Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Balcony 2 stars

Via Dei Banchi 3, Tornabuoni, 50123 Florence, Italy

#165 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1415 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location. Helpful staff. Extremely clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. 5 mins walk from station. 5 mins walk to the duomo. Welcoming, friendly & helpful staff. Communal terrace with seating which is a bonus. Extremely clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.6
    Hotel Balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress very hard and lumpy. Shower doors broken, sink cracked. No tea/'coffee making facilities

    Location handy to restaurants and central Florence

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Great budget hotel near station and town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to pick something bad the walls are pretty thin so can hear people in other rooms etc.

    Friendly helpful staff. Very close to duomo and shops, restraunts, bars etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Well placed Hotel for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air con is efficient but quite noisy at night.

    Friendly welcome from the owners son who gave us some useful tips on places to visit during our stay. Hotel Balcony is only a few minutes walk from the train station & well placed for viewing the sights of the city (5 mins to the Santa Maria Novelli Cathedral, 10 to the Uffizi Gallery & Ponte Vecchio) The room is fairly basic but clean & comfortable, however, the street outside, although small & narrow is very busy & can be noisy at night. We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel, preferring to check out local eateries instead.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    - location is close to duomo and station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - wall-held hair dryer needs both hand controlling - water of shower is not hot - no elevator inside the hotel that we need to walk many staircase with taking heavy luggages - the air-conditioning is not functioning well - room is relatively small

    - location is close to duomo and station - staff provide useful information of the scenic points

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Excelent ubication!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    The ubication is amazing, is 5 min walk to the duomo and less than 5 min to the museo, a lot of restaurants and shops close to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay with welcoming hosts and friendly staff. Comfortable,and near everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The balcony, a significant feature in our decision to stay there, was a disappointment - underutilized (which is a shame), and seemed to be used only by smokers. Air conditioner unit was older style and while quiet probably overdue for cleaning.

    The hotel is very well positioned and in easy walking distance of everything - including the train station with luggage, Quaint layout (as with most old buildings in Florence), comfortable older-styled room with well updated modern bathroom. While smallish, the room was plenty large enough for two, and the high ceilings made it pleasant in the hot weather. Host/owner was welcoming and friendly. Breakfast provided was good with a range of food. With no lift, the host was very helpful with bags up to the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    This is a family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was okay. They don’t serve American coffee but you could find other places nearby that do.

    This is a family run hotel. Guido speaks english very well. He is a really nice guy and helped us get taxis for various places. His father is also very nice but speaks a limited amount of english but he was very helpful. The small balcony was a great spot to relax and have some wine. I enjoyed our stay here very much! Thank you, Guido!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic experience of Florence. Would book this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea, milk and coffee sachets provided in bedroom. Had to ask for them at desk every day. Towels weren’t always replaced

    Loved the location. Hotel felt “Tuscan”...very clean and tidy ... exceptionally helpful staff. Only too happy to help with tour advice, ordering taxis,etc. could walk everywhere from hotel. So appreciated the position of hotel. All sights and shops so near.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.0
    Bad hotel but location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift and we were given a room on the top floor. On a rainy night, sound of the rain drops won't let you sleep. Breakfast is very basic and cold. We requested for early check in as genius member of booking.com, but they never provided the same.

    Location and nothing else

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.3
    Adequate for our 2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is very dark in the rooms, beds were hard, pillows kind flat

    The staff was helpful and spoke adequate English . It was a short walk to the duomo, you could see it from the front of hotel, it was reAll close to SMN train station sap if you list to your map app 🤨 felt safe Room size was bigger then he last room I stayed in in Florence The bathroom was a good size for Italy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could be better, but it does the job for a quick grab and go before a long day in Florence

    You get what you pay, excellent location, small room but clean and comfortable, with all the ammenities available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Nice experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all perfect

    They were extremely helpful and friendly. All of the family , the owner's son his wife and he himself. They did there best to assist me in my fasting in Ramdan and my needs . Everything is perfect . I highly recommend them . And i would definitely book there again .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel, a perfect home base to discover Florence
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality of the wifi wasn't what it should be, but that's not the reason someone comes to Florence anyway, I guess.

    Wonderful hotel. The location is excellent, the couple is extremely friendly. Maybe their English was rather limited, but it was also very charming. Proper breakfast. Very clean rooms, which are cleaned on a daily basis.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Recomended and could be considering for next visit to Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very tiny and at the time weather run cold no air condition at the facility. 😩😳

    Very closed of main atractions. Walking distance, excelent breakfast, extremly clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Wished bed had been more comfortable- otherwise it would have been a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were flat and bed was hard- didn’t sleep well.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Wished we had purchased breakfast, because it looked like good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    Expensive mistake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor quality, stale croissants tinned fruit. I only managed to get a few dregs from the fruit bowl. If you wanted juice the owner had to be asked to switch the machine on. He was always watching and hoverin. The bedroom was in the back no windows just a door onto a small enclosed patio. When we asked to move, owner told us we had the best room as it was noisy on the front.?? Our single beds were toe to toe in a very small room. Lastly on checkout we paid the bill with receipt, then we were asked for 12 euros city tax CASH ONLY...I was refused a separate receipt for cash ??? Overall a great location with plenty of hotels nearby. Choose another hotel.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    A budget hotel for undemanding travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I got was a tiny garret, not particularly well-ventilated. The wi-fi access from my room was not great. OK for one night, but certainly not worth the 120 EUR I paid for it.

    The hotel is well-located. It is within easy walking distance of the railway station and the Duomo. The proprietors are very friendly and helpful, even if you don't speak any Italian. It has a nice balcony where one can sit and read a book while having breakfast or a glass of wine. Breakfast is simple, no frills, but I am happy as long as there is granola.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Close enough to sites and overall acceptable but only just.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noisy from external traffic, room quite compact but serviceable. Disappointing breakfast no hot food! Stairs were tiring after a long day with cases. A/C did not come on until 4 pm. Although tea and coffee facilities available no coffee or tea or spoons - in fact only kettle and cups! Beds hard. Shower very weak. Monitor sized TV screen!

    great location, near all sights. Tea and coffee facilities - bring own tea, coffee and spoons. Helpful staff but with limited English. Clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    😆😃☺ A great taste of Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over sampled the food & drink because it rained in Florence this time.

    Great centrally located family hotel. Accrss to rail, sites, eating and shopping.Every thing that a major named hotel can offer. Breakfast was ample, a smiling face and great music. Sixth visit to Florence will return to this hote.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    A lovely few days based at the Hotel Balcony to explore Firenze.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fridge in the room was very useful. But we loved having a room with a window out over the balcony. That meant we could pass out hot drinks through the window. Sitting out on the balcony relaxing was great, daytime and night time. We were a group of 4 and had 2 rooms, both of which completely met our needs, eg comfy beds and wifi. The hotel is in a great location for exploring Firenze (Florence) and easy to walk to from the railway station. The staff were great and when we had a problem with a toilet they sorted it out very quickly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    Good location
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating. No apparent smoke and safety alarms. Impossible to shower. Electrical outlets would not accept transformer and only bath accepted converter for 110.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Great price and location; highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is basic but a very reasonable price in an excellent location. It is a great place from which to explore Florence. And the staff are very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Perfect location, stone throw away from the Florence...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Perfect location, stone throw away from the Florence cathedral, extremely friendly staff, rooms are what you want (double bed, shower, tv) cleaned daily and very reasonably priced!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.8
    Villeroy and Boch toilet bowl
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they took additional money from me, City Tax. But in booking.com's description, they said that all taxes are included in price.

    Villeroy and Boch toilet bowl

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location at a fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little small and no bath.

    Very good location,near station & Duomo. Friendly helpful staff and heating was useful. Kettle and cups very much appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    Average accommodations with super staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small. The shower did not drain well, leaving you standing in water. There also seemed to be people loitering in the lobby at any time of day/night.

    Extremely helpful and cheerful staff! They were the best part of our stay. Great location a few minutes walk from the Duomo. All kinds of shopping, cafes and restaurants are nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like!

    Very friendly and welcoming! Lots of choice at breakfast. Lovely balcony. Comfortable beds. Great hosts. Wonderful location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Cosy hotel stay in the heart of Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a pleasant weekend away, and I can't find anything to complain about regarding the facilities, maybe better soundproofing for light sleepers?

    The staff was kind and helpful. We booked a small room, yet it was well equipped. The room and facilities were always clean. The breakfast options were plenty enough. The location is excellent, you can walk just about anywhere in central Florence.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Convenient location, close to many attractions, the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Convenient location, close to many attractions, the center. Nearby (5 minutes on foot) is a grocery store, as well as a nearby market. Who cares about shopping the hotel is near a sufficient number of shops. Near the hotel there is a restaurant where the hotel guests receive a discount. Pleasant staff, who worries about visitors. . Check-in was quick, without problems. When you pay, a bill is issued. The room was clean, cozy, warm (in winter!): the conditioner and hot batteries, constantly hot water, comfortable bed, a working kettle, TV, air conditioning, hairdryer. Every day the room was cleaned. wi-fi is excellent. The breakfast is good, but it is indivisual for everyone, we were full, very delicious coffee. Parking is not available, but for us it was not a disadvantage. If you arrive after 23.00 to 7.30, it is better to contact the staff before your check-in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Good traditional Italian family-run hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is rather dark during day time.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Location close to the station and Duomo. Breakfast is simple but nice. Construction noise was impossible to ignore upstairs on the first morning. We were forced to get up much earlier than we planned to. The owner promised to tell the workers to start later the next morning, and it was indeed much better the next day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Great location and Price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was SO close the Duomo and Bell-Tower. The front desk attendant would hand you a map, and even told you what bus lines you could grab to head further out of town. They do offer a Continental Breakfast at the hotel as well, but we didn't opt for that. We didn't have to go up too many stairs and the room was bigger than other hotels we stayed at in Venice and London. We enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Extremely nice and helpful hosts! Great location. Easy to find. Easy to be a guest -). All Florance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely nice and helpful hosts! Great location. Easy to find. Easy to be a guest -). All Florance centre is walking distance. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    one word to sum up my stay "Excellent"
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I loved everything!!!

    Guido and his family made this stay outstanding!!! Anything needed they were so very helpful, from suggesting tours,places to go, transportation just anything they would go above and beyond. Thank You Guido!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Perfectly welcoming, clean establishment; very centrally located in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing could have been any better! Loved the experience totally.

    Owners were exceptionally friendly and welcoming. Presented us with a map, and overview upon arrival, and carried our cases directly upstairs to our room. All was as described in pictures and reviews. A lovely, old-style, family-owned hotel with unique decor and ambiance. Very clean, good shower, refrigerator, and plenty of storage space. Did not use balcony, because we were so busy, and also time of year. (a bit chilly) Centrally located. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Close to Duomo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's difficult to get there by car as hotel is located in ZTL (limited traffic zone) If you choose to go by car ask hotel for help with booking car park

    Great location (3 min walk to the Duomo), friendly and very helpful staff. Everything was perfect and we enjoyed our stay i Florence.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning must have been set on quite a high temperature as would only turn on for a few minutes before going off.

    Great location within a minutes walk from the Duomo. Good size comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Great location - but run of the mill city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room with 2 single beds and ended up with 2 beds placed foot to foot in a narrow dark room. No chance to put them side by side. Felt like a dorm room. Bath was tiny.

    Only 5 minutes walk to the train station and the Duomo.We could leave our luggage after check out but it was left standing in the hall upstairs completely unattended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Overall the room space and furnishings were OK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As the property is in the old city - the sound proofing between my room and the next was not great. A thicker mattress would have been nice. Getting in the room around 2 pm was delayed.

    Overall the room space and furnishings were OK. Internet was good, TV small but lots of channels. Breakfast was very good and service was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    This is a very good, budget friendly hotel near the city center in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really a complaint, but booking.com says the hotel has a 24 hour front desk and they do not. I tried to explain this to the employee at check out, but he did not speak much English and did not understand me. They opened the doors a little early for us so we could check out and get a taxi, but if your flight is very early, this could be a problem. It should be changed on the website to avoid confusion.

    The location was great. Very close to the city center and the major sights. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.8
    Being in Florence is awesome, so one puts up with some inconvenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bedroom was way too small from what was advertise. Recommend having breakfast somewhere else.

    Travelling alone does not get you treated as one would normally expect, but let say the room was smaller than my bedroom when at boarding school and the bed was about the same. Booking said a double bed, got a small single bed; booking said view on city and balcony, balcony was covered in pigeon poop and the city was a wall under construction. Bedroom was relegated near the broom closet. For Florence breakfast could have been better... This being said hotel was fairly clean, staff was OK (I think it is mainly the owners, not very talkative, but helpful if required) and it was minutes from the Duomo so extremely central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel room wall was a bit thin (not sound proofed enough).

    The hotel room was clean and sufficient. The breakfast and the service were good. The location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    The location was very good, everything within easy waking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Description of room given on booking.com was not accurate. There was no minibar (a small fridge but nothing in it!), no tea/coffee maker. The room was in need of updating re: the furniture and lighting.

    The location was very good, everything within easy waking distance. Bed was large and comfortable. Breakfast adequate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    Excellent stay due to the close proximity of the Duomo Uffizi and various churches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road that the hotel is on is extremely noisy - it is a short cut for the ambulances to get to the hospital with all sirens going, also is on the way to the train station so very noisy with people at all times of the night. Couldn’t have the windows open as the noise spoilt it. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, have had continental breakfast in a lot of hotels and felt this fell short of expectations.

    Room was comfy bathroom clean. Staff friendly; very central for travel, sightseeing, shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was the size of a postage stamp. Maybe perfect for one, but not for two. Way too small. No place to sit and visit if needed. The review did say small... didn't think it would be just a bit bigger than the bed!

    Good location. Justin was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Great lower budget smaller hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very close to everything in Florence. Bed was small for 2 people. Staff is very friendly, restaurant next door was good. Great gelato store at end of block. Balcony was a good get away space. Too bad renovation is going on next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    For a 2 star it have excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    For a 2 star it have excellent value for money.Nothing was too much trouble .for Guido.the receptionist..excellent information on Florence. .trasport...restaurants.Breakfast was much more than expected.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Location was excellent with regard to sightseeing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Typical European shower (too small for "large" men). Breakfast was poor, fruit cocktail from can, biscuits from package, etc.

    Location was excellent with regard to sightseeing and nightlife.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    Located near sites, restaurants, shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room's windows opened onto the balcony where others could be heard and seen. Very noisy on the street all night long. Construction on building next door Monday morning.

    Located near sites, restaurants, shopping

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.4
    I would not recommend this hotel not good value for money and very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thought it included breakfast when we arrived the owner said it didnt but it was expensive so we had breakfast out. The hotel was noisy, our room window looked onto the balcony,on the same level we couldnt open our windows and people were drinking till very late at night.

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    Service could be improved. Only nice thing about this place was its location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The city tax has to be paid only in cash that was very unpleasant, since I paid for the hotel with my debit card, and had to go to withdraw money specifically for this purpose. And staff did not inform us about this in advance. Upon arrival it took us quite some time (around 30 min) to check in since staff member couldn't speak English and was puzzled with the reservation via booking. I stayed 6 days. There were builders working next to the hotel and nobody informed us or apologized for the inconvenience due to the noise in the morning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    This was a fabulous location, staff was so helpful and I had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This was a fabulous location, staff was so helpful and I had a balcony which was shared with one other room. Not that I was in my room much. Was within walking distance to everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Great value and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small, family run hotel with everything you need in great location. Rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was basic, but good and fresh. The namesake balcony was a nice feature. Close to SMN station, Duomo, and in walking distance to most of historic city. I've stayed in larger and more luxurious hotels, but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and didn't want for anything here. A great value an I'll stay here next time I'm in Florence.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could use an update. Things were old and crumbly. Our view was of pipes and scaffolding. No lift, and we had heavy cases - tip: travel light!

    Very lovely staff. Helped us with tickets to Uffizzi museum and gave good advice about getting in to see the statue of David. Close to the areas we wanted to see! Acceptable cold breakfast, neatly laid out by desk staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Had to carry suitcases up and down the stairs.

    Easy to find. Within walking distance of everything. The owner didn't have much English but gave us a map and marked all places of interest on it. Lovely decor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely little hotel: quiet, pleasant and in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cleaned late in the afternoon, twice they called in at a time we were still in the room. Teaspoons with the cups would have been nice.

    Lovely room. Good amount of storage, with stand for suitcase. Seating area on landing was pleasant, if a little dark for reading.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    the room was spotless the staff friendly and the location...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not good disabled no lift

    the room was spotless the staff friendly and the location was great you couldn't get any nearer to the action. only thing i would say is that it is no good for disabled as the rooms are all upstairs and there is no lift but other then that it is fantastic. I would recomend it to any one going to Florence.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Two weeks ago we stayed in Firenze in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two weeks ago we stayed in Firenze in this hotel. Good location: close both to the railway station and Duomo. Reception staff is friendly and polite, always in a good mood. Authentic Italian room, bathroom is good. You can have fun at the morning and listen the bells of Duomo. The hotel is keeping clean. The hotel has a balcony where you can relax and smoke, if you smoke. We liked this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.8
    very close to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The name is hotel balcony, however they do not use the marvellous balcony. Breakfast was in a very tiny place. People could not fit in. The breakfast service also limited. No eggs. Not even an extra cheese. Not even one vegetable.

    very close to city center. nice balcony to smoke cigars.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.3
    Woman (receptionist) is very kind and hostile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old man who own this hotel very unfriendly, but his wife and son are ok. Wife advised us pretty nice about sightseeings and food places. Old man saw and calculated how many slices of chess and sausage we took during the breakfast. Also he made angry face when I was taking the second cup of coffee. This behavior he demonstrated in spite of we paid for two extremely poor breakfast are 32 euro. For such a breakfast the maximum price is about 10 euro or even less. I do not recommend to take a breakfast there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.1
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a double room and it was very small bathroom was also tiny. Quit a few stairs to room. No lift.

    The location is great. Easy walk from train station and close to attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location - really recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One of the people who stay at the reception does not speak English, which can be a problem if you need some help/information when he is the only one there. Also, there are no elevators.

    Excellent location (walking distance to main attractions and train station), comfortable room (even though furniture is quite old) with a mini fridge (you can buy drinks at the reception or bring your own), quite good breakfast. Loved the fact that they offer a sort of valet service for a reasonable price (it not easy to park on the streets nearby). Staff is mostly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.4
    Homophonic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I brought a male friend back to my room. It was clear that he was not staying as it was a single person room with single person bed. There were no rules regarding visits posted either on the website or in the hotel itself, nor was I informed of any on entering the hotel. Despite this, within a minute of coming into the room, the manager - who had apparently been watching on the camera as he was not at reception - came to the door and animatedly said my friend should leave. I explained that he was not staying but the only reply was 'vai' 'deve andare' (go away and he must go). There was no polite explanation of any of this, nor apology. My friend left humiliated. In the morning, when I asked what happened, the explanation was that there could not be more than one person staying in the room as the owner risked a fine. I explained again, as I had done the night before, that he wasn't staying and there was no possibility that he was staying so it was a false argument. He said no one would believe him or me, and that every hotel is like this. Again, no apology or any indication of being sorry for how things went. I pointed about that there were no rules regarding visitors posted, and the only response was "I am telling you now." and especially "For that, you must rent an apartment." ... I can only conclude that this is a homophobic establishment, that risks being in violation of the anti-discrimination laws that carry their own large fines (Legge regionale 15 novembre 2004, n. 63 Norme contro le discriminazioni determinate dall'orientamento sessuale o dall'identità di genere). If it is true what he said that all hotels are like this, they damage the reputation of Florence as a city of culture and humanity. Straight or LGBT, do not go here.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Very good location, near the train station (walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator, which is a problem is you have large luggage.

    Very good location, near the train station (walking distance). Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was perfect for a few nights stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all. You get exactly what you pay for!

    The hotel was perfect for a few nights stay. The rooms were small but clean and had air con which was definitely needed in July. The hosts were very friendly and attentive. Although not a large selection, breakfast was reasonable for what you paid. Extremely close to the main square and attractions which was brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - There was not an elevator even my room was on the first floor.

    - The father and the sun who were in charge of the hotel were very nice and helpful. - There was a fridge, electric Kettle and mosquito repeller in the room. - The curtain was too thick therefor sunlight did not bother me in the morning and i had good nights sleep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Great Location; Everything else average or below
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pretty basic and in need of an upgrade. Hallways are lit by motion-sensing lights, but it gives a bit of a dark and dreary feel to the place. Even when the lights did come on, it wasn't that bright. Breakfast was sub-par at best--low-quality breads; cereal, but no milk. Coffee machine was strange and moody.

    This place is really about the location. It's a short walk from the train station, and provides easy access to all the major sites. This could be said of many hotels, as Florence is not terribly spread out, but Hotel Balcony exceeded expectations on this point. They also had a nice balcony (hence the name), to perch on in the evenings/mornings. Too hot in the middle of the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Home away from home near the Duomo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We cannot say enough good things about the friendliness and cooperation of the owners and managers of Hotel Balcony! It was like a home away from home for our two week bicycling tour of Italy. Arriving with our bikes in boxes late at night due to train delays, we reassembled them on the balcony the next morning, went on our tour, came back after two weeks and disassembled and put them back in their boxes. They graciously let us leave our boxes and suitcase during our trip and also held them for the transportation company to pick them up. What is amazing is that even though we couldn't stay in the hotel after our trip because they were full, they said that "use of the balcony is free". They lent us tools, gave information about bike shops and restaurants and grocery stores most willingly. They only accepted a minor payment after much insistence by us! And, they are a five minute walk from the Duomo!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Night in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Balcony was perfectly situated to maximize our time in Florence and in walking distance to the main museums. The staff were also friendly and very accommodating by allowing us a place to keep our bags after check out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    A bit pricey but wonderful
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price, 270 € for two night

    The balcony, for relax, for eat somethink and so on! room number 100 with the window on the balcony. location very close to the center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Quaint and fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was fabulous , main attractions all within walking distance. From the roof top balcony you could see the duomo just down from hotel location. It is a quaint hotel, not a modern hotel but very well maintained. The bedroom was spacious enough to move around without tripping over. The decor is a bit dated but it is Italy and was what we expected. Fabulous staff ( father and son) very helpful with any questions asked. A very clean and well maintained hotel. Would we stay again yes yes yes!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Great stay at Hotel Balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been a bit more comfortable.

    The location was excellent. Bathroom and bedroom was confortable and clean. Kettle,cups,etc.in the room. WiFi in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic in every way except for road construction factor that impacts ease of access from train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only complaint... right now there is major road construction between hotel and train station. We rely on GPS on phone to go everywhere and it was challenging to walk to hotel because of construction. Dont try it at night, and get good directions from staff as to best route. Maybe easier with car. Also no view but that is not big deal...just head out into Florence City for the views!

    Everything about this accommodation was great in terms of bed, kitchen, bathroom (best water pressure in Italy!), staff, cleanliness, etc. Photos online are accurate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel in the historic center og Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fine hotel in the historic center og Florence. The hosts were very nice, helped us with parking and gave us advice about the city and restaurants. Allrigt resto next door.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.0
    Worst stay on our 14 day euro trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel based off of good reviews and it was the biggest disappointment! The linens were filthy and covered in long strands of black hair (I have blonde hair), the bathroom shower leaked and flooded the bathroom floor. The "hair dryer" was more of a vacuum that got extremely hot to hold and didn't fully dry your hair. Breakfast was only a variety of sweet cakes and there was no protein.

    The only positive to this hotel was the location to the city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Balcony traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: