Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Cadenabbia 4 stars

Via Regina 1, 22011 Griante Cadenabbia, Italy

#10 of 16 hotels in Griante Cadenabbia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 44 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfectly located for traveling around the Lake Como area , amazing views, classy clean facility,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice hotel but just a large hotel.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very roomy rooms and bathrooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Found 2 hair on the sheets of the bed, wifi worked only in the lobby and not in the room, the water in the shower was coming out burning hot and freezing cold in 30 seconds intervals! When complained, they didn't give us any discount!

    The location was great and a only few steps away from public transportation for Bellagio, Varenna and Menaggio.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would like to have a choice of an a la carte menu for the dinner. The balcony, although with the view onto the lake, was quite dirty and was never cleaned during our stay.

    Excellent location, clean room, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It seems to be the comment thing that Italian hotel doesn't provide kettle/tea, coffee facility. I really like to have a cup of coffee or tea 1st thing in the morning.

    Excellent location on the quite side of lake, bus stop right in front of hotel, water taxi not even 50m away.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The gardens could probably do with a bit of tidying. The swimming pool was too cold to swim in. We booked into the restaurant for one meal and found what was possibly the only grumpy member of staff, missed our dessert due to staff clearing away and readying for the next days breakfast. We paid €90 including wine for a very hurried 2 course meal which was substandard for the price.

    Loved the rooftop terrace and bar overlooking the lake, the stunning location on the lakeside with a room with a balcony you can sit out. The sheer grandeur of the place was amazing. Loved the artwork and sculptures internal decoration. Beautiful grand hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On the morning of arrival, we were informed that the room with balcony and lake view, which was the only reason we went there, (otherwise, I would have booked a similar room in another hotel) was suddenly unavailable, even though it was confirmed by the hotel in May! The hotel gave a refund of a paltry €20 per day and a free dinner (which was mediocre). Worse, they allocated a "garden view" room in what seemed to be the basement, small, dark, damp and malodorous, with the fire escape adjacent to the single, narrow window, which looked onto and was level with the driveway, which was at mid- window level, the room being below the level of the driveway. The room did have an adequate bathroom. When I complained, they dis-simulated. Fortunately, booking.com intervened, so the hotel allocated another room on a higher floor, still overlooking the parking area, but at least it had two windows and three beds, so we had a bit more room. Fortunately, we are both small people, so we could use the liliputian bathroom, albeit with difficulty. The unsatisfactory nature of their compensation was highlighted later in the trip, when two other hotels did not have the room we booked. In both of those cases, the management arranged alternate, in fact superior accommodation in adjacent hotels.

    It is conveniently located to ferries. However, challenging to get to by road, due to narrowness of the road between Como and Grianti. The buffet breakfast provided is about 3/5, so quite good. I must admit that the staff were courteous and cooperative.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel and the rooms were cold

    Great location very close to nice towns such as Menaggio and very convenient transfer options to Como center and Bellagio

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given a tiny bedroom, which was very basic. There was no balcony. We travelled with our dog. The staff were not very friendly.

    Location was good.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    early in the morning you can heard in the room like water coming down the walls. there was live music in our same floor till 11 pm.

    the view at breakfast time

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No English watchable TV channels. No wi-fi in the rooms only lounge area. Parking is a joke so not a problem for coach tours. Air con close to bed a loud if high so only a problem if it's hot.

    Location ok. Very large grand hotel but now geared for the budget market.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big stain on the carpet near elevator. Elevator did not work too well. Staff ok but not overly friendly. Decor was incongruent in the lobby. Air conditioning did not work very well.

    Good Location

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The restaurant only served a set menu at €35 per head which seemed rather steep so we didn't bother. Breakfast was ok.

    Fantastic location. Nice pool and rooftop bar/restaurant with amazing views over Como to Bellagio. Rooms pretty good value and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    False description on booking.com site, or at least extremely ambiguous. There is a rooftop terrace with dodgy old timber boards but there is absolutely NOT a rooftop pool - it is out the back down 2 levels accessed via a sloping rough path. No service is available by the pool and no drinks or food are able to be taken to that area. extremely disappointing... Ruined our holiday. Honesty would be the best policy - let travelers make a decision based on the facts of what the hotel actually offers, not advertising spin.

    Breakfast was substantial and the staff pleasant. Tables were cleared promptly.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If I had to find a negative it would be that the swimming pool and surrounding lounge area could do with revamping. It was still very usable but not as plush as the rest of the hotel.

    Beautiful old hotel with a grand lobby and very very comfortable beds. The staff were superb; among the best I've experienced in hotels all around the world. The hotel wifi is excellent, even in the bedrooms, and is free. The location is good if you want a quiet relaxing break in breathtaking surroundings but still wish to explore. We took in Bellagio and Varenna by the very regular ferry service across the Lake. Ferry stops are within a couple of minutes walk of the hotel. There are not many restaurants for dinner close by, however, this is more than made up for by the quality of those that are. We went to Ristorante Isola twice.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet in the room was not good. Could only be used just inside the door. Breakfast the same every morning and only average.

    We got a bigger room with a bigger balconing than we booked and paid for. That was really nice. It was a junior suite. The balcony was fantastic with great views over Lake Como.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slow wi-fi

    Breakfast at the roof terrace with the most beautiful view, pool area, terrace bar, wonderful location for making ferry trips to different places at Como

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We booked 6 rooms for 12 people through Booking.com months in advance. All 6 rooms were to have Lake Como views and were guaranteed by credit card. We received confirmation of our rooms from Booking.com 5 days before our arrival. We got to the hotel at approximately 6 pm on our scheduled day of arrival and the hotel had given 5 of our 6 rooms with a view away to other guests. Needless to say, we were very disappointed in the hotel's decision not to honor our "guaranteed" reservation.

    The location of the hotel is good.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attitude of management, tired looking, needs complete update and customer focus needs to be vastly improved, eg breakfast finishes too early, furniture moved at unreasonably early and late hours, why?

    Ethel view and location

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We chose the hotel for the nice location and took two suites as a family travelling with two kids. Via Booking.com we requested a connecting door or rooms next to eachother. Our request was completeley ignored prior to the arrival. Upon arrival we were told that there were noch such rooms. According to their policy children under 12 were not allowed to stay in the room on their own. There is no description of this on Booking.com! We were then put up in a small suite with a coach to unfold. We never got the money back for one room with the reason that we had chosen a prebooked rate. There wasn't even a reaction to our Email to the manager. What a lousy customer service!

    The location

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The car park was a bit disorganised. It could accommodate far more vehicles if it were properly levelled and marked so that users didn't park in such a random manner.

    Beautiful location and views across the lake to Bellagio from our balcony. Our room was spacious with good, well controlled air conditioning. the huge bathroom appeared to be brand new.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience as such but carpets not as plush as they used to be, windows in need of a good clean. Bathroom not very practical (no shelves, only one hook for towels/ dressing gowns) and sink cracked. Ok but all a bit tired looking. Dinner in the restaurant was decent enough but I'm not sure I would want to eat there every night.

    Very good location on the lake with public transport (ferry/bus) nearby. Terrace with tables and sunloungers a lovely place to relax. Restaurant has amazing views.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a big hotel. If many rooms are occupied, then the restaurant can be busy. This isn't a small family hotel where lots of Italians go. It's a grand hotel with large groups of tourists. The visitors when we were there were mainly older (English) people, although we wonder why there aren't more younger people attracted to this hotel.

    The hotel has a bar, restaurant and rooftop terrace on the 4th and 5th floor. There is a 180° degree view on the Lake in front of Bellagio. I could spend hours there. The breakfast buffet is definitely something to look out for. The hotel feels like the grandeur from old times, but is kept up to date. The rooms are big. I would recommend lake view rooms though.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One evening there was a wedding and the noise of the band playing til after midnight was very annoying. Perhaps check if there are any weddings going on... it seems Lake Como is the ideal location for weddings.

    As we got off the bus from Como, waiting outside to cross the road to go into the hotel, the friendly staff came out to help us with our bags crossing the road. Really nice staff and the location was spectacular. We had a lake view room as well which was beautiful. Very convenient to get to the other villages on the lake and right beside Villa Carlotta with a view of the spectacular gardens there. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Do not under any circumstances have dinner at the hotel. The breakfast is rather un-inspired too. The dinning room is like a 1970's cruise ship with worse food.

    The hotel is in a great location with fantastic views. The rooftop bar is great. If you like faded big old luxury hotels this is for you.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were most helpful at all times.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    Location

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved this hotel. She's a grand old lady but beautiful, comfortable and luxurious. Booked thus on a deal and couldn't be happier.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff not very friendly or accommodating

    Location, bkfst buffet very good

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The View and the roof terrace

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no bar service at the swimming pool

    nice terrasse with great view, great breakfast with a view

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No water one day and no warning of a problem

    Location was fine, staff, facilities worn but very comfortable...staff was excellent

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The color of the room was a little off putting. A semi neon green.

    Large comfortable room and balcony

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    room was a little dated and small

    swimming pool and location :-)

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant menu

    Staff were very nice and freindly

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing. It was all good

    The location was excellent and the rooms all had views of the lake.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic view from our balcony and roof terrace

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We loved our stay here. Really warm, feel good experience, staff, premises, views.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We spent the evening of our wedding there, the staff did everything possible to make our stay as special as possible

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    The terrace, the swimming pool and the location were fantastic. We found the staff to be polite and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The elevator going too slowly.

    The brekfast on the top,the great view,surrounding,the comfort,everything was great.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bad wifi access in the room

    The location

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    large rooms, quiet, comfy beds, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location on lake

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was hard to use and very slow

    Everyone was really friendly and hyelpful

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Grand Hotel Cadenabbia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: