Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bed & Breakfast Novecento

Via Ricasoli 10, Duomo, 50122 Florence, Italy

#259 of 536 B&Bs and Inns in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 219 B&B reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    This is a B&B type which I hadn’t fully realised and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a B&B type which I hadn’t fully realised and with 49 stairs to climb to the third floor not suitable for aged people. I am 89 and made it but never again. The people are charming though and as helpful as they could be.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Location, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like...

    Easy to deal with, well looked after... clean and close to everything... found it first pop thanks to brilliant directions... I’ll be back for sure!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Felt welcome, comfortable, gorgeous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt so welcome, the owners are lovely and beyond accommodating. Would absolutely recommend to anyone - the value for money is exceptional. An unbeatable location in a traditional Florentine building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great hosts and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Franco the owner and his wife were very welcoming . Was very appreciated as solo traveller . Location v v v good and v comfortable clean bed . Highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.3
    Very steep steps and they did not assist with luggage on...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep steps and they did not assist with luggage on arrival. Small bathroom and slippery floor when showering. Towel hook fell off wall. They said no eggs for breakfast. Only cornflakes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    A loved my time here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved my stay at B&B Novecento! The place is in a perfect location to discover the city on foot, I could literally see the Duomo from my bedroom window. The hosts, Franco and his wife, were very warm, friendly and helpful, I even got help booking advance tickets for the Uffizi etc. Breakfast was lovely too, great coffee, nice pastries, tasty croissants . I would thoroughly recommend this place and I would certainly book again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Superb location for exploring Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud people at night made it a bit difficult to sleep, but nothing a pair of ear plugs can't fix.

    The owners were very friendly and helpful and the location can't be beat! The room was comfortable, perfect for a solo traveller.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    One of the most beautiful, well-located, clean and personable B&B's we've seen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Franco and Sowako were so friendly and enthusiastic about Florence! We relied on their advice for transportation and restaurants and their recommendations were EXCELLENT! They made themselves so available for questions and ideas. The room was always clean and their attention to detail was much appreciated. We also loved the terrace on the roof and spent several hours during our stay just being in awe of the property, the Duomo, and the city. We'll stay here again!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Great for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner and his wife were very nice and helpful. Great location, nice beautiful and comfortable rooms. All you need if you want to spend a couple of days in Florence for sight seeing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    It was a very comfortable room with friendly staff, in the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't like stairs or have a lot of luggage to carry, this is not the place for you.

    The check-in process was great and easy. Our room was comfortable and the rooftop area had beautiful views. The location was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Feels like family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, 3 flights of stairs, but worth if it you're able, very classy accommodations with perfect location.

    The courteousness and helpfulness of the couple who owns the place and the room was excellent, assisted me with Galleria reservations as soon as I walked-in, great location, soft pillows and bed. Superb place to stay for the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    4.2
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Forth floor without lift, narrow stairs which are difficult to clime. Room was at the roof, not clean and toilet was desaster couldn't even take shower.

    Location only no other things actually

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Would stay here again if ever in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was awkwardly placed in the middle of the bathroom and the bathroom gave off a weird smell as well.

    Overall, our stay here was perfect for a two night trip to Firenze and included a cozy room, a warm breakfast, and extremely friendly owners. Location of the bed and breakfast also was perfect since it was only a few minutes walk from major sight seeing we wanted to do.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast was inexpensive and an incredible value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lots of keys to get in and out of our room.

    Breakfast was inexpensive and an incredible value! The cappuccinos were wonderful, the fruit was fresh, very flaky croissants too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    very nice stay owners very nice & pleasant. Cleaned room daily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit small . If have a shower then someone needs to use toilet afterwards could be quite hazardous. Tv in room but no English channels so disappointed. Would have been nice if a kettle supplied with facilities to make a drink.

    Room clean & tidy bed was comfortable. Air condition working. Room did not have a safe but to be honest did not need one as the place is very secure need keys to get in through ground floor & then entrance door to apartment .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 3 flights of stairs with baggage 🙈

    Location was great, a stones throw away from Duomo and anything else in Florence. Host was great - super friendly and helpful! Lovely place!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Simple but lovely B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff (owners?) were very helpful in providing information on the city, what to see etc. Very charming B&B in an old building in the heart of the old city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.7
    It's inexpensive but not a value....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the room was stuck on one temperature and one fan setting. Basically it was either on or off with no adjustment. The shower is in the middle of a very small bathroom, literally in the middle of the room with the shower drain in the middle of the floor. Once someone showers the bathroom floor is all wet. One morning I was using the sink and water/sewage started bubbling up from the drain in the bathroom floor and made the floor wet...it was pretty gross.

    The location was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't expect that there are a lot of slopes and steps everywhere in the city. If you go to this hotel by foot, be ready for it!

    They are very kind, and room is very clean! Very comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.8
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed in our stay here. Our bathroom had a horrible smell coming out of the pipes and we had to constantly keep the door closed. My poor brother was in the other room and must have gotten over 30 mosquito bites because the AC did not work and he had to keep the window open. It was not a pleasant stay for any of us. The breakfast started at 8:30 which was too late for us.

    The location was perfect. The view from The top was nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    Excellent central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem for us, but there are lots of stairs to get up to the property.

    Excellent central location. Franco and his wife were wonderful hosts who kept the room very clean during our stay and were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Sawako and Franco's B&B Novecento is less than 200 meters from the Duomo and a great bargain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Franco and Sawako are very attentive hosts that run a clean B&B in an ideal location in Florence. Within walking distance to everything! Their B&B also has a small rooftop terrace with a beautiful view of the Duomo.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    10
    Great hotel-home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner Franco-and the girl who help him-very kind and positive persons! He showed me all good placs from places of interest to gelato shops. The location is great! The bed linen is extremely clean! Franco!I am your future partner,remember!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.6
    Great B&B in the heart of Florence!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really, it was all good and as described, no surprises : )

    Loved the location of this place, so central and convenient. Franco the owner is chatty and helpful, very nice guy! I loved the rooftop terrace with a view of the Duomo!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Very nice top roof terrace, with view on the Duommo is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi could be better. Breakfast should include some eggs.

    Very nice top roof terrace, with view on the Duommo is remarkable. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Kind couple operating the B&B.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff and located really close to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff and located really close to the Duomo

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    A home far from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The location is fantastic. In front of Il Duomo Cathedral. Great homemade breakfast and cute room. The owners are helpful and nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely owners-very knowledgeable and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely owners-very knowledgeable and accommodating. The rooftop patio is charming and the view from there is exquisite .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Arrived late but Franco was obliging and greeted us beyond his normal closing time..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff. Very concerned about your having a nice experience. Dennis

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for Florence. Beautiful view from the roof terrace, make sure to have a look! Room is lovely and staff are very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location, fair value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, uncomfortable bed

    Location, friendly stuff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Would recommend and return to this venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fewer mosquitos, less street noise.

    VEry generous breakfast. Accommodating abs perceptive hosts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Very friendly host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly host. Clean. Great location. Would most definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom very small

    Lovely owner, extremely clean, comfy bed, excellent location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    5.4
    very friendly staff and located almost at the doorstep of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    three flights of stairs to reach the B&B, quite noisy at night and moderately clean.

    very friendly staff and located almost at the doorstep of the Duomo

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift so you have to climb up and down to the 3rd floor. My single bed front bedroom was facing a noisy neighbourhood but one cannot expect too much in such a touristic place. The back two bedroom for a couple seems gorgeous and quiter.

    Wonderful host. A very careful couple, I felt like being part of their family. Very helpful, very welcoming. Best that at the hotel for they gave me a lot of hints and advices and help.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.6
    The couple are very accomodating & friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The couple are very accomodating & friendly. Location is very accessible from the train station & attractions. Peaceful & convenient place.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location, within a block of the Duomo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This b & b is on the 3rd story, no elevator. That wasn't an issue for me, but some might find that difficult.

    Perfect location, within a block of the Duomo! Franco and family were incredibly friendly and helpful. The space was warmly decorated and inviting.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Franco and Sawake were simply lovely hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Franco and Sawake were simply lovely hosts. The location was perfect, just around the corner of one of the mayor cathedrals in town, and pretty close the station as well.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    Franco & Sawako are the perfect hosts in this small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Franco & Sawako are the perfect hosts in this small B&B less than a block from the duomo. It is clear from the start that they enjoy people and go above and beyond to make their guests feel welcome. They take pride in their B&B which is clean, comfortable and quiet. I required medical attention while I was staying and they were there for me every step of the way for an entire week. This shows their character and willingness to be so much more than a place to lodge...they truly enjoy their job and will do whatever they possibly can to make your stay a good one. Step outside and find many restaurants, shops and easy walking distance to almost anything you would like to seek out in Florence.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    The hosts were extremly kind and made and great effort to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hosts were extremly kind and made and great effort to make our stay nice. We had a small very cosy room and acess to a roof terrace with view directly to the most famous dome. The location is absolutely perfect.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Our first morning at B&B Novecento, we were greeted by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loved everything!

    Our first morning at B&B Novecento, we were greeted by this great song with Franco singing and dancing around the kitchen. Franco and his wife are the best. They are so welcoming and friendly and staying with them is a great experience. Their place is very nicely decorated and is in a great location. The rooftop deck is awesome. You feel like you can reach out and touch the Duomo. My 14 year old son was not feeling well and Franco was concerned and helped us to find a doctor. He even offered to go to the hospital with us to translate! You will not find better people and better hosts in Florence, Italy or perhaps the world.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    3.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This B&B is not as presented on the website! The standard of accommodation is very poor, with basic room and small, poor quality bathroom. The roof terrace is a run down, shabby hot box, absolutely nothing like the website photo. It is completely overpriced for the quality of the accommodation. Breakfast was packaged and minimal and certainly not appetising. One would expect to pay about half of what is being charged for this B&B....the biggest disappointment in all Italy for us. Well below our expectation of enjoying breakfast and evening drinks gazing at the Duomo!! Not to be!

    The location

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    8.8
    A fabulous little B&B, only a stone's throw away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be warned, there is no lift and the B&B is on the 3rd/4th floor. This is no problem if you don't mind climbing stairs, but may be a concern to some.

    A fabulous little B&B, only a stone's throw away from the Duomo. The owners were charming and very helpful. Clean, tidy rooms with very comfortable beds. The roof top terrace was a bonus (but they no longer serve breakfast on the roof)

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.6
    The owner Franco was extremely friendly, funny and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs were a little daunting. With no elevator, I struggled to get my luggage up to the top.

    The owner Franco was extremely friendly, funny and accommodating. He recommended a couple restaurants that turned out to be "ottimo!" (the best in Italian). The location was great. 5-10 minute walk from everything.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    7.5
    Room was large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The double bed was two twin beds pushed together which moved a lot. The B and B was on 3rd floor (so four flights of stairs) that were narrow and no elevator. Wifi was good when it was working but it was unreliable to get a connection after our third day.

    Room was large. Location was excellent very near duomo.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    3.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The facilities were miserly.The breakfast was served too late..at 8.30am and you were nudged to pay for a smallish cup of coffee like it was a lluxury.There was nowhere I could plug in my phone charger so I had to unplug the mini fridge to do do. One measly disposable tiny glass was provided & I was not aware of the steep stairs and 3 flights to climb. Though well located it was noisy most of the night. Hardly slept. Never again.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    10
    Franco and Sawaki were both so attentive, helpful, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Franco and Sawaki were both so attentive, helpful, and friendly. The location was incredible, and the place made me really feel like a local. Perfect for solo travellers looking to relax as well as get to know the city.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    4.2
    enjoyed Florence as a city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walking up 61 steps to our room each time without having been warned in the advert.

    enjoyed Florence as a city

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.2
    Friendly owner, helpful Great location Gave me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly owner, helpful Great location Gave me breakfast earlier than normal.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.2
    location, home feeling, terras with view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location, home feeling, terras with view

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: