Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Italy hotel reviews
  3. Liguria hotel reviews
  4. Monterosso al Mare hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Baia

Reviews of Hotel Baia This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lungomare Fegina 88, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy

#15 of 18 hotels in Monterosso al Mare

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 767 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    8.8
    Terrific location and great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A long climb up the stairs to the top floor - but I guess we needed the exercise anyway. :-)

    Had a wonderful room that overlooked the beach/ocean. Terrific location near the train station and everything else at Cinque Terre.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.9
    overall was a very nice stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very limited breakfast items.

    liked the location and the very accomadating and helpful staff at the counter. even called me to notify me of what time i was gonna check in as i was running late going to rome.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.1
    Adequate hotel in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was very basic and the bathroom was tiny. The hot water was also very erratic.

    The setting was absolutely perfect, couldn’t have been closer to the beachfront giving a beautiful view across the bay, which was exactly what we came for. There wasn’t too much noise from the bars and restaurants below - it’s not an all-night party scene! The room was comfortable enough with useful storage space. We knew before we came that we were paying for the view and position rather than a luxury hotel experience, which was absolutely fine for a couple of nights.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very comfortable and clean. Their staff was exceptional and some of the nicest people we ran into, and we were in the country for of few weeks! Would definitely go back!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    9.6
    The location was second to none.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were there at the end of the season, so it was very quiet. I could imagine the room could be quite noisy in peak season.

    The location was second to none. We had a sea view room. We went to sleep listening to the sounds of the waves. Well located on the promenade of Monterosso, short walk to the train station and manageable walk to the ferry. Parking very close, and had a lift to access upper floors which was good for my friend with limited mobility.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    8.3
    Beach Hotel in the Cinque Terre
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would not want to have been here without a view of the Med.

    Wonderful location on the Monterossa beach, the only real beach in the Cinque Terre. Were able to comfortably swim every day of our stay. Excellent for exploring the other Cinque Terre towns. A relatively inexpensive beach hotel with adequate , small rooms. We had a beach front, second piano room with balcony over the Med. Good breakfast. We were ready to relax for several days and this was perfect. Close to paid parking which made luggage transfer much easier than for most other visitors.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    Super friendly and helpful staff, awesome views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic location and beautiful views. We drove a car down from Piedmont so it was very easy access to the public parking less than a block away. Right on the waterfront in the newer part of Monterossa al Mare.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    7.9
    Hotel Baia location is very convenient for tourists that arrive by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to be able to lower the temperature in the room; it was fixed by remote at 23C and fine for October, but not for the heat of the summer. Hotel Baia should inform tourists that the air conditioning has limits for adjustment.

    The location is excellent since we arrived by train. We enjoyed the teak table, chairs, and umbrella seating area that was reserved for Hotel Baia. Reception staff was most helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    3.8
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff attitude totally unacceptable. This facility is overpriced even for a one star facility let alone a pretentious three stars!

    Disappointing in the extreme

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    10
    Would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have preferred more variety for breakfast and an option for more English speaking channels on TV.

    Very spacious room. Beautiful view from the room with many restaurants very near by. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    6.3
    Great location disappointing welcome and stay.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff apart from the last person we came across checking out were disinterested and unhelpful. Not sure when the private beach was open or if ever you could rent a beach towel. Room walls were paper thin,lucky we had earplugs.

    The location was perfect right on the beach.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room faced a wall which was somewhat disappointing in such a magnificent location but we spent our days out in the beauty of the area!

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful location. Staff was helpful , breakfast was typical and adequate. We had a wonderful stay in Cinque Terre!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    7.9
    This hotel is all about location, a super short walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you can’t handle stairs... there is no lift for humans, only luggage (only 3 floors but that is 6 sets of stairs if you are on the top floor). We were there late in their peak season and to be honest, we got the feeling that the owners were tired and a bit over having guests... but we found that everywhere in our 3 weeks around Italy unfortunately. Unless you are spending over €30 on anything (coffee, beers, sun bed hire) you must pay with cash!

    This hotel is all about location, a super short walk from the train station and on the beachfront with lots of restaurants. The main part of town is a 5 minute walk from here but very scenic and worth it. Our room had sensational balcony view over the beach, air conditioning and a small but clean bathroom. The hotel itself was nice, breakfast had a simple variety of fresh fruit, pastries and cereal, coffees made at the bar were included (I was very happy with the selection). You can hire the sun lounger and umbrella from this hotel on the beachfront as they have their own section. Beach is a must after hiking and sightseeing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.1
    Great location, thoroughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That you have to pay to use a sun lounge even though you are paying so much to stay anyway. You aren’t even allowed to sit on the beach unless you hire a sun lounge.

    Breakfast was lovely and fresh. Bed was comfy and room cleaned every day

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    5.8
    Great Location But Changed To Lesser Room Because We Booked Through Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and the bed was uncomfortably hard. After we arrived, the changed us from a room with balcony to no balcony - the photos show the triple room has a balcony. I asked why and the gentleman at the front desk said over and over we could not have a balcony room because we booked through Booking.com, and that balcony rooms were only for guests who booked directly with the hotel.

    Excellent location. The hotel is just a few minutes from the train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were flat.

    The location was perfect and the view amazing! Staff was friendly and accommodating. I also enjoyed the private beach and chairs available. (For a fee)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    7.9
    we had a great time! We will definitely come back if given another opportunity!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet doesn't have much choices and there is NO hot food except for the coffee. The bed space is quite "tight" for me and my husband and we are of average size. Can't imagine how uncomfortable it would have been for others. However, we were surprised that despite of the tiny beds, the mattress and pillows were quite comfortable and allowed us to have a good restful sleep each night.

    The location was right in the middle of the "happenings" in Monterosso al mare. It isn't a far walk from the train station and is surrounded by all the nice shops and restaurants in town. We got a sea/beach view room so it was really nice!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    8.3
    Loved the balcony overlooking the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the balcony overlooking the sea. Ideal location. Drawbacks being the lift was only for luggage and after walking 3 of the Cinque Terre tracks it was very tiring climbing 3 floors.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    7.5
    Room nice and clean, good towels, bed, pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very noisy with the internal stairs, people walking up and down at night and in the morning. One morning it was almost unbearable.

    Room nice and clean, good towels, bed, pillows. In a great location right on the waterfront and had their own sitting area outside where you could enjoy your cup of tea in the morning and a drink during the day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What a wonderful hotel in an absolutely idyllic location! Our triple room overlooking the sea was lovely and breakfast was a perfect way to start the day. The private beach was fantastic, as was the seating area overlooking the beach, which was a wonderful place for coffee in the morning or drinks at night. We had a most enjoyable time on our holiday- thanks in large part to the proprietors of the hotel and we are so very grateful! We highly recommend Hotel Baia!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    3.8
    Hotel Baja
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elevator was only allowed for luggage use. This is very inconvenient for guests in upper floors. The staff was not friendly, helpful, or accommodating to changes in travel plans. There were very few amenities that guests should expect for high-end room rates. The breakfast was not as extensive also.

    Beautiful views of the sea. Convenient to public parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    8.3
    Beachfront location ,rooms are clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What's not to like...great beachfront Hotel

    Beachfront location ,rooms are clean Beds was comfortable and the breakfast was good.Plus easy car access and parking close to the Hotel.Our room was remodeled.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location! Few minutes walk from train station. Friendly staff. Beautiful private beach. Very good breakfast. Very clean. Amazing view . Close to restaurants and old town shops. We were there for six nights and did not need a car or taxi. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    6.7
    Monterossa beautiful, hotel Baia perfect location.Overpriced for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms outdated.No water in fridge. Provided a seperate fold out bed with no linen.Most of all the old lady at reception was rude.Rude.Rude to the point we tried to avoid her.Breakfast rather average.

    The location is perfect.Most staff accommodating and pleasant.Room is clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were made each morning but no cleaning of bathroom/floors was done. There is a beach associated with the hotel but unless you rent a chair you can’t even use the beach (ie leave your towel while you swim).

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast with a view!! Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was nice but a little bit repetitive and not re-filled often so they ran out of croissants, fruit etc on occasion

    Train station was a 3min walk to the hotel which made travelling between the different towns super easy. The private outdoor terrace was perfect for breakfast, a cocktail or even a quick gelato. Loved that the beach was across the hotel too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    8.8
    The location and facilities are excellent overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don’t expect a balcony when you pay for sea view. Not everyone gets one.

    The location and facilities are excellent overlooking the sea. There is a private terrace overlooking the beach for hotel guests only. The breakfast staff are very accommodating. For us Cinque Terre done right.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, small but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We would have liked coffee and tea making in the room, The lift is only used for luggage and as an older couple we didn’t find the stairs to daunting. € 25 a day for parking in a public car park with a dirt surface we thought was a bit much but the hotel has no say over this.

    This is a great location and our room had a balcony that overlooked the beach. Although the room was small it was quiet adequate and comfortable, we enjoyed our stay and there were many restaurants close by and we had some great dining experiences and the WiFi and AC we’re good . We enjoyed our stay and would return here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    6.7
    - cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - I requested a gluten free breakfast and I was just given a selection of biscuits; some bread would have allowed me to eat some ham and cheese with it. - I did not know I could have ordered a freshly made coffee or Cappuccino from the bar till the last day, when I saw it on somebody else's table; in other places, the staff approach you to ask if you wish one. - the mattress was uncomfortable

    - cleanliness - amazing sea view - location - the fact that it was a 1911 building, it was beautiful - private beach (although you are charged separately)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location, decent quality for a 3-star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning of the room was too strong. The selection for breakfast was limited, only a few choices for a continental breakfast and a sweet Italian one. I would have preferred if the hotel had a menu for dinner close to the reception, I never knew what they offered.

    The location of the hotel was amazing. The staff were kind and always available to meet our requests. The room was spacious and the cleaning staff was impeccable in their behavior. We weren’t that lucky to get the balcony, but the view from the window was still a sight for sore eyes. The option of having breakfast outside was nice (even though we had to share ours with bees).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Great sea and beach views. Private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room, missed out on a balcony.

    Nice room, very clean, fantastic views and great location on the flat. Simple but good brekkie. Need cash for any drinks or add ons. Restaurant did not operate in the evening - such a shame. Would I stay there again- YES with the sea view. Can’t beat the view and the private beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    6.7
    The location was great but the service was below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff weren’t very friendly, when we checked in the staff member didn’t even give us any information just gave us our keys & told me she had already charged my credit card & sent us on our way.

    The location is amazing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location. Best city in Chinqua R
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast should have included more items but it was ok compared to no breakfast included

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is excellent. Right on the beach and central to everything. Easy access to train and other Chinqua Terra cities. Least amount of hills and steps. Great family place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    6.7
    Location was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls are paper thin, woke up to 6am alarm every morning from the neighbours and heard ever word they said, same with the room upstairs we heard every movement. Stay here if you don’t like sleep

    Location was amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing - a missed opportunity!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We enjoyed our time in Montorosso but were dissappointed with aspects of our stay at Hotel Baia. I don't like giving a negative review but really feel the the service and culture could be improved. We objected to paying to use a beach towel & for a sun lounge a the hotel's own private beach particularly if it's just for an hour or so at the end of the day. We tried to lie on the sand but were not allowed. The hotel has tables & chairs on the footpath opposite the hotel looking over the beach which is a lovely place to have breakfast or a drink but it is so under utilised as they don't offer other meals so is usually empty & it's roped if from the beach access so guests have to either climb over it or walk down the street to the public access - just not user friendly & welcoming!

    The location is fabulous, breakfast by the sea is lovely & the young girl at the front desk was helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    9.6
    Our favourite place during our 4 wk European holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved our stay at Hotel Baia. Location was fantastic, staff very friendly and helpful, room very comfortable and clean. The breakfasts outside overlooking the beach were fabulous. My teenagers rated the breakfasts the best in Europe- delicious!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    7.9
    Location was perfect - right on the beach and close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning was fixed to a certain temperature and air flow and it was a little too warm for us. Price is too high for the level of the hotel

    Location was perfect - right on the beach and close to the old town and very close to train station. Everything else was OK for a 3* hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    7.9
    It was great location on beach and walking distance to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is hot and ac only goes to 23c. So never cool. We were given third floor small room and it was so hot we had to move. Luckily we were given larger room on first floor that was redone and more modern. Thank god or would have had to leave Hotel. But staff was nice and after saying we would Leave gave us new room.

    It was great location on beach and walking distance to all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    6.3
    Too expensive and can find better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner of the hotel is an old and grumpy lady who is nasty with the staff and doesnt even say hello to the hotel guests. The room we were in was located on the first floor and just below a restaurant (seafood cooked all day long... imagine the smell in the room!) and endless conversations of the customers of that restaurant until late at night. Not much food for the breakfast. Too expensive!

    The location - just beachfront

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    3.8
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is not a family friendly hotel. They do not let you use the elevator for strollers - they put us on the 3rd floor with a baby. They do not let you control the air conditioning temperature in the room. The value is not worth the money. The triple room was not worth the extra money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, right on the main strip of restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, right on the main strip of restaurants and beach. The hotel had its own private beach which you can hire sun beds at a discounted price. Good breakfast, can eat outside with lovely view of the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    10
    Perfect - you must stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like

    Fabulous location near railway station. Our room was light and airy with a lovely view to the beach and we had a small balcony. Good storage spaces. Bathroom not huge but had everything you needed. Directly across the road from the busy beach so quite noisy during the day but was quiet at night! Not far from restaurants (great ones too!) Has it's own private area with tables and umbrellas overlooking the beach (many a non-resident looked on at us enviously) - a lovely spot to sit and eat breakfast or to have an afternoon cocktail. I wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    6.7
    Table and chairs out front for hotel guests only were the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our room had a view of a brick wall which was very disappointing. we traveled with a group of 8 people and they all had sea views. Guests should be told the rules of access to the beach. They should be permitted to have a quick swim without paying for the chairs and umbrellas.

    Table and chairs out front for hotel guests only were the standout highlight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    8.8
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price, the room was small and simple, but it did have a king size bed and a great view. Even though I think it was priced high for the room, it also makes sense due to the fact that I was there in the busiest season and their location is so great.

    The location was fantastic. An easy walk from the train station, right across from the beach, with their own outdoor seating at street level on the beach-side of the street. The restaurant that is attached is super good and had several IPAs available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    7.9
    Helpful friendly staff, good food, excellent location near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too expensive!! Very small room and overpriced even for high season

    Helpful friendly staff, good food, excellent location near train station and all services, great to eat right in front by the water, very quiet, good shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location near train station, and easy walk to old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you're traveling the cinque, you're used to steps, but I still would have loved an elevator for getting to the 3rd floor room!

    Excellent location near train station, and easy walk to old town area where better shops and restaurants are. Also great beaches, and good restaurants right below hotel. Ocean view room and balcony was beautiful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location to enjoy the beach and also visit cinque Terra Pisa and Florence. SHAMAZING!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lift is for baggage only Have got a dodgy leg but thankfully we were on the first floor Staff are not overly communicative and friendly but this should not mar the stay in fact you might prefer not to be gushed over every time you go past reception!!!!!!!

    Fab location Near railway station Breakfast on the terrace was gorgeous looking out on sea. Breakfast had good selection Room was light and airy with lovely view and small balcony Air conditioning effective and not noisy Bathroom not huge but sufficient for all needs shower was simple to use and powerful enough Beach exactly opposite hotel. 20 euros for the day with 2 sunbeds and umbrella hotel has discount. 25 euros for non residents The beach has very nice scenery to look at and also a lifeguard on duty all day There is a very good ice cream parlour near the hotel The walk along the front to the historical centre is very lovely with pink and white colourful blossom trees lining the pavement similar to Positano The cappacinos are reasonable in this area and good quality Nothing not to like!!!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    7.9
    The location is absolutely fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is absolutely fabulous. Opposite the ocean, you can hear the waves at night. Easy access from the train station. The breakfast included was perfect & in the afternoon you can order drinks and sit in the hotel guests only section and enjoy the amazing views. Staff were very helpful & friendly. Lift available for your luggage only.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't appreciate having to pay for the sunloungers/umbrella on the hotels private beach area - I assumed these would be included in the cost. The room was very small but adequate and very clean. There wasn't a kettle.

    Fabulous location. Was really nice to eat breakfast at the tables across the road outside overlooking the beach/sea. Braekfast itself was lovely, a really nice selection of self-service items including beautiful salamis, croissants and fruit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Good base for exploring Cinque Terre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel wasn't able to offer a voucher for discounted Cinque Terre ticket prices, which supposedly hotels in the Cinque Terre do.

    Great location, on the promenade by the beach. For me Monterosso is the best location for exploring Cinque Terre given the beach, promenade and sense of space. Breakfast was good and the hotel had its own reserved tables on the promenade.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and fabulous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lift only takes bags, so 69 steps we climbed to our room, but great exercise. Very small bathroom.

    Location brilliant, staff lovely and helpful. Fabulous views from our room, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Great hotel, lovely staff, thank you for a lovely time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was a bit small. Understandable for property and size.

    Breakfast was really good, staff were accommodating for gluten free which really helped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    3.8
    There was nothing to like about this hotel other than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very poor the breakfast was terrible, staff were unhelpful and not interested. There is no way this should be 3 star. There isn’t even a lift that guests can use, just one old thing that can send your luggage up.

    There was nothing to like about this hotel other than position.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Baia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Check if walks are open before coming. Only 2 walks were open

    Very nice family run hotel. Great position opposite the beach. Big clean and quite rooms. Delicious breakfast , friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Best Vacation Ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weather could have been a little nicer as it was cloudy one day....

    Very convenient to train and supermarket and many restaurants.....PERFECTO.....would definitely stay there again....people are so friendly and appreciate their guests. The town is very nice and you will never want to leave :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    5.8
    Diaspointing with poor hospitality. Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the hotel and attitude of staff was disappointing. We travelled for a number of weeks across Europe and stayed in 3-5 star hotels. We do not look to poorly rate hotels and found the majority of places great. Unfortunately we were delayed at no fault of our own by airlines. We made every possible effort to contact the hotel early and changed our plans from train to hiring a car to get there before reception closed. Reception refused to stay open past 11pm when we anticipated arrival at 1130, causing us to book and pay for another hotel. They would also not leave a key or be overly flexible considering we had paid in full. I understand they have a policy however customer service and hospitality goes a long way. On arrival the room had basic amenities and the air con was set at their predetermined temperature which we had no control over. In addition the breakfast was ok however limited selection. The wifi is very slow and drops out. We would not stay again.

    On a positive note the hotel is in a excellent location. The rooms and communal areas are clean and well presented.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.6
    I think that the little village of Monterosso is the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Love the location and hotel. One major concern, be CAREFUL. I got locked out one night, all doors are locked in the evening. There is no night time staff on duty, no one to answer the phone or knocking on the door. Can't blame the staff...my own fault. 😕

    I think that the little village of Monterosso is the loveliest, with beautiful beaches, great food and the least crowded of all of Cinque Terre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    10
    Right on the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Our stay was fantastic - we were in a room at the front overlooking the beach. Went to sleep each night to the sound of the gently lapping waves. Breakfast was taken across the road above the hotel's private beach - as ocean swimmers this place is brilliant! The hotel is family run and it shows, with the staff friendly and helpful. Monterosso railway station is just a very short walk away. Thoroughly recommend this hotel - we will be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    5.0
    Would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms very basic. Really paying for the location opposite the beach.Rooms with a sea view are even more expensive. We paid €185 per night which really was too much. Showers inadequate and temperature of water fluctuated which is dangerous and unacceptable.

    Location excellent for a stay in Cinque Terre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.6
    Beach front
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small bathroom

    Great location right on the beach front. Worth getting a sea view room with a balcony. Nice outdoor area in front of hotel on beach promenade. Only 100m from train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    8.3
    Difficult one as it’s a good hotel... but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One tiny bin in the toilet with no plastic bag to protect. No other bin in the room so I mentioned it to the young chap at reception. 'We don’t have any' he said. Crumbs - that’s a first. Very basic toiletries with one piece of soap and two sachets of shampoo. Breakfast was exactly the same each morning without any real choice although the coffee was great. All completely self service. You can sit outside on the underused seating but no help from the waitresses to get there, ie coffee down the steps or just to get the utensils there. All in all good although we thought very expensive at 220 euros a night.

    This is a pretty good hotel slap bang in the beach, two minutes from the station and close to some really good restaurants. Staff are pretty good, though the usual occasional sullen attitude. The room was excellent having obviously been recently refurbished. Size fair by three star hotel standards. View from our room was brilliant. Good shower and towels were changed every day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    9.6
    Nice location on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit outdated. But I suppose all hotels there are.

    The location and private beach area was very nice. I really liked the shower even though very small.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.3
    I would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a room on the 3rd floor with partial water view which was very nice but had to climb three flights of stairs. They had an elevator but it was only for the handicapped.

    Super location; beach across the street, friendly staff, nice breakfast. Smallish room but typical for Europe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.1
    Very nice place, but too expencive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The equipments did not work (minibar and air conditioning). - The brakefast items were not enough, they end before the end of the set time of the brakefast.

    - Very good location, close to the train station, in front of the sea, and in a nice street. - Close to the city center. You can find good restaurants by foot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.8
    We had a great view and balcony overlooking Monterosso beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were on the third floor so you need to be prepared to walk up a few flights of stairs. The lift is just for luggage.

    We had a great view and balcony overlooking Monterosso beach. It’s a short 2 minute flat walk from the train station. The breakfast is good and we loved the sun beds on the beach out the front. It was clean and tidy and serviced every day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.9
    Very Satisfied with the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At Check in I wasn't told about the Bar , or extra charges for Beach Towels (2E) and Beach Chairs (15E All day , 10E the afternoon ) . When booking I didn't realize that when i changed my room from regular to sea view , the terms changed from cancellable to non-cancellable .

    Great Location - on the main strip , just a few steps from the trains station and right on the main strip and the beach . ( When you are hiking the trails its nice to be close to everything else when its time to relax ) . Lovely Sea view from room 14. The room next to us had a balcony which is a nice touch. They served a wonderful breakfast which included Fresh Fruit ! Also a bar on premises . The room is simple - its not a space to lounge in , but its very clean . The bathroom is new , clean and small .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.5
    Overall really enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think it is greedy/unreasonable to have charged guests for sunbeds as the price of overall stay should cover it. Also strange remotes for air conditioners are kept in reception. Shame they don't offer or open restaurant and full bar for lunch and dinner as location is super. The elderly owner could also consider being on the friendlier side as tends to present you with a scowl! Apart from her the rest of staff are so lovely and genuine, down to earth.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    5.4
    The location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price. It's a very expensive hotel for what it is. You're essentially paying for location.

    The location was perfect! Right on the beach and within walking distance to all of the local restaurants. The best part was that they had really nice tables in front of the property and right on the beach which were reserved for hotel guests only. This was a really nice bonus. The rooms were acceptable and if you're ok with the price, then it's a nice hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    6.7
    Perfect location on the beach next to a lot of great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was uncomfortable and everything in the hotel echoed so it was difficult to get a good night sleep.

    Perfect location on the beach next to a lot of great restaurants and just a few steps from the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    Great location close to the train station and next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sound insulation of the rooms is poor. We could hear people talking to each other in neighbor rooms. Shower was very small and the water pressure low. Sometimes their was sewer odour in the room.

    Great location close to the train station and next to the sea. Very good breakfast that we could enjoy outside, with a view to the nearby sea, it was wonderful. The room was small but comfortable. The staff was kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    9.2
    Good value. Great experience. We will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some complimentary beach towels or a bathrobe.

    This is a typical tourist hotel. Nothing fancy and not expensive given it's premium location. Really enjoyed the reserved patio seating at breakfast and for cocktails, the view from the room, and the private beach. The hotel is family-owned and operated like many of the businesses in the 5 Terre and as such the owners and staff provided excellent and friendly service. We enjoyed interacting with them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    The Cinque Terre is a place you never grow tired of...and this hotel is a perfect place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were great...breakfast was too. This was our second stay at the hotel. Its location is perfect to train station, beach, restaurants and parking!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    6.3
    Good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good bed. Patio off our room was quiet and delightful. Shower very small. Had to walk up stairs. Elevator for bags only. Nice included breakfast. Right across from beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    Best location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is so handy. It’s right on the beach and about 5 minutes from the station. It had its own beach out front but you do have to pay for the lounges. Nice breakfast. The staff are friendly and English is okay. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. If you can manage it, get a room with a sea view (and balcony).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel- was what we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room, the bed could have been better as well.

    Location and the included breakfast were wonderful. The room was to be expected for a small European hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Baia Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: