Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Augustus

Via Piave 61, Via Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy

#484 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 227 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was small. The place was hard to find, because of lack of a big and noticeable sign.

    It was super clean. The location is very good. The staff are very friendly, helpful, and flexible. In conclusion, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. It would be better to have hooks in the bathroom for the towels) 2. Try to make bigger windows. TV can be placed on the table) 3. Hangers should be the same in the wardrobe. 4. Maybe in the future you’ll have international tv-channels.

    Breakfast was perfect and very tasty! 👌🏽😋

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    more of a b&b than an hotel. And quite a basic one for that. Breakfast is only served in the room, therefore quite limited in choice (continental only). Room looked quite different than in the pictures shown on website.

    owner is friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mustafa was very kind, helpful and was always available to any question or request. breakfast was delicious including fresh fruits and grate coffee!! The hotel is located close to termini main station (about 12 minutes walking) but you don't need it because many bus lines has stops just nearby and mustafa wili direct you where ever you need. at night you can enjoy a good dinner at one of the restaurant around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Two person bed had two one person joined materaces and they were going different ways during sleep so i n middle you get giant hole, not very comfortable. Also in booking reservation we had bath tub but in hotel we did get only shower.

    Great staff, kind and friendly, i think he was the owner of this hotel. He did even wait for us in front of building. Nice breakfast more than you can eat. Some toast a lot of fruits, jam, chocolate, crousasaint, cofee and juice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sometimes two people did not have enough space to connect to the power grid. But this is a completely solvable problem.

    Quite a varied and abundant breakfast at a convenient time. Frequent cleaning and replacement of towels. Sociable and friendly staff. A lot of storage space.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was beginning a bike trip and the host was wonderfully helpful, walking me over to the local bike shop, the phone store, lending me tools, recommending restaurants, and then arranging for his driver to take me to the outskirts of Rome so that I didn't have to begin my journey with the horrors of Rome traffic. He gave me his number to call in case of emergency - service beyond anything required. HIghly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is great, 10 mins walk to Termini station and 3 mins away from the bus station, Moustafa was an incredible guy, he explained to us the routes, the city, everything we needed to know, the breakfast is more than enough to start the day (fruits, eggs and bacon, coffee, juice and sweets). All above plus the room, everything just perfect!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi was very spotty. It wasn't a huge issue for us since we were out and about all the time but for those who need WiFi for work et cetera it would be a problem here.

    The room was nice and cosy, our room had one big bed (two single mattresses joined together), a bathroom/toilet with shampoos and towels, a balcony (I don't think balconies for all rooms are a standard, it must be requested beforehand), a mini-bar, two small flat-screen televisions (all channels in Italian, obviously), two bedside tables, a desk, an armchair, wardrobe and an A/C unit. and we even had free room-service breakfast!! The property was in a very convenient location for my partner and I. This was our first time in Rome and we read many positive reviews about this hotel. It is located on the 2nd floor of an apartment block on Via Piave, a two minute walk from the Ministry of Finance building which is where you can find the main bus line (62) to the Vatican and a 15-minute walk to Roma Termini Train Station (the main transport hub). What my partner and I loved the most was the owner Mustafa. He was always very friendly and helpful to us, giving us tips about Rome and he was always available around the clock. We would definitely come back here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mustafa the concierge was very nice and funny. He was always around and answerd all our questions. Furthermore he gave as a great instruction with a map, so that we knew where to go and not to get lost in the city =). We had a great time!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner is very friendly but sometimes it was too much and we had a feeling that we don't have enough privacy.

    Good breakfast, good location, good price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Very nice, welcoming and helpful Maitre d'hotel, "soul" of the Augustus. Good room for the price, big enough, fully equipped, with a nice view on the antic Aurelian wall. Good location for visiting Rome : metro (Castro Pretorio station, B) is at 7min walk, and only 4 stops to Colosseo station. And breakfast is good and complete, served inside the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish it were a bit closer to the historic centre, but we managed, at the end of day we took the bus, 10-15 minutes we were at the hotel.

    If you need a place to stay where you can feel safe and comfortable, after walking all day long on the streets of Rome, this is the place to be. You have all you need if you are on budget. The owner has helped us since the first minutes with the map, what to visit, where to eat, public transportation, what to avoid, basic things for a first time visit. The wi-fi worked great, the bathroom, the sheets were clean and the breakfast was excellent. We could not eat everything: coffee, juice, croissant, bread, butter, jam, Nutella, fruits and other stuff. Great accomodation!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "breakfast" will suffice for a breakfast and a lunch :) Toast, cheese, salami, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, nutella, jam, croissant and the list goes on. The staff is most helpful!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I lived alone in a double room. If 2 people staying in this room (room 23) it must be cramped. Wifi dropped out several times and showering needs service. I had to stay at a neighboring hotel first night - apparently because air contition had to be repaired.

    This is a nice accommodation in a relatively quiet area. Rooms were routine and breakfast that was served in the room was both large and useable. The host is very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room had a slight tobacco scent when first arrived (previous guests were smokers?) but nothing unbarable, solved with leaving windows opened :)

    The owner was very kind and helpfull with a warming breakfast with fresh fruit and nice coffee. Defenitly worth!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tiny, hated the shower. Hotel was tiny looked more like a bed and breakfast! Man that runs the place sleeps on the sofa in the tiny reception.

    Breakfast was nice and so was the man.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is close to the city center ,is very clean.The owner,Mr .Mustafa is very friendly.The breakfast is very good.Great value for the money.E

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The accommodation is located in a quiet neighborhood and if you choose to book for a B&B stay, you will be amused by the breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our reserved room was not available

    They arranged a close hotel which was a better class

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Augustus discreet smile in the morning

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to Termini , is very clean, the owner and staff very friendly and helpful , very good breakfast included

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful breakfast. Sensitive and sincere staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nice owner Mustafa did everything he could to make us feel like home :) nice restaurants in walking distance, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really nice and friendly staff, willing to help with every request. Quiet hotel located near the center with very good facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect variety of breakfast and also tailored to us at request!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It didnt really feel like a hotel. One floor with several rooms to let (including all individual bathrooms). Looked a bit old and cheap.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the owner was extremely helpful , I will def recommend the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel. Great value for money! Many thanks to Mustafa for the hospitality. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mustafa is just wonderful, very helpful, always so positive. The breakfast was more than I expected.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great accommodation. Mustafa is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent. Very nice hotel to stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    "Magic Mustafa" was always present, so helpful and quite gorgeous! :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was quite dark, but it wasn't a big problem after all.

    First thing I want to mention is the fact that the owner is extremely friendly, kind and helpful. The room was clean, the same as the bathroom. As for Italian standards, I was positively surprised with breakfast which was excellent. Overall it was a very pleasant stay there.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given our own keys as the staff were not on site most of the time, unfortunately the key to the main building and the key to the secondary door on the ground floor did not open the doors. We were locked out for over thirty minutes after eleven at night, and after three calls to get help before a member of staff arrived to let us in, and even his keys didn't work! The room was very basic and not very clean. We had booked for three nights,but checked out after one.

    Friendly staff that spoke English, gave a local map and information to help and stay safe. Pre-packed breakfast. Would suit back packers who only wanted a bed.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room where we stayed was a bit stuffy (even when opened the windows.

    Good location, just 2 bus stops from Termini. Great host, he showed us where to go, where should we eat, and was so helpful. Nice breakfast too, fill u up enough for the whole morning.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel, everyday cleaning .Very polite and helpful personnel. Good and healthy breakfast in bed. A place where we will stay again if we will be in Rome. Mustafa was very patient with us, gave us helpful opinions and directions.Thank you, all!

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit too loud of traffic if balcony door are opened,but u can close the door and turn on air condition and be very quite..

    Room,kindness of personel,breakfast with different fruits. Location,cleaning

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Couple

    Really bad experience in this hotel. I really don't recommend you this hotel. First we had a "private room", small room, the bathroom was really bad. Then, we had to take the breakfast in the room on the bed because no table. The first night was really not expected like this. When you paid this price, you expect as a minimum a table to have the breakfast. Then, I ask to change the room. The second was more confortable....even if the bathroom was not so great. I really don't recommend you this hotel. The price is too expensive for the quality.

    At least I like the location of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room has windows toward an inner balcony, not on street; breakfast same every day for 4 days - 2 small croissants, 2 yogurts, 2 apple, 2 bananas, 2 orange, 2 cafee or tea/ jam/butter/bread - no bacon, eggs, salami etc

    location 20 minutes from termini by walk; owner friendly and available to offer info; room clean, wifi, private shower

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not really a hotel, but some rooms in a floor of building containing offices, businesses,etc. The soundproofing was not so good. Breakfast served in the room, and except from the perfect Cappuccino, was too basic.

    Very helpful and friendly owner! The region was good enough, not the classical touristic and definetely safe. With the buses passing in front of the hotel you can go tp absotely every place of interest in Rome.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very kind and responsive personal. Very easy to get Vatican and the center of the city. 1 min walk from the hotel is a very nice pizzeria "Al Forno della Soffitta".

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The Owner is extremely helpful and kind, the room was very clean, breakfast is fine with a lot of fruits, location and price are also good. Everything was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In the morning, at any time, they serve up delicious and hearty breakfast in your room. Place where you feel at home.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and shower very small, bathroom smelled of drains.

    Staff very helpful and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very little natural light because of window with view to a dark patio.

    Small, quiet hotel with helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked the stuff very much. Breakfast was great. Mustafa, greetings from Estonia. Aitäh :)

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    tough entering locks

    breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All excellent

    The hotel it self very comfortable, staff helpful, breakfast romantic and delicious. This hotel bright up our time in Rome !

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff are very helpful and approachable

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was great and very filling with lots of choices. Room was nice and clean, bathroom was good.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We didn't get receipt for our stay... We paid in cash...

    Location

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Breakfast in bed and your very own computer in the room.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast in the room.The owner was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small shower.

    Very friendly staff.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Hotel Augustus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: