Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Diffuso Borgo Santa Caterina

Via Sotto Tenete Mazza 10, 95012 Castiglione di Sicilia, Italy

#7 of 18 hotels in Castiglione di Sicilia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 221 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    Not so much pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were quite disappointed because I asked for a room with as few stairs as possible because my friend is a little disabled. But, when we arrived there was no room available even though I booked the room right early so there was time to reserve a room as low as possible for us. We were offered a room with entrance from the street, it might be OK if there was a window there and if the room itself would be nice but what I saw was actually terrible. The room was very narrow, the bed was a staircase up and it was not worth at all the money we would pay for. In the end we got a room higher up anyway, with many stairs. The room was not that bad but not as i thought it would be after seeing the pictures on booking.com

    Not so much, only the town self was nice and interesting. Wifi worked good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -small boiler, barely sufficient for 2 persons incl. one of them being female ;-)

    -nice cozy room -room was preheated which was very attentive and much better than at other places

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Castiglione is a really nice place and the room we stayed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit cold, make sure the A/C or the radiator works

    Castiglione is a really nice place and the room we stayed in was clean and had everything you need. Breakfast was good and with homemade jams and cakes, beatiful dining room!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    The room was comfortable though a bit gloomy with dark wood paneling. The breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor areas were dirty and ashtrays full of butts. Staff only ever seen at breakfast.

    The breakfast was great and the room was quite adequate and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    It's a nice place but because it is an old house expect some noise from floorboards and waterpumps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room had only a fan as "airconditioninng". This was rather noisy. Also the waterpump was right under our balcony, so the humming of it was on all day and night.

    The location and staff are is lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    7.9
    Great for a short stopover in the beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since it was off season (March), the restaurant was unfortunately closed in the evening The bed was a little old, but still quite comfortable

    The place is beautifully designed in sicilian style with lots of character, especially with plants & flowers outside Despite it being March, we were very grateful to sit on the terrace in the sun for breakfast; the staff at breakfast were really kind.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    5.8
    Owners pleasant
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Door to the balcony couldn't be locked. Indeed main lock seemed rather weak. Shower recess was miniscule! Breakfast selection was poor!

    Owners pleasant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Perfect place for a warm, local experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the best memories from this place! It is perfect if you wish to experience authentic sicilian atmosphere. The host and other staff are the most friendly we have ever met. The host speaks English very well. The place has all the conveniences you need for a good night's stay: clean room, lovely decorations, the bed was big and super soft! Breakfast - very tasty. Strongly suggest you to try local dinner there, too. It is also available in the evening - very convenient if you come late after Etna. So much to try and so delicious!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Borgo Santa Caterina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff 👍

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Good base for mountain trekking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old smell in the room. No or too week wifi.

    Good base for mountain trekking. Moody place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Town is in the real heart of Sicily and top of a very long hill climb (on bikes) hotel was excellent value for money. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Great terraces that can be used during hot days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noone speaks English. Very cold dining room (we have been there in the end of march).

    Great terraces that can be used during hot days.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    An oasis in a gray town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is really beautiful with clean and cozy rooms, several green terraces and and a good eye for detail. It was also good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Good b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't very good. It was cold in the room.

    Location was great, room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff; very clean. Castiglione Di Sicilia is a beautiful little village.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    2.9
    Never again
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was not polite at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in town

    Well decorated, typical place. Good breakfast, very nice view from the terrace. Friendky staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee from machine

    Location of hotel with separate rooms as little houses.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    7.1
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodation very stylies, the room is well equipped. Very Sicilian :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi not working in the room

    Amazing place, autentic family run business

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    8.3
    very good breakfast, fresh, selfmade,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    lack of glasses, cups and plates in the appartement

    very good breakfast, fresh, selfmade, delicious dinner, overlook over town and to Ätna, excellent location for etna travellers

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.8
    The elderly couple who took care of the facilities were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was a little small, and hot water supply was a bit feeble. Sometimes the wifi signal was weak, but mostly workable.

    The elderly couple who took care of the facilities were very, very helpful and kind. They cooked delicious Sicilian cuisine for us, and with excellent wine--they told us of the history of the village, and gave usSome rooms of the facility has nice views of the castle perched high on the hill top. The castle is closed during winter months...a pity. helpful advise on visiting nearby places. The village of San Castiglione di Sicilia is a beautiful medieval village, well worth the visit. We visited in early January, when there were not many tourists, so we had the village virtually to ourselves. Mount Etna is close by, and one gets an impressive view of Etna from the village.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.5
    At breakfast we were asked if we would like to eat dinner in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At breakfast we were asked if we would like to eat dinner in the restaurant and try some Sicilian food. Without asking price or the menu we agreed. After a full day of hiking the meal was great. Large portions 3 courses with salad on the side, 500ml of red wine. Simple but delicious! For where we were and what we got there was no complaints about the price either.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.5
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small badroom and shower, not very clean. We only stayed for one night. You probably get a better room if you stay longer (based on other reviews)

    Very friendly staff For only 15,- p.p. you can taste a proper sicilian dinner. Very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    This B&B is a little different from other places where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom, although okey, could be updated.

    This B&B is a little different from other places where we stayed in that it is a little old-fashioned with dark wooden walls and ceilings. The 3-person room we stayed in had a small balcony with a small table and 2 chairs and a fabulous view up to the Castello and over the valley. We had a marvellous Sicilian evening meal made by the courteous owner couple.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.5
    Very friendly owner, good breakfast and supper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly owner, good breakfast and supper. Clean and comfortable room. Quite near to the center of the town. Very simple to find the hotel, no problem with parking.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    8.8
    The owners were a very polite and attentive couple and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The owners were a very polite and attentive couple and produced great local food in the evening. They added to the ambience of staying in a traditional Sicilian hill town as beautiful and interesting as Castaglione.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    7.5
    The "Albergo diffuso" concept is ideal for those...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although Castiglione is very nice. It is challenging to find anything open in the evening. The shower box was very small and hot water run out very fast.

    The "Albergo diffuso" concept is ideal for those who want to avoid standardized hotel rooms and enjoy the atmosphere of a very nice Sicilian village. Rooms are cosy. Breakfast was simple but good. Very good value for the money we spent.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    7.1
    we had a nice big room with ample space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was quite uncomfortable: 2 matrasses put together with very hard springs of which one was relatively worn out.

    we had a nice big room with ample space. It was a bit too cold at night mainly because the buildings in this area are not built for temperatures below 5degC The owner was quite polite on the whole (but very stressfull) The little village is a nice location to find some rest..

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    Quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet place. Perfect food, friendly faces, ask always for the home made dinner, it is amazing.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.5
    Good home cooking at a very fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi and cold dining room

    Good home cooking at a very fair price

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    7.1
    good WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom is tiny though room is very spacious

    good WiFi decent roadside parking a lot of stairs to climb to reach the room

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    8.3
    hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    uncomfortable bed and shower

    hospitality

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.6
    Staff and area generally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View. Heating OK but can be cold if no heating

    Staff and area generally. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic old house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing much. The location was a bit out of town, but not bad.

    Fantastic old house. Great breakfast. Very patient, competent staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was great. You have to ty the dinner. The location is good, there is a parking place near the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    6.7
    The host was very pleasant and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All the narrow steep stairs and paper thin walls

    The host was very pleasant and helpful

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    8.8
    Nice view from balcony, pretty shaded terraces for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner average

    Nice view from balcony, pretty shaded terraces for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    Perfect service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Perfect service. Nice quiet village.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    7.9
    Location, privacy, familiar ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tha price of the meals is expensive by comparaison with quality and other paces in town

    Location, privacy, familiar ambiance

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: