Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Badia a Coltibuono

Località Badia a Coltibuono, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy

#3 of 12 hotels in Gaiole in Chianti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 139 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3bed APT Foresteria
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rustic monastery experience Spacious room Warm reception by the staff upon checkin Lovely restaurant on premise, despite having to brave the cold in the open to walk there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing problem while we were there & unreliable internet in our room (# 10).

    Amazing old abbey & monastery in beautiful location with an interesting history. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was really cold in the building, but the room was ok.

    the hotel is really nice , amazing garden and very nice room. breakfast was perfect. i think they bake the bread just before breakfast ::)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is a bit overpriced but worth it! Shower is a bit small, the bathrooms are very spacious

    This monastery definitely well kept, the staff was very friendly, breakfast was delicious. The garden space and wine cellars are absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility was amazing from the very first view of the Monastery as we drove up the tree lined road. So much history, wonderful restaurant, delicious breakfast and top-notch cooking class.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4bed APT Granaio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could've been cleaner, we rented the apartment and needed more kitchen utensils and appliances. Overall better and more accessible staff service.

    beautiful location, very peaceful...great restaurant delicious food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is the best of the best! To live inside a medieval abey is such a breathtaking experience! Alongside with all the conveniences: a swimming pool, a free parking, a spacy room, tasty breakfast and so, on it has the ATMOSPHERE of the past! The furniture, the frescoes, the paintings, etc. are authentic! It was higher than all our expectations!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was poor.

    A beautiful, peaceful retreat. The staff are very welcoming, the breakfast is great, the restaurant is excellent, and the room was very comfortable. The history of the Abbey also added to a very memorable stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our visit was too short. Better in 2018.

    An amazing place. Quite the sanctuary. Parked the car for two days. Sabrina was superb with the tour. Ricardo at the restaurant was fabulous and so was the staff. GREAT food and wine. Spectacular vistas

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As retirees we struggle with the stairs but we can live with that.

    It has always been an absolute pleasure to visit Badia. We have not stayed there until now and at last were able to fully appreciate the fascinating history, amazing buildings and their period contents. The staff were very welcoming, efficient and gracious... the restaurant even better than visits in 2000, 2003 and 2006. We will return!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No important numbers and information in the apartment. how to contact reception and what happens if there an emergency.

    Wonderful garden. nearby restaurant and with good service. The room did not have very good heating but the duty manager went out of the way to sort it out. Miss Arduro, the manager for two days went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badia a Coltibuono is a must stay in the beautiful Chianti region. This historic abbey is a place to immerse yourself in serenity, beautiful food and absolutely gorgeous surrounds. All aspects of our stay was truly an amazing experience.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't expect 5* facilities and service - its a 3* but a unique and interesting property at a sensible price. Might expect tour and wine tasting to be included for guests.

    Unique property in tranquil location. Excellent on site restaurant Beautiful gardens

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Directions for how to check-in. The door is locked and must be opened from a buzzer in the main office. We wondered around for quite a while, ending up going up to the restaurant to have them call the front desk. Would be nice if this process was made a bit easier or more clear. Also there is a door that is much more conveniently located with respect to the parking lot. It would be nice if the keys could be used to open this door rather than having to go all the way around.

    The wine tour and tasting was amazing. The grounds are beautiful. I love how relaxing it is to be cut off from the hustle and bustle of modern day. Every single meal we had at the restaurant and breakfast in the morning was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is an incredible swimming pool, in the sun, new.... But the flies, we couldn't stay in the water for more than few minutes. Didn't even try to sit out of the water. Shame, otherwise would be great.

    I liked the atmosphere of the place. The old buildings and old furniture. Lovely Italian gardens and an excellent wine tour and guide. The views are to die for! We had a room at the front of the building and could admire the view the whole day, beautiful. Not only staff was very friendly but also their two gorgeous dogs. Thank you for making our stay memorable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    We had a great time staying at Badia a Coltibuono! The building is amazing and we enjoyed spending time in the gardens and by the pool. Our room was fantastic and we enjoyed the views and the peace and quite of the landscape. The restaurant next door is very well priced with great food and wine and an amazing view! The place is perfectly located for day trips to Sienna and Florence, we also enjoyed exploring the villages in the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to climb up the stairs with luggage (about two storeys), luckily with the help of friendly staff.

    An interesting location, we stayed in a building that's built thousand years ago

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet is not really strong (sometimes perfect), and you have to calculate with an hour drive to reach anything.

    It is an amazing place to fulfill your romantic desires. The pictures cannot give the atmosphere back

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road from Gaiole is challenging but once you arrive, being at the Badia is worth it.

    The lovely atmosphere and history of this charming historical property. Enjoyed the tour of the property - especially the wine cellar. Wine tasting was limited. Dinner was outstanding. We agreed it was our best night of sleep. The cooking class the next day was brilliant. Learned about making pasta and then enjoying a lovely lunch with the wines of Badia.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome big rooms with lots of character. Great Restaurant on site. Best breakfast I've ever had at a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food at the restaurant was very disappointing.

    Amazing property, incredible service. Take the tasting tour, it is very interesting!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was poor

    Unique experience and location Very relaxing, totally away from it all Great restaurant on site

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2bed APT Fattore
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single beds old sway backed

    Grounds spectacular

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing surroundings. Excellent staff. Quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible welcome at reception. Incredibly rude. Rooms were basic and the bed was broken.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4bed APT Granaio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3bed APT Magnolia
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting. Amazing staff and accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather was rainy and cool, but nothing could be done about that😞

    Great food and wine. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of staff distressing comments made by staff

    Poor house keeping upsetting staff questioning need for linin for room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3bed APT Foresteria
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi does not work. No A/C

    Very beautiful gardens and very elegant decor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you're looking for paradise then you've found it (just don't tell everyone).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    restaurant especially waiter Ricardo:)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    Superb location. Superb accommodation. Superb staff. Superb restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't great

    Beautiful location - very quiet and peaceful. Excellent food at the onsite restaurant. Great staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Architecture , food, wine, rooms, location, staff. All excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room. Stinky bathroom. Not much to do.

    Beautiful garden. Nice Chianti Classico wine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous place, great wines and the restaurant is lovely too. Location is good, easy to get to the lovely towns in Chianti.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi is very poor

    This is one of my favourite places on earth. Natural beauty, tranquility and good food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Silent and very few other turists. Natural biologic food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very minor complaint, the furniture in our room were all antiques which is great, but mirror was so old it was useless.

    The Badia is in a spectacular location, rooms are spacious, bed comfortable, staff very attentive, very satisfying breakfast. It feels like you have been invited to stay at a friend's villa that happens to be a 12th century abbey. Gardens, restaurant, pool area and surroundings are all great!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was weak & not good. Not the most important detail but you asked.

    The breakfast & the restaurant were very good. The room & the atmosphere were great. you

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only thing we did not like was the bed, it felt like to beds pushed together with a seam down the middle.

    The history of the place, the staff, the wine, the food, the views, the peace and quiet, etc.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little dirty.

    The location was great, the room had fantastic views and the restaurant was also very good. A really lovely ambience in the old monastery setting.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fancy a time-machine going back to centuries ago? Badia a Coltibuono can give you a feeling of staying at casa in the old days. The common rooms and breakfast area are just fabulous. We have a vintage-feel bedroom and a super-spacious bathroom. The view to the garden is spectacular. One should not miss the guided winery tour to the Abbey. The interesting stories told about the Abbey and the unbelievable wine library add colours to our stay. The restaurant next door offers good tasting menu with fantastic wine-pairing. There is a nice swimming pool at the far end of the site. We enjoyed very much our stay at Badia a Coltibuono! Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be nice to have a small fridge in the room.

    Breakfast was excellent once fresh coffee had been made. Beautiful gardens. Friendly restaurant next door

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This place is exactly what everyone thinks of when they think "Tuscany"! Who wouldn't want to stay in a wonderfully preserved old Monestary and winrey built in 1070.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not important in such a place but wifi is poor in rooms.

    Abbey, Fresques, rooms, silence, restaurant, wines, cellary, close to A11 and gaiole in chianti.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the fact they produce their own fabulous Chianti's and Olive Oils! The wine & cellar tour was great and very interesting also! The staff were helpful and friendly and the restaurant served great food! Will be back again soon! We only stayed 1 night but would recommend minimum of 2! Patrizia is a fantastic host! Definitely think of doing a cooking course while you're there!!

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of access of TV stations in the English language.

    Rustic setting

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool area was clean, but very buggy

    Beautiful gardens, calm/quiet, spacious rooms, excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is great , you are in the middle of real Chianti. Restaurant is perfect with local food , special thanks to Ricardo:-)

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Limited staffing in the evening / night

    Location, breakfast, atmosphere, gardens

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Badia a Coltibuono traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: