Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Frediano Mansion

Via Borgo San Frediano 8, Santo Spirito, 50124 Florence, Italy

#372 of 536 B&Bs and Inns in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 653 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Parking was important for me, drive there was a little worry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was important for me, drive there was a little worry some but everything worked out, it did not look like you would think with the pictures but in the end most counted for us location a need, air condition and bathroom, that all was offered

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    3.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was filthy. I am still itching. The bed had bed bugs and the sheets had the weirdest smell. Also, when I asked to use the restroom after I came back to pick up my luggage, they didn't let me use it.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Happily visit again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Luck off fridge, not well soundproofed room

    The hostess was friendly and helpful , the building was very atmosferic, the location was very close to the main sightseings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic place in awsome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility is very close to the center of Florence (2 min walking). The room had a fresco on the ceiling and a beautiful view on the river and the city center. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Great room, good staff, too small bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is minuscule and difficult to use comfortably. Building is under construction and it would be fair to warn prospective guests of that.

    Excellent location, very accommodating concierge, very large room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    What a lovely place to stay in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a lovely place to stay in Florence. The ceilings are stunning as is the view out over the garden and the river! Alessandro was a helpful and very welcoming host. This is a fantastic neighbourhood to stay in, lots of cool places to eat or drink and still very close to the main attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall the room was very good and clean. Happy with it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the beds were a little too old and squeaky . Area was a little out and buses were limited.

    Large spacious room with a view of the river. Room was larger than I expected. Felt safe. Owner was very pleasant .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator was very small but important to go to 3rd floor.

    Owner arranged parking which was very convenient. Made a number of phone calls to return lost luggage. Room was very large and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    We were pleased with the area apart from minor things
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a hug but no cups, tea, coffee or milk. Not sure what the jug was for. Renovations disrupted morning sleep

    Easy access to all sights Very safe area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect. Alessandro was helpful friendly and charming his recommendations for local restaurants were excellent The history and architecture of the palazzo were amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very loud, you could hear the people above walking and talking.

    We had a big room with seperate livingroom and a frigde. Room was very clean. Location was great, you can walk to all the sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location for exploring Florence and alessandro was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for exploring Florence and alessandro was really helpful. Room had xtra comfy bed and was v quiet with the windows shut. Lots of space in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.2
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very bad

    very disappointed. the room was very old and the bed very uncomfortable. during our stay there was work in the building that had a bad smell of paint which we could smell it all the time and a lot of dust, the lift did not work most of the time and we had to upstairs between strong smell of paint and a lot of dust. We’ve asked to move room and they said the hotel is fully booked and I think at least they can have a more comfortable beds even though our room was a economy room it does not mean the worst . I do not recommend this place. A lot of noise during the whole day. During our stay we had no chance of resting and i couldn’t wait to leave. I've been to many places and this place was the worst.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderfull large rooms in an old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderfull large rooms in an old building. Perfect located, just away from the crowd but on walking distance of the highlights. A lot of restaurants in this part of town (I recommend Ristorante Santo Spirito 5 minutes walk).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    The position is excellent, bed was comfortable enough,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too narrow bathroom not all rooms have lovely ceilings as shown on the pictures

    The position is excellent, bed was comfortable enough, it was clean, staff friendly and helpful but the ceiling was not as on the picture. It is a cosy room, but not the same as the pictures show

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    For us it was a pleasure to experience an old palazzo which has original elements in some areas
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In an excellent location, San Freddiano Mansion is part of an interesting and enormous old palazzo dating from the 1600's. Alessandro, the new owner of the hotel, is very kind and helpful and plans to extensively restore the spaces and return them to the way they were in the 1600's. Some work is already being done on the ground floor entry and main staircase. There is an elevator. The hotel is on the 2nd floor. This hotel, while not yet in a finished state, is pleasant and comfortable--is for those who like genuine places. I liked the grand room of the reception area, and we stayed in Room 1, a very large high-ceilinged room with a frescoed ceiling, which despite the busy street below is quiet, because you have the option of closing a double window has been installed. It will be interesting to see what Alessandro does with this hotel, which is a work in progress. I would stay there again. The neighborhood is in the Altarno across the river--the Florence of the Florentines, is near the Piazza Carmine with the Brancacci Chapel, not far from the Pitti Place and the Ponte Vecchio. It was not a bad taxi fare to get to the train station as the hotel is near a corner which connects to a bridge across the river, thus much closer than it would seem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    It is so central but in a side street so not noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do need more than net curtains on the bathroom windows.

    It is so central but in a side street so not noisy. The building is ancient around 15th century I think. Our room even had an original fresco on the ceiling. They are still doing a lot of reparation work on it but that was no problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Good to be on the south side of the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked basic mugs, plates and cutlery so that we could make use of the fridge and kettle. Economy room had poor outlook.

    Plenty of space, sofa, table and chairs provided. Fridge and kettle unexpectedly provided. Liked the quieter aspect of position, from which it was very easy to reach the historic centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Old hotel, which I liked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture shabby

    Old hotel, which I liked. Just a little shabby, needs to be updated. Staff friendly & very helpful. Location was great. Beds comfortable, large fluffy towels, good hot water. I would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    It was a nice one night stay at San Frediano Mansion near to river and 15 mins walk to SMN station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though the room was economy category, the bed could have been more comfortable. The building is from 15th century, so the entrance gives scary vibe. The elevator is too small and old.

    The property is neat and well structured. Bathroom was clean and rooms are well equipped with Air Conditioner,Electric kettle, internet, TV,toiletries and luggage storage at reception. Bus stop at the entrance makes moving in the city easy. The host, Alessandro was welcoming and prompt to help. Most of the city attractions are at walking distance of 10-15 mins such as Duomo, San Lorenzo market, Ponte Vecchio, Piazzale Michalengelo(20 mins uphill)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    A fabulous place from which to begin our stay in Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had misunderstood the initial listing, and thought this was a B&B (apparently it was in the past, but now has new management). It is a small, lovely hotel, but there is no food or coffee. The bathroom is quite spacious, but the shower stall is quite small.

    We had a spectacular view of the city from our room! The room was enormous and very comfortable. We had easy, scenic access to every part of Florence. There were excellent restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    The room style and ambience, and the view is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance was bit scary since there was construction, but it's under renovation, so it should be better after its done

    The room style and ambience, and the view is amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be perfect if had breakfast...

    The building is amazing! Although it is under reform, it is a landmark of 15th century architecture. And it has a modern elevator! The establishment is in the hearth of the city, then you can go everywhere by walking. About the room, it is large, like an apartment, and it is very quiet and comfortable. Alessandro, the host, is a very nice guy and speaks many languages.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    In the spirit of Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were impressed by the size of the hall, windows, doors. Since we arrived in Florence to feel the soul of the ancient city, the apartments with immersion in the era helped us a lot. There are many cafes and restaurants nearby. Very close to historical places.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Really loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better map as there was a nearer bridge to it from the station

    The view of the river. The age of the building. The area was brilliant. New tiny pop-up bars & eateries, even a vegetarian restaurant- delicious. Very good hot water. Very quiet for sleeping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    The location is just great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty cold (January). It has a conditioner but it doesn’t really help at night. And there are badsheet and blanket offered separately which is not really convenient. Anyway it wasn’t actually a big problem

    The location is just great. Five minutes from the city center, but the area is wonderful itself (personally I think it is even better with all that authentically Italian reataurants and no tourists). We also liked the room, really big and clean, felt like an old beautiful Italian flat. Definitely recommend this place and this area to stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't perfectly clean and shower door wasnt moving smoothly, but these minor issues wouldn't stop me from returning

    Spacious rooms. Helpful staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Make sure that staff know when you are turning up, or you may have to wait in the street, with no shelter
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dark, basic furniture. B&B without breakfast.

    Large room, great old palace with high frescoed ceilings and a lift that works, very central but quiet, very helpful manager.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Handsome, large, very Florentine and convenient to everything at minimal cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Furniture was over the hill but ok for the limited use.

    Minimal amenities in a large, handsome space. nearby is the best of Florence--coffee shops, bakery, poetic squares, little reason to be in the room, but the room was Florentine to the hilt. Why spend the money on the room when you want to be outside?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location, no kettle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment is spacious: big bedroom, diningroom with small fridge, on-suite bathroom and a second seperate toilet. It doesn't however, have adequate windows and natural light or even adequate electrical light and is a bit cave-like if I may describe it like that. It also doesn't have any coffee/tea facilities which is a but rediculous seeing that it would only require one small kettle!

    The location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Mansion supervisor Antonio was excelent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mansion supervisor Antonio was excelent! He reserved a garage for a car, recomended closest local restorans and pizzeria. The place is clean, quiet and nice. Location in the best part of Florence.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    A LITTLE BIT COLD BUT ABSOLUTELY LOVELY SURPRISE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WE HAD A LOVELY TEMPERATURE UNTIL 21:00, AFTERWARDS, THE HEATING WAS CLOSED AND WE WERE COLD AT NIGHT. ALSO, THE WALLS WERE PAPER-THIN SO YOU COULD HEAR YOUR NEIGHBOURS TALKING.

    THE VIEW WAS STUNNING, THE ROOM IS VERY SPACIOUS, THE STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND WILLING TO HELP YOU, THE LOCATION VERY GOOD, THE BED REALLY BIG AND COMFY.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Not perfect but a good place to stay for a few nights
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was reasonably clean (it was serviced every day), the shower was quite mouldy, which took the shine off things a little (pardon the pun). Although there was a fridge provided, there was no tea or coffee making facilities. Also, given breakfast was not provided, some plates, bowls and cutlery in the room would have been handy. The walls were quite thin, so we got to know our neighbours far too well.

    Great location, by being just south of the river you are just out of the craziness of the main tourist drag but still very close to everything. As the hotel isn't in the most hectic tourist area, there are many small independent boutiques and lovelly restaurants in the area. The guys were very pleasant and gave us great advice on where to eat and what to see in the local area upon arrival. The room was comfortable, and contained the best beds I've come across in Italy so far on this trip. Being on the second floor of a historic palazzo, the hotel had a lot of historic character. The window through the false ceiling to the original fresco was also a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was having a little bit of trouble and the bathroom was pretty small but we got a great price and the hot water returned once we fiddled around with it for a bit so no major issues with the property

    The hotel was in a great location and the heater in the room was working well. The bed was comfortable and the room was huge with lounge chairs and a coffee table which meant we could spend time in the room without having to sit on the bed which was nice. The room had large windows with shutters so it could be a sunny or as dark as you wanted - great for a sleep in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    nice place for short stay in Florence, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location and atmosphere like in the middle ages :-)

    very good location. rooms are big, but building is old and furniture and rooms also bathrooms need some renovation. but its nice for short stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    The guys who ran the hotel were SUPER nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor was outdated. Some work needs to be done to the hotel. But, it is a good property overall. Lots of history.

    The guys who ran the hotel were SUPER nice. There was a massive traffic jam, so they met us at the train station and carried our luggage back to the hotel, which was just a 15 minute walk. Hotel could be more modernized.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic place to stay in Florence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wish I had an ensuite bathroom, I rented the unit with a private external bathroom.

    Service was fantastic, the people were super friendly and accomodating. The neighbourhood was just a short walk from the centre of Florence. Room was always cleaned and fresh towels and sheets provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Awesome experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no corkscrew in the flat which is very rare for Italy :)

    The flat was really outstanding itself and you can walk all around the city centre from this location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    Money well spend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a little hard, but so are a lot of the Italian beds I think... Room was a little dark and there was no view. The worst part were the neighbours, who you could hear loud and clear. We had room nr. 11 and you can experience an Italian family waking up around 07:15am.

    Rooms were very spacious. Easy to walk to the city centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    We were delighted to stay in such a great location with such a fantastic view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was huge, had a fantastic view and the ceiling was absolutely incredible. It was situated in a really great part of Florence - with lots of interesting streets, boutiques and places to eat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    good value. slightly weird entrance but don't let that put you off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no breakfast, no kettle to make tea or microwave. plenty of space for that to be available, I think they are working on it.

    The two brothers who run it are trying to make it go. The room was huge and pretty and the beds were comfy. great location - easy to walk to everything. very safe area. overall, good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Unusual but uncomfortable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - uncomfortable beds - loud reception just behind the door with the tourists checking in-out - uncomfortable feeling like if you stayed for a night in a museum that were visiting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Great price, great location, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room is very impressive with its size and the high and decorated ceiling, the shower is quite poor and it's time to get rid of the flour carpet and it is old and with stains which even if it's clean makes you feel like it's not.

    The guy at the reception was extremely nice, took care of the car, he parked it and brought it back to us. Helped with restaurant recommendation etc. good service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    Large comfy room, basic but perfectly adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decor a bit dated.

    Beautiful old reception lounge (amazing chandelier). Very helpful and friendly staff. Able to leave our bags after we checked out. We had some difficulty using our keys - owners were quickly there after a phone call. A short walk into the main centre of Florence. Large comfortable room on second floor (lift available)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely accommodation good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom a bit small - but not a show stopper

    The room was beautiful and so big. The location was perfect with everything within walking distance. And the resturants in the area are amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    an oasis of calm, and space, affordable down at heels luxury/
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the furniture in the suite is funky, so is the moquette. the shower was a little worm. I understand they are in the process of upgrading, redoing the rooms, under a new direction that has just taken over the property. They have a lot to do. No breakfast was served and there was no electric kettle the room did have a small fridge. reading light is low.

    we had a suite, with a spacious living room, and a comfortable bed in a villa from the 1400's. It was surpising and delightful to be in the villa, and reasonably priced.The villa quiet and wonderfully restorative, while the neighborhood is lively. It's filled with interesting jazz bars, cafes and great ice cream. Great night life, close to the river. wonderful accessible on foot from the station, a bus stop just outside. Still it's better to be a walker if you stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    Het was een prima verblijf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was perfect, we were lucky having a room inside, no view but therefore also no noises from the busy street. Our room needed some repair and modernisation. The owners, nice brothers are well aware of this costly issue.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    I would not hesitate to stay in this pleasant B&B again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was construction noise from within the building in the afternoon just when we wanted to rest.

    The location and staff. Value for money. We had a view of the Arno, but the building was set back from the road, so did not hear traffic. The room is basic, but bright and clean. It is easy walking distance from Santo Spirito, nice restaurants, and pleasant neighborhood.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out is early with a hangover..

    Excellent location. The brothers who run it are lovely and helpful. Huge room! Lovely view! Great value for money! Highly reccomend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Fair price, friendly staff, good choice even for a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the tourist attractions though in the surrounding streets one might find some beautiful streets. I would recommend it either for families or couples and even for lone travelers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    I can't wait to return to Florence and stay at San Ferdiano Mansion again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were welcomed in the best, the most friendly way. The room exceeded all the possible expectations, it looked exactly as shown on the pictures, large and gorgeous, clean and neat, and the city view is just spectacular. Everything is walking distance away, very close, and the place is situated just minutes away from very nice restaurants and bars, however despite that you can still get your quiet peaceful night. As well, just around the corner you can find the best gelateria in town if you have a guilty pleasure for some ice cream for breakfast :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    The location is great to walk to many historic attractions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great to walk to many historic attractions yet far enough for the location to be quite. We had a wonderful stay there. The staff is great too! When we asked for dinner recommendations to get the famous fiorentine steak, they made the reservations for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Best address for families and group travellers - will exceed your expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absoltely nothing

    The room is fantastic, much more beautiful than in the proposed pictures... Huge room, and well stuffed, paintings on the roof. Wonderful view! Extremely helpful and kind staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    An authentic Florentine experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is incredible; high ceilings, beautiful old painting on the roof. It was a truly authentic Florentine experience. I couldn't recommend it enough!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable and clean, nothing glamorous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't quite as described. It was old, but clean. The staff was nice, but did not speak English as well as I thought they might and couldn't offer much help in terms of navigating and transportation assistance.

    It was a nice location and the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nill

    Building was old but maintained well.. amazing work if art on the roof.. bedroom was spacious and cozy.. river view from the window was cherry on top.. staff was courteous and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    4.2
    Host were never present.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host were never present. Electricity of our room has gone. And we couldnt reach the guy for a day. He were not there and didnt responded to phones. A day without air conditioner, fridge, light, phone charge... And even he was not there in time of checkout. So we just had to leave keys and gone. It was a mistake for us staying here.

    Decent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    The brothers that run the hotel are very nice and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The brothers that run the hotel are very nice and very accommodating. They helped my friend call a cab, and allowed me to stow my luggage with them for a few hours before my train left for Rome. We stayed in a very large, clean room and the area felt very safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Parking is an issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait about an hour for the garage with whom deze accommodation has an agreement. Fortunately after 35 minutes the owner of the place offer to wait by the car for the garage. So we could start our exploration.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness in the room is desirable, I refer both to the carpet that smells but also to the painting in the room, the bathroom is very small compared to the room and is made with a minimum budget.

    Very spacious room, comfortable bed, good location of the hotel, very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    The area is fantastic, close to the river and walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection not very good

    The area is fantastic, close to the river and walking distance from main attractions. Beautiful historical building. Very attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Great Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinking water would be appreciated. :) It was late when we realized that we ran out and there wasn't any vending machines at the hotel.

    We loved Tiziana! She was very fast in replying online and she let us leave our large suitcases at the hotel a day before we check-in. The location was good, within walking distance to restaurants. The building was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.3
    Great location and great staff but not very comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was bad, we showered because we had to but there was almost no water out of the shower head and you couldn't hang it on the wall, also it was quit old and not comfortable. Hostel style. The bed was really hard and not comfortable. We had a room on the street side which made it hard to sleep if you are a light sleeper with bars downstairs. Which is great if you are there to party!

    Staff was extremely helpful and nice. Location was perfect walking distance to everything. Our dog was welcome for free and they valet parked our car for 1€ Per our. Really cool building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.0
    Uncomfortable, but great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was uncomfortable. I could feel the coils beneath me. The room was near a lounge area and our neighboring room had a very loud child.

    Hip location and restaurants were good. I now LOVE Florence. Beautiful city filled with culture, art, music, fashion and value shopping.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.9
    Spacious, clean, centrally located, close to all amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bfast not included. We were told that there was a tuscany pastry shop below the premises but we never found this. Entrance requires refurbishment

    Spacious, clean, centrally located, close to all amenities. Classical style. Gd value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.2
    15 th century palazzo in vibrant young area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is nice to have a kettle to make a drink sometimes. But there is a cafe bar next door which is open late at night. In Italy you do need to have your phone with you. During the morning there is a helpful person there who speaks Engish but we arrived at night so you need a cell phone to announce you are outside and I think the owner let us in .

    Everything! But primarily the location. This is a local area with lots of bars and small eating places , independent shops and very near to the major sights. The room was lovely and very spacious, there is a frescoed sitting room next to it. There is no breakfast but we were recommended a wonderful bakery nearby which was far cheaper than what you would find over the bridge. We very disappointed that we had to leave but we had already booked other accommodation elsewhere before we found out about this place. Would be my first choice next time.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    Good value for money and handy location...pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing in the bathroom could be better but it is an old building and is reasonable for its star rating

    The owner was very pleasant and helpful. Location handy to Centre of town and room was nice and quiet and spacious. Overall good value for Money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.3
    Great building terrible bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was the worst I've ever had at a hotel/ b&b. The shower head wasn't wall mounted, and the drain was very slow. After my girlfriend showered I was forced to stand in ankle deep soapy water while I showered. On top of that opening the shower stall door flooded the small bathroom most mornings. The rest of the accommodations made up for most of it, but the shower was truly terrible. Hair dryer was provided but not compatible with the outlet.

    Solid location, amicable staff, unique room with ceiling painting, and interesting building with history.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    10
    The building itself was a dream, the giant wood doors and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building itself was a dream, the giant wood doors and the gate and stone stairs. It just felt very upscale. For the price, the room was much much nicer than I expected. The property manager upgraded us to a room with a private enclosed bathroom. The room was very large and there were a ton of pillows on the bed. The location couldn't have been more perfect, very close to all of the museums and walking distance to everything we wanted to see. It's tucked away on a side street a little further from the mass of tourists, so it was easier to find places to eat that weren't packed with tourists. Just perfect all around.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    A view so beautiful it almost hurts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything.

    Having a room with a view was an unexpected surprise. The view of the Arno was beyond beautiful. The 15th century building was also extraordinarily beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure to arrive by check in time, as we only managed to get in by sheer chance, due to the door being improperly locked and with the intervention of two women staying in the adjacent b&b.

    Staff were absolutely charming, eager to chat and offer help or snacks. The rooms were incredible! The feeling of being in a 17th century mansion was surreal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    8.8
    Ciao San Frediano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good for arriving by car.

    The friendly staff. Especially Paola was very friendly. The location was great also. A lot of restaurants and some bars around. Close to city center.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower's temperature regulation was fuzzy.

    The lady at the reception was very friendly and. She gave us directions tipped us for interesting places. The room was spacious, the view gorgeous, the location ner the Ponte Vecchio was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.3
    A comfortable stay in a large room with very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water took a long time to go down the sink, think there was a drainage issue.

    The staff were so helpful, they helped us to book onto a wine tour & arranged our taxi to the airport. The room was really large with a big comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Great Stay - Great Location - Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really loved our stay there. The staff was very accommodating to help me out with a mistake I had made, didn't charge me anything extra and even upgraded us to a better room, just because it was available. Great service. We will definitely book there again if we were to come back.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse San Frediano Mansion traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: