Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bauer Palazzo 5 stars

San Marco 1459, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#59 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 954 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Terrific Hotel wonderful stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee was good but very expensive even for Venice. Drinks bar on the 7th floor terrace was wonderful but you should offer a Brandy cheaper than EU 40.00 a glass. A Remy VSOP would be acceptable and much cheaper than those on offer.

    Wonderful Hotel, it was our third visit there. Great location wonderful views and beautifully appointed. All the staff were wonderful and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay at the very heart of Venice ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only really one negative for us, was that the breakfast buffet could be improved - and the coffee was just not great, not the Italian coffee experience we have had elsewhere.

    The Bauer Palazzo is a great place to stay, not many other hotels match the convenience of the location or the facilities available. We particularly loved the roof terrace, very magical and wonderful views. It was equally lovely to enjoy breakfast on the Canal Terrace, so very special. The only criticism that we have is that the breakfast buffet was a bit disappointing, not quite the right standard, especially the coffee which was really not great. However the staff couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful - we were particularly impressed by the Hotel Concierge who gave us some excellent Venice advice. Our room was also extremely immaculate and very comfortable. There is no doubt that we want to return on our next visit to Venice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    The location was everything for us , rooms are clean &...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was everything for us , rooms are clean & the breakfast terrace on the grand canal takes you back in time , a picture perfect setting. The highlight was our concierge Roberto who helped us with train,taxi tickets plus helped my friend calling the airlines who’s bag didn’t arrive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    It was situated 2 mins from St Marks square and on the grand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could do with updating to modern facilities TV didn’t work properly and would have liked tea and coffee facilities in the rooms.

    It was situated 2 mins from St Marks square and on the grand canal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    A brilliant and comfortable hotel for a short stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant was not specially inviting and so we didn't eat there except for breakfast which was very good. Could make more of their location in the evening with more "special" menu

    The best hotel we've stayed at in Venice. Service was faultless and room excellent. The location makes it extra special

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location with a beautiful spacious terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent location with a beautiful spacious terrace overlooking the grand canal. Breakfasts on the terrace were the perfect start to the day. All of the staff we met were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast lunch and bar areas are why we stay at Bauer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The arrival water taxi desk at the airport is absurdly priced. 190 € versus 120€ at the water taxi area? Not a good impression. Would like a coffee service in guest room as in most Italian upper scale hotels

    The breakfast lunch and bar areas are why we stay at Bauer. The large patio is very nice and we use a lot. The staff, front desk and concierge staff terrific. Great to have tub in the room. Also was happy the room was ready upon our arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Excellent staff service, very accommodating, helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff service, very accommodating, helpful and responsive to all requests before and during our stay. Great hotel location. Very comfortable, immaculate rooms. To enjoy breakfast and cocktails on the terrace overlooking Venice was a special experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel. Best location. Knowledge of the hipper, cooler spots in Venice would be a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit stuffy. Concierge recommendations for restaurants limited - didn’t really know the funky/groovy areas or spots in town. Couldn’t be seated every time we went for breakfast as they were ‘full’, yet we were guests?

    Excellent location. Very comfortable accommodations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    The location is perfect, between St Mark's square and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect, between St Mark's square and l'Academia. The staff is the big highlight of the hotel. They've been able to sort out any request from us and are incredibly nice, specially to the young kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location and services
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Twin beds should be separate with space in between, and not side by side. Rooms are large enough to accommodate that.

    Luxurious hotel at the perfect location, 3 min walk to Piazza Sa Marco. Rooms are very large and breakfast has an amazing view and is excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    lovely stay, great hotel in great location, staff were superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the in room tv was poor. limited channels , no movies, and a constant buzz from the tv made it unwatchable. wifi very poor too.

    the location was great, the staff were superb, the view from the room was amazing over the grand canal, the location was top drawer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A free sauna

    Location was brilliant. It was right next to the ferry terminal and easy to find. The view from the breakfast area was looking over the canal, and you could see a few of the sights of Venice. The staff where fantastic and very friendly. You will not be disappointed with this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    For central Venice (San Marco/Academia) The Bauer is perfectly located and of a high standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think the time has come for hotels of this standing to provide a Nespresso machine or equivalent in your room. I do't want to have to call room service and get charged 10 euros for tea or coffee. The Pig chain does it, why not others. TV service was really poor - as is often the case in Italy. There is a limit to how much BBC World you can take and only 1 English language movie channel!

    The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom spacious. All well serviced each day (twice) as you would expect. Breakfast was good, catering for all tastes. The bar and dining areas felt a little congested because owing to the bitterly cold wind ( and heavy rain one day) the terraces were out of commission. The shuttle service to the other facilities was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the bar by the terrace was poor, a bit unfriendly . No early breakfast we needed to leave at 6 am breakfast served at 7? Disappointing . Would have liked more local pastries and hand made croissants for breakfast black coffee was terrible although it was exchanged for a cappuccino .

    Bed very comfortable, views of the canal, beautiful decoration, very pleasant stay , central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    The Bauer is a wonderful historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central heating was too warm and too loud. The bathroom was dated. Everyone today has phones, iPads, Kindles, to charge. There should be a place with usb chargers or an outlet where you don’t need to reach below the night table or use the bathroom outlet.

    The location is great. The rooms are large. Every single staff member was very friendly and helpful. There were jazz concerts which was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Very stylish hotel indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was surprised that the hotel does not provide drinking water in the rooms - only one bottle on arrival, which was removed when it was not even finished yet. Five-star hotels should not save on water I reckon. Luna Baglioni for example does provide water every day! There is no procecco at breakfast, which is not good in comparison with the 5-star hotels in the neighborhood, which all have procecco! I would also say the variety of food at breakfast leaves much to be desired.

    Very stylish hotel indeed. Nice room, cosy beds. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    The Hotel is very good located close to San Marco and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is very good located close to San Marco and designer shops. Everything is at reach and the rooms are much roomy then the average of Venezia Hotels. The Hotel has a gate at the canal from which you can access via Water Taxi or a gondola. Not my first time at the Hotel. It will be my choice for the next visit as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Second visit so we do like the hotel and the location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are lucky to be able to stay in good quality hotels for our holidays and do feel that, whilst we do like the hotel evidenced by staying for a second time.... it is over priced but that is fairly typical of Venice generally

    Comfy bed and all staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    The location itself will not bring me back until they upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place needs an urgent face lift. Doors/locks do not close easily. There are no convenient electrical sockets to charge our phones. The safe deposit box needed service. At 1130 at night, when there are no restaurants that will accept you in all of Venice, we asked for room service to be served in the (empty) side of the lobby and were denied. We were offered to get it in the room where there are no table/chairs to make it possible to eat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Everything, in particular the location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything, in particular the location; the comfort of the room and common areas; the availability, friendliness and efficiency of the employees; and the breakfast (quality / variety of the food and enjoying the views over the Grand Canal).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.0
    Don’t choose this hotel. There are others, cheaper for the same quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very bad room. They gave us a room which has a window that forwards a wall and has a ceiling on. So you wake up a dark room. If you’ll ask them to call a boat taxi, make sure that you ask price prior your taxi booking, otherwise they ask for any price they find convenient for them. No fixed prices. Breakfast quality (food) is poor, there are few options. That was not we had expected for such expensive and perfectly located hotel.

    Good view from the breakfast room. Good location. Everything else is very bad, definatelly not worth such price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs to be slightly modernised Lack of accesible plugs for recharging all the mordern stuff ,the safe is too small and the wiffi is not as consistent and powerful as it should be

    Situation is great,place on the canal Ouside terrace is wonderfull the staff are very nice and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    December great as fewer tourists, 5 day visit 1 day too long as over indulged!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We much prefer the terrace bar but in winter it is only open during the day. In the evening it transfers to a bar that is more like a night club in style, others probably like it that way. The Bauers have now merged the hotel and the palazzo into one - it is all now the palazzo so hard to book the old palazzo definitely. When I commented to reception about this they said if you book direct with the hotel is it easier to discern.

    The location is fabulous. The terrace bar (weather permitting) is great. Breakfast is very good although they have discontinued prosecco with it. It has canal access so you go straight to the door on a water taxi. The main public areas are art deco in style which my husband loves.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Venice is in an amazing moment! It was excellent! We needed 2 more days ;(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Se always stay at hotel bauer and Palazzo Bauer. My only remark ia that those are 2 diferent hotels and in booking show as the same. As I knew there was no problem for me

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location but beware the extra charges that they sneak in without your knowledge.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They nickle and dimed you at every opportunity. We were overcharged for delivery of a hot chocolate with dinner. Because they considered hot chocolate a breakfast food we were charged two 15 Euro delivery fees for ONE tray of foods. Amenities in bathroom were so so. The Hotel FINALLY removed the extra charge but only after a lengthy discussion. One would think they were negotiating the peace process. Ridiculous and a total turn off.

    Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    will come back to stay here! keep it this way nice, original and full of heritage!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was great! nothing to complain about. they charge well and give service equivalent to it.

    Room was excellent! lots of space and two separate areas. also location close to the canal and St. Marco square within 150 meters. also the hotel was having a jazz festival in the attached bar which made the evenings even more fabulous.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.1
    Venice is a great place to visit and study. The hotel just needs a little attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The decoration of rooms was faded and a little shabby. How things worked was not made clear..particularly the blinds in the bathroom There was no chair of desk.

    Good concierge Good .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    Great location and great terrace with lunch menu!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that the service could be improved as the staff seems slow and overworked. And the cocktails definitely need improvement. The service and drinks at the main restaurant were much better and up to standard but overall I really enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

    Great location and great terrace with lunch menu!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.8
    Nice hotel, poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When the ceiling drops a few dozen liters of water and makes your clothes, suitcase and shoes wet, you do not expect anyone says sorry for that. If you book a table for the evening jazz, just forget booking and go half an hour earlier. Your table is not booked but money for that will be charged.

    Nice hotel, good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't fault anything.

    This was our 12th visit to Venice but first visit with the children and first stay at the Bauer - we would definitely be booking to stay here again. Central location, charming staff, good food - just wonderful, highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Perfect luxury and charming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to leave.

    Gianluca, Marco, Lucia and the rest of the staff are all fantastic. The rooms are great and the breakfast is wonderful. The location is perfection. The Bauers have everything you could want in a hotel. Thank you.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    classic luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    classic luxury hotel wonderful concierge and staff in the heart of Venice - steps from St Mark's square you owe it to yourself to stay here once in your life - magical city and hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    4.2
    Would not return. I adore Venice and this accommodation was very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Palazzo
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was musty, looked out my window at a wall. Booking.com is not explicit about the type of room they offer. After leaving a gorgeous room in Florence that was in a recently remodeled hotel, the Bauer is old, and charmless. Your website needs to be honest.

    Breakfast buffet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Great Hotel at Grand Canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Wifi in the room doesn't work well, signal is very weak, it works sometimes on terrace. 2) Housekeeping could be thieves - hotel should check their backgrounds with police before hiring! I read review of the customer whose wallet was stolen, in my case when I came back to hotel after lunch I saw all shelves empty all my designer things, worth thousands of euros desappered . I called housekeeping immediately and they told me sometimes new girls move things of guests and I should search my things in the second room of the suite! I found my things but all new clothes were mixed with old, all packages were removed and all bags open ( I didn't keep any money or credit cards after reading the review of the other customer). 3) Payment at check out was difficult. The hotel had problem processing credit card, the bank explained the reception girl that she should do manual charge as the hotel has very weak Internet connection and the time after entering pin code exceeds the one the bank requires, but the reception girl said that she doesn't know how to put manual charges.

    1) Location is great - the boat takes you right to the hotel, hotel is 5 mins walk from famous San Marco square ( where Doge Palace is) 2) The view from the hotel terrace to Grand Canal is amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Magical setting in a uniquely beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottled water provided in room on first night only - had this been clear we would have purchased some. Confusing policy. Drinks in main bar at the front of the hotel are pricey.

    Fabulous rooms. We chose to stay in the old part of the building as we wanted the original authentic room. The terrace has amazing views over the grand canal - there are heaters too so it is possible to have breakfast and evening drinks there. Concierge was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the money they charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was reasonable at best; the room was very basic and the beds were hard. The desk staff were terrible. One had an attitude when there was confusion over the city tax - the gentleman who took us to our rooms left us (two women, one of us pregnant!) to carry our suitcase down the steps to our room - not something the staff have done at Shangri-La or Four Seasons hotels. The lift doors were filthy inside. There were no '5 star' touches like little chocolates on the pillow - no conditioner for your hair or body milk... No air conditioning meant we sweltered through the night. I've stayed at the Luna Baglioni in Venice and they are far and away a better hotel. I won't be back at the Bauer.

    The hotel is in an amazing location. The breakfast staff were LOVELY.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    La Serenissima at its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Palazzo with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing interiors, excellent location, lunch on the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal was exceptional. All the staff were helpful & curteous. Couldn't have wished for a better stay. Last time we stayed at this hotel was about 10 years ago - it remains my favourite hotel in Venice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Bauer in a magical city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you book without a canal view expect to look at a wall.

    Excellent location. Staff were all lovely. Rooftop exceeded expectations. Breakfast excellent. Quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    I was impressed by the situation of the hotel and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was impressed by the situation of the hotel and helpful staff. Very easy for arrival and departure boats arrive and depart from the hotel. A spendid hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    One of favourite hotels we have ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Palazzo with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop patio should have glass walls for better views

    Great location. Balcony overlooking grand canal. Very comfortable bed. Great rooftop patio and great breakfast location by the grand canal. Fresh bottled water every night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Will have to go again, it was one of the best legs of my trip around Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! All excellent

    Excellent breakfast, staff is beyond exceptional and the rooms exceeded all my expectations. It goes without stating that it's in the best location on the Canal. Bravo!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When arriving we found out the hotel has 2 buildings. Our rooms were in the building facing a small alley . Corridors were long and not pleasant, decor was old fashioned and rooms were just ok.The garbage was taken out every day at 5:45 am and the noise woke us up.

    Breakfast was really nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Tremendous stay in Venice and the hotel was a big part of that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better lighting in the bathroom.

    Great location, wonderful staff, beautiful hotel! Breakfast included, and that was a full buffet, not just continental. Eating on the terrace overlooking the grand canal was delightful. Close to everything. Good restaurant recommendations from the concierge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had paid for a room with a canal view but were given a room on the 5th floor and had to look out and down from the window to see the canal - all we could see were buildings and roofs.

    This is a beautiful hotel and I love the location. The staff are friendly and it has a fabulous restaurant. It is also wonderful to have breakfast overlooking the canal. We have stayed there a few times previously.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    This was our second visit to the Bauer Il Palazzo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Palazzo
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing except that we thought of eating at the canal side restaurant as on our last visit but I have to say I was not particularly excited by the menu.

    This was our second visit to the Bauer Il Palazzo. I noticed that the booking system had changed so it only shows as one hotel whereas previously it showed as two, the Bauer and the Il Palazzo. One of the treats of our previous visit was the breakfast terrace on the 7th floor with stunning views of Venice. This was available to those staying in the Il Palazzo section and so after cancelling my original reservation I booked an Il Palazzo room after calling to check that we could use the terrace. On arrival we were shown to our lovely Palazzo room but told the terrace is only available to those who booked a room with a canal views. I explained my booking history and the fact I had actually called to clarify this point. The gentleman was very receptive and I asked him to check to see if we could therefore use the terrace. He called back with the excellent news that we would be upgraded to a room with a Grand Canal view. Perfect, and great service for returning guests. As with our previous visit everything was excellent, the Palazzo rooms are luxurious, with silk wall hangings and marble bathrooms, all the staff are very attentive, the 7th floor views are unsurpassed and the motor taxi can dock right at the reception! We shall return next year. Yes, it's expensive but you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel but some staff members could be a bit friendlier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor balcony on ground floor and rooftop were magnets for dozens of pigeons which constantly attack any tables were food is, sometimes while people are still sitting there!! They sent glasses and plates crashing to the ground and so you need to keep swatting them away from your table.

    Beautiful rooms and bathrooms. Large comfortable beds. Fantastic outdoor balcony right on the grand canal with superb views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    3.8
    Scruffy unattractive needs a total lift.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for what was on offer. The room needed to be redecorated and smelt old. Bad products. Sort of olive green colour which is highly depressing. 544 is not to be recommended.

    Scruffy unattractive needs a total lift. Supposedly chic yet full of pigeons and gulls that ate our breakfast, which was meant to be included yet we had to pay for it too. Expensive and unhelpful. The concierge was the only person I would rate at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.0
    The Hotel is in an excellent position but is split, some...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is in an excellent position but is split, some areas fantastic and some truly terrible. It is too expensive and standards too varied. There are some incredible suites and then some that should be re done.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    Dated hotel with great location but poor rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a really dated hotel. With substantial investment and renovation it could be a great hotel. But the rooms really do not correspond to your expectations of a 5 star hotel, rather more like a road hotel. The welcome reception makes you feel like cattle, the concierge staff are unfriendly. Only the people at the breakfast room and the cleaning ladies have a smile on their face. All the staff at reception/concierge should be renovated together with all the rooms

    Beautiful bar overlooking the Grand Ganal for breakfast. Great location really close to Piazza San Marco and the vaporetto main stops

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    It was a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we were given was very dark and no view only to the interior area which was awful.

    Breakfast was good but at times eggs were cold in the tureen. Lovely location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience and will definitely choose this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite dark, but that is the style of a Venetian hotel. Difficult to tell on Booking.com website whether the room was in the Palazzo wing or the Bauer annex. Really better in this instance to book directly with the hotel

    Loved, loved this hotel. Service was above anything I have experienced in Venice. The highlight of the day was having breakfast on the 7th floor Terrace, sitting with a cappuccino and watching the boats go by

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.6
    waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In old palace we had junior suite with very dirty air conditioners, too cold on the lowest and they were placed just by your bed!!!!! We started to cough straight away and therefore don't use them. Suffered from heat and mosquitos at night. Crazily expensive room service charge. Very cold unfriendly hotel stuff at the reception and the main restaurant.

    very entertaining seagulls and nice waitresses in the top terrace during breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.5
    It has a great location, nice breakfast overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for the quality of the rooms. They are in the Venetian style, but seemed a little dated.

    It has a great location, nice breakfast overlooking the canal. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small rooms but not unusual for Europe

    excellant location stunning breakfast terrace on Grand Canal also for evening cocktail Breakfast very good Helpful friendly staff Water taxi pulls right up to reception area of hotel ... a true Venice experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed the hotel's closeness to San Marco square and how easy it was to walk to all the sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good but it was the only hotel on our stay (also stayed in Sorrento and Siena) that didn't offer prosecco for mimosas at breakfast.

    We had cocktails on their terrace overlooking the Grand Canal and while very expensive, the view was spectacular. The hotel has a dock right outside so it makes getting there with luggage very easy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    We would go back tomorrow and stay longer. The hotel was a sanctuary from the heat & madding crowds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was good

    bed was very comfortable, breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. And as a tea drinker it was very good with hot hot tea and cold milk. The staff were very helpful. And we just enjoyed the hotel. We also loved the Art Deco furniture throughout the lobby area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable stay at a very unique city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi in hotel very week. I thought some complimentary water each day would have been helpful due to 30 to 40 deg temperatures

    Location of hotel staff very helpful. enjoyable stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Classic Venice. Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about it. Full scale tradition and style alongside modern day comfort and facilities. If classic Venice is what you're after, this is it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Yes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The torist information was very low and the hotel charge alot for mini bars and food specialy bottel water which was important in hot weather was €10

    I like the location staffs were friendly the hotel was very clean and nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    What a treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Drinks at the rooftop bar is ridiculous expensive.

    Excellent variety for breakfast. Location is superb. Staff were friendly. The concierge was a treat - he was full of information and very passionate about his job. Amenities are fantastic and the hotel is very clean. The rooftop offers remarkable views of Venice - really a must see.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    The location was perfect, very central and yet the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price seemed very high this year compared to previous years.

    The location was perfect, very central and yet the room was quiet due to excellent soundproofing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Venice is a middle ages Disneyland, 54,000 permanent residents and close to 30 Million visitors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just do not understand why they have to charge 8 Euros for still water!

    Breakfast was very good, drinks pricey at 25 Euros but great view and location. Pizza is not good, no gas allowed in Venice for fear of fire. Room appeared bigger in the pictures, if you opt for the Grand Canal view which is a major expense, windows actually open and the canal view is very nice. Once in a lifetime go for it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought we booked Bauer Palazzo but were placed in Hotel Bauer.

    Location. We had one day in Venice. Perfect place to explore. Rooftop bar was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    No value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start? 1. Rude concierge (tall dark hair) lucky for him I didn't get his name. 2 . In room- dirty glasses on top of dusty fridge. 3. No shampoo, conditioner or face washer. 4.when asked for a kettle, I got a kettle, 2cups and saucers and lots of sugar only 5. Breakfast, very limited choice 6.if you want a dip in the jacuzzi, well it cost extra. 7.luggage handler damaged lock on the suit bag. So this hotel well, it does not come anywhere near other 5star anywhere else in the world!

    Good location only. Very helpful and professional young ladies at reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    A beautiful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terraces have fantastic positions from which to enjoy beautiful views of Venice particularly the one on the Grand Canal which is beautiful and has a great position for watching yatchs, boats, motor boats, gondolas and ships pass by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Good and Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a billing problem that could not be resolved at check out because the desk clerk and cnncieage claimed that they did not have authority to resolve it and there was no manager on site to help. For that reason I will never return to the property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for 2 people but unfortunately my granddaughter could not accompany me. However, when I asked if I could bring my son and his wife instead for breakfast or tea on one day only, my request was denied. I feel it was unfair as I had paid for 2 people in one of the best canal facing rooms. Also steer clear of the hair salon on the premises. The stylist was rude and unskilled. I do thank the hotel for not expecting me to pay for her terrible service. Another tip, I travelled by train from Florence to Venice and the porters try to charge you double at the station. Be aware that you can query their rates with the officials at the station.

    The location, the property and hotel staff were excellent. They were friendly, tried to accommodate wherever possible. The food was very good. The breakfast and tea selections were well prepared, but the same every day. They could be varied a bit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Amazing Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Palazzo
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices at the hotel were extortionate. €16 for two tiny bottles of coke and €10 for a bottle of Peroni.

    Staff were amazing. Beds were massive and comfy. The room looked spectacular! Rooftop bar had amazing views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Best location in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't cleaned one day and once was not done in the everning. The prices on the roof terrace were just silly.

    Staff were just the best you could wish for. Breakfast and Dinner overlooking the Grand Canal was just gorgeous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Stunning property, comfortable rooms, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I needed help reserving a rental car and that wasn't properly managed. But otherwise an incredible visit!!

    Stunning property, comfortable rooms, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Thank you Bauer Palazzo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only problem we found was that it had not been clear on any site we visited that the roof terrace was for the executive rooms only. However we were impressed that as were said we were disappointed they let us use the terraces and we had breakfast up there a few days and sat up there a couple of times. It is such a glorious view that we were so pleased we did not have not miss it. Again I would say that it is a indication of the service and care of the staff and management that they said we could use the terrace rather than let us be disappointed.

    The staff were all lovely, all extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. We felt that they really cared about us and wanted us to enjoy our stay. Thank you to Claudia who checked us in and had a beaming smile and a word with us every time she saw us to make sure we were happy and enjoying our stay. Also a big thank you to David. The friend I was travelling with had a small stoke 5 days before we were due to come and we had to delay our flight for 3 days. David managed to move our booking on so we were still able to come. Breakfast and meals at the restaurant sitting right on the waters edge were magical both in the daytime and at night. We felt it was also an extra bonus that there was a free shuttle boat over to the sister hotel The Paladio across the water. A really tranquil place with wonderful gardens. Altogether we had a wonderful stay and loved the location and the terraces of the hotel. A wonderful position and wonderful staff. We hope to return and will certainly recommend the hotel to our friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    5-star hotel with 5-star staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location and superb staff made this a 5-star stay with nothing to complain about. I would recommend even the most spoilt and picky traveller to stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Outstanding stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We can't think of anything we didn't like about the hotel.

    The location on the Grand Canal, near the vaporetto and just a couple of blocks from San Marco, could not be better. The view from the terrace is gorgeous. Best of all, the concierge staff is knowledgeable, helpful and patient. Their recommendations, including how to prioritize how we spent our time, were excellent. Oh, and I should add that our room was spacious, well appointed and had plenty of storage; also, we appreciated the well thought out bathroom, which he plenty of room for our toiletries -- something many hotel designers overlook.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Venice at its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming home and the heavy rain on the last morning! Plugs were not that easy to find.

    Luxurious comfortable room with a fabulous view. Very pleasant and attentive staff. Upkeep of room perfectly maintained. First rate breakfasts. High quality meals in their restaurants, though sometimes lacking in atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bauer Palazzo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: