Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bailey's Hotel 4 stars

Via Flavia 39, Via Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy

#459 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 125 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was very poor. Worked in the hallway and breakfast room, but not in our room. Ok to download email and respond then walk back to hallway, but Kind of pointless when one is trying to plan next day's excursion on an interactive map. Staff tried to address it but no significant difference. Bathtub was a bit dirty on checkin and asked about cleaning but nothing seemed to happen. Bed quite firm as well. Sore hips

    Air conditioning was very good. Breakfast was terrific.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was terrible. Very few alternatives to choose from and it was hard to get a hold on what you needed of cutlery and plates. If you didn´t want toast but just plain bread there was none.

    I liked the location, it was very close to everything I´d come to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a small thing: the elevator is a little slow. It would have been no problem if we hadn't got the stroller, as we would have used the stairs.

    Very good location to explore Rome. We were two adults and a toddler and could reach the hotel conveniently on foot from the Termini train station. Close to the hotel are several restaurants which I would also suggest (La Pentolaccia and La Bottega Ristorante Punturi). We got a (more) spacious room because of the toddler bed. My partner is lactose intolerant and after asking at the reception whether they had lactose-free milk for breakfast, the manager said no, but he would provide it to us! This is the first time that I experience this. Great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was extremely hard! The pillows were hard as well.

    The hotel was in a fabulous location! The staff were very friendly with excellent suggestions for tours (they insisted that I tour the Vatican, and I am very grateful) and restaurants all of which were in walking distance. The breakfast was lovely. I would definitely recommend the Bailey Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the only hotel in my life where I could not have a kettle to make a coffee in the morning, I am a early raiser and there is no coffee before 7am this is poor service

    staff was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is over priced . Not a value for money. Air conditioning is poor. Hot water shower is poor. Breakfast options are less. In fact very very limited options. The only positive is you can walk from termini or republica metro station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would love to have the following: Hair dryer not in the bathroom a light where the desk mirror is tea and coffee facilities would just top it off.

    The Staff were very welcoming and all the correspondence prior to arrived was dealt with very well and quickly. Our Room was on the 6th floor and perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is the worst I have come across and the coffee is disgusting! The shower screen leaked leaving a very well bathroom floor each morning and lots of mould and black grout. Not sure why it is a 4 star hotel

    Comfortable room and fairly big. Nicely situated away from the main area but with many lovely restaurants close by. Only takes 15 minutes to walk to main area. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was half the size of our traveling companions and the pillows were very hard. Our room did not have any windows which added to the uncomfortable small size. Although we were only there for one night and we were comfortable.

    The front desk staff were extremely helpful; finding us the most amazing restaurant for dinner within walking distance and the best gelato ever, also within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was good, albeit we did have to enter the passcode a few times i.e. in the morning after not switching off our phones during the evening. The expectancy is that once the code is entered, then the appliance should kick in when required.

    A comfortable bed, ideal after 8 nights in a location we'd stayed at that wasn't great. Traditional, efficient hotel. We arrived late and left early on a one night stay so we never made best use of everything. The desk staff were very helpful. Reasonably convenient for the main transport network.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More cleanliness of Bathroom was required. There was a peculiar smell which was coming out of room and bathroom.

    Hotel Staff were really Good and Helping in nature.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i think this room double is attached to another room and to b single not double

    the small double room is so poor have window but not fresh and breath coz is next to another building attracted with stairs they can climb from window not secure no lights from window looks horrible room breakfast is so bad also all the hotel old and the furnished also vintage you feel like in dark room no lights from the window

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent, walking distance to lovely restaurants and tourist spots but off the main road. Staff extremely helpful and courteous. A great stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like that there were no drawers for lingerie, misc. But we got white robes and slippers which was kinda nice to have after a tiring day in Rome!

    It was in a great location! We felt safe and comfortable! We love the fact that Mirko and Gerald were very helpful with directions and tours around Rome! Breakfast was hearty and healthy! Ciao!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi signal was too weak in hotel room. TV system is complicated. Then, I asked hote front to come up to the room to explain how to use, but, they refused by saying that they did not have sufficient staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We liked everything about the Hotel but if I were to be critical, the breakfast could have had more hot selections.

    The Concierge staff was excellent. They were very helpful with everything and spoke English . They were excellent in helping us navigate the buses and trains' mass transit systems.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor wifi. The description of the room ("SUPERIOR ROOM") clarified that it faces on an internal court. It did not clarify that the window opens directly on the emergency-stair (impossible to open the window, impossible to keep curtains open)

    very clean, great position

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t a safe in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not great.

    Staff here are so nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rooms could do with an update

    The staff were very helpful , rooms clean every day with fresh towels,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows are flat; wifi is bad; poor view as the windows are facing the inner court;

    The location is good, the staff is friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast could have been better

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems close but far enough from Termini

    High rates of hospitality and convinient location for walking. A lot of cafes and restaurants around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Badly designed bathroom. Juices at breakfast were so weak.

    Wonderful 6ft bed. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Location n clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accueil. Excellent service. Merci !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pillow was too soft

    sweet selection for breakfast was great they had our room before check in. Thank you! some chocolate in our bedroom! Great!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in bedrooms

    Staff really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a closed shower will be more comfortable & less messy water in the shower were changing strength during showering

    1st of all- the stuff ! so friendly, always ready to help with any request or question. upgraded our room the minuet we said it's our honeymoon, gave us free drinks for the occasion & another for my birthday. the room was very nice, clean& tidy, comfortable bed, great WIFI!

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was perfect, we could reach everything easy, but also it was a nice, cozy district. Room was clean and nice, staff extremely helpful and polite. Great restaurants around.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was very hot in Rome even though it was the end of Sept. The room just didn't cool off enough. We went to a little hardware store a couple of blocks away and bought a fan. We took that fan with us everywhere in Italy. It solved the problem.

    Nice location, nice staff. Pretty good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not very good and buffet contained many "non-breakfast" food types.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful with all aspects of our stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfasts fine but would've benefitted from a bit more variety.

    Location. 15 mins walk from Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. Close to Republican metro station to get you about Rome. Staff very helpful throughout and nothing too much trouble. Excellent restaurants near to Via Flavia.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was intermittent.

    The staff is always very helpful and went out of there way to make our stay special. Their knowledge of things to do was appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No heating in bathroom which had an outside wall. Outside it was extremely cold and not much warmer in bathroom. Spoilt the visit somewhat.

    Location. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was as we expected, no negative thoughts at all.

    The location, the help when needed from the staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The king mattress was 10 years beyond its lifespan and the Internet access was lacking.

    The hotel was clean and the staff was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Really enjoyed

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We could only get wifi in our room if we stood by a certain window.

    Great staff. Lovely breakfast. Room was large. Air conditioning and elevator

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely rooms, nice breakfast , friendly staff, welcome drinks , clean hotel

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse The Bailey's Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: