Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Atahotel Varese 4 stars

Via Francesco Albani 73, 21100 Varese, Italy

#10 of 18 hotels in Varese

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 424 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Good stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little really. It is a 20 min walk into town which is fine for us...just one awkward junction with no footpath.

    Good room, clean and very comfortable. All the facilutiesone might need. Very helpful staff, nothing too much trouble. Position good as a possible journey break for travellers yo central and southern Italy. Also good for access to some of the italian lakes. And the Lindt chocolate factory outlet!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect stay for cyclists
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lunch and dinner menu were fairly basic and identical (and over the four days I was there) - and fairly expensive for what you got. Especially compared to some outstanding restaurants we ate at in town. But they were helpful, if a little frantic, so not exactly a huge negative.

    The staff were all incredibly helpful. We were there for a bike race and everyone was incredibly accommodating of the scores of people dragging bikes in and out of the place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was immaculate. I booked the last room available, so it was more than I would normally choose to pay, but it was amazing! Lots of space, hidden kitchen, beautiful bathroom. I didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looked nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.3
    Never will I be back at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning wasn't the best. Actually in my opinion it was quite bad. The shower was really nasty , with stains all over it. At some point the water start to coming out yellow and Rusty. The glass on the bathroom, that one thas we are supposed to use to brunch our teeth had also stains in it. Wasent clean I can assure you. Staff wasn't nice, while making my check in start to speaking to speaking to other guest that just arrived after me , and taking their orders for the next day and give them a bunch of informations while I waited. At the check out, didn't even ask me if I liked my staying. The breakfast lacks of so many things . I arrived at 9h20 in my 2 days staying in the hotel, and for both of them we had almost no bread or go bread at all. My room was empty on the first day from 9h20 to 10h and from 10h15 to 14h and no one come to clean in or change the towels or other supplies. They simply left a plastic bag on the floor with towels (with stains of make up on them) and others supplies. The mosquito net at our room didn't open at all . Was nailed to the wall. Overall , I didn't like it. It was a bad experience. Won't be back .

    Swimming pool was nice as well as the staff serving breakfast. Was a lot of space to pack the car and without need of a reservation. Very good access.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.6
    difficult
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed there 25.06. - 26.06.18 I will come directly to the points: positiv: -free wifi works pretty well -if you have a room in the backyard it is absoluty quit - balcony can not be seen in from other rooms, mosquito net protects your balcony. -coffee breakfast delicious neutral: -breakfast -design (esp. colours of wallpapers in the room) -quality of furtniture inside the rooms (best years are over) negativ: -behaviour of staff (cold, unfriendly, not professsional. I waited 4 minutes at the front desk before someone was in the mood to contact me. 1 person tries to get along with the pc, 2 other persons in the back were making jokes and laughed about it, they saw me but nobody got the idea to speak to me. Exception: bar staff was friendly) you as guest do not feel welcome at all! After receiving the keys the staff is directly looking into the pc, wishing you "a nice stay" but without looking at you. Meaning: here, take the key, leave me alone and go away. I was the only person who checked in. When there are 20 persons waiting for check in you do not have time for conversation, but except me nobody was there to check in. résumé: if you are only interested in having a quite room, fast internet and privacy, you are well served. For all other guests who wants a minimum of service, you will not be happy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Rooms are large with a balcony and very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is mainly used for business people and probably suits their needs well. Not well set up for tourists and need to provide more information about what is available locally. Outdoor Swimming pool was closed for maintenance throughout our stay which was a shame. Also swimming pool needs to be screened off to allow more privacy ( residents can see directly down to pool from reception) One member of bar staff was very rude which was reported to reception staff. Disappointing customer service for a 4 star hotel. No help with bags on arrival. reception staff often busy so difficult to make a query but they were very helpful when anything was asked.

    Rooms are large with a balcony and very quiet. Buffet breakfast was good. Great gym but needs air conditioner switched on. Good location to explore the lakes if you are driving. Some Restaurants 10 min walk from hotel and 25 min walk to centre of Varese. Most staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Outstanding place to visit many places with good price hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I like the following: location quite and you can visit Como( 30 Minutes and Lugano /Swiss(45 Minutes) and Milan (45 Minutes). Alos you can visit the Serravalle Designer Outlet (107 Minutes), Free parking Staff helpful good lobby good price Center of Varese is good to visit and have dinner it is good to stay in it 3 nights

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Good business hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Away from centre but was aware of this when booking,so not a criticism,just for people to be aware

    Modern hotel, good facilities, and good parking. No issues with this business hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Evening meal and breakfast were satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located on furthest room when just a few guests appeared to be in the hotel... Sat Nav is required to locate hotel in outer town area. Being a conference centre hotel was huge.

    Evening meal and breakfast were satisfactory. Underground parking was accessible.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Very poor decision to book this hotel and would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and service in the restaurant were woeful and not that of a 4 star hotel, more like Fawlty Towers and a local third rate cafe

    Good rooms and bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Nice hotel and very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it was out of season, i think, the real restaurant was closed. The restaurant they have now is a little poor quality inside no Windows ...strange. The food was ok and the staff in the restaurant ok..but....

    ok location a little bit outside Varese. Quite and good hotel, modern facilities and very nice and clean room. Nice and helpfull staff and a nice barsection. The breakfast was very nice. Price-quality was very good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Late arrival, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was dissapointing, continental.

    Late arrival, very friendly staff. Quiet neighbourhood at night and nice surroundings, good size of rooms and really comfy beds. Clean and tidy. Ask for bathroom with a tub!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Clean hotel in dirty town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Althought that I paid by cash the hotel blocked my money on my card that i did not know. Next day I missed my money for other accomodation. When I was calling to the Atahotel after 5 day they made me sure that they unblocked my money imediately but they did not. Non serious proceeding. The other think is a dirty and smell city Varese especialy downtown where is not any place for parking but there are a lot of closed empty shops on dirty streets fully of strange persons.

    The room and the hotel was clean and light. Good swimming pool. Breakfast as european standard for 4 star hotel excluding bred it was like a stone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.8
    No thank you, not again. Needs maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom smelt of sewage, heating doesn't work properly, tiles loose on balcony, mold in the shower. No dogs allowed

    Good location, plenty of space to park

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.4
    Bathroom in the suite was in good condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4-star hotel, but rather 2-3 stars. The room was rather shabby, as well as the whole hotel. Some painting and renewing the textiles would do a lot! The sofa bed in the suite was rather uncomfortable to sleep on. The breakfast had limited choice and it was all very industrial. There was not enough bread and croissants, and when someone asked for more the waitress just replied that the breakfast will end soon, although there was still 45 min time left.

    Bathroom in the suite was in good condition

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.9
    Bad restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant! , Bar and restaurant were very expensive related to the quality of the food and drinks served. For example the menu card listed 18 wines and only two were available. For the meat we have to pay 24 Euros, but it tastend like leather. Some food was pre-cooked and heated when served. Nothing fresh as such. Drinks at the bar where very expensive.

    Friendly staf at the reception.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable cosy and 15mn walk from the center
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance from the city center Balcony and spacy room Great breakfast Facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Great modern hotel with lovely buffet breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable rooms with good check in. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    the reception staff were excelllent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast could be better - I'd like porridge

    the reception staff were excelllent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from city

    Good staff Clean Quite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    nice and quiet room with balcony
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice and quiet room with balcony good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    La cortesia alla reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La confusione creata dalla concomitante convention Herbalife

    La cortesia alla reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    nice, easy, clean hotel. Nice views
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern style hotel, good breakfast not only italian sweets....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Accurate choice for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron in the room, but this is common in Italy

    The perfect hotel for business travele

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Evert thing was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evert thing was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    6.7
    Appreciated the upgrade.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is below standard. A very minimun buffet of no quality

    Appreciated the upgrade. Room was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Good conference venue, very helpful staff.
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exterior environment rather limited, too much concrete!

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Great food and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    very enjoyable and a fine hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no pork on the dinner menu . Prefer hot coffee as well

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    The place, the hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In cool evenings the air condition kept blowing cool air. I was cold. American coffe in Italy brrr.

    The place, the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Choose it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and calm and in very good condition

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    But I had a really nice vacation on this hotel and im thinking to go back for some days again.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bar on the first floor was not opened in the morning.

    The staff was so kindly and the room was very comfort.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast,room were very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast,room were very good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    Large modern hotel and nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked to pay up front probably because we were on motorcycles

    Large modern hotel and nice rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice Hotel with very friendly staff and good Restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice Hotel with very friendly staff and good Restaurant. The Pool is unbelievable and the gym is modern.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Pool, playground, restaraunt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to present a passport for each person to check-in (incl. a 1,5 year old baby). This was a bit strange.

    Pool, playground, restaraunt

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Just fine as expected
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine, clean and well organized, room spacious and confortable. Staff ok.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.2
    very comfortable good resort
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from the center

    The matress. Breakfast, sports facilities

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.8
    The room was huge and very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner was overpriced

    The room was huge and very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.6
    Easy to locate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You had to log each mobile device back onto the wifi each time you returned to the hotel. But it was simple to do and didn't take long (no need to re-enter password).

    Easy to locate. Friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of parking right in front of hotel entrance. Comfortable quiet room overlooking a wood (number 446). High quality breakfast. Good wi-fi connection. Wide choice of TV channels in many languages.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    4.2
    Rooms were big and clean, complimentary bottled water in...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Bad service, thermostat didn't work, lights were temperamental, 1 iron in the hotel for guests to use, restaurant was terrible, reception ordered taxi late

    Rooms were big and clean, complimentary bottled water in rooms

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.5
    Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool was just too cold to swim in despite the lateness of the season and great of the day. We both tried countless times but it really wasn't comfortable to get in. The occasional other guests couldn't use it either. Also there was no atmosphere anywhere. No music at the poolside, no drinks service. Even the water cooler in the fitness centre was empty and there were no staff to ask. The breakfast room staff were like ghosts. They cleared the tables silently but didn't appear long enough to ask for anything like more hot water for tea or decent size mugs. The bar area at night was so quiet and felt anti social. I guess if it was a business stay hotel it was appropriate but it didn't really have a holiday feel at all.

    Excellent value. Receptionist was polite and efficient. Room was spotless, pool area was attractive and clean. Bar man was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    Staff very helpful, especially Louisto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was a bit far from town if you didn't have transportation. That limited restaurant choices.

    Staff very helpful, especially Louisto. Room was great, good breakfast daily.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.2
    Nice room, nice hotel, nice staf, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Fitness room could have more weights, door keys didnt work well, hotel restaurant is not as good as the restaurants in town.

    Nice room, nice hotel, nice staf, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.3
    We had a little trouble checking in for our flight home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi connection was poor on the fourth floor.

    We had a little trouble checking in for our flight home. The staff really helped us with this -- spent lots of their time getting it straight.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    6.7
    Spacious and decored rooms, Good breakfeast, clean and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Terrible WIFI. I didn't really succeded to connect. That couldn't be in hotel which calls itself "business".

    Spacious and decored rooms, Good breakfeast, clean and good location close to airport.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    We had the suit which was wonderfully laid out and equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had the suit which was wonderfully laid out and equipped. The receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful. A missing baby cot was immediately taken care of.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.1
    Very helpful staff at all times in reception.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Housekeeping services were poor. Every day there was a problem. One day no toiletries left, but they took away the half used ones. Result, nothing to shower with at 5-30am! Dirty cups not replaced. Surfaces not wiped.

    Very helpful staff at all times in reception. Clean environment.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast was too basic at that price level
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was too basic at that price level

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    6.3
    Thanks for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Thanks for you

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    7.9
    Very spacious hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very spacious hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.3
    The restaurant amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant amazing food

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    7.9
    The staff were fantastic and the bar/reception area is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were very uncomfortable and there was no view from the room on 3rd floor.

    The staff were fantastic and the bar/reception area is lovely.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.9
    Very limited breakfast offer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very limited breakfast offer

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    Very nice people at the reception desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice people at the reception desk.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.3
    Very nice people at the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The barman was impossible to mix a cocktail

    Very nice people at the reception

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    6.7
    NULLA DA BERE/MANGIARE IN CAMERA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NULLA DA BERE/MANGIARE IN CAMERA WIFI A PAGAMENTO LOCATION SENZA NIENTE INTORNO

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    5.8
    Propre mais un peu chair
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Difficultés d'accès.

    Propre mais un peu chair

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: