Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B Residenze La Mongolfiera

Via Guido Guinizzelli 1, 50133 Florence, Italy

#455 of 536 B&Bs and Inns in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 100 B&B reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Very pretty room old italian style.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our arrival. We were actually trying to contact him from our cellphone (which wasn’t an italian number ) a couple of hours before our arrival at the structure but he wasn’t responding. So as we got there we had to wait 20 minutes less or more for someone to arrive. But the room was fantastic and them quite nice after.

    Very pretty room old italian style..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    A disappointing experience, to say the least
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our 6 night stay we met only one member of the staff, upon our arrival, and only to take our money and never bring back the receipt. During our 6 night stay we never had our towels and bed sheets replaced or our room cleaned. There seemed to be a kitchen but it was always locked so we had a very hard time eating the breakfast we bought at the supermarket (breakfast which by the way is not provided by this "B&B"). There were about 20 mosquitoes in the room when we arrived so mosquito spray is a must. The property never answered any of our emails and phone calls. Had they answered we would have asked for our money back and looked for another place to stay.

    The location is pretty nice in a neighborhood full of good looking villas, close to the road leading to Fiesole.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    The room was clean and large and the staff were helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we were surprised that in an advertised B&B that there was no breakfast. The bed was not not at all comfy. The room has bare basics no cups and very limited toiletries. The air conditioner was fickle and loud but kept us nice and cool

    The room was clean and large and the staff were helpful and quick to answer questions. Great location easy to walk into town and get food and groceries. Bus stop was at the top of the road and came frequently.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast. We had to pay a deposition, which was not clearly informed about on the booking site. There was no staff available during check-in hours so we had to make a lot of calls and wait for a long time before someone came to let us in.

    Nice bathroom. Quiet and relaxing area to stay in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    Excellent location in Florence, terrible ownership.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The way the B&B is managed is a challenge to the imagination. By phone, they asked for additional money just because I arrived at dinner time (?), the request was utterly rejected from my side. At the time of check-in, they pretended to be paid by cash, because of lack of credit/debit card facilities (however, the Italian law requires it!). Last but not least, they made many problems for issuing a receipt (although cash was presented). I indicated that in lack of receipt I would have withhold the payment, they threatened to cancel the booking (!!) for the night. So I was forced to indicate the possibility to settle this in front of some police officer. Ultimately, I paid by cash, and they sent me a receipt by email. On the day after, no breakfast was available in the morning. In conclusion, I will never go there anymore, but I want to highlight that the responsibility for the above is not with the receiving staff (a very nice and accommodating lady), but with the owners themselves.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.3
    Poor communication and limited facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Communication from staff was poor. On the day we were due to check in we had to ring/message the staff multiple times before getting a reply, which meant we were stuck in the centre with our bags. We also had a few issues with the apartment - Wifi didn't reach the room we were in and there was also a coffee machine in the lobby for guest use, however it was never stocked with coffee. When we contacted the host on Whatsapp regarding these issues we never received a reply, despite them having seen the message.

    Located in a nice area a little bit out of Florence centre with easy transport links

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.0
    Bed too hard, staff not helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not very helpfull after we told then the bed was too uncomfortable. Instead of offering any solutions, the Hotel owner (?) called to tell us the beds are "very good actually" and only I insisted several times, he offered some additional blankets (which was not helping mich against the very hard matress).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    excellent Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Great value and a great stay. Further from the city than most hotels but the bus stop is round the corner and a short ride will take you near the famous bridge and train station

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    3.8
    the most unsafe hotel I have ever stayed in my whole life
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You have to send several messages to arrange check in. Anybody, even terrorists, can easily get in and stay in the hotel, once you know the combination to the entrance. There is no humans, no staff, in the hotel. Felt very unsafe.

    Quiet environment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    2.9
    one to pick to experience Italian inconvenience.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no staff at the hotel. unable to send email to contact them. unable to contact via telephone. between check-in time, no staff was at the hotel. after 1 hour or so, I received another telephone number. finally able to contact one of the staff, but had to wait another 30 mins to get in to the hotel. Asked a question to the staff, who could not give me the answer and promised to send me the respond via sms, which I never received. Disfunctional hotel.

    the environment was quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a lit bit away from the centre but easy to get a bus from there to the centre. So if u dont care about the distance,it totally worths it.

    The location was great. A really nice neighbourhood near a river. It was peaceful and beautiful. The room very spacious and nice. The woman that works there was very helpful even before we arrived there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.1
    - very nice and comfortable room with huge windows and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - at our check in the room was dirty - so good audibility - we heard the neighbors behind the wall takes water treatments

    - very nice and comfortable room with huge windows and vintage shutters - friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.1
    Good location, in a safe, quite residential area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The air conditioning was very noisy, kept me awake for most of the night, to hot to sleep without it. Bust service to the residence was irregular and unpredictable.

    The staff were very help and attentive. Breakfast was plentiful, but stayed for six nights so needed to be more varied.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    8.8
    A Pleasant Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Mosquitoes. I personally can’t stand even one in my room, and there were like 2-3 every night. I had a mosquito repellant spray that didn’t really work. But apparently it’s a local problem, and in the end I’d rather deal with 2-3 mosquitoes, than have every flying insect killed like in my city.

    Nice quiet place 2-3 km from the city center. If you don’t want to walk (we didn’t), there is a bus nearby: 1B to Guinizzelli station to get there, and 1 from Buffalmacco to get to the city center. The room was ok, with a powerful air conditioner if you need it, and a clean bathroom with a shower. The breakfast was good and varied, with coffee (espresso or cappuccino), fruit juice, salami, prosciutto, yellow cheese, and cookies. There were other things: tea, cereals, milk, butter, jam, etc, but I haven’t really tried them. Overall, a very good price/quality ratio.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    8.8
    Escape away from the hustle and bustle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little far but, there is a bus that stops right out the front of the bed and breakfast.

    The air conditioner was great and the breakfast available also made the start to our day so much easier!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice and big cozy room, very helpful staff, nice location, easy access to the city center

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    3.8
    Rooms are smell like someone smokes inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are smell like someone smokes inside. Breakfast was a joke!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    9.2
    I really loved the friendliness of the staff and readiness...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some brighter lighting can be a plus.

    I really loved the friendliness of the staff and readiness to help, the cleanliness and spaciousness of the room, and the nice, multi-course dinner you can enjoy at the Residenze if you are too exhausted after a long day to search for a restaurant. It was also great that there were no mosquitoes.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    9.6
    I stayed here with my friend for 2 nights and we felt happy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I stayed here with my friend for 2 nights and we felt happy to choose this place. The room is very nice, comfotable and clean. The wifi was falling out sometimes but we didn't mind it so much. Even if we didn't use it, the hotel offers breakfast and dinner and I believe it's very good. The staff is very friendly and kind. It's true that the city center is quite far from here (35 - 40 minutes by walk) but we expect it so it wasn't problem for us. We also rented bikes for one day and it was very funny experience. The bikes definitely need some service but I believe that thanks to their bad condition we had much more fun!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.3
    Fairly decent location where the bus takes you straight to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were bitten by more mosquitoes in the room than we were in the last 20 years, and it's evident that we were not the only ones by the countless mosquito carcasses that have dried to the walls.

    Fairly decent location where the bus takes you straight to old town-- watch out for tickets though, because ATAF rides on the bus and will try to legally steal from you if you don't validate the ticket properly. There was AC and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was great and the staff was awesome. Parking is convenient and the place was very safe.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.5
    Pretty nice place away from the noise of the center but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Didn't make the beds or organize the room like in other hotels or B and B

    Pretty nice place away from the noise of the center but close enough to visit all the important monuments!

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.9
    Excellent staff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Downstairs room very dark and really just a place to rest your head

    Excellent staff and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    10
    Very good place!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Very good place!!! Really I recommend this House!!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.6
    Very nice traditional building, air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No check in 24 hours per day

    Very nice traditional building, air conditioning

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    8.8
    Location very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't make a cup of tea

    Location very good.quiet area

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    6.7
    bit far from the city center, but a convenient bus direct to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bit far from the city center, but a convenient bus direct to center very close. Parking is available but not free (10 euro per day) .helpful staff

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Browse B&B Residenze La Mongolfiera traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: