Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Atahotel Capotaormina 4 stars

Via Nazionale 105, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#19 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1048 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Excelllent! loved it! It made the holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great spacious rooms, although a bit outdated. Some of the carpets in the hotel need changing. Excellent location if you want tranquility. Great shuttles to the city, though I would add a few more during lunch hours. Restaurants in the hotel too expensive.

    The private beach and the pool were fantastic, stunning views, excellent service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.4
    A well situated hotel but in need of major updating and renovation and outrageously expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is in a great location but sadly very dated and in need of major renovations / update in my opinion. One only has to look at the carpets to see how old and stained some of them are as well as the general internal decor. The room was very dated as was the bathroom but the view from the room was good. The BEDS are ridiculously hard - the staff said they were all changed in 2017. It was like sleeping on Marble despite the fact that we asked for a couple of duvets to be placed on the beds. Avoid the poolside bars as its outrageously expensive ie two simple salads & with orange juice was EUR 48 ! Bottled water is EUR 4 for one litre ! Take your own as its 1 to 1.50 EUR per 1 ltr at the local shops. The beachside restaurant has a lovely aspect BUT again 140 EUR for two simple dishes is poor value for money. The hotel is large(ish) and although there were not so many people staying whilst we were there (11th - 19th July), it was still very difficult to get a sun lounger by the pool. There are only about 30 or so available as that is all that can be situated by the pool. The pool is a salt water pool which is good but far too small for the size of the hotel. As noted above, there is a free shuttle bus but you will have to book the last return early (leaves town at 10.30PM) otherwise its a taxi. Although the evening bus is larger (takes about 35 - 40 people) it is small for the number of guests at the hotel. Taxi's are generally fixed price (15 EUR) per trip to and from town. Some try and charge more but only give them 15 ! So I guess the key question is would I be prepared to pay around 360 EUR per night ( I paid a tad over EUR 3,000 for 8 nights) given the decor / fixtures / room and ridiculous hard beds etc again. The answer is no. In my opinion the price should be around the EUR 1800 - 2000 and I doubt if I would revisit as its very poor value for money.

    Views were excellent, breakfast was very good, staff (apart from a couple) were amazing and really helped. Nice to have a private beach and free sun loungers etc. A free shuttle bus to town is available but book early otherwise you won't get on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff were extremely helpful, the direct access to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation is expensive and would prefer to be more affordable so we could stay longer

    Staff were extremely helpful, the direct access to the private beach and swimming pool was very impressive. The view of the bay from our hotel room was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location and fantastic all around service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting in and out of the car park was hair-raising due to people not parking properly!

    Stunning location with scenery to die for. Great and attentive staff. Would stay here again on my next trip

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two over priced hotel restaurants with very limited menus; take the complementary bus to town and dine there it's cheaper with more variety.

    The hotel site is awesome, the beach or pools make great venues for relaxation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Great outdoor facilities. A little far out from town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was far from Taormina centre, there were shuttles in the morning and at night but would pack up and a taxi to get into town would average about 15 euro each way making it expensive to explore town if you wanted to do it a few times during your stay.

    Private beach and pool are what made the property. In terms of the rest of the hotel and the rooms, it was a little outdated. But very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach and pool options with stunning tunnel access. Rooms were stunning, breakfast delicious, with every option imaginable. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms were large and comfortable and had beautiful views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Great relaxing place to stay when visiting Taormina....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were about the only thing we didn't like ....very hard and low ...had to get extra one each.

    Location is great ....you have the beach in the morning till about 1.00pm. And then you go for a bite to each and then the pool till about 6.00pm.or so ....then that evening head off to Taormina for some shopping, drinks and dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    The hotel breakfast buffet was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are very dated, for the amount paid i was expecting nicer. Other than that, amazing hotel.

    The hotel breakfast buffet was delicious. Access to the beach couldn't be better. Staff was very friendly and helpful- allowed us to check-in early. Great live music almost every night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    This 4* is leaning towards a 5*. Wow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At arrival plenty of people, checkin was really slow and 10ppl queuing. But it didnt happen again for next 4 days - which makes me think it was an unlucky coincidence.

    We were expecting yet another boring hotel, we were thrilled by amazing position, services (bus to top of Taormina, elevator to private beach, parking helper, ...). Also with baby we had plenty of help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Location fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool/beach closed too early Pool/beach opened too late Bed was just 2 single beds together Breakfast hours not early enough

    Location fantastic Staff very helpful Great food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Very very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is very dated but it was clean and very comfortable

    The room was very spacious with good facilities. The location was spectacular and everyone was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Gorgeous private beach with grotto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway carpets are very old, but easy to ignore.

    The grotto and private beach were spectacular! Breakfast was wonderful. I wouldn’t risk driving into Taormina due to the traffic on the roads with hairpin turns. There is a free shuttle to town. Enzo must be the best bus driver in the world! This is a lovely place to stay in Taormina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Taormina is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beverage prices were away too expensive evne for such hotels. One small beer at 6 €, one scoop icecream for 8 €!!! Wine prices were fine.

    Giuseppe wad everywhere making our stay better and being friendly with our boys. Gracie Mille.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Brilliant views from every aspect. Lovely breakfasts with pleasant staff. Bus service used every day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the bath, with a shower curtain. Carpets have bleach stains and need updating.

    Room views amazing of Etna and the sea. Comfortable and large, felt Very spacious with lots of choice of what to do. ATM in the lobby. Fransisco at breakfast and Melinda at the beach were the best staff. The shuttle service was brilliant and saved us 30 euro a day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice public areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not provide the basics like a hot water pot and coffee in the room. Had to ask for extra towels. Shuttles to the upper town were limited. At times, had to take the public bus, which was fine.

    Very nice public areas. Exceptional breakfast. Great views. Parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is very expensive, but you need to consider that you are booking a luxurious Hotel.

    Everything! The hotel is great!!!! Best breakfast in Italy with a superb view. Rooms are good, facilities are great and you have your private beach at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location and very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn‘t particularly like the food at the pool bar, but there is a restaurant right next to it (it was closed after 3 p.m.) which probably has good quality meals. The prices at the pool bar were pretty high as everywhere else in Taormina.

    We got a very nice room with seaview (we had booked a garden view room) and enjoyed the beautiful beach and pool area. The hotel is located down at the beach while all the restaurants and the greek theatre are located up on the hill, but there is a free shuttle taking you up there - we highly appreciated that service! Very friendly staff. We very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel! I can highly recommend it if you want to relax and do some sightseeing in Taormina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Sea view room was top class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recommend footwear for in water at beach as it is stoney... these can be bought locally for c €10.

    Sea view room was top class. Highly recommend booking sea view. Staff very attentive and polite. Hotel prices were high but that is expected. Convenient shuttle bus organised by hotel to / from Taormina each evening. Perfect hotel for beach / pool holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    An experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Didn't like the location - advertised as 550 metres from old town but was 3 km - couldn't walk anywhere comfortably as no footpaths

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was a bit dated and in some areas was in need of refurbishment. Prices were a little on the high side

    Hotel’s position on the Cape overlooking the sea was excellent which combined with a lift down to sea level giving access to a private beach and via a tunnel carved out of the rock to a pool, bar and restaurant was unique. The staff were friendly and very efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dated.

    Great location. This hotel is away from the frenetic town of Taormina. There is a shuttle bus you have to reserve. Parking is limited and is on a first come first served basis. The pool is gorgeous and great for relaxing after walking the cobbled streets or visiting Mt Etna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was extremely high for low season (30 October) although the hotel had a few quests only. I wish they lowered the prices which definitely would have helped the hotel to be fully booked.

    Superb location. This area must be the most beautiful in Sicily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Loved everything about the hotel and with a few improvements this hotel could be perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    These answers are relevant to this hotel and just take the edge of what could be a five star hotel. Bedrooms need updating, as does the general fixing and fixtures. Not all staff friendly and accommodating.

    Things to like and worthy of note. Fantastic Location, excellent facilities, great pool and beach areas, great breakfast lunch and dinner. Free courtesy bus to Taormina

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel, shame about the sandwiches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Prices for drinks and food are on the high side. And there is only a very limited snacking menu - - white-bread turkey sandwiches, for example, but no burgers. Which seems a strange omission for a hotel with a poolside bar and which is in Sicily, where even a bucket and spade shop will have a mini deli counter and a man only too willing to make you a fresh panini. Nearest places for a Sicilian snack are Mazzaro, a twenty minute walk, or Naxos - take the car, the non-pavement road is busy with bad bends. Taormina is a 40 minute walk, all uphill, with multiple hairpin bends. People do it but you have to look sharp for the traffic and under no circumstances try it at night. We did and it was scary. Fortunately, the hotel runs a shuttle bus and taxis are currently around 15 euro.

    Despite its somewhat forbidding appearance from the road, this hotel is a bit of a design marvel, built upside down into a cliff with private beach area connected via illuminated tunnel to pool area. For sun-worshippers there are tiered terraces built into the side of the cliff with little used garden areas further up. Gym facilities are excellent. Parking is available but tight - look at it as a way to get to grips with your hire car. And definitely spend a little extra if it means getting a better view of the sea from your room - it's variable depending on which floor you're on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.1
    - pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - too expensive - bathtub instead of shower - room very dark - Hotel old-fashioned, needs renovation - no free water, no welcome drink - man checking the minibar walked into the room early in the morning without asking!!

    - pool area - view and location - big room - nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location and outlook, excellent variety at breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Looks tatty from outside and rooms not exceptional for the rating or price.

    Great location and outlook, excellent variety at breakfast, beautiful pool and swimming area and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    Overall stay was pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shuttle service times are too restrictive. Shuttle bus needs to run more frequently or at call. Carpets on 6th floor worn out or dirty. Bathrooms are looking tired

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    Fabulous location and views. A car is handy to allow easy access to attractions nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach/pool a little over crowded and lunch/dinner menu options a little pricey. Rooms could do with some updates.

    Great location and facilities. Wonderful views of the bay and sun set. Local shops within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    This is a very unique hotel right on the cape and we really loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The room was very spacious, well equipped and with a balcony showing a great view of the sea. The amenities were great, including bathrobes and slippers. Breakfast had a wonderful selection of options, including eggs, sausage, cheese, breads, cereals, cakes, cold cuts and even granita. The staff at breakfast was very friendly and helpful. Also the view from the breakfast terrace was unbelievable, with a clear view of Mt. Etna and the sea. Wonderful private beach with access via a unique tunnel through carved cliff. Also accessible from this area was an infinity pool also with great views of the sea. They also have an organized bus that transports you to and from the center of Taormina. There was a path from the pool area that went to the upper side of the property, and this offered spectacular views of the area, including Isola Bella. Overall, this is a very unique hotel right on the cape and we really loved it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.0
    The location is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inadequate parking 45 minutes to check in. 30 minutes to check out Rooms basic. No bath robe or slippers. No hair conditioner. Rude pool staff Stains on carpet. Shuttle to Taomina inadequate This hotel has no idea of service. It is in need of refurbishment.

    The location is beautiful. Helpful bar staff in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    exquisite architecture feels part of the natural surroundings; panoramic views; infinity pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beach area and the terrace was locked early morning when we wanted to get a sunrise picture. WIFI was a bit sketchy in our room.

    went here with my wife, was upgraded to an executive room! Great breakfast selection variety. Free shuttlebus to and from Taormina. Elevator opens to a cavernous tunnel that leads to a fantastic beach area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Can't fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price reflects the hotel 100%, I'm just sad that we couldn't afford to stay longer as to save money we split our stay with 3 nights at a hotel in central taormina, which was horrific and totally filthy. Next time I'll spend the extra and stay at Atahotel for the duration. Can't wait to come back!

    Can't fault it. Best bits are the beautiful seawater pool and the unbelievable views. Endless nooks and crannies to hide away in, lots of romantic cliff top spots with loungers, very very well considered for couples who want a quieter break. The private beach and bar is a real bonus and the tunnels are amazing. Breakfast was perfect, staff attentive and the room itself, although a tad dated, is spacious and clean. The shuttle bus is a great bonus as a cab into town is €15 each way so you save a fortune. The poolside towel service was great, as were the bars at both the pool and beach.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Honeymoon in Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was great, the food was lovely but the evening meal felt like it was in a conference suite so I would recommend heading into Taormina for the cultural feel. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    The location of the hotel is perfect, has a nice beach and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The available lunch options - either a salad for 18 euros, buffet for 35 or 40 euros plus drinks. Too costly for the place, People leaving towels at the pool so you cannot find a place to lie down. The floors in the corridors certainly need a change but the room was nice.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, has a nice beach and pool, shuttle bus to the center of Taormina, towels for the beach and the pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You do need to take a taxi, local bus or hotel shuttle bus to get to most other attractions as its not really possible to walk. The hotel is a little dated but staff keep it spotlessly clean. We had an interconnecting room - most in our floor were, keeping the bedroom door shut reduced the noise of our adjoining neighbors. This might not be to everyone's liking.

    Lovely location, great pool and access to sea and private beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Super cool - Feel like you're in a Bond villain's lair...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I feel like the hotel rooms and common areas are in need of an update. It feels very late 80's - but the outdoor spaces are still beautiful. If the rooms and common areas get an upgrade, Atahotel Capotaormina could be one of the nicest hotels in the world.

    Staying at Atahotel Capotaormina made us feel like we were in a classic James Bond movie - the way the hotel is built into the rock face, and the walkways from the beach area to the pool and restaurant are all very cool and unique. We really enjoyed spending the mornings at the beach area (with incredibly clear water) then moving to the pool/deck area where you can jump into the warm, deeper waters of the Ionic sea. The pool is pretty nice also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    -

    + Breakfast was great, many different choices and it was on the first floor with a very beautiful balcony and great view of Etna and the sea + Professional and Polite staff + Beauty House/Spa was excellent and the hairdresser was very available and did a great job + The beach was very nice and calm. Since it is in between the rocks the sun goes away already around 1 pm-2 pm...but still one of the most relaxing and enjoyable places ever....especially because everyone leaves for the pool to search for sun + The beach has a view of the isola bella, very nice! + Very friendly staff at the beach bar, especially Marinella (not sure about then name) who would always make panini even after the bar would close. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    nice, but would not return (not worth the money, better options exist in the area)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noisy 'live' music till late at night, could hear it my room with windows closed, reception staff unable to provide clear or complete information (e.g. that one needs to also have a ticket when reserving a shuttle to the center) . average breakfast (given the standing of the hotel).

    swimming pool and possibility to swim directly in the sea; ; panoramic terrace; large room (superior) with a nice terrace and a lot of cupboards to store clothes. nice and efficient staff at the bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Loved and enjoyed their small private beach located in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower heads in the bathroom do not stay in place properly and water sometimes flows everywhere.

    Loved and enjoyed their small private beach located in a secluded cove. The water is beautiful, warm and transparent. They have a nice and assorted breakfast with front row seats to a breathtaking view of the sea. We had an excellent time at this hotel that is located on the coast of Taormina to and from which they offer complimentary shuttles.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Really nice pool and beach - the rooms and the hotel need...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really nice pool and beach - the rooms and the hotel need work. The hotel rooms are very small and the hotel needs to be completely redesigned. The soggy carpeting is sad. Really nice gym. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Fully enjoyed without going out of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not really. Many family with children. If you do not like such atmosphere, you should not stay here. I am without child but even though I really liked it.

    Majestic sea view from almost part of the hotel. This hotel is located on cliff at sea side and we could always enjoy sea view from our room, restaurants, bar and so on. Enough variation of breakfast. Very easy access to private beach. Especially, I liked the bar where we could fully enjoy the view of Etna with sun set. Restaurant level was also OK. Staff were always quick at restaurant and room cleaning as well. I did not feel any frustration during stay. We loved spaghetti carbonara. Parking outside was free. Not necessary to go out side of this hotel! If you want, shuttle bus is available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    Relaxing family time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs major updating. Everything at hotel is very expensive (exchange rates aside).

    The views and location were stunning. Staff were generally excellent with one or two exceptions ........

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Just a great place to stay and sun was shining every day
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little dated and need of a refurb but I must say they were clean

    I like the Hotel because it offers all Resturants for lunch and dinner with amazing food breakfast is great and then it has the private beach and swimming pool down the elevator a shuttle bus service to and from the main city so all in all it has everything right there without to much stress

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    wonderful, private, comfortable.and stunning view ..would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's more private and away from the main attractions of Taormina. There is a bus shuttle that bring us to bus stops if you want to go to town for the day. Best thing about lying by the pool it is right beside the sea

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    unforgetable experince
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was not easy to utilize parking place. as the space is quite limited, only small car is recommended to use to visit.

    excellent. the location is best and the view from the hotel balcony is awesome. the hotel inside is kept clean and simple.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful views, but be ready to spend a lot of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Honestly, Wi-Fi was awful: weak signal + after each time our phones and iPad screens were locked/unlocked, we had to go to the hotel page and press "Reconnect" - very annoying. Also, restaurant prices were way too high (50 euros per person for lunch - without wine). No bottled water in the rooms. "Airport shuttle" means they'd call you a taxi for 100 euros. The private beach is beautiful but quite difficult to walk in (because of stones, which they could have taken away, in my opinion).

    The view of the sea from our room was fantastic. Breakfast was delicious even though it was the same every day, but still a lot of choices. The room was comfortable and very clean, even though the hotel interior may need a refreshment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay due to the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel requires some refurbishing, especially the carpets. They are very worn out for a 4 star resort. There was no concierge service.

    I selected this hotel due to it's location in Taormina and close proximity to the ocean. It met up to my expectations as a superb resort! The staff were very accommodating and pleasant!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Superb secluded beaches, amazing views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were slightly disappointed with the room view, although we can't necessarily blame the hotel for it. The type of the room was "with a Garden view", but there was only a patch of grass in front of our window. It is a big hotel, so Booking.com might want to work with them to figure out more appropriate description (in case of our room, dropping "Garden view" from the room name would set the expectations right). All the other views (beaches, restaurant, bar) were absolutely stunning

    We have greatly enjoyed this time as well as overall our stay. Relaxing beaches and a sea water pool at Atahotel are superb! The stuff at the hotel is very polite and attentive. There was a small glitch with our room readiness when we arrived, but it was well compensated by the following experience: reception, bar, restaurant stuff were very professional, well organised and friendly. Also when we were leaving we had 3-4 hours between the check-out and our airport shuttle. The hotel has kindly offered access to the beaches as well as a room to change and take a shower before the departure. Thank you, Atahotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice location for the pool, beach and view from outside but it's let down by the interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Despite booking earlier than other guests we were located on the only floor without a sea view while others got upgraded automatically. The food was very average and overpriced, as were the drinks at the bar. The rooms and hallway need to be updated as carpets had multiple stains on every level. Bar staff weren't particularly friendly. Generally we felt that the general standard of the hotel did not match the price we were paying.

    The pool area and private beach were very good. The reception staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel – we loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms are a little worn out and needs redecoration, but it's well cleaned and the bathroom is clean and fresh.

    Amazing hotel. In the elevator there's a botton that says "Mare" that brings you down through the cliff to a private beach and a private pool area. During the summer heat it's terrific to sty down here closer to the ocean, and use the hotel shuttle bus that bring you up to Taormina. Great breakfast and stunning view from the terrace towards Etna and the ocean. Lovely view from our room towards Isola Bella.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location and facilites but needs imrpovement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the hotel was only ok, the menus were restrictive and overpriced.It was also difficult to get food at certain times on the day without leaving the hotel itself.

    The facilities were really good and well designed. The staff made everything very easy and were polite. We also got a free upgrade

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Taormina experience at the Capotaormina Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked to eat in the smaller restaurant one night and what we thought was going to be a romantic experience was a disaster. The service was terrible , we got forgotten about and it was over an hour before we got our first course.

    Ideally located to get up to Taormina but with stunning views of the bay.Great infinity pool and lovely comfy bed in the hotel room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    The location is simply stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I tried to organize a romantic dinner for my girlfriend on the private beach and the request wasn't received with much enthusiasm. They finally gave me a quotation of 1000 euro only for the table, food was not included. I mean... come on. At least say you can't do it, don't be rude to ask for that much money.

    The location is simply stunning. The hotel is nice but with some improvements would be probably one of the best in Sicily. A bit pricey but the breakfast, the private beach and the views are worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    The lift has a button that says "mare" (sea). Enough said.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view was stunning, the staff extremely nice and helpful, the fresh fish and lobster were amazing and pasta and the wine suggestions were nothing less than great. We'll come again for sure!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Amazing location, great staff and lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This didn't affect our stay at all, but the carpets in the hotel corridors seems to be damaged by some kind of chemical.

    Amazing hotel! Lovely pool and pool-area, and perferct access to the clear blue ocean. The food in both restaurants was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice Hotel - would like to be able to walk to centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location of the hotel in relation to the centre of Taormina is not idea, as the only way to travel is by car/coach - there is not way to walk as there are no foot paths. Also the hotel charges €5 for a can of coke which is madness, especially because you are essentially trapped in the hotel and not permitted to eat any food or beverages in the hotel unless they are purchased there.

    The setting of this hotel is awesome - set into the cliff side it allows for fabulous views. The staff are really nice. The breakfast was very nice. The bar is roomy and has amazing views plus evening entertainment was ok .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location. Stunning food. Pool and beach second to none. Dated rooms in need of refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly the rooms in my option have been let to slip. Toilet didn't flush without removing the lid. Shower in the bath. Old and dated in need of refurbishment. The main hotel and beech and pool areas make up for this. It isn't cheep however for poor quality rooms.

    the pool and beach are just stunning. Food at lunch and dinner was perfect. Staff took great care of us and made our stay enjoyable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, awesome location and setting. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are somewhat dated and could use a refurbishing. Excellent place. Would definitely return and recommend the hotel.

    Location and view was outstanding

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful view but far too expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast, the charmless hold modern structure of the hotel; the distance from the center of Taormina despite the service of a navette; the room price too high.

    The swimming pool and direct access to the sea. The amazing view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Beach, pool and location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant very over priced for less than average food. Could have been more options for lunch at hotel.

    Beach, pool and location excellent. Complimentary shuttle bus uo to Taormina.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    The hotel has its own private beach which is accessed by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can only go into town if you have your own car, otherwise, hotel has a shuttle, not every hour. The service staff(at breakfast) while eager to please, under trained, not graceful, too quick to clean up. There was nothing for free, not even a bottle of water which a lot of hotels leave for the guests in the room. The signs were everywhere that you are not allowed to bring any outside food or drinks--you guessed it-- it was Beverly Hills price!

    The hotel has its own private beach which is accessed by the elevator. When the elevator stops at 6th floor(down) and the door opens, one sees a cave, then see the beach. It is the most unusual and fantastic beach I have ever seen. No sand, just pebbles!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location and accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurants are much too expansive for the quality served: lunch buffet @ 40€ is not worth it, but the sea views makes up a lot.

    Excellent location with fantastic views - the small terrases around the swimming pool area are unique and give you a "private" feeling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    2nd Stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds are comfortable but we had a very weird AC unit that clicked on and off throughout the night, sometimes 5 seconds apart, every 5 seconds for 5 minutes.. and when I say clicked it's more like someone cracking a pipe - woke me up quite frequently.

    The pool and surrounding areas are lovely, very picturesque. People around Taormina very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Location location location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms haven't been updated so there is a lot of wear and tear. The shuttle service to Taormina could be improved with more shuttles. If you don't reserve a seat on the bus and it is full you have to take a taxi into town. It gets quite expensive.

    Location location location. This hotel has private beach and infinity pool. There is also a swimming area next to the pool where you can jump into the sea and swim to a platform. Each area has a bar. There is also a patio bar on lobby floor that has amazing views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location, overpriced mediocre food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, cocktail hour, beach by the cave

    Superb situation on the Taormina coast, great beach reached by a cave. Food options overpriced and mediocre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative is that the hotel is rather old and getting a little tired in places

    The location was fantastic with great sea and Mount Etna viiews.The hotel staff were excellent and very helpful.Rooms were clean and sheets and towels changed every day. The pool and private beach were also excellent.Overall a very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing else really within walking distance so you need to take the free shuttle up and down to visit different bars and restaurants, which is fine but a bit restricting.

    Very spacious and comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.3
    Good base if you're off to Taormina each day - but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very dated rooms and décor. Insist on shower repairs if the shower isn't up-to-scratch. We ended up grinning and bearing it. The hotel is not keen to point you in the direction of boat trips etc. that aren't 'their lifeguards contacts'. The restaurants dishes in the 2 pretty restaurants are almost exclusively meat or fish (there are a few tables in a separate 2nd rate area catering to veggi's / vegans). Staff are far too 'in your face' at breakfast in relation to clearing dishes. If you go off for an orange juice or put your cutlery down for a second they remove what you're eating. Drinks were different prices in different bars. We were asked where we'd got our glasses of Pimms from (in front of other guests) as we took them to our room to get ready. Just plain rude. No kettle in room.

    The outside areas were great. Take neoprene shoes for the rocky beach. Loved having the bed made and dry towels delivered every day :) Breakfast was brill (food choices). Davide was a fabulous member of staff - courteous and well-mannered whilst unobtrusive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    THE place to stay in ths area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couple of quite surly people on reception on occasion

    Fantastic hotel on its own peninsula, very James Bond with lifts in the rocks, private secluded beaches etc. Great restaurant on site and close to the cable car to the beautiful city of Taromina and the gorgeous coastline. Views to die for of Etna and the Bay of Naxos

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Amazing views
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit uncomfortable, asked for extra pillows but they didn't come and had to ask the next morning they did bring them then

    Beach and pool areas also the view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Stunning views while enjoying great facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since the property is located at the sea, transportation to the centre of Taormina is only possible by shuttle bus. Last shuttle back could have been little later.

    Amazing views and great facilities (pool, sea, spa)!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic views, amazing breakfast and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel could go for renovations, especially in the rooms and bathrooms.

    Fantastic breakfast, amazing view of Giardini Naxos. The beach amenities are great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.5
    Paying for the views, nothing else..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is very old, old-fashioned, nothing fancy at all. Very poor breakfast. We stayed for 4 nights and the food every morning was exactly the same. Even the cakes selection. There were 5 pots with hot food:chicken wings,bacon, sausages, tomatoes and scrambled ggs. Plus boilled eggs. That's it. The drinks in the bar are hugelly overpriced. Small bear- 6 euro, large -8 euro, a coctail - 12 e. Could be more hotel bus services to Taormina town.

    Spectacular views from room, swimming pool, beach.That's what you are paying money for in this hotel.The hotel has an amazing private beach with an access direct from the hotel by a lift.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Stunning resort hotel and proximity to amazing township of Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only gripes was that no hair conditioner is provided in toiletries pack and bar fridge didn't cool sufficiently

    Stunning views from our balcony and throughout many parts of the hotel, private beach via tunnel and abfab poolside restaurant and the service

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Atahotel Capotaormina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: