Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Belvedere 4 stars

Viale Magnolie 6, 28922 Verbania, Italy

#5 of 19 hotels in Verbania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 606 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.0
    Poor breakfast
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor The men,who cleaned the tables with vacuuming the tablecloths with handheld vacuum, was very noisy. He was dragging chairs with one hand creating loud noise which was very unpleasant. There wasn’t much to choose to eat either

    Room was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    breakfast was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very noisy rooms (outside in, as well as other guests in other rooms ) we had a no lake view with only a very tiny window looking at a blind wall

    breakfast was OK the location was right on the lake

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing lake view, very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed two nights at the Hotel Belvedere with my family. The hotel is located just in front of lake Maggiore. From the room we could enjoy a fabulous lake view. The room itself was quite spacious and with a comfortable bed. It looked like it was recently refurbished. The staff very nice and helpful. Standard breakfast for an Italian four-star hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is good for its money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could hear when other guests took a shower at night, this got us awake several times

    The hotel is really old and not modernized for a long time, so we were not expected much. However it clean and perfectly located (just on the lake and has a great view)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Staff very gentle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just fine!

    Staff very gentle! The room was amazing and spacious! We had a room with a view for lake maggiore and it sounds perfect waking up and feel that peace. The breakfast was very good. And I promise Nicolette a beautiful photo of the lake that I will send as soon as possible, it’s not forgotten!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Memorable 2 night stay. Hotel exceeded all our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kettle in room needed adaptor to work. Rectified immediately on notification to front desk.

    Wonderful location lakeside. Upgraded room with balcony and view. Very well run establishment. Staff very friendly and helpful. High quality meals. Welcome dinner great value and well prepared. Good value breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location on Lago Maggiore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location on Lago Maggiore. On the lake shore and opposite the passenger ferry terminal. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A great base to explore the area!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    A wonderful place with loads to do and friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite dated in decor. It was sparse in the room, not very warm and the bed was quite hard. The place felt like it needed a makeover

    The location was perfect. Across the road from the ferry and with beautiful views from our window. The receptionist was very helpful Excellent shower!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Parking is an issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is an issue. There is no hotel parking but public parking in from of the hotel. Problem, not only on Fridays when there is a small market in Front of the hotel. When parking public, read the traffic signs carefully and every day. We misread the tragic signs And our car got towed, which was quite annoying and expensive. The hotel staff was quite helpful to solve this issue. Register your car at the hotel reception as the police seems to ask around in the neighbored hotels before towing. The car information is something the hotel staff should ask every customer arriving by car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    Well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls , you can hear your neighbors' TV which bad our stay rather unpleasant. Overcrowded Breakfast rooms Bathroom could be renovated

    Well located Climate system in the rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, but change those unclean woolen blankets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In a good 4 star hotel a quilt should be today standard. I feel each time itchy about the woolen blankets that are still common in Italy. Measured on the exterior I would have expected slightly better inside of the in the room which is outdated. Bathroom even more outdated. The free wifi was patchy.

    Splendid view on the lake. Spacious and clean room, Nice breakfast. We had a lovely diner in the restaurant just next door. Excellent location for relaxing and walking on the seashore.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.1
    Lovely staying but with poor wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was working at hiccups and it was not at acceptable standards. For a 4 star hotel the TV could have been better and at the very least with 1 or 2 international channels.

    The value for money is totally good, but we had a special deal being there only on a Sunday night, other nights were more expensive so the grade could vary overall. We liked the stuff being very helpful and caring.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.1
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We spent two night in this hotel. First night was just before the marathone. It was a lot of people at the breakfast and we need to wait for hot drinks for quiet a long time. Also this day breakfast was very poor. BUT! Next day when majority of runners have left the assortment for the breakfast for totally different. It was much more better! Not a good impression...

    Location is perfect!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.2
    Magnificent hotel at the edge of Lago Maggiore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The public parking in front of the hotel is watch out by the municipal police in a way that is not tourist friendly.

    The vicinity of the lake and the magnificent view over it and the Borromées islands from the room. The room is luminous, wide and provide a very good internal space.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    King sized bed looked like it was from the 80s with a bedspread and very scratchy blanket which we tried not to touch. The bed/mattress was as hard as a rock! As we arrived late we were forced to have the same set dinner as a tour group which was not very nice and not good value either @ 28€!!

    Excellent location opposite the ferry terminal. Reception staff were very attentive. Large room with a big balcony overlooking the lake. Breakfast buffet was generous and the service was quick. The second night we had the best dinner ever at a restaurant around the corner called Tacabutun.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful location, directly at the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi did not work most of the time

    Beautiful location, directly at the lake. On Saturday there is a little market in front of the hotel.The rooms are very spacious, we've had a nice room with a view to the lake and a little balkon (even the bathroom had a little balkony). Super friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    6.7
    Book at their other property instead! (Hotel Pallanza)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility overall feels dated and dingy. The sounds from guests in other rooms was so loud-- music from one, chairs scraping over our heads from another--that we checked out after only one night and moved to the hotel's other property down the road, Hotel Pallanza. Much better experience there. Would highly recommend choosing that one over the Belvedere. The breakfast at Belvedere was also awful, like something in a cafeteria and you sit in a room that feels like a cafeteria even though it faces the lake and would be so nice if you could see or experience it out the large windows.

    The view from our balcony was lovely!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was very small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Old but charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car parking is distant from the hotel

    Old but charming. Very spacious family room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was ok

    Nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful traditional hotel in ideal setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bar and a lounge needed

    Two full length windows onto balcony with lake view Right next to pier

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    This was our third stay at the hotel. Wouldn’t consider staying elsewhere when visiting the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff. Perfect location. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was horrible and rooms a little outdated

    Location was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Had a very enjoyable stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Got an upgrade to lake view room for staying 2nts. Food very good. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    very pleasant place in a very nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location closed to the historic city center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Best place to start exploring Lago Maggiore!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best place to start exploring Lago Maggiore! Friendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, great staff, great value!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some warm dishes would have been a welcome addition to the buffet breakfast.

    Lovely location and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.7
    I would've expected anything but a lake view from a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would've expected anything but a lake view from a "Bellevue" hotel. Got a backstreet view instead. Great disappointment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    The place to go in Palanza, feel at home immediatly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As a non-Italian I like a descent breakfast.

    The location is fantastic. Get a room with a view on the lake and a balcony. Nice people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    It was very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very nice stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Cleanliness, service, location, parking facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, service, location, parking facility

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.8
    everything was nice, lake view was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was nice, lake view was perfect. Good location in town center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Good option and location for visiting Lake Maggiore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location right on the lake. Good facilities. Didn't use the hotel's restaurant, but the one next door was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Very nice and comfortable stay staff was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit outdated bathrooms definitely outdated

    Breakfast was great staff was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Great location, friendly, very good morning meal
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Great location, friendly, very good morning meal

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    Gem in Pallanza
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small tv sets

    Very friendly and prefect location on the lake

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel parking

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    Outstanding location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    4.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property is more like a 2 or a 3 star hotel. Definitely not a 4 star! The hotel car park is Euro 15 per day and is not included in the overnight stay. The breakfast menu did not have the variety and the quality associated with a 4 star hotel.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    7.1
    The staff were very helpful, the use of the nearby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning was not on at this time of year, the room was extremely hot and with the windows and the door to the room open it took many hours to cool down, the hotel is opposite Tia children's play area and was very noisy late afternoon

    The staff were very helpful, the use of the nearby underground carpark was great, the view was excellent from the room.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    We have traveled all over the world, but cannot remember as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have traveled all over the world, but cannot remember as warm a welcome as we received at the Hotel Belvedere. It was one of the most pleasant stays we have ever had, and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was right above the hotel entrance and service areas, so a bit smoky and noisy if I had the window open. However, they had great soundproofing once the window was closed. Inside the hotel, I could hear my neighbors talking and their television going, but was only bothersome for a couple of nights.

    Great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, fantastic location near the lake and ferry landing. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby and plenty of free parking further away from the lake in town if you're willing to walk a bit. Great hub for exploring Lago Maggiore, would absolutely stay here again!

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    8.3
    Wonderful staff, very welcoming in several languages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a little bit old and may deserve a refurbishment

    Wonderful staff, very welcoming in several languages. The hotel is perfectly located for the various activities on Lago Maggiore and mostly to visit the Borromeo Islands

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.6
    extremely conveniently located for all amenities, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    extremely conveniently located for all amenities, staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant...very comfortable and welcoming...would not have any hesitation in recommending this lovely traditionally run hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.2
    We stayed for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is very little available close to the hotel. We had to park at a 10 minutes walk parking lot. The breakfast which was typical for northern Italy it seems, was not rich with vegetables as we are used too.

    We stayed for one night. The room was very clean and pleasant. It had lovey view of the lake as promised. The staff was very warm and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is very well located just in front of the Lake,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The normal prices are a bit high but we get an exceptional discount with booking so it was not really a problem for us

    The hotel is very well located just in front of the Lake, and in a very nice location in the city People from the hotel are very nice and helpful It is easy to park nearby

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    The staff are very nice, it is very well located (right in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I Didn't have very good wifi connection in my room.

    The staff are very nice, it is very well located (right in front of the lake). Absolutely I will come back.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    8.3
    Byggnaden, rummen, läget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Vi hade bett att få en extrasäng, men den dök upp först kväll no 2 (då beställningen skett på svenska och personalen inte förstått vad det stod (i Booking-bokningen), men inte tagit reda på det heller...De var inte särskilt angelägna eller kommunikativa i denna fråga.

    Byggnaden, rummen, läget.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    It was such a relaxed atmosphere, and the staff were simply...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was such a relaxed atmosphere, and the staff were simply perfect. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival and even given bottle of Italian wine on our departure.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    9.6
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is perfect. Next to the ferry to Isola Bella and the other islands. Staff very helpful.Free car parking. There is a local market on Friday morning.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.9
    Very convenient to ferries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds very hard, also pillows

    Very convenient to ferries Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard pillows

    Good location Gave us a very nice room

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.5
    Staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a little uncomfortable

    Staff and location

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.5
    Good location, decent room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good location, decent room.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    We extended our stay rather than travel on to another lake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A pool would have made it perfect!

    We extended our stay rather than travel on to another lake because we felt so comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    10
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Location! Great value.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    The view and the very helpful receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The view and the very helpful receptionist.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: