Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ateneo 3 stars

Calle Minelli 1876, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#209 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 679 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.8
    Wrong address
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address on booking is not correct. We walked a long way to go there through the wrong address...

    Good lady at the counter and warm welcome. Normal breakfast, not good not bad

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Basic clean accommodation in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs 3 flights to our room hard work especially after hauling our luggage through the many streets. The hotel sign could be a bit clearer the number associated with the address was the actual location not the postcode. Booking.com should tell people this as for the elderly or infirmed this would not be a good hotel.

    Location and staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    A fine hotel with all you could want in the heart of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hard to find. Phone satnav struggled to fix on it. Venice is daunting trying to find anywhere. When I rang they told me to look for the famous theatre next to it. That did the trick.

    It was comfortable. A proper hotel with quality staff in the heart of Venice. It had a big bed, fine bathroom air con. A good breakfast. The staff members were excellent, friendly and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    In such an expensive city , the Ateneo offers affordable accommodation close to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the furniture and fittings were a bit tired.

    Location (5 mins from San Marco). Quiet. Breakfast included in the tariff. Otherwise the hotel would be unremarkable except for the fabulous surroundings of Venice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Location is great although you can find better hotel in Venice for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    its very dark and the air conditioning was a bit noisy. The breakfast is just not edible for my liking.

    The location is close to everything although knowing Venice has so many tiny pathways, it created a bit of confusion on how to reach the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms and en suites are very small and are not of a high standard.

    It was an excellent breakfast. The staff at this hotel are professional and friendly. It was very clean throughout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Value for money? Yes yes yes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better

    Location: excellent (5' to San Marco) Breakfast: good (not anything special though) Staff: very friendly & helpful Price: excellent (€270 for 2 nights) comparing to others

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    if I return to Venice,I'lll be staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location in the heart of Venice, just a few minutes fr San Marco Square was superb. Also, the hotel was in a small, quiet courtyard just a block from the theater district-no noise or crowds. And our room was on one of the canals-great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location but too pricey for size of room and other amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given the price, the room was very small and breakfast could have been more extensive and varied. Staff were pleasant but in general a little off-hand. I know it must be tourist overload in Venice, but still. Not value for money.

    Great location. Decent bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel with some minor drawbacks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first remember Venice is expensive. Be careful putting in the address in google maps as it seems like there are other streets with the same name. Use the location through the vooking apo/site. No shower stall, only a curtain which meant that the bathroom floor was wet after showers. Area definitely died down at night.

    The staff was nice and helpful. Location was good and many attarctions are nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location for a weekend gateway to Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed the breakfast. Central location to the major sites around the city. Near the Opera house if you enjoy classical music. Tons of restaurants to enjoy great food and wine! Strolling over the canals was nice during the great Spring weather.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Only a short walk from St Marks Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite small rooms, however I imagine this is typical of central Venice.

    Only a short walk from St Marks Square. Friendly staff at the reception desk who gave useful information. The breakfast was good though the room a little cramped. Nice decor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny! But a really comfortable bed. It was the best night's sleep in Italy. The sheets were made of very good quality cotton and sleeping with the window open for clean air was perfect.

    It did have everything we needed. Fabiola at reception was helpful with places to go. Location was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Venice is amazing this hotel is not!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were staying in was too small for three people and was boiling hot at night time. The air conditioning was non existent only blowing out hot air despite the hotel advertising air conditioning in all rooms. We made a complaint about this and were told someone would go and sort it out or we would have a room move. When we returned it had not been fixed and on going back to reception the man there tried to say that there was no air conditioning in the whole of Venice until May (which seemed odd as we have been before). We explained that the room was too hot to sleep in, but was basically told tough try opening the window. Which we had already done the previous two nights which made no real difference apart from resulting in being repeatedly bitten by mosquitoes. We found the man rude and unhelpful. In the hotels description it advertises having a bar, there is not. Breakfast is reasonable but the room is too small with tables crammed together and the maintenance man is constantly walking through.

    The location of the hotel is very good, only being a short walk to St Marks Square. Venice itself is beautiful and well worth a visit, however I would choose a different hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Staff was really nice and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was really nice and kind. The vintage hotel design,view from the hotel rooms will stay in our minds for a long time. Also the rooms were very clean. Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Stunning Venetian luxury in superb location, 5 minutes from San Marco and Rialto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t totally close one set of curtains so light came in. Hair dryer ineffective.

    Classic Venetian sumptuous decor. Loved the Murano chandelier and lights, loved the fabric walls. Superb quality linen. Exceptionally comfy bed. Great location, 5 mins from both San Marco and Rialto. Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    I'll go back any time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little small but very stylish and vintage.

    Personel were very nice and helpful, they even gave us a lot of hints about to visit and a hint for the day that all the state museums are free of charge. Always smiling made our stay excellent. It was a cold period but the heating system was perfect. Breakfast was very variate, lots of options for a B&B.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Very nice stay at a top location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing worth to complain about!

    A nice 3*-hotel with a perfect location (city centre, but in a quiet alley). We got a free upgrade to canal view (low season visitor). Everything was clean and fine. Breakfast was fresh and very good. We slept very well in our "gingerbread" room ;) The room and common rooms are rather small, but what else do you expect in downtown Venice? :) Last but not least : the staff was very helpfull and kind!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Overall the hotel was easy to find and was fairly close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit small but I heard the rooms in Venice are small so... The blankets could be thicker? I was expecting a big, warm blanket but they were really thin. It was cold during the night and there were more blankets in the closet but they were also thin.

    Overall the hotel was easy to find and was fairly close to wherever I wanted to go. San Marco Square was in 5mins of walking distance so every night we could go for a walk. The staff were welcoming and very kind. They have little candies at the reception which were delightful. The room smelled nice and the bed was very spacious. Hot shower with strong water pressure was fantastic ( Not like in most of the old cities in Europe), my friend and I both had plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lifting both luggage to our room as my wife had an ankle injury, BUT the staff offered their help.

    Close enough to San Marco Square, a very recommendable Hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was typical Venetian faded grandeur (but not tatty, nor dirty). The staff were welcoming and friendly and the hotel was close to all amenities. EXCELLENT!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.8
    fine place in the center of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is kinda small but you are in Venice, that's how it is. The shower is annoying, it is very low and it pours water on the floor because there is no curtain. The american coffee they serve for breakfast is awful but you can ask the staff for a cappuccino or an espresso.

    Good location, a few minutes walking from Piazza San Marco. The room is fine and clean, with a desk to use your laptop. The breakfast is fine. The staff is nice. The wifi works well. Basic toiletries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Elegant room in baroque style, just 5min on foot from San...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As an Italian hotel, there is no espresso for breakfast... but it isn’t important at all

    Elegant room in baroque style, just 5min on foot from San Marco

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    4.6
    Would I go again? Probably never!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address provided in the site is totally wrong. Rooms are really congested. The bathroom ceilingheight is very low; especially if you're around 6ft, you're sure to hit your head. No complementary water. Paper thin walls.

    Location. that's it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Positive surprise
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small Breakfast room , but surprisingly we always found a table! Food was just right and acceptable , overall they can work to improve their breakfast department .

    Vaporetto takes you directly to the hotel having its own water access a big + in Venice. We reached early evening, Staff speaks English, Francesca made the check-in very easy and fast , sent to the room a water kettle and extra hangers on our request in no time. The superior deluxe room was really comfortable and "spacy" with high ceiling and side canal view well heated , bathroom modern comfortable.Hotel is clean . Location very convenient 3 minutes walk to San Marco Square and 5 minutes walk to the Rialto bridge .This is a 21rooms boutique hotel with true Venitian" cachet " . Stefania on the morning shift was extremely helpful and nice she even is a good concierge for Venice addresses.Hotel check out time is 11 but we left the room at 1pm with no word asked !! One of the best price value ratio in Venice.I will definitely return to this hotel !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    It was a little expensive, but nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boooking.com said city tax is 3 euro per night, but it costed 3.5 euro per night.

    The hotel is close to San Marco Polo square. Also, late check-in and early check-out is possible.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Great central location; warm, clean and quiet; but download map directions to find it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a comfortable room, an extremely clean bathroom with a bath, and it was warm and cosy in late November. The location is very central -- just a few minutes in one direction from the vaporetto stop at Rialto, just a few minutes from Piazza San Marco in another direction. The hotel is also in a very quiet 'calle', with no noisy pedestrian traffic late at night that is so common in much of Venice. The check in was friendly and efficient, and I received excellent advice on where to go for a late night snack. There are numerous bars and restaurants to suit all budgets a few minutes away. In answer to the other comments about finding your way to the hotel: I had no trouble finding it using Google maps. In fact, I find that Google maps is extremely accurate for navigating the maze of streets in Venice, and also for finding such things as the nearest ATMs, cafés, and pastry shops (very important, that last one). Download a map of Venice, including your route to the hotel, while you have internet access and you can use that even when offline -- just watch the blue dot. There is no lift in the hotel but this is common in small buildings in Venice -- there is just no room for one. The cheapest rooms with shared bathrooms seeemd to be on level 1.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Have stayed before and would do so again. Nice helpful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms 208 and 209 can be noisy; they are some of the best but overlook a canal junction where the commercial boats cut through and where the refuse boat calls every morning at 6.00 a.m. to load up; but that's Venice.

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice and clean though wouldnt return due to rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No english sky tv - sky was there but all Italian channels No kettle tea/ coffee available in room or available by hotel - went to ask at reception to recive disgusting looks with a response " the kitchen is CLOSED go to the bar down the street"! Breakfast seating - had to split my family up - even though I was a single parent travelling alone - all tables sat 2 people only A little Tricky to find off a little back alleyway

    Great size room, having a bath was a bonus Nice and clean Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    Venetian decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities for disabled, quite poor breakfast. I mean it has taken staff good half an hour to refill trays with food.

    Venetian style and quite location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    actually I booked this hotel because the other hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    actually I booked this hotel because the other hotel didn't have extra bed, even when they said previously in email that they have! so I found this value for money hotel near my friend's hotel, and booked immediately. the check in process was easy, and the staff was really helpful. my iPad was left in the hotel room when I checked out, and they texted me to come back. really impressed by their honest heart!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.4
    October stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never seen a room so small. When having a breakfast, grab croissants from the kitchen, otherwise good chance you'll be served yesterday's stuff.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.3
    Good—not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer wasn't very powerful. Breakfast was extremely basic. TV and safe did not work.

    Room was pretty. Easy to access. Max 10 min walk from anywhere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Location is very good. And neighborhood is very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel does not have any elevator. No easy access to get to the boats so if you are carrying a lot of luggages, it will be hard to go to the hotel because you have to cross bridges. It means, you need to carry your luggage up and down the stairs.

    Bed was very comfortable! Location is superb as it is near the main square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    Great city, central location. Hotel more of a B and B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dark and dingy. Not large enough to sit in comfortably so really just a place to sleep. It rained a lot whilst we were there. No hooks in the room to hang coats , wet umbrella etc. No hooks in the bathroom. No communal areas in the hotel except a few chairs in reception and a corridor outside our room, so nowhere to sit and read. No bar. No possibility of having coffee or a drink without walking to a nearby restaurant or bar. . I would describe this hotel as a B and B . Dining room for breakfast small and often crowded. One morning people had to wait in reception for a table. Only tables for 2 people. Breakfast dull - tinned fruit salad, tinned peaches, tinned prunes, fresh apples and oranges. Ham,salami, cheese and cold boiled eggs. Packet cake.

    Location. Our room had a window on to the canal. This seemed to be the route for the gondolas so there was always someone passing often with musicians. Staff were kind and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location with a staff that is very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was excellent! They were very accommodating and helpful with each request. Our room was nicely decorated with a window that had a view of one of the canals. This was our first time in Venice and the location was great for what we wanted to do.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful 1 night stay in this great property in Venice. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was very hard to find despite being so central and really needs some signs at the edge of the street location. A local shopkeeper even phoned the hotel for directions and it was still hard to find.

    We had a wonderful stay at this centrally located property. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and we had a wonderful family room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location just a dew minutes from St Mark's square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't allowed to go in to breakfast a little earlier on the day we were leaving.

    Great breakfast, lovey room looking over a canal with Gondolas passing by regularly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night staff person was unhelpful he wouldn't supply a glass of water instead telling us that the room had a mini bar and I could purchase water from it.

    Great Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.9
    The room is very small but very clean and cute
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin, you can hear everything that's going on outside the door and walls, even phones vibrating

    The room is very small but very clean and cute

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    I would recommend to stay. Very reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not easy to find hotel. It is hiden in dead end street. The room was on the 3rd floor and it was difficult to get there with baggage. There is no lift.

    Hotel was very clean with great location just 5 minutes from main square. Very romantic place and nice there nice friendly employees.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    ABSOLUTELY A LOVELY HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing I would suggest to change or improve. It was a wonderful experience

    first of all the staff was incredible..Stefania was so very nice and helpful with directions restaurants and gave us a beautiful room overlooking the canals. Francisca was also so nice and helpful sending e-mails to us helping us navigate our arrival. They had a private water taxi stop which we used on our return. The rooms were authentically beautiful and the location was perfect...close to everything. I would definitely recommend staying there and when we go back it will be our only hotel choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.5
    Poor value for money !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed very disappointed, very bad mattress,(springs in my body) beautiful canal view but very noisy because of the boats traffic late and early in the mornings ! The bathroom very old, very small, hair dryer was working but very old system ! I do not recommend this hotel, and won't come again. Price too high for the quality I had.

    Very good location, close to everything bars, restaurants, public transport, breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.4
    Budget option in Venice with friendly staff but suboptimal facilities all-around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    "The Not-so-goods"- The hotel is a Venetian hotel, so everything is a bit old-fashioned, and old. Do not expect renovations. The sheets, lights are old, the AC is really noisy, the bathtub is not enclosed, so expect water everywhere (and it will stay everywhere given high humidity). There is no elevator, so try to stay in the 1st floor. The pillows are not comfortable. Breakfast room is very small, so around 9am, you might not get a place to sit, during peak season. The hotel is not near a canal where a boat can drop you off when you arrive to Venice from the airport. Most likely you will need to carry your suitcases from San Marco or Rialto to the hotel. Beware that you will need to carry your suitcases up and down many steps in between. Also the streets in Venice are pretty narrow and packed with people, so try to make this journey as early in the day as possible, or pick a hotel with a more convenient location.

    "The Greats"- The hotel is near some good restaurants especially closer to Rialto. It is not too far from the main attraction for tourists- San Marco. However, I travelled to see the Biennale, which is closer to Gardini/Arsenale, which is a 25+ minute walk from the hotel (especially when San Marco is very crowded). The staff is always helpful. When we checked out at 6am, they helped us greatly. Also they were helpful when we carried the suitcases to the 3rd floor. "The Goods"- There is a mini fridge in the room with water, which was a blessing, since we did not want to carry water to the 3rd floor. Budget option in Venice. Internet is for free, which is a plus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Gondoliers seeing below our window!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small (but comfortable). Would have like an iron and ironing board but these were not common in Italian hotels. No lift but we managed to 2 flights of stairs.

    We overlooked a canal with a regular passage of gondolas. Great ambience right in the middle of Venice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    location, view !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift, it was terrible to take the baggage to the eoom, especially after carrying it through Venice (up and down the bridges)

    location, view !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for its price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not very clean - dust on the lights, closet, mirror The bathroom is for very small people

    Price Location - near Opera, close to city centre

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! But those with heavy luggage need to know that there's no elevator just like most buildings in venice

    Just perfect! Staff was professional, friendly, and helpful! They even gave us a deluxe room with canal view instead of classic room and it was beyond amazing! They truly made our trip more than perfect! Breakfast was fresh and had lots of variety and really delicious and the location couldnt be better! Just a walk from San Marco square but still so quite and on the canal.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    6.7
    Great location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was extremely hard to find,The bed was extremely hard and the room smelled of mould, slept with the window open in January,

    Great location, reception staff very friendly and professional , cant remember her name but she was from Brazil,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location was near everything. The staff were very friendly and semi-helpful. A language barrier muddied one conversation. The breakfast was great and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.1
    A hotel that really makes you feel the atmosphere of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi didn't work and we had to ask the staff twice for an extra pillow because they were very slow.

    Great location. Spacious rooms. A breakfast with a wide variety of choices.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.2
    Great style and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While not tiny, rooms are on the small side, which is not surprising in Venice (and Europe in general). But not a show stopper.

    Excellent location, very helpful staff. We had a room with a beautiful view to a canal. If you are a big group, you may consider hiring a water taxi, especially coming/going from/to the airport. They have a private dock, which way more convenient than carrying your luggage on the crowded traghetti and narrow streets.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.2
    amazing hotel and breakfast
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only one thing when we arrive the guy was on the reception was not friendly maybe he had bad day and was difficult even to speak and say good evening.

    The hotel was perfect the breakfast really good and I really like it the price of hotel with all facilities were very good and the staff amazing in special the guy in the kitchen for breakfast he was really helpful and kid with us. I recommend this hotel everybody to visit Venice. The staff from reception amazing and the cleaners really nice and fast. Thank you for everything I'd like to go again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    8.8
    Very good hotel but service is a bit rude at times
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a hard time locating the hotel after getting off the water taxi. The GPS took us to a total different address. We took 45 min after the boat ride to find the hotel and it was 2 am in the morning.

    Very good hotel but service is a bit rude at times

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.8
    Great location, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We rented several rooms one of which was a family room on the third floor. The bathroom in this room was quite small and one could not even stand up to shower. As is the norm in Venice, we had to carry our luggage up the stairs.

    Pretty central location. Very friendly staff. Rooms are relatively small but that's the standard in Venice. Property is very well-kept. If you are traveling with a large group it may be more convenient to use their private pier to go to the airport... it is not much more expensive than other means and way more practical as you don't have to carry your luggage around the narrow streets of Venice, which are always full of tourists moving around.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    Good value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it was a little challenging locating the hotel initially. It was our first time in Venice and just needed practice with getting our bearings.

    Charming hotel with helpful staff. Breakfast and a lovely room overlooking a canal. This quaint hotel suited us well.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.3
    Watch the gondolas pass by and listen to serenadas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Channels listed on TV are mostly not available to watch.

    We had a special room looking to the canal which made our stay more pleasant. Room was clean and authentically decorated and had all basic necessities. Location is close to everywhere and many restaurants and attractions around, but still very calm neighborhood.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.2
    I'd like to come back someday and definitely stay in your hotel!😃
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Footsteps are noisy from the next floor😕

    The area is quiet and most of all its in the centre, where shops are all over the place. The Piazza de San Marco is just 3 minutes walk.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    7.9
    The breakfast was a nice range of simple food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the door of the bathroom could not be locked

    The breakfast was a nice range of simple food. Staff were very friendly, hotel was clean and we had a free upgrade to a room with a pretty canal view.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.9
    Hotel Ateneo located 2minutes from St Mark's square near teatro fenica so always follow signs to cin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room rather cramped. Could they knock two rooms into one larger room?

    We could view gondolas on canal from a balcony window off corridor! Fab

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.5
    Hotel Ateneo- Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very traditional Italian. The location is central. Overall our stay is good. The room is not very spacious i guess it is common where the hotel is located. Bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    6.7
    Good standard for enormous price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely high price for average (maybe a little bit below average) accomodation. But, I am affraid, that's standard thing in Venice... We had a "canal view room". The view was really nice, but that means about 5:30 AM start the ships passing our windows. And their engines are really noisy:-)...

    Perfect location, everything other quite about average. There was nothing, what could make me to be really keen.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.2
    i loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is amazing but you need to ask the shops how to reach there its a little bit inside .. the staff are helpful and the wifi is fast i would stay there againn ! i stayed with my family there

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.5
    cosy near the canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small and it was obvious that the "triple" room had been improvised... The wardrobe had been placed in front of a window to accomodate a single bed that practically touched the other bed. There were no bedside tables and there was a single chair that had to be moved to open the door. IT WASN'T UNCOMFORTABLE it just made us laugh a lot. In fact, the description on the website did indeed say the rooms were small so it wasn't a case of false advertising. It's just that the difference between a double room and a triple room shouldn't only be the number of beds 😂.

    The location is very central and the bathroom was clean and modern. The service facilities provided were good. No complaints.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    8.3
    Nice venetian hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like the fact it had no lift and breakfast was a bit disappointing

    The location was great a bit hard to find on arriving but room was big and comfortable. Room was clean gentleman at reception was helpful he also spoke english

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    5.4
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small, bathroom cramped, shower to small. Two twin mattresses - which kept separating thus making it difficult to sleep. Walls were thin and could here the staff early in the morning beginning their daily cleaning routine. No iron available to use and the breakfast was expensive for what was provided. Check out was slow.

    Good location, close to St Mark Square, yet located on a quiet street, so it was not noisy at night. Staff was courteous and tried their best to be helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    5.0
    Basic lodgings more 2* than 3*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family Room very small, no tea/coffee in room. Daughter found lots of long black hairs in bedding. Breakfast room extremely compact especially at peak time.

    Location of hotel close to San Marco.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find, staff not very courteous

    Good location and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Clean rooms Cheerful stuff Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms and dirty old shower

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is quite closed to piazza San Marco ( 5-10 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite closed to piazza San Marco ( 5-10 minutes on foot), but you will still get lost for the first days, even if you use Google map.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location good staff excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location good staff excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    If you need the room just for your sleep or you are a dwarf than it's OK.. Otherwise too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and bath too small for the price. Breakfast rather poor.

    Staff extremely friendly and the hotel is absolutely central located what is a plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    My room had a canal view and we woke up by the sound of...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had a canal view and we woke up by the sound of serenade...that was awesome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Proximity of san marco square
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to spot in venice

    Proximity of san marco square

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ateneo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: