Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Badia di Pomaio 4 stars

Località Pomaio 4 - Via delle Conserve , 52100 Arezzo, Italy

#10 of 19 hotels in Arezzo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 215 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    Keep your expectations to a minimum, and get ready for a long car ride.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was simple, not tasty, the menus was plain, the service sloppy... when you drive this far to get to this beautiful villa, you expect a chef that is out of this world, a wine selection that is fabulous. Because the roads are dark and narrow at night, you know you will eat at the villa and not go back to town. The bartender couldn't make a martini, so we settled for a Prosecco. The wine list was incomplete and they did not have our first selection. My main course was cold, I asked for it to be heated again, they brought back the same plate. I was glad we were not staying an extra night. Forget a midnight walk "à la belle étoile" there are wild boars trespassing on the property near the pool. Very important this villa is absolutly "Not handicap friendly" at all. Steps every where.

    The place for a "quiet get away" was really nice. The pool was lovely but not heated so other than sit on a chair there is nothing else to do. It took forever to find the place, had to ask direction many times. The room was quaint, typical Tuscan décor but no fluff, the view seemed spectacular but from our window we could only see the gravel road and the stone garage... The beds and pillows are comfy. The bathroom is modern. The breakfast had a nice selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Stylish retreat away from it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windy, steep road to get to it, but it is worth it.

    Great views. Outdoor pool. Super breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit. Friendly staff. Very comfy and stylish. Super dinner in the vaulted cellar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    The "Casale" you are looking for.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building deserved a much better renovation for the bathrooms. Classic shower cabins, basic tiles... don't really match.

    Great place in the countryside. Excellent restaurant. Very pleasent staff. Beautiful view from the pool. Painting decorations on the walls. ...the privilege to be in a nice historic building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    4.6
    Go there for dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place has a lot of potential but really needs some investments. We were there when it was very hot, and the so-called airconditioning is extremely noise and does not really cool the room. To make matters worse, the sofa bed for our children collapsed in the middle of the night. The pool is huge and quite nice, but the area around it needs more care.

    We ate very well at the restaurant and had a superb red wine at a really good price. The hotel is in a remote location, but the view over the hills from the pool area is spectacular. They could really do more to benefit from this view, there are only a handful of tables in the shade on a little patio

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location to chill out and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little "tired" and in need of updating.

    Outstanding location. New manager Elena was charming and appeared to be making a lot of changes. Food excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful place to be - near town, yet in plain nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The views into the valley with the town of Arezzo were stunning. The property is situated near Arezzo, yet in the midst of plantations and forest (walking trail). Great views also from the large pool. The restaurant was absolutely excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.8
    Location is amazing but unfortunately in Italy there is no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning: rooms temperature is very hot and air conditioning doesn't work properly, due to an obsolate system.

    Location is amazing but unfortunately in Italy there is no care of quality of service and facilities. Culture of service and hospitality is a must. In Italy they are amazing and unique locations but definitely in the hotel business is missing the culture of service and hospitality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.8
    Good Hotel but bad access routes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location. Was not described how to get to the property as there are many ways to get to the property. There is the 30 min drive, the 2 hour drive and the 5 hour drive. Booking.com did not have proper directions given on how to get to the property which was very disappointing. Also, the property need to invest in more signage for guests to follow when getting to the property in all 3 different driving routes. Very disappointing with booking.com on how to sell this property.

    Great view from the Hotel. Well planned and developed into a hotel Bed & Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Amazing view - want to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really hard to find especially in the dark - sat nav couldn't find it

    The view from the bedroom window was stunning both at night time and in the morning. Evening meal was in the wine cellar, beautifully decorated to fit in with the style of the building.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.2
    As good as it gets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You cannot imagine a more beautifully located hotel, up on a hill overlooking Arezzo, with overwhelming hospitality, fantastic restaurant, spacey, comfortable and stylish rooms, good wifi, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Delightful hotel, a way from the city of wonderful Arezzo though and a little chilly in October!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    As single traveller, my single room was quite small and basic but I saw other rooms which were beautiful there, but mine was good value! Would prefer larger more expensive room as they are gorgeous so spoil yourself, all very good for the money

    Lovely pool, hotel and food and staff, full of character and very pretty location although a way from the city of Arezzo which is wonderful to explore, Need a car really as a bit isolated without, reliant on taxis which are quite a lot each way every day! Max of two or three nights is a good length of time to stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.8
    Location and pool stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facility in the rooms

    Location and pool stunning. Towels provided at no extra charge. Food excellent. Staff could not have done more.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    The restaurant had good food both for dinner and lunch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Important to not follow the GPS route to the hotel when you come from the north. Then you will be adviced on a terrible and long way around the hotel. It's better to try to come in to the parkingspace outside the Old town and redirect the route from there.

    The restaurant had good food both for dinner and lunch. Nice and helpfull staff. Fantastic place for recreation ;)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard room in the independent house was small compared to the price. Furthermore, the comfort (decoration and equipments) was so basic for a 4 stars hotel. During the night we saw a centipede in our room. The WiFi did not work on our room, which was really a pitty as the mobile network did not work also. The swimming pool was great, but the water was so cold that we were not able to spend more than 10 minutes inside.

    The breakfast was really great and the view to the Arezzo area was awesome. The living environment was nice and relaxing. The staff was nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.8
    High class old munk monastery hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A to simple breakfast but we could have egg and bacons of we have asked.

    Very nice hotel with an amazing view over Arezzo. 10 point of 10. Nice pool and quiet place to relax 100%.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.1
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. From countryside hotel I expected breakfast with a local food, but unfortunately the food was not good. Mostly junk food. After 09:00 almost all plates with food were empty. No one suplement them. There were only 4 (!!!) sun beds on the pool. The pool was not cleaned. We find lizard in our bed.

    Great location; Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Overall the location fell short of our expectations, unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked Gregorio, the black cat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Extraordinary hotel, outstanding view on Arezzo, friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extraordinary hotel, outstanding view on Arezzo, friendly staff, delicious restaurant

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    6.7
    Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too rustic for our taste!

    Food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.8
    Lovely location. Great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom in our room was starting to look a bit 'tired'.

    Location was great for a quiet, relaxing stay. Food and drink was all very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff who looked after us well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Friendly staff who looked after us well. The dinners were delicious!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    A comfortable night and a great dinner in a beautiful historic building in a spectacular location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find (fortunately we had a GPS)

    Great location and building Restaurant was outstanding All staff were pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Hotel getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Wonderful place to eat well, rest, enjoy the sun by the pool and watch beautiful sunsets. Friendly staff for solo traveller.

    Stayed in August 2016

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Browse Badia di Pomaio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: