine. I was pissed about that. they were prepared too apparently the maid actually took pictures and video of the spilled wine so that pissed me off. I will not return. the bathtub was too high and narrow and there was a weird looking toilet thing next to the toilet proper which was never explained to us what the hell that was or how it was to be used.

    I liked Valentina the lady who worked there for helping me and my kids find our way on the Rome map. I liked the air conditioning in my room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    I would and will stay here again in the future.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast staff could be more friendly. Sometimes they seemed sleepy or grouchy when asked to restock items which were low or out. The air conditioning was too cold/ freezing in the room and could only be turned down or fully off at the reception instead of personally regulating ...

    I was happy I could sleep at a more reasonable temperature once the staff was informed how freezing my room/ air conditioning was- The staff at the front desk really took time to make sure things asked about were clear for the visitor. :) Environmentally conscientious :) Great terrace view for breakfast :) Small room but comfy bed and wonderfully quiet ( I had a room facing the back ). I slept well!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Very price worthy.Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast and for that was so cheap (5€ per person). The room was a little smaller than expected and as we saw it from the photos.

    Very nice and convenient neighborhood just five minutes from Piazza del Popolo and Flaminio metro station by bus 2. Nice restaurants around and cafes. Exactly below the hotel a 24/7 carrefour market for various needs. Excellent receptionists,both Valentina and Flavio very very helpful with nice suggestions for walks outside the tourist interests. Free minibar(first time I see this).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Basic necessities were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Basic necessities were very good. That is not an easy task in Italy were at this point has more tourists that it can handle and tends to oversell itself

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Clean room, no noise, 30 minutes walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive parking, 20 euro/day at the hotel parking lot (however if you are lucky you can find a city parking place, 8 euro/day). Very expensive breakfast, 5 euro/person/day for some cookies, pancakes, waffles, milk and coffee. Be aware that city tax is not included in the offer (around 6,5 euro/person/day).

    Clean room, no noise, 30 minutes walking distance from downtown, very good wifi speed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Hotel was fantastic, went to see a concert at the local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was fantastic, went to see a concert at the local auditorium and this was perfect location. Staff were excellent, breakfast was upstairs on the 5th floor overlooking Rome. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    The room was nice and the bathroom was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls were thin and you could easily hear your neighbours.

    The room was nice and the bathroom was clean. You can reach the inner parts of the city easily with Tram line 2 which goes until Piazza del Popolo and from there you can change to metro and other buses. Parco della Musica is within walking distance and the Stadio Olimpico is close, too. We liked the restaurant on the top level (but it's not too big).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Nice stay for Giro D'Italia 2018 final tour on 27 may 2018...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are small ,but in Roma everything is small even cars,scooters,streets...

    Nice hotel with free minibar,good breakfast,nice comfy rooms Easy to access to downtown Roma ,take tram Nr2 in 10 minutes you are in Pizza del Popola,further you 'll take metro to every where in Roma..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    I like the location its just 15 min by public transport from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the location its just 15 min by public transport from roma termini . You have to take metro A towards flaminio then tram 2 and get down at ankara its 5 min walk from here. The rooms were clean and staffs were good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.2
    The only thing really liked-was a huge supermarket on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are sooo tiny, I couldn’t even place my luggage properly, cause there was no room for it. Also it wasn’t very clean-couldn’t sleep well in those beds with dirty mattresses. Booked a double bed-in fact got two twins put together.. In Rome for the third time and deff can tell: it was the worst experience with the hotel:(

    The only thing really liked-was a huge supermarket on the corner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    was there for a AS Roma game and the location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    was there for a AS Roma game and the location was great. Walking (30 minutes) to the stadium all on the main street. Very safe neighborhood. It is away from tourist locations though, so if you are visiting Rome for sightseeing this is not a good option.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location. Tiny hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Tiny hotel room for the price. I know I booked for a 250sq feet room, but damn the room was small. Reminded me of a jail cell. The bed took about 80% of the whole room. -I was the lucky one who literally had a view of some waste bins right outside my window. -That bathroom needs to be gutted and updated. It didn’t feel clean or welcoming. -Walls were pretty thin. I could here the neighbors and hallway noise. -WiFi was pretty spotty. -I had thought the breakfast buffet came with the booking until I find the charge at the end of the hotel stay. -Front desk staff was hit or miss -I assumed parking also came with the booking but it’s not. They have a sister property with a garage for a fee or there’s street parking.

    -Super convenient location. Away from all the touristy areas, yet close enough to the historic areas. It was also awesome to have a 24hr Grocery store right next door and some nice little restaurants around the area -Checking in was super fast -Five minutes away from tram line to Colosseum -Bed was fairly comfortable -Bike rental was free -Mini bar was free and well stocked (no liquor, just soda, water, and some light snacks)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    - Housekeeping was very good and done everyday during the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Staff is not nice and not helpful at all. They sent an email before we arrived stating that we could count on them to book tickets for the main attractions. We replied and we got an answer stating that all the info is given on site. We realized we cannot count on them for this and we had no help. - During breakfast the staff was not professional and respectful. Once they closed the buffet 1 hour before the closing time. The staff then decided to have their own breakfast while the clients were there. - Hot water was not available most of the times in the morning. - City tax was charged without notice during the check-out and they were questioning the charge of breakfast when it was already paid. This gives an idea of lack of organization and disrespect for the client.

    - Housekeeping was very good and done everyday during the stay. - Quiet and safe area because it is located far from the touristic areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Good spot to explore central Rome from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water in the morning can be an issue. But generally alright. Noise from vehicle horns can get a little annoying

    The location is a bit out of the centre but you are at one end of the touristy area. Great for waking around. Right above a supermarket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good value hotel. We only wish we could have stayed longer in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower recess was very small and difficult to move in.

    Bed was excellent and staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent value and set us well for our very full days in Rome. Close to transport and the river Tiber. Restaurants in the immediate area were good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay in a characterful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lovely little hotel with great character. Sure, it is a little out of the centre and it is a little small, but it is charming and good value for money. In addition, the breakfast was great (especially sitting on the balcony) and the service was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible courtyard view from room window. Hotel very noisy at night. Breakfast room very small, difficult to move around in when full.

    Good location, flat and level for walking, close to a lot of the main attractions. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Ideal location for the rugby match.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Great breakfast. Comfy bed. Tea and coffee making facilities. Close to Stadio Olympica. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Good bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location for the Stadio Olympico. Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small but adequate for our needs. Very hard pillows

    A designated smoking floor! Snacks & drinks provided in room fridge are a nice touch. Breakfast excellent value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant hotel with friendly staff and comfy modern room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a great deal that was "wrong" to be honest. There were a lack of signs to the breakfast room, so I didn't appreciate that I had to go upstairs for it, and the breakfast room itself is quite small - although it was never full while I was there. The location was perfect for me, for a business meeting, or if you are visiting Borghese, but I suspect it is a bit far north of the ancient centre for the casual tourist.

    Staff were friendly. Room and bed were comfy. Breakfast was only a cold buffet selection, but plenty to choose from, and (on the fifth floor) had a view down the Tiber towards the dome of St Peters - very nice in the spring sun.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Really enjoyed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac didn’t work it was a little warm thankfully there was a big window, also no USB outlets

    Great breakfast lounge, expresso machine always worked it was very convenient and friendly staff overall

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.7
    Would not stay there again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, outdated. Fridge did not work well. Wifi did not work in the room. Mattress on bed was too firm and pillow were flat.

    Tea/coffee kettle in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay, wouldn’t go back though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were hoping for a bath there was none, room was much smaller than expected. Air conditioning was not working and room got very hot at night.

    The hotel is close to the tram which goes directly to the centre. Breakfast was very good and roof location was very pleasant. Rooms were super clean and tidy, bathroom was nice and big although shower was small.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    4.6
    Over priced, rude staff and the most concomfortable hard beds we have ever endured.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly, I never complain (We are typical polite British people) but I wish I had know this before booking, so here goes: The staff were constantly rude. I know we are English and everyone hates the English but that should not affect personal judgement! They were all very unwelcoming and unapproacable which is not what hotel staff should be like! As for the bed, it was terrible. We moved rooms our first day as the 'double beds' you pay for online are in fact 2 singles pushed together. The first night the 2 singles were different heights.. not ideal when you have paid a fortune for a romantic trip away. When we did move they were still 2 singles which means you often need to push them together throughout the night. The walls are thin. If the room next door is watching TV then unfortunately you won't be sleeping! Finally we selected this hotel as it said we had already paid the city tax. Nowhere does it tell you that you will have to pay it after your stay. Over priced, rude staff and poor quality rooms! This review will go to trip advisor!

    We liked the location. It was easy to get to places!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed th stay local super market provided extra wine and food for days out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compact and bijou shiwer. Access difficult if you were over medium size.

    Location and friendly staff. Basic but very comfy. Kettle provided on request . Close to tram and access to central Rome excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.3
    The room we had for 5 days was opposite the hotel breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had for 5 days was opposite the hotel breakfast restaurant. And had a computer station right outside our room which people were sat at regularly. Also breakfast prep started at 6 and was very noisy. ( room 503) there is a lot of construction going on in some part of the hotel so electric saw started up at 8 am in the morning . Nice hotel , good for walk to Stadium but not near city centre. “My Taxi” was perfect would highly recommend downloading the app when you are in Rome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient for the Olympic stadium and close to a tram for getting into the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very firm! I came home with sore hips! But the pillows are comfy.

    The (cold) breakfast choices and coffee were excellent. Lovely choice of croissants and rolls, although the fresh fruit salad was mostly apple. Staff actually brought you a tea pot with boiling water for tea, which is unusual on the continent. Good value for money, and there are no other breakfast venues in the area, so that’s just as well! Standard rooms are on the small side, but they are very clean and staff are delightful and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    Rugby visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shame no bar or social facilities.

    Great location for the rugby, but a little out of the city. Close to excellent public transport. View from the breakfast room superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    I decided BW Astrid as the hotel for my repeating visit from now.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not particularly.

    The hotel is located in quiet section of the city. Tram from Mancini to the Flaminio subway station is the seasiest access way to the city's many attractions. The hotel people are very friendly, the facilities are excellent. Above all, the breakfast foods are quite tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    It's nice overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - My room had an excellent view but was only missing double glazing as the sound of the street can be disturbing at night - Walls are thin, you may hear your neighboors

    - Very reactive stuff, extremely helpful and friendly - Property is few meters away from Tramway 2 (yet be aware that Tramway 2 is not available after ~8h30 PM) - Fair price - Good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Wonderfully warm and welcoming !! Can not fault anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing could have been better

    The staff at the Astrid where outstanding ...sooo friendly extremely helful The rooms where great ..breakfast was lovely and the location is excellent ...u are in a nice local area but the tram right into the centre is a minute walk away Everybody was so helfful around the area Great !!!! value Will definatly stay here on my next visit

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Location is great and the room was quiet and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Essentially no wifi in the room; had to go to the lobby for a strong signal. Remodeling is taking place in the hotel, I would advise taking this into account if staying for several days.

    Location is great and the room was quiet and comfortable.Excellent neighborhood with great restaurants and groceries.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    4.2
    An overrated small tight hotel , not for long or room stay style!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t know how people gave this hotel above 8 rating .. this is barely a 2 star hotel with review score not more than 6 by all means ! Location is not that big advantage as it’s very common in Rome to find a hotel few hundred meters from a tram or Metro station ! The room is the smallest I ever seen in my life , everything is about tightness .. breakfast is far below average with less than economical and very limited options . Staff are not bad but definitely not professional. It’s close ( 2 Km ) to the Olimpico Stadium , but not s great advantage as you can make up for it from anywhere in rome by riding to the next tram/metro station.

    Breakfast ‘view ‘maybe

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.1
    good but spoiled by no wifi no alarm call
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi connection very poor in room asked for alarm call didn't get one which meant i had to get taxi to airport which cost me 60e

    breakfast was good value day staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Hotel is in a quiet area but close to the tram. Walking distance to the Peoples Square about 20 mins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a bit of traffic noise in the room we had but the view was lovely so we didn't mind. A couple of arm chairs would have been nice.

    The staff were very helpful. There was a free mini bar although it was only water, coke and a few snacks it was a nice touch. Continental breakfast had plenty of variety. Hotel just had a nice feel about it. Beautiful marble staircase and quaint lift added to its charm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only pastry and bread but this is made clear by hotel so no secret. There was some boiled eggs, cheese and hams.

    Nice area. Easy to get into central Rome on one tram. Staff very helpful and friendly. Restaurants in this area are much better and cheaper than going to tourist centre of Rome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi in our room did not work. I had to stand in the hallway for it to connect.

    The costumer service was fantastic. We checked out at 6am and they packed us a breakfast parcel for the road. Awesome!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Most pleasant thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't really like to be charged for the room well over a month before we get there. But I appreciate this is modern commerce.

    Not aware of genius perks actually. And we did not have breakfast at the hotel. But everything else was just fine. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Ideal place to stay in Rome, convenient for trams and buses, very good local restaurants
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed bigger pillows or more pillows but I like to be propped up!

    Friendly staff, nice room, !ovely breakfast and view! Breakfast staff made such a fuss of my husband when they saw his birthday cards.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    3.8
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a joke, and a bad one at that. Putting a tiny double bed into a room does not make it a double room, 3 steps from the bottom of the bed to the wall, 3 steps from the left of the bed to the wardrobe and 2 and a half steps from the right of the bed to the wall. Wooden floors so that you can hear every footstep above, tiles in the corridors and room doors that have to be slammed to close. But the icing on the cake was being woken up at 7.30am every morning to the sound of power tools from the workmen renovating the 1st floor. Is it really ethical to be taking money from guests when their stay is being seriously disrupted like that? I dont think so

    The breakfast, although nothing cooked, the staff were helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    This was a great location for us, we were going to a game at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a great location for us, we were going to a game at Stadio Olympico and wanted to be able to walk (hence not wanting to stay in the heart of Rome). That being said, walking into the city was not terrible either, we were about a twenty min walk from Villa Borghese etc. Breakfast was wonderful and hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    Hotel adequate for price that we paid but traffic noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked tired and fridge unstable, fell out of cupboard if not careful when opening. Beds and pillows very hard. Main criticism is that we asked for valuables (IPads, money, credit cards) to be placed in safety deposit box each morning and on the third day discovered that they had not been securely locked away.We thought it strange we had not been given safety deposit box key.

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the terrace lovely and good choice of food Nice powerful shower with plenty of hot water

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    Great views, lovely breakfast
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel knew I had mobile problems yet I was put in the furtherest room from lift- very tiny lift but managed just to fit in my little scooter

    The breakfast on terrace was best feature - lovely views and nice food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice for price cheap & cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning broke & leaked all over the floor while we were there and they were unable to fix it so left for 2 days without aircon in a hot room, staff just cleaned it up with a towel said hotel full up so unable to swap rooms. Wasn't offered anything to make up for this!

    Bed comfy & clean room, powerful shower, staff friendly, free mini bar but had to ask to refill it on one day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Loved Astrid. Will back if ever in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were a Little Small but in Rome you dont spend much time in the Room :). Not Much to See from the Room Either.

    Great & Friendly Staff. Helped with Everything we Required. (Even Provided an electrical adapter) Location of the Hotel was Perfect and city center was easily Accessible. Tram Service is available to Reach the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    We have visited twice in the past year and just loved both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have visited twice in the past year and just loved both stays highly recommend. once was just as a couple and the second time round with our children the hotel suited us well for both stays and will be back in the future

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Worth for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safety box did not work, but staff was happy to replace. Beds are bit hard and uncomfortable.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. Minibar is for free, and was reloaded every day with basic stuff, like bottles of mineral water, can of coke, nestle cereal bar. Breakfast was fair enough good. Bathroom was beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    A perfect place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to complain...

    It's hard to say what we did like most, when everything was simply perfect. From a warm welcome to a cheerful good bye, the hotel staff is there to help you anytime with anything. The location itself is a very good one, moreover we have used a rented Vespa, basically being in no time in any attraction point of this amazing city. The room, with the large opening door and the bathroom with the same layout of the windows are incredibly comfortable and clean. At the hotel you will receive daily free water and free coffee anytime you want. And it's not about the value of these products, but only about the added value that this service brings. Thank you for accomodating us!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    2.5
    Very small room was not really clean (shower/ground).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room was not really clean (shower/ground). The drain / sink was blocked but we could not change the room. Awful !Hotel staff not friendly, definitely not to recommend !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Close to the yellow line tram which directly connects u to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast needs improvement. More variety should be added.

    Close to the yellow line tram which directly connects u to metro. Many restaurents near by and carefour grocery store just under the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel - beautiful building, very nice and comfortable room, great staff. The breakfast is served on the 4th floor with the wonderful view to San Pietro basilica. My only concern when choosing this hotel was the location being not directly in the city center. But this turned out to be no problem at all, as the tram from the hotel runs every five minutes, it's always half-empty and thus it brings you comfortably to Piazza del Popolo, from where you can take the metro or to make 10-minutes walk to Spanish steps. The tickets for the tram can be bought in the newsstand right at the tram stop.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Perfect Hotel for City trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The value for money is excellent. We even stayed two days longer than we thought. The receptionist Andrea is very nice and helpful, thank you. A perfect place for sightseeing trips to rome. The City is easy to reach by tram + metro within 30 min. The room is modern and we missed nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay! Always enjoy our stay at the Astric.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing. Air conditioning was not great but I think that's pretty typical of Italy :)

    The location is amazing. Safe, near transit, central to many Rome sights. I always stay here because it's a great value but also it feels like coming home after a long day. Great restaurants in the area. The staff is helpful and professional and very warm. The entire hotel is always very clean with a beautiful marble staircase and wide, roomy, airy hallways. Breakfast if great! They have a tiny balcony which we always seemed to be able to get a seat on. Staff are very diligent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    2.9
    Vety bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, the room, the breakfast were bad, bad, bad. Please dont recomend this hotel. Staff is really not friendly, the room is ugly, very very very noisy, smells very bad, all the clients smoke in their rooms, the breakfast is disgusting and poor... The room is very non confortable. In the room you can hear all that is happening invthe whole hotel. The air conditioner smells like cigarettes, really disgusting. Very bad hotel. Please dont recomend it!

    Only the location is a little fine

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    A friendly and clean but not perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly small and there is limited storage space for clothes and possessions. The location is good but not great- about 40 minute walk to the centre.

    The view from breakfast was a great thing to wake up to and the staff were all really welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Thanks to Giancarlo for everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be richer and no beef ör Chickem product for müslim people...

    Thanks to Receptionist Giancarlo gör The assistance... He is a real Hotel Proffessional and he knows how to manage...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location but upgrade to bigger room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room as expected ( small double) and it was small, the bathroom was awful. The room was very outdated

    The location was fabulous for a concert we were attending and the area was lovely. The staff were lovely and very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    We had a nice stay. Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had a better assortment, but really it's not much different than most other hotels in Italy in this price range.

    Friendly staff. We first got a room with a malfunctioning AC, the receptionist was quick to give us a new room after confirming the AC was indeed broken. The location in relation to the city centre is OK, there's a tram right nearby that takes you to the old northern city walls (by Piazza del Popolo) in 4 stops. From here most of the tourist attractions are either walkable or you could transfer to the Metro. We arrived by car from the north (from Pisa) and in that respect the location was excellent. Easy location to drive to without having to navigate through too much of the city traffic since the hotel is just outside the city center. Hotel provides a garage for an OK amount of money just around the corner, which worked fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable and good location for family trip in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very friendly and smart front desk person (lady and gentleman). Comfortable and clean room and breakfast (food quality and choices) with beautify view. Breakfast service team are so kind, efficient and always ready to help us. Location is very good: 6-7 euro/10-15 minutes taxi to San Pietro. Very convenient for us, family of 4, 3 minute-walk to tram station to Puazza di Popolo to start a walking the Corso avenue for shopping to continue to Puazza di Spagna and Fontana di Trevi Mid-size super market is located in the same hotel building, with convenient fast-pizzeria. Classic elevator Pls. ask front desk team for taxi. They help you to get it in less than 5 minutes. Very difficult find a taxi on the street as always in Rome

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Great Location, Perfect for a Short Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a small shower and no bench/storage space in the bathroom. The bed was a little too firm. Otherwise it was really pleasant and a decent size room.

    Great location away from the really busy touristy part. Nice cafes and shops close by, with a mini-mart right next door. Friendly helpful staff, nice breakfast with a lovely view. Good spot for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Decent hotel and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from historical center Morning breakfast was fairly poor.

    Shower is good Fairly clean Lobby staffs were nice and friendly Neighborshood is quiet Trame accesble Good walk area Supermarket very close by

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel close to transport links - great staff and immaculate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms wernt large but perfectly kept and immaculate throughout the hotel. Lovely period staircase and traditional style elevator just made it feel more individual than part of a chain.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a far walk into the main area of Rome, but it was kind of nice to be away from all the crowds

    The room was big and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. Staff were friendly and helpful. The local food near the hotel was one of the best we found our entire trip

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location. Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast was beautiful, especially when sitting on the little balcony tables. The complimentary bicycles were my favorite. My wife and I saw most of Romes attractions in a day on these bikes. Best experience! The distance to the tram line was ideal for travelling into the city centre. and the location being a few short minutes tram ride from the city meant a few restaraunts on the same block are the real nonna poppa style restaraunts. Bellissimo!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Great staff and generally quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are really thin and you hear everything. Rooms at the back are more quiet as there is no road outside.

    Breakfast view is wonderful. Staff are great and the minibar, included in the rate (no alcohol) is a plus on the hot days you can find in Rome. Rooms are small but comfortable. Depending on where in Rome you want to visit, location could be both good and bad. This area is less touristy. There is a late shop (Carrefour express) next door which is handy for all sorts of things. Easy to get to and from with a taxi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.3
    Beds very comfy and good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room no.412 is small and has only a very small piece of hanging rail as a wardrobe and minimal surfaces to put your pocket contents etc.on.Shower doors would not close properly (reported this but nothing done about it), shower cubicle very small and unsafe for elderly or less mobile persons. Once you get to know the public transport to the city centre the distance is not too bad but when only on a few days break and so many attractions to fit in and queue for those extra minutes are vital.It is also daunting to have to travel back, shower, change and go back if wanting to dine in the city. On a longer break and with less sights to see,and our minor gripes sorted we would be more than happy to return to the Astrid.

    Beds very comfy and good size. Cleanliness outstanding.Continental breakfast very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel for a Rome holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We were very impressed with the location, the friendliness and helpful staff and the complimentary bar. The complimentary breakfast was a surprise as we did not realize we had a complimentary breakfast with our room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice hotel also the staff is polit and very well manner. the location is closed to the Rome Olympic Studio, easy to walk there within 10mins. at last : ROME! ROME! Totti!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    A good start to our 2 weeks vacation in Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower of the standard room was rather small

    Staff was very helpful. On the way back we stayed for 1 more night so we were upgraded and that was a big plus for our last night in Italy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.9
    Just right stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dirty when we first arrived. Water pressure was very low. Beds were very stiff. (Could be a euoprean thing). Room was smaller than expected from photos. My room was on the second floor and it was very noisy. I would wake up muitple times from banging of doors inside the hotel and also sounds of traffic in the morning and the night.

    The breakfast was really good and the view was really nice. Customer service was great , very knowledgeable and had good patience answering all questions. Really good English as well. The hotel has a 24 hour store right next to it that sells pizza, groceries and more. The store is only a meter or so from the hotel itself. Overall, it was a really good stay. The tram is close so you can take it to the metro , which takes you pretty much everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far away from everywhere. Never ever wait for the bus coz we waited for about 1 hour and it didn't come up!

    Free Mini bar , the lights in the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    Decent hotel in quiet area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located about a 3 minute walk from the tram line. The tram is about 6 stops to the Rome Metro. You cannot buy tickets on the tram, you need to by them from the tobacconist or the newsagent which was closed some of the time. It does seem a little isolated from the main/tourist part of Rome.

    The breakfast was pretty good. Up on level with nice vistas of Rome. Lots of food for chose from. The hotel overall was clean and neat and had plenty of character. We liked the old-fashioned lift, very stylish (although a bit slow given the size, so most of the time we used the stairs). The location is fairly quiet, it is predominantly a residential neighbourhood so great option if you want to avoid the crowds of central Rome. When we first arrived in Rome Termini station we caught a taxi to the hotel and only cost 10 euro.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location but poor service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was not helpful at all when questioned about services. We requested a shuttle to the airport when we made the reservations and again the day we arrived and were told there was no shuttle and that we would have to take a taxi. We requested a shuttle again the night before we left and the clerk called and said we waited too late and that there was no space so we would have to take a taxi at 70 euros. That was just one of at least 6 issues we had with the clerks.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel was in a great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay at Hotel Astrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Bar area. Standard room is a bit small and basic.

    Beds very comfy, very friendly and super helpful staff and suitable location - just a short tram ride from the centre. Very clean throughout.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    Great for business and tourism in Rome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No adverse comments at all.

    A very good place. You can get there from Termini station either by bus (all the way then a 2 minute walk to the hotel) or by metro and tram (then also a two minute walk to the hotel). Breakfast is good and the views form the breakfast room across to St Peter's are lovely. Staff are all very good and it is great value for money. For best restaurant I recommend you go out of hotel turn right and right again down Via Donnatello. At bottom of road turn right along Viale del Vignola to find the pizza place. It is much more than just pizza as they do other dishes. It was great!

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Hotel Astrid traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: