Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Italy hotel reviews
  3. Sicily B&B and inn reviews
  4. Piazza Armerina B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of La Quercia e l'Asino

Reviews of La Quercia e l'Asino

Via Martin Luther King, 4, 94015 Piazza Armerina, Italy

#3 of 34 B&Bs and inns in Piazza Armerina

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 249 B&B reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.8

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    9.2
    Quirky B&B with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit out of town which means you need the car to go out to eat in the evening (approx 5km / 10-15 mins' drive). Payment is by Cash only.

    Salvatore is a great host. His house is a newly renovated farmhouse on a big patch of land (includes his donkeys) on a plateau outside town. The house is full of quirky design features and bright colours. Spotlessly clean . Lovely bedding and super bathroom/shower. Lots of helpful advice on places to visit. Secure free parking on site (locked gate). Wonderful breakfast offering (the best in our 2 weeks in Sicily).

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    10
    Great stay, definitely recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. No issue for us but only cash is accepted.

    The B&B is a refurbished farm located just outside Piazza Armerina. The owner speaks English very well, which makes communication easy (as we do not speak Italian). The entire place is nicely decorated with a lot of attention to matching details that make the picture perfect. Due to its location it is also very quiet at night. Rooms can be heated during the shoulder seasons and cooled during the hot summer with the installed airco unit. The B&B would also be great for families with children with toys in the garden as well as the friendly dog, the horses, the donkeys and the goats in the backyard. Breakfast was plenty with local specialties made with products from the farm. The must see is off course the Roman Villa (Villa Romana del Casale), but there is also a 8km walk which you can do and Piazza Armerina is nice for a short visit as well. We had an excellent diner at Trattoria Al Goloso, which was advised by our host.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    9.6
    Quaint and hip at the same time! Enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have liked a comfortable chair in the bedroom and a full shower door.

    Mario, our host was savvy and very helpful. The property was aesthetically pleasing and the rooms had an artful contemporary flair. It was fun to stay outside of cities for a day. Breakfast was delicious and full of options. The bedding was very cozy and the surroundings were peaceful. I would recommend this location and b&b to all of our friends.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    10
    The donkeys were so cute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The donkeys were so cute. The breakfast was amazing and I loved the design of our room. The beds were as comfy as other reviewers suggested. Easy enough to get into town as well. Very quiet spot.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    10
    A night in the farm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice stay in a farm close to Piazza Armerina and Villa Casale. Room and bathroom are comfortable and the B&B has been decorated with old farm and family goods - great idea! Nice breakfast with fresh local products. Host is very nice and gave many suggestions on what to see and where to eat in the region. Grazie!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.5
    Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, quiet at night, new,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No mini bar. You have to remember to bring cash to pay. It’s a 20 minute walk to the centre of Piazza Armerina for dinner - better to be prepared to drive. We felt the town had less to offer a tourist than more popular locations.

    Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, quiet at night, new, modern quirky decor. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    6.3
    Chaotic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We may have just caught this B&B on a bad day as the Pope was visiting, but we had a few issues with our stay here. Check in doesn't start till 3:30pm. We wanted to leave our bags ahead of check in and sent a few emails with no reply regarding this. When we arrived there was no one we could leave our bags with so we had to come back later. When checking in, we were told the WiFi wasn't working (the owner gave us his phone WiFi password, but that didn't work). Our passports were also kept for a longer than comfortable period as the owner held onto them while he took a number of calls and checked in other guests (although we fared better than other guests whose passports sat in the communal area unattended for hours). The owners young children, while sweet, very noisily played outside our room for a while and at one point slammed their bike into our glass front door. Breakfast the next morning also seemed a bit chaotic and distracted. At one point a guest just got up to make their own coffee after the owner was absent. It's also worth noting they only take cash and the isolated location means you need to drive to sights, restaurants etc. While I'm sure the owner has the best intentions, overall he seemed over burdened looking after the guests, children, animals etc to make it a stay I would recommend.

    Breakfast croissants were good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    10
    A very beautiful B&B !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No central location, you have to go to Piazza Armerina by car !

    A great location with an excellent view and with horses and donkeys.The owner was a very friendly, helpful person who gave us much information. The breakfast was very good with Sicilian specialties like cannoli and bruschette with dried tomatoes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    Perfect place to remember sicilly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we've stayed only five nights.

    We found a house, not a hotel or a b&b, but a friend who welcomes you in his home, made with love and attention for every little detail. We enjoyed the colors, the donkies, the furniture, the views and the garden. Delicious breakfast, specially the bruschette with dried tomatoes home made, by Salvatore who explained the whole process. Spottless place. Thank you Salvatore for this experience. We'll remember you, your house and your girls; oh..let's not forget the dog and the donkies. This was one of the memorable places that we've stayed. Piazza armerina is a nice little town with a good family restaurant (La locanda), right by the cathedral.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    10
    As if you were at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The moment you entered the property, you felt at home. There is an immense attention for detail, both in the finishing of the house and the room, as well in the information and service that Salvatore provides to the visitor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    Very good location to visit many interesting places, such as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location to visit many interesting places, such as Villa Romana del Casale, Piazza Armerina, Enna, etc. Very relaxing place, nice rooms and excellent breakfast. Stopped there as part of a tour of Sicily and definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    10
    I highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing that could have been better.

    Our host was very friendly and informative. The property is very modern, comfortable and peaceful. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful place, a garden with donkeys and a swing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Peaceful place, a garden with donkeys and a swing... Very clean, the room and the bathroom were lovely ! Fish restaurant recommended by the host. Sicilian prices and very nice ! Excellent breakfast salted & sweet. Fresh scrambled eggs, ham, pastries and croissant with flavour chosen the day before.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    A memorable stay in Piazza Amerina!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Salvatore was a wonderful host who did his utmost to assure us of a comfortable and tranquil stay in the lovely countryside of Piazza Amerina. It felt like we were visiting a nephew who kindly welcomed us with all sorts of great information about the area, and a fantastic breakfast - one we've never before experienced in a small B&B- superb and generous- including his fluffy, made-to-order omelette! We met his wonderfully friendly parents Valeria and Mario who enlivened our visit as did Salvatore's affectionate dogs, the "asini" and horse in the pasture. A very memorable visit! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    Best B & B in Sicilia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing bad to write about this B & B

    We loved our stay here, it is a wonderful place. Salvatore did his utmost to make our stay nice, he is a really pleasant and attentive host. The rooms and the house are pleasant, the garden is so nice to hang out in, the view onto the town is really pretty, and the donkeys are fun to watch. We stayed for 3 nights, partly hanging out lazily in the garden and partly making trips. Ah, and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    10
    One of the highlights of our trip-could only be improved by a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most comfortable bed since home; host was super-friendly, helpful, welcoming; treated us like we were his family; accommodations were perfect:impeccably clean, artistic, creative and incredibly modern in an old style farm-like setting that was right on the edge of this amazing historic town. We were served one of the best breakfasts on our trip including breads, pastries, fruit, and made to order omelets. We were given excellent directions and suggestions on what to see and where to go eat including great maps and pamphlets. If we had only known how good this was going to be we would have stayed much longer. What more can I say-magnificent part of our trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in a beautiful farmhouse 5 minutes from town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good!

    Beautiful setting, generous breakfast, very hospitable and friendly host. Rooms in the farmhouse are really well-designed. Donkeys were great fun to play with! Thanks to Salvatore for a great stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely "at home" place, and all to brief a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A comfy chair. It's late autumn, and cold outside, sothe outdoor life/seating isn't available.

    Lovely location, a wonderfully executed barn conversion(s) full of quirky modern art touches. Lashings of hot water. Great host who came out to find us when we got lost! Good places to eat in the historic town, local taxi there and back to save on some difficult driving.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    10
    A lost opportunity if missed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The place is a gem! It is quirky, environmentally friendly and super clean. Salvatore is like a travel agent and has so much knowledge about the history of his home town. It is obvious that he is passionate and determined to show off Piazza Armerina. Salvatore is also an amazing cook. He must have been up all night cooking because all of the cakes and biscuits which we had for breakfast, were cooked by him. His colleague was also very friendly and helpful and a superb cook too, especially her frittata! So delicious! We only had a night in Piazza Amerina and we could have done with a second day there. It is a good base point and is well located. Oh, I forgot to mention that it was a welcomed opportunity to stay in an idyllic rural setting and meet the adorable donkeys.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay, not so much for young people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Situated out of town which makes it impossible to walk there. We stayed for 2 nights which is a bit too long for a young couple since the town itself is really quiet. I would deffinitely reccomend the place for a stayover after you've seen the Villa or for older couples who are looking for some quiet surroundings. However if you like more fibrant places this is not the place to go to (that was our own fault of course and has nothing to do with the owner or accomodation).

    Nice decorated room, great breakfast, friendly people, hygiene is very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    10
    Best breakfast in Sicily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Salvatore was very knowledgeable about the entire area and helped plan our visit. He recommended great sites and restaurants. His wife baked amazing pastries for breakfast. His mother brought fresh tomatoes from her garden and cactus fruit for us to taste. Ester, who organized breakfast spoke excellent English and helped me with my Italian during breakfast. She explained about all of the food, made excellent cappuccino and was a delight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    9.6
    This B&B is a keeper, a great couple running it and a great social project built into it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here on our last night of an eight day car-tour of Sicily. It was the best value for money of the entire trip with an excellent breakfast of Sicilian produce, a great bed and a quiet night's sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    10
    Very nice accomodation and renovated with sense of art just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice accomodation and renovated with sense of art just outside the city center, . Very kind people with great advises for places to visit and eat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    10
    Loved the decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the decor. What a beautifully quirky place decorated by a local artist. The on site donkeys were a highlight. Great breakfast, loved the added touch of a freshly cooked omelette. lovely warm welcome. A 15 min walk to town for an evening meal and 10 mins from the mosaics so a great choice for a stop over.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gorgeous bed and breakfast, really friendly owner and staff who gave good advice about places to visit nearby, even where to park etc. A lovely breakfast made to order by a really charming lady. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    10
    Great B&B in outskirts of Piazza Armerina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit too far to walk to the restaurants in town...good choice of places to eat in town.

    Great host who welcomed us and gave us very good info about local sights. Best tip was the Byzantine Village which we wouldn't have found. He booked the guide for us too. Stephania was a great breakfast hostess ensuring we tried local food including pears from her own garden. Very interesting interior design. Great view of the cathedral from the patio. After you've seen Villa Romana go to Aidone Museum, small but interesting collection, and then Morgantina, which is the ruins of an ancient Greek town. There were hardly any other visitors when we walked around in completecontrast to Villa Romana. Between the museum and Morgantina we went for lunch in Sorsi d'Autore restaurant in Aidone. Excellent food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    10
    Lovely, very extensive homemade breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely, very extensive homemade breakfast. Beatifully renovated building, nice views and of course the donkeys next to the house are the best.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    10
    A little gem hidden away just outside of the town parameters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't fault the place - just wish we had booked more nights

    Warm greeting. Useful tips. Nice quite place. Didn't even know there were other guests until breakfast. Breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    10
    The wonderful staff, quiet location, views of the duomo,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wonderful staff, quiet location, views of the duomo, donkeys and deliciousness of breakfast. Many thanks to kind host Salvatore and the amazing Stepphania.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely agriturismo outside Piazza Armerina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This small B&B, really an agriturismo, is located 2km outside the city. Our GPS insisted on getting us there via a ridiculously narrow and rutted road, whereas it is readily accessible off a roundabout exiting a “normal” street only 300m away. Unfortunately the hotelier’s directions arrived after we left home, so I did not see them in time, hence our wilderness adventure. The owner was also not on the property when we arrived, but came quickly after a phone call. Without the phone call, we would have waited until another guest came and left, as there is an electric gate to pass through to access the property. Travel tip: Activate your cell for overseas use, for situations such as this, just in case. The property is lovely, a refurbished 200 yr old cottage (or barn) repurposed into a B&B. Our room was one of two above the breakfast room. All the amenities are there, including a/c, but the cool night air in early May made it unnecessary. Summer may tell a different story. We got a full rundown and brochures of the local area from our gracious hotelier Salvatore. The bed was a bit hard for my taste, as I prefer to sink in a bit. As the B&B is located outside town, we drove in, a 10 minute ride, and had a pleasant dinner at a local restaurant, La Tavernetta. Our one night stay was quiet and peaceful, and breakfast touched all the bases: juice, as much coffee as we needed, omelet, croissant, rolls, cheese, ham, cereal and fruit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay in Piazza Amerina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You need a car to get into town, but we knew that from the website.

    Salvatore and staff were very helpful, with lots of information on the town and surrounding area. Breakfast was filling, with hand made cannoli a real treat. Rooms were spacious, bed comfortable, and being outside town it was very quiet. Well located to visit Villa Romana and neighbouring towns like Castagirone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    10
    Wonderful place with very nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful place with very nice people Everything was perfect

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    A nice place, furnished with imagination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice place, furnished with imagination. Good breakfast. Lovely location with views.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Very nicely appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nicely appointed. Newly renovated and Salvatore our host was lovely and full of helpful info.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    8.3
    Great location for visiting the old town, who h is a must see!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good

    Good location, handy for the town. Friendly host and comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location breakfast Donkey’s room

    Excellent host and splendid room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    10
    Loved the unusual artworks and recycled objects repurposed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the unusual artworks and recycled objects repurposed in a creative way

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    10
    Great breakfast and comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great breakfast and comfy room. The place to stay in Piazza Armerina.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Lovely owner and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely owner and great breakfast! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    10
    Salvatore, the host, was very knowledgeable and gave us some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Salvatore, the host, was very knowledgeable and gave us some really good tips about what to see in the area. We also loved the donkeys!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.2
    Very stylish B and B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet didnt work at all

    Lovely breakfast and fantastic hosts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    Tranquil setting, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Helpful and friendly host. Tranquil setting but very convenient for attractions. Donkeys and their braying a amusing addition. Generous breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.9
    It was pleasant, host was welcoming.Hard to find, a bit too remote for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Locating N

    Great bed & sheets great breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    The whole package
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole package

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again if in region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Art is contemporary, quirky, marvelous

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.6
    Very kind host and extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very kind host and extremely helpful. Salvatore was amazing in recommending locations to visit, things to do and places to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    Perfect place , wonderful host
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect place , wonderful host

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    A really great place to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Every thing was great. The room is very nice, great hospitality, very reasonable price, amazing breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    10
    Next time we'll stay a bit longer😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Salvatore is a Genius. His hospitality and his breakfast is amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    9.2
    Staff was great. Fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Off the beaten track.

    Fun and original artwork throughout.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    10
    Perfect to see the Roman villa mosaics - a must.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing not to like. It was lovely.

    Unusual but really tastefully accommodation. A really beautiful setting outside the town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    10
    Everything is Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing To say

    Everything is Perfect Peuple are very kind and helpfull

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    extremely welcoming host, with very comfortably accommodation and a delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    spotlessly clean. Modern decor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    9.6
    The quality aesthetics and cleanliness of the property, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The quality aesthetics and cleanliness of the property, the worm welcome and good guidance by Salvatore

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    10
    Artfully created rooms in rural setting with easy access to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Salvatore is extremely helpful in meeting the needs of the guests. He gave lots of valuable information on local attractions and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    10
    Amazing breakfast, lovely decoration and very kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing breakfast, lovely decoration and very kind staff. Perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely breakfast and warm friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely breakfast and warm friendly people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2016

    10
    Owner very helpful and knowledgeable about Sicily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner very helpful and knowledgeable about Sicily Tips on other things to see very useful We loved the donkeys and dogs And breakfast was divine A lovely place to stay

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2016

    9.2
    Salvatore the owner is a gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Salvatore the owner is a gem! The place is adorable. Charming, brand new and full of whimsy. Only complaint we had was the place S. recommended for dinner - a very long drive and not worth it.

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2016

    10
    The hospitality was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's a bit difficult to locate because of erratic mobile and satellite signal and new name of street. Could benefit with a few road signs pointing to it.

    The hospitality was excellent. Very friendly owner who welcomed us with cold drinks and prepared a very good breakfast. Loved the donkeys in the paddock!

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2016

    9.6
    The owner made us to feel as an old friend from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too short stay. We had to leave.

    The owner made us to feel as an old friend from the beginning of our arriving. The design of the property is very nice, out of the box and high quality. In the rural surroundings of Piazza Armerina makes the place special and relaxing. Very close to Villa Romana del Casale by car. The breakfast was delicious. Salvatore, grazie mille per la tua cannolo siciliano delizioso e arivederci. Definitively a place to come back.

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2016

    10
    It is hard to write in a review the many special memories of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is hard to write in a review the many special memories of our time with Salvatore. Our children fell in love with his beautiful donkeys and the two dogs. This is a great B&B, delicious breakfasts (made by the lovely Ester) and rooms that are so clean you could eat your dinner off the floor. The B&B is in a beautiful setting and the rooms are quirky and arty. Thank you for a magical stay!

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2016

    9.6
    Everything was so perfect and Salvatore was indeed a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was so perfect and Salvatore was indeed a great host who made everything possible so that we enjoy our stay at his place: decoration, local and home-made breakfast, photography with my kids and the donkeys, indications of a great seafood restaurant with great value for money, etc. Name it, he helped with it;-) The location is a bit outside the town (too many cars at night to wander around with the kids) but on the other side, it was very quiet. I would highly recommend this place and would definitely go back to it with pleasure. The Quercia e l'Asino is a perfect illustration of what high standard B&B should be.

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2016

    10
    Sicily is full of warm, helpful, charming people, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sicily is full of warm, helpful, charming people, and Salvatore, owner and host of B&B La Quercia e l'Asino, must surely top the list. He came in his car to find us when we were lost, offered refreshment on our arrival, and gave us a tour of his beautiful property, of which he is justly proud. He was unbelievably gracious, even volunteering to lead us into the old town for dinner, then calling for pizza because we were too tired to venture out. I should not neglect to mention the lovely facility, perfectly renovated and maintained. Last but not least, the beds are comfortable, the water is hot, and the home-made breakfast is delcious. If we are ever again in PIazza Armerina, we will not dream of staying anywhere else! Ann, Fred, and Sam

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2016

    10
    Proprietor was excellent and provided lots of information of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was hard to find even with GPS but Salvatore came and guided us.

    Proprietor was excellent and provided lots of information of there to eat, what to see, etc. Terrific place for kids with lots of outdoor space to play and watch the donkeys.

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2015

    10
    Very clean, with comfortable rooms, quite for a good sleep,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything perfect!

    Very clean, with comfortable rooms, quite for a good sleep, well located, safe and offering a great breakfast! The place is a real piece of art for many reasons. The host, Salvatore, is one of them.

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2015

    9.6
    Architect-designed, beautifully decorated and maintained...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Drive or taxi to town (but worth being outside)

    Architect-designed, beautifully decorated and maintained country cottage with a welcoming, engaging owner - full of knowledge about the area and passionate about the country and its nature.

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2015

    10
    The property, five minutes out of historic Piazza Armerina...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property, five minutes out of historic Piazza Armerina town by taxi or car, consists of two lovingly converted historic stone farm houses on a small working farm which are very comfortable; good for families with kids, there are four donkeys in the property as well. A great base to visit the Villa Romana del Casale. Note you will need car or taxi to get around. Staff are very friendly and spoke English. Breakfast provided by the host was very good.

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2015

    10
    In all our travels, this would have to come close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In all our travels, this would have to come close to the best we have stayed in. The accommodation is a livable art gallery with extraordinary hosts, Salvador, Esther, 4 donkeys and puppy. The breakfast feast and tranquil rural surroundings make a perfect holiday.

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2015

    10
    Exceptional place with a touch of individual approach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptional place with a touch of individual approach. Very nicely decorated rooms. Thanks again to Salvatore and Ester for their courtesy and hospitality. Ci vendiamo !

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2015

    9.6
    The room was clean with comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None.

    The room was clean with comfortable bed. Breakfast was good. Salvatore and family made us feel welcomed. My 5 yo son had an enjoyable time playing with his daughter Giorgia and with the donkeys. His mama was nice to go out and get my wife some local plant, fruits and nuts. Highly recommended for families with kids.

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic design, quirky,very clean rooms furnished...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic design, quirky,very clean rooms furnished comfortably to high quality. The breakfast was excellent with fresh bread rolls, cakes, ham and cheese.We loved donkeys running freely around the garden. We only stayed one night and the weather wasn't great (October) but can imagine how great and relaxing it is in sunny days. Lack of the swimming pool is a disappointment so still some room for improvement. It is about 20-30 min walk from the town centre which may not be ideal to some, especially with walking difficulties.Piazza Armerina itself is really nice and picturesque. We were truly surprised as it's only mentioned in travel guides as a place close to beatuiful Villa Romana (by the way, highly recommended). Do see the town while you there! Salvatore, the host, will kindly provide the map of the town and all necessary info about tratorias and places worth seeing. Bit expensive but over all it is a great place!!!

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2015

    10
    The accommodation was quirky, comfortable and very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A good map would have helped us find it more easily.

    The accommodation was quirky, comfortable and very clean with good shared kitchen and dining facilities. Lovely breakfast! There are lovely outside spaces for families with views across the valley and, of course, the four donkeys to entertain. The owner was very welcoming and extremely helpful (and his Mum) in helping us cover a broken rear windscreen following a car accident. They both went out of their way to assist in finding materials and made a repair that lasted another week. Good luck to them in growing what feels like a new and growing project. It is a good and high quality base for seeing some of Sicily's ancient treasures.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse La Quercia e l'Asino Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: