Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bellevue House

Via Della Scala 21, Santa Maria Novella, 50123 Florence, Italy

#115 of 536 B&Bs and Inns in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 190 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy neighbors, in spite of the fact that some one form the staff is always in the property. It is impossible to let them party or yell from 4 o'clock AM! They arrived at 04:00 and the host did not tell them that they should be quiet?! And unfortunately that was not the first time, but very annoying. My apologies, but I will never pay 90 euros for that again! Except that, thanks for everything!

    Very friendly hosts, offering plenty of important tips! Windows with insects net and opaque wooden blinds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t serve breakfast but there is a place right next door that they tell you about that is very affordable. So not a big deal breaker

    We stayed in a hostel for our first night in Florence. It was simply awful and at 3 in the morning I had decided that I’m not staying another night. I found this hotel online and it had such great reviews and looked cosy and thankfully they had a room available. Our stay was absolutely wonderful! The room was lovely and comfortable and very spacious. And the owners are fantastic!! They supplied us with maps and tips on where to eat and where to shop for souvenirs. They even showed us the rooms they had available, so that we could pick which one we liked best. Their prices are also quite reasonable. Very similar to that of our hostel and a thousand times. I would recommend this place to anyone I know and should I ever return to Florence, I would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host is very friendly and recommended great places to eat at reasonable price range. The room was nice and comfortable. I definitely recommend to stay here for others who are looking to go to Florence

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all the hosts were adorable.made us feel right at home. The room was large and well equipped and very clean. We had a large dog with us and they were very nice to her. We would Definitively visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The proprietor and family are generous and friendly with information and lent a feeling of warmth and hospitality that is much needed by a traveler!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bellevue House was amazing. The staff are friendly and very helpful. They offer many suggestions with respect to where to eat and what to visit. The location is very central, only 5 minutes to the train station and 10 minutes to all the attractions. I highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is located on the 4th floor of building with no elevator. There was supposed to be a young person available to carry up your luggage. He was unavailable leaving only the elderly owner and there was no way we were going to have him haul our luggage up the 93 stairs, so we did it ourselves.

    The location was great; the rooms were large and could accommodate up 4 people comfortably.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is truly on the 4th floor, as everyone states, which is tough at the end of a long day of sight seeing. The location is convenient but the neighborhood may have seen better days. Right near the hotel is okay, but the streets nearby closer to the train station are just so-so. Lighting in the room was rather dim and it felt pretty dated overall. I expected more from a hotel that had mostly 5 star ratings.

    Alexander was extremely helpful in helping us learn about the area. The room was large in size and the bed was extremely comfortable. Air conditioning was excellent, which was fantastic given we were there in the middle of a heat wave. Nice shampoo and other products provided, as well as a small fridge and coffee maker. Good sized couch for relaxing, as well as a small tv, which we didn't watch. Someone from the family is on-site 24 hours a day, which was reassuring.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator.

    The staff (Allexandro--may be wrong spelling) is very kind. He guided all the relevant locations of restaurants and points of interest accurately. I just followed what he told and had great experience in Firenze. Good location--about 10 min. walk from Station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the 90+ steps to climb up without a lift

    The location and the room standard were very good. The hotel is quite old and on the fourth floor of the building but has a lot of character especially some of the historical photos in the reception-corridor. The staff were all excellent very friendly and helpful. Especially Alessandro who made a number of restaurant sight seeing transport suggestions that turned out to be fantastic. A big thank you Alessandro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware of the stairs, of course. But they are low-rise stairs, so they were easier on my knees than I had feared. The sofa-bed in our room had one soft side and one very hard side, as I discovered when my 10 year old coaxed me into sharing that bed with her.

    The family who runs the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. They seemed genuinely disappointed that we only dropped by for one night in between visits to other cities. They were very responsive in my communications with them about our arrival and how the two rooms should be set up for our party of 6. The location is great for train travelers—it's only a short walk from the train station. Also close to good restaurants, shops, and the sights of downtown Florence.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden up 3 flights of stairs but staff carried luggage so no issue

    Comfortable bed Good wifi Great location (short walk to major sights and train/bus station) Air conditioning Soft towels Approachable staff, family owned hotel Staff gave great food recommendations, marked everything on a map and gave tips for Florence Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a few flights of stairs to get up but if that's not a problem for you, you'll enjoy staying here.

    The room is in an old building full of character, conveniently close to the station. We went to some very nice restaurants recommended by Alessandro who gives the best itinerary to follow in the city he obviously loves. My husband and I had a memorable 5 days staying in Alessandros place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely historic building. Very comfortable bed and pillows. I slept very well. Excellent shower. My room faced a lovely back garden. Close to train station. Very welcoming and kind hosts. I would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are older, and there were an outrageous number of stairs to climb (92?). My husband has knee issues and was in significant pain. There was a warning that there was no elevator that came in an email just after we arrived in Italy. This was too late to make a change. If you are in good physical shape, this is a wonderful Hotel.

    The owners were wonderful and willing to do anything for us. They had great recommendations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The second sofa bed is not very comfortable. I suggest if possible can change to a real bed in the future.

    The room is excellent for our family traveling there. The family of owner is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift but a lot of stairs to get to the hotel. The staff are very helpful and will carry your bags, if you need.

    It is quite close to the train station for walking with your bags, but not too close. Large room. Different owners, than before, but still great place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floor starts shaking when you walk on the floor........ Toilets are ourside the room...just one shower and sink inside the room....

    location.....everything is just on walking distance....easy to find...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing! Maybe a little bit far from the Mercato centrale in comparison with many B&Bs or hostels?

    The room was large. The staff was very friendly. Good distance from the station. Many good restaurants nearby. You can leave your luggage after checking out and they even had a toilet if you had to use when taking your luggage. Though it was at the 3rd floor, the staff helped us bring our luggage to the 3rd floor!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise comfort because of thin doors but it's quite usual issue in such type accommodation in Italy.

    Location was most convenient for us. Hostesses were very kind and helpful. Alex did recommend very nice place to get a dinner close to this apartment - it's calling "Osteria dei Centopoveri" just next block with amazing food and atmosphere!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs and no elevator.

    Friendly family operated B&B. Very good location. On walking distance of the train station and all the 'must see' locations

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful owners - took time to know us and help us have a wonderful time in Florence! Extremely comfortable room and well appointed. Wish we planned a few more days here vs other places on our vacation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress is a little hard.

    The service is really good! The host recommended us a few eating spots which are pretty good with reasonable price. Also the host told us where to shop ( where sells real leather, where sells fake products). Before our arrive, the host sent us a very detailed email , including an Mandarin version of trip itinerary. The host helped us carry our suitcases up and down. We really appreciated it! They also provided a big bottle of mineral water everyday. We were be able to store our suitcase free of charge for the whole afternoon before our train.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently no lift. But Alex will help you to carry the luggages

    Very large room. Near to railway station. The ALex family are very nice. The date.we were there is my wife's birthday and they noticed that and unexpectedly gave us small gifts!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The long flights of stairs were a bit of a dampener but not a real problem. The family running the place was very helpful and the son carried our baggage for us almost all the way to the SMN station

    The location was good, the room was comfortable and clean and the service at the hotel was really great. We would definitely recommend this place to everyone

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor is high and no elevator.

    Location is very good. Easy to almost everywhere. Very good family hotel. The boss Alex is really nice! In general, it is really nice place for Florence.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luciano and his family made our stay fabulous. They helped us get tickets to the Accademia, reservations at a wonderful restaurant and getting to our car rental. The Bellevue is centrally located for walking to all.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Booked this hotel as conveniently located around the corner from the station. It turned out to be conveniently located for the main areas of Florence, all within 40 minutes' walking. Alex couldn't have been more helpful with hints and tips of where to go for food, drink, sight-seeing and views. We felt well looked after, and the hotel had a beautiful classic interior. Would definitely book again at this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location since arriving by train & ready to explore historic area on foot. The proprietor was extremely helpful with getting us going in the right direction. The 4 floor walk-up makes it authentic old world while the rooms are more than comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been softer.

    The proximity to everything in the city was wonderful and the staff were incredibly friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no elevator

    good location and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good service and great location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing steps was painful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and peaceful 90

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner recommended us very nice restaurants. We really enjoyed all of them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    extremely friendly and helpful owners

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    Great staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, helpful staff, many good restaurant around. Close to train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    4th floor. No elevator ((((

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast

    near train station,old building with hundreds years history,nice host,help us to print our train tickets

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Owners are helpful and friendly and ensure you have a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third floor with no elevator.

    Convenient location, close to train station. Good value for the money. Helpful and welcoming staff. Large room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    It is a wonderful location ,clean ,good price and very nice people. I highly recommended

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Third Floor without lift.

    Great location, warm hospitality, good useful suggestion for museum visit , local sight seeing and food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful and friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No elevator to hotel. Approx 93 stairs to climb. But hosts will assist.

    Staff (family run hotel). Excellent service and attention to detail. Accommodations with kids. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Luciano, Suzie & Alessandro were perfect hosts. Bellevue House was clean, comfortable and great value. Located around the corner from the train station in a quiet street was great location. Hope to stay with them again. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    /

    Even before our arrival, the host sent us detailed instructions how to access the hotel and garage (both of which are located within the Zone of limited traffic) with our own car. During our short stay, our welcoming host was full of tips for pleasant exploration of city details.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If you're looking for modern facilities and perks, this isn't the place for you.

    A beautiful an unusual place to stay, very close to the train station. Quirky and fascinating! Also immaculately clean. The owner was delightful - welcoming, extremely friendly and helpful with information about train platforms, etc.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    The location is great, very close to the train station SMN, and easy to walk to the Duomo and the riverside. The host family of Luciano is very kind and helpful. Our room, named Carolina, is quiet and clean, we had good sleep. And the room is well equipped. Grazie Luciano!

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff running the hotel. Helpful with bringing the bags upstairs, and letting me leave them while I was out. Was upgraded to an ensuite room that was lovely and huge with a window out onto the street. Great location near San Lorenzo, so easy walking to the train station or to Duomo or basically everything in the center

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful family staff. Easy location, close to the train terminal. Great place to eat opposite (Tre Line) with a beautiful lunch for just €10!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator. If you arrive with heavy luggages, don't forget to ask the host for help. They are very kind.

    No need to make a plan for your travel before arriving. They will give very detailled presentation of the city and good recommandations(Very good English speakers), and they can help you to book tickets if needed. The hotel is not far from the train station, but is very calm.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No breakfast, but plenty of places nearby Would advise against going to their recommended restaurants, we went to one and were disappointed - best to do your own research

    Very friendly family run place Good location near the station Beautiful historical building Opposite the most beautiful perfume shop in the world Quiet peaceful room with nice decor

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Boss and his son and all staff were very friendly! Room was clean! Location away 5mins walk from train station! 老闆跟全體員工都非常友善,完全體驗賓至如歸!100分!從火車站步行約5分鐘就到,老闆非常用心在經營!

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only problem we had was we were dropped from wi-fi connection quite often although the signal seemed strong. Using it for free was great though.

    Very nice staffs. They welcomed all guests with the warm hospitality and helped us a lot in terms of not only accommodation matters but also our sightseeing plans. Lovely people.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner's family is very nice. On site to help you with carrying luggage, answering questions and booking restaurants. The owner actually gave us some instant noodles since we are Asians. The place is on the third floor, which is the fourth floor in non-European standard. However, Alex, the son, will have with the luggages.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smell in the room.

    Nice owner, very friendly and introduce the detailed travel information to us, Also help us with the luggage even if there are no elevator for this residence.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Luciano, Susan, and Alex directed us to really good restaurants and were very helpful giving us directions to sites. They make you feel like they've been your friends forever. The accommodations are clean, bed comfortable and the price very reasonable for Florence.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    a bit noisy as would hear the noise of water flushing of rooms nearby

    convenient, walking distance to Old Town, bus station and train station many restaurants nearby for dining

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of an elevator could present issues for some, but we understood the heritage restrictions.

    The helpfulness and friendliness of the staff could not have been better. The location of the guest house was close to attractions and the train station. We found the guest house overall quite charming.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was an extremely good location a short walk to the SMN train station and within 20 minute walk to most downtown sites. Excellent recommendations for dinner, coffee/breakfast and assistance securing tickets to Uffizi and Academia. Very helpful with luggage which was appreciated given the 3rd floor location. Room was spacious, clean and quiet even though it overlooked the street. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact it was in the third floor.

    Comfortable bed, quiet room, excellent bathroom facilities , fridge, kettle and tea/ coffee facilities all helped to make this a great place to stay. The very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff made this a fantastic place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is very spacious compared with other hotels of similar price. And the owner( I suppose is also the main stuff--Mr Michel ) as well as his son are very kind-hearted, patient and helpful. When we arrived at Bellevue house, Mr Michel welcomed us warmly and helped us with our luggage. He provided lots of useful information to us and explained each detail step by step, I have never seen someone who is so patient and considerable like him. Then we decided to stay in Bellevue house for another extra night so we booked one more night again because we felt so comfortable and happy to live in Bellevue house. I love this hotel and Mr Michel so much, because it feels like a home to me. I will highly recommend this hotel to my friends and others.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only negatives: it is within the limited traffic zone, so arriving by car is impossible. We returned the rented car at Locauto that is only 500m away, but it was a lot of work to walk those blocks with a 3-year old kid and also the heavy bags. And the staircase is VERY difficult because it is on the third floor with high ceilings, so I would not recommend for people with locomotion difficulties.

    Staying at Bellevue House was a good experience. The attendance of Mr. Luciano and Alessandro was extremely friendly and kind, both on prior e-mails and personally. The room ("Ginevra") is huge, tasteful, with windows that really isolate light and street noise. The bathroom is narrow but functional and modern, great shower. Everything was spotless. There was a double bed for us and another, lower but equally big for our son. Air conditioning and the fridge were great. A free large bottle of mineral water was provided daily (despite the tap water is perfectly drinkable). The location is great for walking around the historic center, churches and museums. It is also very easy to use the train station. They do not serve breakfast in the morning but indicate neighboring cafes. In fact, all their indications of restaurants are precious, enjoy! Moreover, fantastic! Grazie mille!

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No breakfast or coffee, the steps can be a bit of a challenge if done a few times a day.

    close to the SMN train station, the staff provided a decent map in advance to help us find the hotel. AC was having trouble keeping the room cool considering the outdoor heat. This may also be due to the hotel’s hallway was not air conditioned. The staff took the time to provide information on the nearest restaurants that provide the best quality food and best value. We took them up on one of their suggestions and had a very nice lunch on an adjacent street to the hotel. Since this hotel has many steps to reach their floor, the staff carries your luggage up and down for their guests which is very helpful. The Wifi signal was good.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The three levels up seemed like it would be a problem, but ...

    Excellent location in the heart of Florence. The three levels up seemed like it would be a problem, but the proprietor graciously assisted with carrying bags!! We were upgraded to a lather room.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs up to the hotel are potentially scary to people with vertigo (open railings over a long drop)

    Friendly, informative staff; close to the city centre and one of the railway stations.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The first night in the bedroom, we felt very itchy. We developed red rash all over the forearms. The manager said it was mosquitoes. The second night it got worse. The rash was very itchy and more spot appeared on the legs. We had to go to a pharmacy where we were told that the rash looked like bedbugs bites. Back at the hotel we searched for bedbugs in the mattress and found one. Paying 80 euros per night to end up with more than 20 bedbugs bites all over the body and a cortison based cream treatment to calm the itchness is simply unacceptable. We read all the good commentaries about this hotel and we were pretty confident but it turned out that we were given a room with bedbugs. We just hope we didn t take any back in our luggages.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs might not suit everybody but they are only small steps and Alessandrio helped us to carry bags up and down. We are in our fifties and didn't struggle.

    The traditional building and central location.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Family with older children

    Everything! near the main station, really nice big room, kind step members and etc. If I visit Florence again, I will choose here without any hesitating.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This small pension is within easy walking distance from the train station but on a quiet side street. The top (4th) floor location ensures no foot steps overhead. We had a sunny, spacious room looking down a courtyard, and even though I am a light sleeper, we were able to sleep all night through with the window wide open for fresh air. We appreciated the mini-fridge and the electric kettle for coffee & tea. We recommend this little gem!

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spent two weeks traveling through Italy and this was my favorite lodging. It is a family-run hotel and they put their heart and soul into it. Alexhandro and his father were among the kindest people I met in Italy. They enthusiastically discussed best sights and restaurants in Italy, called in to make a bicycle rental and lent me an umbrella on a rainy day. The hotel has the feel of an Amercan B&B (without the breakfast). It is in a great central location easy walk to train station, yet pleasantly quiet. A great place for solo travelers or couples that appreciate quiet. They speak English fluently. They also helped me make my next hotel reservation and spoke in Italian to the inn keeper there.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    heating system is very poor (it was freaking cold at night ). we were frozen under 2 blankets though radiators was working.

    location : good close to smn train station room was ok . staff was very helpfull

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed one night in December, and the room was probably too big for the heating to warm up the room, so it was pretty cold. However I'd imagine it should be a great and convenient place to stay in other seasons.

    Great price, great location, very friendly staff, hot and steady shower.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bellevue House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: