Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Baia dei Mulini 4 stars

Lungomare Dante Alighieri 7, 91016 Trapani, Italy

#17 of 18 hotels in Trapani

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 168 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Holiday for Elderly and family, not for couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The "touristic village" environment, the noise, the impossibility to get an sunspot close to the sea (first row only available for guests), poor breakfast, far away from city center. The acces to the beach to be paid separately.

    The location, the beach and the restaurants nearby. Available parking inside with easy access. Staff nice and professional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    4.6
    Not good value, for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a Four stars? The property needs a serious overhaul.

    The staff are friendly at the reception and room cleaning , but not at the breakfast area,breakfast is lots of cakes and sweet stuff limited choice of fruit, coffee/ tea dispenser in main/only breakfast area in a 4 star hotel? ,very small room, lots of ants, bathroom door noisy in room 212, pool full of kids, sandy beach, but water full of weeds, and little rough, must have a car.Trapani center is 4kms away,lots of eating places in the city. Be careful where you park, got a ticket, even when parked with in blue lines, Mt Erice 25 minutes ride is worth it. Nice DJ goes on till midnight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    One of Trapani's finest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night of the date we checked in, there was a karaoke happening by the pool, and the room we were in is not well-structured to bounce the noise off.

    Everything. Location. Zen in the city, ease of check in. Room is very clean and fresh smelling. Bathroom is nice with a shower area and toilet. The pool, beach and the city windmill landmark is a great setting. Breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    it was great - a little far from the old town but you can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was great - a little far from the old town but you can easily get there with a 10 EUR cab ride. The beach is fabulous. The facilities are very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    the hotel is fantastic love the staff and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    it wasn't open no bar no beach disaster we have been going to the hotel for the last 14 years this is the worst experience we have had get a new general manager

    the hotel is fantastic love the staff and the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel near the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were impossibly many mosquitoes in the room (unusual for April in Europe at least), so this caught us off guard the first day

    Located close to the sea. There is a nice local restaurant nearby (San Cusumano) which serves pizza and local italian food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.7
    Poor services , room, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked one double room on booking, at the reception we received another type of room, much smaller, with poor sunlight, very small window. We asked to change it an we received another one, better, but still not the one from booking. The Internet conection was slow and limited to only 2 devices. The breakfast was very poor,the coffe machine was broken in one day. Poor quality of staff, the bar was not open all day.

    Private beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    A good place to relax on a perfect beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Could have more electric sockets in the rooms. The breakfast could include more fresh fruit, considering the location and the season.

    The location is amazing, best beach in the area. The pool area is great. The staff deserves a mention, as they were extremely helpful, polite and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Location close to the beach and swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Additional payment for using swimming pool.

    Location close to the beach and swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great beach, pool. They gave us a nice room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Fairly clean and sandy beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good vibes

    Fairly clean and sandy beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was full of mosquitoes and the air conditioning was not working. And for a 4 star hotel the breakfast didn't meet the expectation.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.3
    Hotel location is at the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location is at the beach. Not far from Trapani going by car or public transport. Friendly stuff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    4.6
    We were put in a secondary building - the place was run down...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were put in a secondary building - the place was run down and not at all as we expected. Very disappointing and certainly not a 4 star

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    The beach, the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beach, the pool

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    excellent, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant closing hours

    Awesome breakfast and swimming pool apart from the outstanding seafront location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    6.3
    The room was equipped comfortably and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When I put the address from booking.com to my GPS, I ended up nowhere, we found the hotel in the end thanks to the coordinates. Worst breakfast I had in Sicilly, maybe even in my life. I didn't imagine that I can drink that bad coffee in Italy. The room was fairly equipped, but the shower was leaking if you didn't pay enough attention to close it in the only correct way. Even though we didn't open any window, mosquitoes were appearing in the room from nowhere, maybe from the air conditioning? Luckily we spent only one night in the hotel, but even in such short time we enountered problems with the door lock.

    The room was equipped comfortably and very clean. The air conditioning was fully automated, it even switched on/off when closing/opening the window. I really enjoyed that idea.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    3.8
    Nearly nothing at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A lot of mosquitos in the room ending up with a lot of bites. Air conditioning very noisy. Only two small bags of shower gel. Wifi only in reception area. Hotel out of the way one will require a taxi which is not cheap for 5 minutes drive to the town.

    Nearly nothing at all

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.3
    Perfect room overlooking the sea, very good breakfast, kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    City tax of EUR 2.50 was not mentioned in the offer. The hotel should not be 4-star as the building is bit obsolete. For this price off the season I would give it 3 stars tops.

    Perfect room overlooking the sea, very good breakfast, kind and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    5.4
    I really enjoyed the helpfulness of the stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The ventilation system would hop on automatically and blow off all smells into my room. Sometimes it was the maintenance guys cigarette smoke, other times it would just be some sort of sewage smell. The shower system needs to be updated, every single shower we took put an inch of water on the floor. You could see the damage around the moldings that this was causing, we would clean it up each morning but it was a hassle. The pool was closed, not so much a big deal except the entire area was dilapidated. It was a sad scene. Even the beach outside the hotel that was advertised as being so beautiful was littered with trash. It's a four star resort, and priced as such, act like it.

    I really enjoyed the helpfulness of the stuff. The housekeeping was wonderful. The front desk helped me with everything that I needed. And English even!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    5.4
    Good access to the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walk to Trapany is a bit on the long side. Staff not too helpful A bit industrial typ of breakfast The architecture is agly and for loading two phones and iPads you need to plug of tv and some lights

    Good access to the sea Very clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    6.3
    Beach location and wonderful clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lacks maintence. Lift out of order throughout our stay. Majority of the staff were unfriendly except for a waiter called Marco. Poor outdoor facilities. No restaurants nearby and no shuttle service to centre of town.

    Beach location and wonderful clean room.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.8
    This place is a fairly large resort located right on a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There were huge crowds at breakfast as many older age group of locals must come here each year. The music booming out during the day at times got tiresome while relaxing on the beach.

    This place is a fairly large resort located right on a good part of the beach. There are plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. We were fortunate in having a unit facing the sea with a balcony....because we asked for it ! There were problems with low hot water pressure and our rattling aircon system, but top marks for the hotel who were on to it within the hour. So their R & M policy is that guests need to tell them if anything is wrong in your unit. Plenty of parking is a god send here as in the rest of Sicily this is a rarity. An oasis of relaxation. Another nice touch was free coffee and wine from the bar near the pool.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    2.9
    The beach and pool were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I would never stay in this hotel again. The staff were extremely unfriendly to the point of being rude. I cut my foot and it needed stitches, I asked the reception staff to call me a taxi to go to the hospital. I was told to go in the morning and they didn't call me one. Needless to say my foot is having trouble healing. My room (214)had bed bugs that I could see crawling on the bed. I informed reception and was told that my bites were allergies. Food in the restaurant is terrible. There is loud music playing nightly till after midnight. This hotel is a long way from town. You certainly need a car.

    The beach and pool were lovely. 8 also liked that the hotel provided lots of sunbeds.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.1
    Convenient and easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No adverse comment as such, but it is very much a hotel for elderly late-middle-age people on coach tours. All staff speak good English but clientele are Italian. Poor breakfast

    Convenient and easy to find. On the beach with a good swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    6.3
    Reception staff were helpful and friendly and a reasonable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed here 10 years ago for my brother's wedding when there was a sense of pride about the place. The poolside was lined with sunbeds, the over tanned pool attendant was very friendly, happy and helpful. There was also poolside service but now you have to hunt for service in the restaurant area. It seems that 10 years has has taken its toll on the building and on the people who work here. We only had breakfast at the hotel and that was a good enough gage of what could be in store for lunch & dinner! So we ate across the road at the pizzeria. Breakfast was buffet style, some days the scrambled eggs and bacon were cold. The staff seemed to be there just to shuffle plates and food around, always accompanied by their own private banter. There was no sense of service, we were never greeted or acknowledge when we arrived for breakfast. I'm not sure if this is normal/cultural for buffet style dining or they just don't want to engage with guests. During our stay there was a 'seniors' tour group, maybe from other parts of Italy, and it seemed that the hotel's energies were all focused on their schedule of activities rather than all the other guests. The A/C was used once in the dining room during our visit, which was bit of a shock coming from air conditioned rooms. One disappointment with the beech was the waters edge was full of seaweed and dry seaweed covered the sand. For some reason the hotel have a DJ situated between the pool and the beech so you cannot escape the loud Italian disco music. I'm not sure if this is a cultural thing and its been assumed that this is what people want while unwinding on holiday? Or it could be the reason why other European holiday makers have voted with their feet. There is also a schedule of pool group exercise, again accompanied by the loud DJ music. You need to work your schedule round these times if you want some swimming space, peace and quiet in the pool.

    Reception staff were helpful and friendly and a reasonable amount of English is spoken. Breakfast was buffet style with a mix of continental pastries, breads, meats, cheese and cereals. Poolside has now been extended to the beech. The private beech was a good experience, lots of space between beds, uncrowded and you can leave your hotel beech towel there to keep your bed most of the day if you want to go between pool and beach etc. (tho pool man may rearrange it). We stayed in the main body of the hotel, in two rooms, housekeeping do a good daily clean, making up for the lack of repair. The AC worked a treat and we had a glimpse of the sea from our rooms. Room windows do a good job keeping the loud disco music out. You have to consider that approx. £950 for one week (2 rooms) with access to a private beech & pool (even on a schedule) is something you would struggle to find elsewhere. We would still recommend this hotel but be warned and have a realist expectation.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    7.5
    On the beach and with a nice Swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fancy rules at the restaurant where groups have priority while we had to keep asking when we could eat. The bar service seems also dependent of the sizes of the groups...If a barman is present.

    On the beach and with a nice Swimming pool. Great welcome at the front desk, and the housekeeping services. We had a comfortable renovated room

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    This hotel is on a beautiful beach with a great pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a very large group (100+) staying at the hotel and they had set meals. This made it difficult for me to get a table and service for my meals--I had to work around their schedule as the there wasn't enough staff to cover this large group. The servers were working really hard-I felt badly for them but the group was large and demanding. What made it challenging for me was that there are not many other food choices within walking distance.

    This hotel is on a beautiful beach with a great pool. The customer service at the Feomt Desk was top notch. Michael was amazing at check-in, Giving me a sea view room and the view was incredible. Salvatore was very helpful as my flight was in the evening on the day of check out. I was able to keep my towel and enjoy the pool/beach while he held my luggage. Very much appreciated this. He also helped me arrange a very reasonable price for a taxi to the airport. Salvatore and Michael were amazing!! The food and servers were also great!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.8
    Staff were helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a short drive into the city but this suited us.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Easy parking, quiet and away from hustle of the city. Easy to find and just a short drive into town.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.6
    room with beachview.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a little bit too far from Trapani

    room with beachview.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.6
    Position private beach and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant very poor/tables not always available until very late.

    Position private beach and pool

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    7.9
    Location and nice room near pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food...dinner was terrible.

    Location and nice room near pool

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.3
    The private beach and pool area were very nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If not choosing full board option the restaurant has a very limited value.

    The private beach and pool area were very nice and convenient.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.1
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Woken early every morning by kitchen / restaurant noise as they got ready for breakfast service, ie 7am at the latest.

    Location was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    5.8
    location is convenient to travel around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rather old and delapidated facility with excellent staff trying to do the best

    location is convenient to travel around

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    9.2
    Staff professionalism, location on the ocean and breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No a/c in room

    Staff professionalism, location on the ocean and breakfast selection

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    6.3
    breakfast, sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    receptionist too busy talking to his friend by phone

    breakfast, sea view

Showing 1 - 38