Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes

Contrada Bruderi 27/29, 98039 Giardini Naxos, Italy

#6 of 53 B&Bs and Inns in Giardini Naxos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 125 B&B reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.8
    Outlook from windows and terrace.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The landowners are not able to speak English at all. Accounting system is not up to date, IT is not connected. Quite poor accounting.

    Outlook from windows and terrace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Very nice environment, the landlady extremely kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice environment, the landlady extremely kind. Very well organized and clean. Perfect position out of the crowd of the seashore but enough close to get there easily and fast enough.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Amazing place and absolutely great hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place and absolutely great hospitality! The villa is very elegant and has a lot of paintings and other works of art. Breakfast on the terrace/garden, served by house owner Agatha, and a classical music during the breakfast gives additional value for staying in this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Large bedrooms with individual terraces, beautiful views of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are very kind but do not speak any English so it was not possible to get any advise or information about the area. I also wish we had booked a place in Taormina rather than Giardini-Naxos because we had to drive back and forth, paying a toll each time and dealing with the crazy Italian drivers

    Large bedrooms with individual terraces, beautiful views of Mt Etna, private bathrooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful experience from start to end!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We discovered this hidden gem online and were absolutely charmed by everything from the first to the last day! The villa is a splendid historical mansion dating back more than 200 years, and is home to all sorts of exquisite details, from classical paintings to family heirlooms. Extremely clean and very tastefully decorated, one of the places main perks are the amazing hosts, Agata and Salvadore! Both have been so gracious and attentive to our every need, from the smallest details to Salvadore even driving us as far as Taormina when we couldn’t get any public transport on a national holiday Sunday! Though none in our family speak Italian, we communicated perfectly and Agata gave us great advice on what to see and do in beautiful Sicily every morning at breakfast, and was incredibly warm and charming all throughout. The rooms were absolutely stunning, and kept in perfect cleanliness. We had our room cleaned and tidied, and fresh towels and linen changed on a daily basis. And the breakfast... a delicious surprise every morning! The meal was always more than generous for four, and included new dishes every morning, from local Sicilian delicacies (you must try the balsamic vinegar melanzane and homemade biscuits!) to fresh pastries! We really appreciated Agata being such an attantive host, as she adjusted our breakfast everyday - sweet little details like changing a dish if she saw we didn’t have much of it one day, or preparing more veggie plates as my mother and I are both vegetarian. There was classical music at breakfast everyday and birds chirping from the garden - perfectly idyillic! The villa grounds and gardens are gorgeous, and the views of Mount Etna take your breath away. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our say and will definitely come back soon!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    A special local experience, with great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely great hospitality! I got really refreshed during and after the stay. Breakfast was served outside where you get a view of Mt. Etna, with choices of hot drinks in a big cup, plenty of pastries, and different pre-prepared egg meals everyday. Apparently eggs are from local area and very fresh. Ham and cheese served on the day of our checkout were superb. The room was spacious with sofas, and terrace outside. I stayed in superior room with my parents, which was large enough to accommodate a few more guests . Very clean and well maintained in all parts of the room, with fresh towels and linens everyday. I don't know whether it was a temporary thing, but it a bit odd that there was a request written in the room not to flush toilet papers, and there was a separate clean basket for it. It was a minor thing and didn't affect our comfort in the stay, where everything was kept immaculately clean and comfortable. I requested for an arrangement of airport pick up due to late night arrival. To my pleasant surprise, the owners themselves came to pick me up as a couple, which made me super comfortable, arriving at late evening by myself. We were offered a lift to Taormina after our check out (Taormina was our next stay and apparently was on the day to go to the bank or something ) and in addition, they even delivered tennis shoes which my mother left in the room, to our hotel in Taormina the next morning. This was very nice and we were touched. The couple doesn't speak English but before arriving all communications are done in English by their helpful daughter and I had no issues communicating basic things during my stay. I felt the warmth and hospitality beyond the language, and I would definitely come back again if I get a chance to travel to this part of Sicily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    My stay was entirely satisfactory, and I would stay at the villa again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was completely satisfied with my stay.

    The staff was very gracious, and the breakfasts in the garden were relaxing and excellent. In addition, the signora gave me reliable recommendations for restaurants and clear instructions for travel to Giardini Naxos & Taormina. The villa is in the hills above Giardini Naxos, and having the use of a rental car would been helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    A lovely stay with a charming and solicitous hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Wouldn't have changed anything

    A beautifully kept villa near the motorway and a short walk from the beach at Giardini Naxos and within easy reach by car of many of the sights of North East Italy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful proprietors and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful proprietors and staff. The villa has a really nice garden, rooms are spacious and clean. Parking is available on-site. Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and we can certainly recommend you to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking was a little tight.

    The bed was incredibly comfortable. The lady of the house could not have been more helpful - in every way. She was a treasure. The property is unusual and very Italian , which we liked. The terrace had superb views to Etna. The breakfast was different everyday and we ate in the garden, accompanied by classical music. really quite romantic. !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All was great

    This was a remarkable find. Great hospitality in lovely big room with terrace overlooking Etna. Air conditioning made it very comfortable. Fantastic ,original home made breakfast offering a different range of dishes every day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice private villa with very nice hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very nice private villa with very nice hosts. When we asked for anything, we got all we needed. Breakfast was the best part of the day with food served on big terrace near the garden with olive trees with beautiful Etna view. Everything tasty, especially red orange juice which is one of the best memories about Sicily on the whole. It takes about 20 minutes walking to get to the sea, but if you have a car or a motorbike - which is smart, when travelling around the island - it's much easier. Villa is on top of the hill - in a quiet place. We really enjoyed the stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Villa Chiarezza was Magical ...What a find.....Salvatore and Agatha were superb hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Yes the Bed was like a cloud ........and although I noted people found the property hard to find ... I emailed the owners daughter who gave me directions to the property... it was also well sign posted when leaving the Autostrada.... it was in a magical very central position with beautiful views of the sea and Mount Etna

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely villa and hosts, beautiful holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our stay at this B&B (more like a boutique hotel) was excellent. The owners were very welcoming, the breakfast was served in a beautiful garden,, not much but enough, various and tasty. The Villa is a very elegant home, filled with antiques. Salvatore, the owner was very kind to offer us a ride to the bus station. I will definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Chiarenza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Chiarenza. The villa is beautiful, the facilities were excellent and Agate and Salvatore were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was a real treat. Eilish & John.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    3.3
    The altitude of the owners was horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The altitude of the owners was horrible. To have such a beautiful house and to treat people in such a way ... I would advise them to start another business ( not connected to people)...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    10+++
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ms. Agata, her family and team are incredible friendly hosts and created a lovely, beautiful and peaceful place. Every aspect of this accommodation is perfect, they offer all the comfort you need from wlan, air-conditioning to parking, very clean and spacious, a generous, modern bathroom. And than the room: beautiful antique furniture and lovely decorated in every detail and a very comfortable big bed. The terrace is amazing and the vew to Etna is stunning. You almost don't want to get out... And don't miss the great breakfast. Thanks for wonderful days

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    For the information of booking.com only (not for publishing). Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not see any staff except the owners. Nobody speaks English, no possibility of getting any information. Airconditioning in the room much in need of servicing the compressor, and filling with gas. It was working very loudly, we could not sleep at night, and was totally ineffective. The shower room tiny, for eg. my husband weighs 85 kg, but he could not turn in the shower room, pity because the bathroom is spacious. Quality of the towels very cheap. We had to request the first day for additional soaps, as there were tiny squares of soap on the sink not enough to wash an infant. None in the shower. As Italians have problems with breakfast in general, if a hotel is advertised in category "9" and says it offers breakfast from local produce etc. perhaps managers of such places should be given a crush course on the basics of serving breakfast, since they have guest of different nationalities. We are in Italy, where a fruit cart stands on every corner of the street. Juice was from a carton. Fruit was looking tired, and off. Sandwiches were very poor, as if it was a problem to put a place of cheese slices and ham with tomato and salad leaves. Sometimes the owners offered something which resembled an omlet or pankakes, hard to tell, because they were done the previous day served from deep cold in the fridge. This I did not even experience in hotels in the wilderness of exotic countries. As if it was a problem to stick it in the microwave for a few minutes, the least one could do. (the kitchen is a state of art). Or perhaps they could put a pan on the stove and let people do their own egg for breakfast. The jams and nutella were in tiny plastic squares, the kind you get in petrol stations with a bun and coffee for breakfast. (I am referring to the indicator "9" on your site).

    Cleaness, Art Quiet Very close to the highway

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful villa with welcoming hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm, helpful and hospitable hosts made our stay wonderful and unforgettable. We stayed in the triple room on the first floor. It had a very large corner balcony with stunning views of Etna. Room has good AC and fridge, and bathroom was large. Cleanliness is superb. Towels were changed daily. Breakfast is the best we have ever had in a hotel and was different every morning! It is served in the garden with great views. The location of the villa is ideal for exploring Taormina (10 minute drive), Etna (1 hour drive) and a day trip can also be made to Syracuse and Agrigento. It is an excellent hotel for families!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Very, very well designed, stylish, clean and cozy......
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very, very well designed, stylish, clean and cozy. Kindly family and super nice view to Etna from balcony. Comfortable beds, good coffee and well served breakfast. We were happy.....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely property in Giardini Naxos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We drove from the south towards Catania and up to Taormina to get to Villa Chiarenza. Our two GPS (car and phone) were unable to pinpoint the location, so it was a heckuva adventure finding it. Turns out the Villa is actually in Taormina, although it is (literally) a stone’s throw from Gardini Naxos. After researching hotels in Taormina and finding them pricey and fearing the difficulty navigating to them with the car restrictions in Taormina, I opted for the ‘burbs and Gardini Naxos. The beach is lovely, although in early May, as during our stay, only the hearty beach goers are out. Traffic on the local roads is dense and given the devil may care driving of the locals there is no such thing as a pleasant drive from Point A to Point B. Add to that the lack of exacting driving directions and signage that is, to put it mildly, lacking, it was a challenge finding the Villa. When we did, we were extremely pleased with the result. The Villa is indeed just that, a gracious home for its owners and guests, filled with antiques and beautiful furnishings. The grounds are lovely and provide a number of places to relax, beyond just in one’s room, while on the property. Our traveling companions won the prize with the corner room upstairs, an expansive one with room for a sofa in the bedroom, a spacious en suite bathroom and large, mostly covered terrace. Our room across the hall had 2 bedrooms and en suite bath. It was fine, but the corner room made ours pale in comparison. The proprietors are a gracious couple who basically speak Italian, so if your Italian or comprehension of Romance languages isn’t quite up to snuff, you might need to seek your local information elsewhere. We got the gist of things (directions were a bit tough to follow) and managed well enough, albeit with a few U-turns thrown in. Beds, sheets and blankets were comfy, bath facilities were just fine, and breakfast was very nice and upscale, taken on the garden terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    A really first-class B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to dislike here.

    The owners were really nice. The breakfasts were exceptional. Big rooms, with large balconies / terraces. Really nothing whatsoever to dislike. We were sad to leave after seven nights.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Something special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nithing

    Wonderful hosts. Breakfast amazing and different each morning. Great views.Beautiful large family home, a former convent. Decor really interesting. Safe gated parking.A vdry special place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Brilliant accomodation combining comfort and space with a very warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation was glorious with wonderful artefacts. The room was comfortable and clean. Very friendly and helpful greeting. Excellent personal terrace. Superb breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Vibrant and Classy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The building is vibrant and classy. The breakfasts were imaginative, varied and tasty. Being able to walk down to the excellent beach was a bonus - no worries about parking. A far better venue than many 4 star hotels.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    it is fabulous, strongly recommended! it feels you are at home, enjoying the peaceful moments!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the breakfast is fabulous, and the host is like a grandma

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast and kidness of owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection

    Breakfast and kidness of owners

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very fresh - Attic room is really not up to standards

    Very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful older property that is nicely renovated and impeccably clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Lived up to expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very welcoming, excellent service, house and grounds Roman style very nice, breakfast on terrace excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good restaurants nearby that we could find.

    Beautiful property , well maintained. Very spacious. Very polite staff. Very secure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    I think the staff works very hard to make the stay comfortable and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking difficult to get in and out. No restaurants within walking distance.

    Bed very comfortable; breakfast good; staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Beatiful villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sigarette smoke of neigjbour smoking at the terrace, and it was less rural than expected!

    Breakfast, garden, room warm reception by owners

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Family loves this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was unique and each day different! Felt like being part of the family!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Canadians in Sicily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place and breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    True to the description on the website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't dislike anything

    Breakfast superb. Fresh, homemade, different every day. Beautiful setting

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Hosts were extremely nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosts were extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, rooms are clean and spacious. Nice garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Very very nice owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very very nice owners. Thank you Agata for your hospitality and perfect breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful view to Mt. Etna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tight. Pillows for the bed were not comfortable.

    Very eclectic home. Full of antiques and paintings. View of Mt Etna and area was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Unforgetable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came back after staying here 10 years ago. Beautiful house, great breakfast, very attentive owners. All in all an unforgetable experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    10
    Fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic views. Secure parking. Easy 15 min walk to the beach and restaurants

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: