Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bauer Palladio Hotel & Spa 5 stars

Giudecca 33, Giudecca, 30133 Venice, Italy

#78 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 469 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location, special hotel, attentive staff - fully recommend!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was buffet and was a good selection but not sure it quite lives up to 5*, nothing necessarily wrong with it though. €6 for a bottle of water from the bar is excessive, would have been a nice touch for water to be complimentary, but again not a deal breaker - would still recommend.

    Shuttle service across to St Marks, every half hour and only takes 5 mins. Fabulous location. Staff are attentive, can’t do enough to help. The grounds and gardens are stunning and the building is beautiful. Didn’t see the Spa or gym so no comment there. Decor is very Venetian and palatial.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.0
    Peace and historical setting a stones throw over the water Try it .We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Personally I dont like the restaurant menu as very orientated to veg-vegan. V limited fish and meat options. I know this is the restaurant menu through choice but may not suit all. Had to deal with excessive music noise from adjacent room one night and bad room mess up by hotel on last night. However both problems were dealt with fairly and courteously . Limited TV channels for 2018 and rather old TVs’.

    Been before and went back for same reasons--Peace and quiet. Excellent boat service. Very good breakfast. Ambience, Architecture great. Wonderful garden Good linen, plentiful towels

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location to avoid hustle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been comfier, which is really important when you are on your feet exploring all day. Shower seemed a little 2nd rate - was great when brand new, but not so much now

    Gardens were gorgeous, waking up to views of Venice was amazing, location is fantastic, staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    A haven of delight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apres shampooing in the bathroom and early morning tea and coffee room service are the only 2 things I would add and of course a discreet swimming pool.

    A breath of fresh air. Loved escaping to the idyllic peace of this former monastery run by an excellent hotel group which understands what customers want from the well designed bathroom and comfy beds to the extra water in the fridge and the half bottle of franciacorta which was so refreshing after an over extended journey arriving at half past midnight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    The only way to do venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have more variety. Coffee quality could improve.

    Almost everything. Best location in Venice. Kind and helpful staff. Excellent pillows on bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little off the beaten path. Had to depend on hotel shuttle to get to S. Marco

    Beautiful, quiet. Staff is very helpful and pleasant. Shuttle is complimentary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    4.6
    The staff were amazing, trying to find out a solution for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very old, with a huge carpet, not recommended for allergy suferes, the air condition didn't work for 2 days and the windows didn'd have black out. The price does not match to a 5 star hotel room.

    The staff were amazing, trying to find out a solution for some problems. A good one is the shuttle all day long from Marco Polo to Giudecca. The entire hotel are beautiful and the garden amazing to relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Property was easy to reach Excellent shuttle to Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was pricey However you get what you pay for

    Property was easy to reach Excellent shuttle to Venice. Food was superb and staff very attentive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable holiday , good location, good accommodation , excellent and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continue the good work

    Staff were friendly and helpful, chef was kind enough to listen and the food was excellently prepared and delivered . The boat taxi was very useful and the drivers were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    I enjoyed Venice but will definitely not be booking this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was very dull and was not good for our eyesight, the air conditioner did not work, but was blowing air and it was very hot in the room. The pizza we ordered from the hotel was very bland and tasteless.

    I liked the boat ride back and forth to the hotel, the breakfast was good, the staff were friendly and helpful, the garden was beautiful, liked the massage (Spa), the room and gym were clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful experience for relax, better than to stay at Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the wine is too expensive and the waiter did not advice us before. One glass of wine for 40 Euros !!!!

    The building is incredible. The water taxi to Venice was very good and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel for R & R
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask twice for our room to be serviced as they had missed our room but both days this was quickly resolved and a small reduction off the balance at the end of our stay

    The location, gardens and spa facilities were excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Extremely kind and professional staff.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If forced to find something, soundproofing could be improved.

    Extremely kind and professional staff. Beautiful grounds, very well kept. A very pleasant atmosphere. Room impeccably clean, comfortable bed. Very satisfying breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    The epitome of relaxed elegance. The perfect place in the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one thing: the room illustrated on Booking.Com (with a garden view) was not the one we were given.

    The epitome of relaxed elegance. The perfect place in the perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    A wonderful unforgettable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities of the spa which were limited required a supplementary payment which was rather excessive. The spa in addition is badly laid out.

    A stunning building with lovely views and a large peaceful garden. The restaurant and staff were utterly fabulous: the food sublime, local wines from the hotels own vineyards delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful hotel which looks towards San Marco on the main island. Our room was amazing - was huge and luxurious and wonderful to come back to after a day's sightseeing. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was great to start the day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    great location -in summer prob best / great staff /very very tired rooms not that comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms are very very tired bathrooms dark, inconsistent heating and extremely noisy due to stone floor in halls . we loved the location but its a problem in winter with fog which means water boats don't work though hotel runs a half-hourly shuttle . we were also affected by strike of water taxi.

    lovely staff excellent very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    the atmosphere and the place - amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the atmosphere and the place - amazing. My room was nice. I would recommend to review some old staff like the air dryer in the bathroom (too old compared with the place). the Spa is nice! the massage good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    A special experience that could have been even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet was unreliable and we had to keep chasing this up. The staff were inconsistent - some wonderful, some could have been a lot more forthcoming. Swimming facilities would have been most welcome.

    View from lagoon-facing rooms superb. Beautiful gardens. Great breakfast. Atmospheric and historic. Peaceful. Free shuttle launch to the main island of the city much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Superb hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At breakfast, we didn't like the coffee being in urns, as it didn't taste great, but the waiter was happy to bring us cappuccinos.

    Everything. We loved the privacy, the peace and the comfort. The breakfast was great with lots of selection and excellent service. We especially liked the hotel's motor boat service across the lagoon, which only took 5 minutes and used it frequently. The island of Giudecca was so peaceful after the crowds and noise of San Marco. We walked the length of it and visited some of the lovely bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Best stay so far
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very good but pricey.

    While it's not on the main island it's so much better. First it's beautiful the views are wonderful. The staff are 10 times better than the sister hotel. The water shuttle works very hard to meet the needs of the guests. I'm staying there every time I visit Venice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous and will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel restaurant menu is somewhat expensive, although probably in line with the standard of the hotel.

    Lovely bonus of getting an upgraded room. However, without that surprise, the hotel is really nice with great, helpful & friendly staff. Sumptuous breakfast included, with both English and continental options available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    A very peaceful and relaxed environment. No hot drink making facilities provided in room. Pity. 8/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fresh juices. (Why not?) Coffee was awful (why?) but could request a cappuccino etc which was only slightly better. Hard boiled eggs were not fully hard boiled. Sausage were hard and inedible.

    Good choice of cereals, fruit, cold meats and cheese. Environment lovely. Staff first rate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    4.6
    Would never go again overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way overpriced even for venice compared to the other options I looked at but I thought it would be worth it. It wasn’t by about 300 euros a night too much. Have been to venice several times and all other was better and more value for money

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Can't wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thought the prices in the dining room were exorbitant, so we never used it in the evening. Having said that the breakfasts provided were 1st class.

    Ths staff were lovely, the beds were as good as we have ever slept in. We really liked the location which has fantastic views & access across to San Marco but with a much quieter environment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    I wish I could go back and stay longer at the hotel. I was completely happy with the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel Bauer Palladio Resort and Spa on Giudecca Island, Venice, was once a 16th century convent. The charm of the hotel is its atmosphere of modern elegance surrounded by the original structures of the convent. The hotel is built around a church and its dome rises above the double front doors that are marked with a cross. My room was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Every one of the staff treated me with such kindness, helpfulness and courtesy. They were absolute gems – every one of them - from the people at the check-in desk and the spa to the porters and waiters. The breakfast room was spectacular in my opinion, especially the large mural covering one wall. The breakfast offerings went above and beyond my expectations and included a long table with slices of fruit of every possible kind and even whole baked apples! The spa takes up two floors and eight rooms. Just before taking a walk down the pier, I had a 90-minute hot stone massage to help me unwind from a somewhat stressful passage through Rome's airport. The darkened treatment room had floor to ceiling mirrors which reflected the lights from the fireplace and the many candles placed around the room. The mellow music was hauntingly exotic and the hot and heady oils and warm lava stones took me down to the deepest level of relaxation I have ever known. Here one can relax at the hotel or in the beautifully manicured gardens in a quiet and tranquil place away from the crowds of tourists. When I was ready to cross the water to visit St. Marks Square, it was very easy to get there as the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service. The boat leaves from the hotel's private pier every half hour, and crosses the water to the sister hotel, the Bauer Pallazzo, in just 5 minutes. From there, many of the major attractions of Venice such as St. Mark's Square, St. Mark's Cathedral, Doge's Palace and the Bridge of Sighs are within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Unbeatable stay and views in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no iron available in the room, however there is a full laundry service.

    The location was amazing. It allows you to scape from the crowdness of lovely Venice and enjoy of the peacefull stay. We booked the room with a fantastic view to the Lagoon. It is completely in front of the San Marco square. It is really worthy, it gives you the opportunity to see Venice from the front view. Very conveniente free shuttle boat to San Marco area. All the staff at the Hotel are really polite. I had a complementary bottle of Prosseco on arrival for my birthday! Many thanks to Martina and the reception staff! Weather was really nice during our stay and we had the opportunity to enjoy breakfast in the fantastic garden. Really looking forward to come back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Peace and quiet in the lovely garden and yet in the centre of the beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location across the water on the Giudecca island was perfect - peace and quiet in the beautiful garden yet with a regular shuttle bus to get to and from the main hotel near St Mark's Square so the perfect combination

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Our second visit, it was as good as the first. A first class hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The peace and calm of the Guidecca but the fact it was one stop to S Marco. Beautiful, spacious and comfortable room. Incomparable setting. Magnificent garden, near unique in Venice. Helpful, obliging staff. Excellent inclusive breakfast. Complimentary coffee on request in the lounge and garden. The complimentary shuttle to S Marco.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    The location was beautiful; the building decor and spectacular gardens and welcoming staff.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoy hot water immediately in the morning and or a green or peppermint tea and we did not have basic hot water/tea making facilities in our room. It would be good to have.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel - would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant (which was empty every night) is far too expensive. Main sitting room is a bit barn-like & needs making more comfortable. The bedrooms should have kettle and coffee/tea making equipment.

    Excellent concierge and staff - lovely spacious room - lovely gardens to sit in - free boat shuttle - great views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No, the croissants are not. For a five star hotel it is nit good enough that you have to pay extra for fresh orangejuice. Smelling tto much of smoke intha hallways from the staff areas. Garden wonderful. Matresses wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    First visit to Venice, lots to enjoy and quiet location good choice, disappointing hotel appearance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a suite with garden view, given room 228 with no view. The room was spacious but very dark and decided after 2 days not what we had paid for. Queried this and was moved to a beautiful room with balcony and garden view. Emailed the hotel after to ask why we were allocated this room when not booked and paid for (there are no photos of this room on the website), reply just stated that my comments have been noted. The hotel has a restaurant with bar but there is no where to sit inside to just enjoy a drink. Although pleasant, the hotel is a little uninspiring and some areas could do with some TLC. Apart from the spa (which we did not use) not sure why classed as 5 star.

    Hotel on Giudecca Island, lovely setting, free regular shuttle boat, nice to be able to escape the crowds and hustle and bustle at the end of the day. Quiet gardens, enjoyed breakfast there each morning, good choice at breakfast and efficient staff. Close to a couple of bars for a canal side drink and staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff definitely had an attitude and were not accommodating at all. They also talk you into a "tourist trap" trip to a glass blowing factory in Murano. The pigeons at breakfast were horrific!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    We were bowled over by the beauty of the room and the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lighting especially in the bathroom was too dim. Bathroom needed extraction fans.

    Breakfast was really good. We had the only room with a balcony over the fantastic garden.The room was large and beautiful. Staff were extremely helpful. Restaurant and drinks were pricey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.8
    Great expectations great disappointments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lateness of the organised and very expensive pick up. (partially refunded by the company responsible) Expected more than what this hotel offers for the price, Expected luxury and peace and quiet, but impacted by noisy event at the the hotel next door. Did not expect purely vegetarian restaurant no choice. tried to eat at the The Bauer Hotel - reached by water taxi shuttle There was no available tables until very late at night. Staff not helpful there so very disappointed. This is our fourth stay in Venice, the second at a Bauer. Looking for peace tranquility and beautiful gardens, instead found noise and limited choices and what appeared to us a neglected garden.

    The restaurant manager in the purely vegetarian restaurant. was very obliging and charming Nicest staff member in the hotel in our estimation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Location was excellent, perfect getaway from the hustle and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent, perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle but the hotels free shuttle boat to and from the main island made sight seeing and dinners so easy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.8
    Other options?
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet did not work at the hotel. Location was not convenience. It did not state that it was a convent which was converted to a hotel. Don't mistake this hotel with the Bauer which is a 5 stars hotel on the other island. This is a 3 stars .

    Staff was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Giudecca great location after the density of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room offered was sub par to what we had ordered . But management gave us a better room after we requested a room with more light.

    Giudecca great location after the density of Venice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Historic Palladio designed convent with manicured gardens throughout
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location took some extra time for me to find main island venues.

    Extra service and friendly staff, beautiful views of gardens and peaceful accommodations away from the main island. I also visited the Bauer siter hotel, The Pallzo - beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place for a romantic beak!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not quite up to the standard; coffee spoons too large for the espresso cups at breakfast !

    Great view on the canal; superb location in the garden for breakfast; cool bathroom; very kind people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.5
    Enjoy Venice from a distance
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some slippages, for instance the wifi was very poor, and the restaurant has a limited selection.

    The wonderful gardens, the quietness, the spaciousness. My room was very comfortable. Staff was excellent. The boat service is very comvenient. In all I liked the sense of being far away from Venice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.1
    Peaceful haven away from the crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Haphazard service at breakfast. Deserted in the evenings so we dined out every night and had to go elsewhere for a night cap on our way home.

    Great location away from the crowds of St Mark's. Beautiful gardens, spacious rooms, quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful garden and fantastic lagoon view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took a long time until hot water came out to fill in a bath tab, and water pressure was insufficient. The room was too dark to write on the desk. I could not get through an international call from the room telephone.

    The inside garden was full of flowers and greens, so beautiful and peaceful. The lagoon view from the window of Room 227 was fantastic. The room was ready even if I went to the hotel just after 10:30AM. The hotel offered a bottle of Champagne as a welcoming gift.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful view of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you stay on the ground floor, the footsteps from the people above were noisy?

    Beautiful gardens with sun loungers galore, a pleasant surprise for a city hotel. Very peaceful and very relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    overall we had a great time and the hotel was very good with fantastic views of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been more towels in the bathroom. The restaurant appeared to run out of all food for breakfast at 9.30 and was not replenished quick enough . The hot food that was available was cold .

    The staff could not have been more helpful from answering questions on transport from the airport in advance of our arrival, to sorting out a nice restaurant and booking it on our behalf to booking a water taxi to take us back to the airport. The courtyard was a perfect setting for breakfast outside and all of the restaurant staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them The free shuttle back and forth was very efficient and kept to the timetable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Serene getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I disliked about the property.

    The view and location was exceptional. It is so close to St Mark's square yet so far removed from the crowds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.5
    A really lovely hotel, but not as idyllic as it seems
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room with a 'garden view' but got a view of the next door flats and a few trees, which was disappointing, seeing as the actual gardens are so spectacular. The other problem was, although the whole point of the hotel is its architectural significance and its peaceful ambience - a converted convent, set in harmonious grounds on the Giudecca - I have never experienced quite so much odd behaviour from other guests in a hotel. 10 hours of solid industrial-strength snoring from the man upstairs, starting at about 9:30 in the evening; what sounded like a murder at about 2 am, or at the very least a man screaming and pleading for his life in some language I couldn't identify; a group of drunken revellers, returning from somewhere at 3 am and continuing their revels in the next room. Oh, and shirtless men sitting around in the bar at lunchtime. And they were not builders having a break, they were guests. I suppose these things, apart from the shirts, are more or less outside the hotel's control, but they also had an insolent young man working on the reception in the evening who affected never to have heard of Palladio (after whom the hotel is named) or his church the Zitelle (around which the hotel is built). The hotel is literally littered with copies of a large hardback book with the title "Zitelle". I could just about forgive his extraordinary rudeness to me - maybe he didn't realize I was a guest, not that that is any excuse - but I cannot forgive his lack of respect for Palladio. He was of the opinion that the church was permanently closed, even for services, whatEVer, and there were, like, a MILLION churches in Venice, it's not like anyone's going to miss it.....then he answered the phone and devoted himself to what seemed like a personal call, without so much as indicating to me that our time was up.

    The building and the conversion of the building are wonderful, the gardens are beautiful, the breakfast is exceptional, the staff (all but one of the ones I met) are polite, friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable, and there are plenty of public areas to wander around in or to sit in which makes the hotel even more spacious. The staff were kind enough to show me around different rooms after my night of horror so that I could make a better choice next time, and it seemed to me that the more expensive suites are well worth the extra money, firstly because they are so luxurious and have such lovely views, and secondly because they are probably more peaceful. I would love to settle down there for a longer stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Lovely garden, very pleasant staff, excellent diner, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TVs : not many tv channels

    Lovely garden, very pleasant staff, excellent diner, very quiet pleasant contrast to the rest of Venice, convenient boat service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.5
    We would recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They catered reasonably well for vegans, but it could've been a little bit better at breakfast. All in all, very friendly and we would go back.

    We loved the garden and the entrance, as well as the boat service to Venice and back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.5
    Great Location, Staff & Garden... but probably not a 5* property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a very good hotel overall. It's got an outstanding and quiet location but only a short boat ride from the main action of Venice and charming staff. The garden is beautiful and a real luxury in such a congested city. The breakfast was a little disappointing and the espresso was not up to Italian standards, but, most strikingly, the rooms are 'tired' and in dire need of refurbishment and the public spaces (mainly the 'bar') feel a lot more like a 3 or 4 star hotel - they are poorly furnished and not inviting. This, more than anything else needs attention.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    Great shuttle service to sister hotel in San Marco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    King size bed consisted of two slightly knackered single mattresses pushed together.

    Great shuttle service to sister hotel in San Marco. Takes 5 mins and runs like clockwork every half hour.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location. Friendly staff. Yummy breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no complimentary coffee and water in the room. Also the chandelier has spider web needs to be cleaned

    The concierge was very helpful to recommend us to go to Burano island . Everyone was friendly and poliet . The garden was gorgeous !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Mix a fantastic building in a superb location with terrific people and you have an undoubted success
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredibly helpful & friendly & without any solicitation upgraded us on arrival to the best room in the hotel - fantastic views!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    5.8
    Think before you book!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was definitely not worth the 5* rating!! No tea or coffee included in room for the morning, no iron, not even a bottle of water unless u wanted to pay for it! Everything was of additional charge! Staff were not very friendly and seemed to ignore you! Compared to other 5* hotels we stayed at we were really disappointed! Especially with this being our honey moon! In addition we recieved an email the day befor we left for Venice from booking.com stating we had more to pay on arrival to the hotel than we had in our previous notes when we booked this hotel 7months prior. I did telephone to dispute this and was told by a rude advisor at booking.com that unless I could prove this with a screen shot from When we had booked then that was the price we Payed! Would not stay at bauer pallido again or use booking.com. I am someone who never ever writes Reviews as I have better things to do with my time but want to warn people prior To booking.

    Bedrooms were spacious and the beds were super comfortable! Hotel Grounds were lovely and the free boat to San Marco was very useful! Venice was a beautiful place with so much culture deffo worth a visit!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Great value and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was wonderful, being very careful and with a great deal of attention to make sure our every wish will be fulfilled. While we were there we felt like royalties. Transfer to main island was quick and comfortable. The gardens are large and lush.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Weekend in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were large but as a consequence not that well furnished for the size. Perhaps a sofa or extra table is needed?

    Location and staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.3
    Not quite the quality we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lunch was disappointing - slow and not well prepared. Although we were told our luggage would be in the room, we had to call for it as they didn't know our room number!!.The reception desk is very small, manned by one person, and not adequate for a hotel in this class. Better organization and management are required.

    This hotel doesn't quite make it to the 5-Star rating, although the prices are certainly in that category. The staff we're very friendly, but frequently not quite on the ball. The location and building are beautiful (a former convent-for rich nuns), and the island of Guidecca is quiet and scenic. The hotel's launch goes across to the sister hotel just down from St. Mark's every 30 minutes, and the vaparetto stop is only 50 metres.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.0
    Very very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The arrival welcome was quite strange and we were kept waiting as the reception staff were prioritising their language capabilities. The reception hall is lovely but then you sit and wait in this enormous salon with no atmosphere! The breakfast was truly awful ( and I've had many hotel breakfasts!) this is a 5 star hotel and you don't even have a hot drink brought to you! It's cheap crockery and very basic fruit and juices. There is no bar and the restaurant is very poor considering the prices. We only ate here as hubby was not felling well and didn't want to travel across the water. The fact that the room above ours was wooden floor and they were up at 6.30 am for breakfast and we could hear every step and every bathroom event! The upside is the shuttle boat. Stay at st Marks Bauer am sure it's better value.

    The bedroom was lovely and bed very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.3
    Quiet retreat out of the bustle of the centre of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard mattresses, not a problem in themselves, but combined with pillows like rocks and it made for unsettled and uncomfortable sleep.

    Lovely garden, and launch to the main island (but it operate run in the fog!). Staff excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Absolutely perfect!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was amazing!!

    We were upgraded to a suite and given prosecco and a card when they found out it was our honeymoon. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. The suite and building as a while we're beautiful. The complimentary shuttle boat was brilliant. Absolutely perfect!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful sanctuary in a special city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A general gripe to all hotels: the hyper-pricing of items in the mini-bar means that I never use it. If you used a 100% to 200% mark-up on retail prices then we would make copious use of the facilities, especially water to take with us on our excursions. We bought a pack of sparkling water at €0.16 per bottle from a local retailer, which met our needs. I would have been happy to pay the hotel €0.50 or even €0.75 per bottle for the service and convenience. But not €8! And one last suggestion: allow us to add a tip to the final payment. I know that the credit card company will take a percentage, but I'm happy if the staff get 97% of what we added.

    The hotel is situated on Guidecca, which is a quiet island a short ride (water bus, or the hotel's launch) from San Marco. There are easy connections to all the main destinations from the nearby Zitelle waterbus jetty. The hotel itself is a sanctuary. The interior spaces create an air of tranquility. The gardens are peaceful places in which to relax, or enjoy breakfast / tea / some drinks. Our room was comfortable and spacious. It included everything that you would expect from a five star hotel. We had a sitting area in a small private walled garden, which was a bonus. We had a very pleasant dinner in the restaurant which, again, met the standard that I would expect. If anything we enjoyed the light lunch we had even more (this was our introduction to the hotel on our arrival). Unfortunately we didn't use the Spa. There was too much else to do. Maybe next time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.1
    Great location.....not 5 star service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra cost for a logoon view! You had to stand on tip toe or on a chair to see the lagoon. Was a waste of money. No tea/coffee in room and water wasn't replenished...you had to ask at bar for more.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Tranquil retreat only minutes across the Venice Lagoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very noisy group of Americans took over everything for two days during our stay and completely altered the ambience of the place Just bad timing for us I guess - and not the fault of the hotel - but did spoil things somewhat

    The hotel itself, the location, the bed, the spa and most of all the staff - all great The garden is beautiful - having breakfast on the terrace a joy - the spa, steam room and massage were the best I have every had

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel with relaxing garden within 5 minute of st marks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not always good signal. No problem as on holiday but maybe would be a problem for people on business trip!

    Peace and quiet after sight seeing in Venice Easy to catch the boat to see the sites

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful oasis of calm in the heat hustle and bustle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drink a little pricey.

    Wonderful oasis of calm in the heat hustle and bustle of high season Venice. Staff were delightful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    The peaceful setting the staff are so helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The peaceful setting the staff are so helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.0
    Great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a great stay just would like facility to iron clothes and more variety of lunch! beans and veg options..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful serene place with beautifully designed rooms and stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything.. gardens ,room, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    so nice location very quiet excellent friendly athmosphere great customers to share the hotel facill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was perfect nothing else to say..

    excellent staff wonderful hotel. I can say one of the best hotel we have ever visited

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    I have stayed at this Hotel twice and I hope to return again soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    It is very relaxing and peaceful ,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Authentic Island of tranquility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is poor - not in line with the quality offered by LHW hotels.

    Venue and gardens. Gym is fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Room lighting and decor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room lighting and decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Location of hotel was convenient, as was the shuttle service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel was convenient, as was the shuttle service run by hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great breakfast and nice transportation to San Marco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast and nice transportation to San Marco

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bauer Palladio Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: