Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bernina 3 stars

Via Roma 24, 23037 Tirano, Italy

#5 of 11 hotels in Tirano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1544 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 3 floor, our room was very hot, no air condition the little fan help.

    Location was very good. Checking girl was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Great for a night's stay on your train-ride across Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No significant drawbacks. I can't blame the hotel for the torrential rain.

    Even though Tirano is small this is a perfect location, just by the railway station at the terminus of the Bernina Express. If you want a stopover while travelling across Europe, it is worth a look around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant rooms with outside sitting area and very handy to the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was just across the road from the station which was handy after having arrived on the Bernina Express. It was further from the Square than we had expected but the proximity to the station outweighed this. We had lovely rooms with an outside sitting area which was lovely as the weather was very hot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Very convenient to the train station and parking was easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient to the train station and parking was easy. Good choice if you are taking the Bernina Express. The restaurant was cozy and the staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not an overly large room but good for 1 or 2 nights.

    Hotel perfectly located just across from the train station, easy check in process and clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    aircon/heating unit even switched to off still hummed all night. Had to walk across the square to breakfast at the main hotel. tv controls once explained could be used.

    close to train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    IN ONE WORD TRUE VALE FOR MONEY FOR SHORT STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ROOM SIZE WAS TOO LESS FOR 4 PERSON TO STAY.

    MAIN 'X' FACTOR OF THE HOTEL IS IT'S LOCATION. 2 MIN WALKING FROM TIRANO RAIL STATION.MORNING BREAKFAST WAS SUPERB. STAFF AND EVERY THING AT HOTEL WAS GOOD. IN ONE WORD TRUE VALE FOR MONEY FOR SHORT STAY.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    A nice end to our journey on the Bernina Express.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like, but again a hotel with no real public room other than the dining room.

    The hotel in general, the short walk from the railway station. The very popular restaurant and breakfast. The staff, particularly in the dining room. A very comfortable double room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    The location is perfect - very close to the railway station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very cold at night. But we were too tired to ask the staff to adjust the heating and just went to bed -)). By the way the fact that the railway station was close didn't make us any problem at night!

    The location is perfect - very close to the railway station, only 2 minutes walk. The staff is very friendly. Our train was cancelled so we had to return to the hotel to wait for the next one and they gave us a possibility to wait with comfort. The local people highly recommended the restaurant in the hotel, but we visited the other one close to the hotel - Ai Portici - and were completely satisfied both with dishes and prices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Great stay for the centre of town and the railway station very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked in June 2017 for January 2018 yet the rooms that we were allotted were in the outside annex of the hotel .

    Very comfortable beds good size bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    Good stop for a night if you are catching the Bernina express.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty average meal in the dining room -disappointing considering the previous years Michelin stickers displayed. :-( We found a much better restaurant close by for lunch the next day.

    Great location close to the railway station. Also could store baggage for the later departure on the Bernina express. Room was ok for a one night stay - with room being outside via a walkway through the central corridor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    The stay was fine, and location very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself was very basic- simple, non-updated rooms. Some noise. Nothing to write home about! There was a very heavy spirit presence in either the hotel (haunted?), or our room. I could feel a sad, heavy feeling on my chest all night, and my husband heard spirits (ghosts) talking to him during the night.

    The location was fantastic, close to the train station. Breakfast was good, and the restaurant looked good for dinner (they were booked, so we couldn't try it).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in after getting off the train was a little disorganised so go and have some lunch first - the train gets in at 12.50pm

    Great location for staying overnight if doing the Bernini Express. Great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    24 Hour service like to purchase a soda or last minute snacks.

    Excellent Location right next to Trenitalia and Swiss Rail/Bernina Express rail stations. Small town feel. Excellent restaurant in hotel which locals even come to eat. I felt comfortable at the hotel. I wish I had more time to explore Tirano.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Classic Italian hotel and excellent value for the $$
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel Bernina is in a perfect location for anyone traveling by Train The staff and hotel and restaurant are all exceptional and we would absolutely recommend to anyone

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay to see Tirano and just brilliant place for Bernina Express overnighting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bernina Express train trip and this just the best place to stay. Dined in hotel that evening as easier - and had a really delicious dinner, seven of us. Good breakfast in the morning - I just didn't care for the taste of the café, personal. Pleasant staff, location perfection! Tirano is a GREAT wee town, we did so much walking we felt we'd been there for three days rather than 13.30 arrival one day, 14.30 departure the next. Thoroughly recommend this hotel for the Bernina Express trip and for a holiday in Tirano as it strung out in three areas, and this is the centre. Would have been very happy to stay there longer than just the one night - a pleasant hotel with v nice staff and adequate facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    a very convenient and comfortable one night stop at the end of the Bernina Express from Switzerland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Line up and wait was very long at check-in - because of train arriving but the poor office girl could have had some help? Restaurant waiter did not understand our English and did not appear to want to help so we went and had dinner outside in the marketplace. the room looked just like the one in the advert online!

    so close to the train station! comfy bed and lovely shower :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded room was a further walk and received no help with transporting luggage to the location. Breakfast buffet was a little limited but consistent with Italian breakfast.

    Got an 'upgrade' room to a related hotel and that was really nice and clean. Bed was very comfy. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold and we were told the heating was not switched on. They offered an alternative room however, but that dinn't really help

    Good location and good breakfast. Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    Worth the visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well situated for the station, which suited us, and the old town is worth a visit. We had an excellent pizza in the evening, and there was a good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Amazing place in a beautiful alpine setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the road as it is the main thoroughfare through Tirano. However, it was only really noticeable during peak travel periods.

    Loved the themed Dubai room- it was most unusual! The room has the most amazing view of the mountains. The restaurant served a superb evening meal and the selection of wines and beers was also good. We definitely plan to come back and explore the area. It is an excellent stop over for the Bernnina Express which was the purpose of our trip on this occasion. The area has beautiful alpine views whilst retaining an Italian feel. So peaceful and relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Only stayed two nights, but it was an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Booked the hotel because it was close to the Bernini express station, the location for this was excellent, Hotel was in town center so you could walk everywhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Could not really desire more for the low price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could have been better.

    Great location by the train station. Even though our room was in a separate location, still clise tothe station. Very good price and breakfast and restaurant also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.6
    town location very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival staff on reception were extremely rude whilst trying to book in. Superior room booked in annex i.e. building joined to the main building. Our "annex" was 400 yards away on the top floor of an office block! Bookers beware.

    town location very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely. We enjoyed Tirano and the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff told us about the hotel restaurant and gave us a discount voucher, but didn't say that booking was recommended. We were ok but others were turned away

    The room was lovely - we had a suite about 150 meters from the main building - it was roomy and beautifully furnished. Shower good, bed comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived here the temperature was about 34 degrees. The room had no air con, only a ceiling fan. We spent most of our stay sitting under the fan!! If you went when it was cooler, then this room would have been fine.

    Breakfast was good and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    Staff friendly and helpful. The Hotel restaurant was good. Lovely views. Very conveniently located. Wide selection for the buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.1
    Okay, but could do better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor. Poor choice, food running out all the time, toaster and jam dispensers not working. Chaotic, and staff run off their feet - still, classic Italian, I guess!! Coffee, not brilliant either. We were in the annexe section which was slightly odd, rather than the main hotel, which was some 400 mtres away. Not something I would do again. Only a fan to cool the room in the 30 c heat.

    Clean, tidy with mini-bar. Decent size beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    Misery in hot weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outdoor temperature was very high, and as the hotel lacks air conditioning and the window was unable to be opened more than a few centimetres, the room, which was on the top floor, was unbearably hot. The fan supplied was unable to cope with the elevated temperature and, to add to the misery, at 12.30 in the morning workmen began to dig up the road under the window. Hotels have to understand that air conditioning in very hot weather is not an optionable extra- it is a necessity.

    The location of the hotel was all that would recommend it during summer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location and restaurant but room needs air con in summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning and poorly ventilated room combined with a hot day resulted in little sleep

    Location - just across the piazza from the station. Excellent dinner menu and friendly waiter

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    THE PERFECT PLACE TO STAY IN TIRANO!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have no complaints since we had a great time during our stay!

    We stayed at the JAPANESE SUITE. Gorgeous!!!! great decoration, very comfortable bed, great bathroom, extra white linen and a very good breakfast. Parking outside the building and kind staff. Excellent restaurant in the hotel with delicious meals and also very kind staff!! The location is excellent as it is in front of Italian and Swiss train stations!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Restaurant was quite good with professional service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was quite good with professional service. The first night we went there for convenience but went back the second night for the food! Good value also.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Excellent location for the Bernina Train, walking, cycling in Valtellina Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We couldn't fault it, its not 5 star hotel, but we did not book a 5 star hotel.

    the bed was extremely comfy, the bedroom was large and the breakfast was good. it exceeded our expectation and was superb location for the Bernina Express scenic train journey to St Moritz. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Not in hot weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot and noisy. On a hot day and night there was no air circulation. Because you need to keep the windows open there is a lot of noise from the square underneath.

    Close to everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.8
    Convenient hotel to train stations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff overall were diffident and unwelcoming. We were told by the restaurant staff we could not have dinner there as we had not booked (there were many empty tables). We did get a table thanks only to the intervention of the male receptionist who had checked us in. There is no left luggage room-cases had to be left in the open foyer.

    Liked the bedroom and its terrace with a view over the mountains. Very convenient for the train stations and Bernina Express. The restaurant food (lunch and dinner) was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Conveniently located near stations for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly disappointed with room. Mainly because immediately outside the bedroom window was a smoking area with table and chairs provided for smokers. Therefore the window, which was very small, and shutters had to be kept closed as it was at ground level. I would therefore suggest avoiding room 102.

    Good choice at breakfast buffet. Conveniently located for both Bernina and Italian railway stations

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent option
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for those catching the train. The room was traditional and as expected but its mountain views were special. Good buffet breakfast. Reception was very helpful in booking taxis and explaining to the driver where I wanted to go (to visit relatives) as I speak limited Italian.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.2
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Current comment is not related to the hotel, but need to say that the city is old and too small, so quiet that you get bored in the evening. There is no entertainment and shopping center. I think if you travel to Milan, you do not need to stay in the hotel. By the way wi-fi was bad.

    The hotel is good, and located 1 min walk from the station. The staff is really nice. There is a good breakfast. Restaurant in the hotel is really nice that you do not need to go out for a dinner.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent for Trenino Rosso travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly tired bathroom and a bit of noise from guests in the corridor.

    Excellent location adjacent to train stations and easy to park outside with 10 minutes of free street parking whilst checking in. Free overnight and all day parking whilst taking the Trenino Rosso to St.Moritz on the opposite side of the train tracks - a long way around by road but only 3 -4 minutes on foot via the station subway tunnel. Also an excellent and good value restaurant - we had the 5 course tasting menu for 36 Euros.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bread was not that good and only 2 types: for tost and another one that tasted like it was 2 days old.

    Good location and nice staff. Room was comfortable and clean. It had a minibar which was great but at night it made some strange sounds.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.3
    Good and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have carefully selected a triple room at Hotel Bernina itself (Not Annex) during booking since I was traveling with my elderly parents and we thought the hotel was right in front of the train station. On the day itself, we were told that our room was not at the hotel itself but 100m away. It was not an easy walk for my parents with languages in freezing weather. I tried to explain to the staff but the staff did not seem to understand English well. Other than this, everything else was great.

    It is not a hotel room but a service apartment with kitchenette, washers etc. Nice, clean and comfortable. Good Breakfast. They provide luggage storage service but it wasn't secured nor locked, we were told to just leave them near the reception. We did as we were told and fortunately noting get lost.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    New room - another building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, the hotel was fully booked, so they placed us in another room – a better one. But the downside is: our new room was like 4 blocks away, they weren’t clear to us it was that far (we had 4 big suitcases) – when we choose this hotel, it was basically because its location. We told them we weren´t happy about it, so they offered us to move back to the hotel!!!! Afterwards we stayed in the better suite, but we still think it wasn’t nice of them.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.3
    Handy stop after the Bernina express trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to the hotel could have been better sign posted, but not really a prroblem. .

    Beautifully presented breakfast, very tasty. I liked how handy it was to the train stations.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.9
    Good place if you want to travel the Bernina railway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very soft

    Hotel at the right spot: near the Rhätische Bahn station and the FS station. Clean room for a reasonable price, especially if you would consider a Swiss alternative

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.6
    Great value along with great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional service by the front desk as well as the resturaunt staff. I was able to rent a parking space which was an actual garage stall in which a key was provided for a very reasonable price. It was comforting to know my luggage and personal belongings were secure at night as was able to use it while I was taking the Bernina Pass train.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    Just steps to train station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kleenex in room!

    If you ever find yourself in need of a hotel at the beginning or end of a Bernina Express excursion, this is your place! Train station is just across the street, parking is reasonable and several restaurants are within a block.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    The location is really great for rail travelers and its...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could complain that there were not enough English speaking TV stations, but then again... it is Italy. it's not unreasonable for them to be speaking Italian. Really a nice place to stay. I went for a walk shopping around 2:30 on a weekday and figured that it must be a public holiday as every store was shut, except cafe's. I found out later that the shops don't open until 3:00pm and they close again at 6:00pm. What was I thinking!

    The location is really great for rail travelers and its ground-level restaurant was excellent in food and service. I have paid much more for meals not as good as what I got here. Room was quite satisfactory.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    Great hotel in an undiscovered gem of a location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once you finish in Milan travel to Tirano, stay a night and set off on the Bernina Express the next day. The hotel is across the square from the railway, has comfortable rooms and is in a great country town. Walk one direction up the hill to the church, then come back, cross the river and inspect the small shops.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately a big tour group was also booked in for the night we were there. It appeared no extra staff to handle dinner or breakfast.

    Location was excellent. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.8
    Great Location/Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    A much better explanation of what is meant by "annex." In the case of Hotel Bernina the annex was two blocks from the main property sharing space in an apartment building. The rooms were fine and contained all the typical amenities but the annex was not depicted in the photos so we were anxious about what we were getting. It also meant a two block walk to the breakfast which wan't a problem for us but could have been for someone else.

    Great location on the main drag, near restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Great hotel in Tirano
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet could have a little more choice?

    Excellent location and good sized room.The quality of food in the restaurant was excellent for all the meals we had there.Service staff in the restaurant were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    Ordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only 1 bedside table, which was turned sideways to make it fit. We prepaid for dinner on the night of our arrival, there was some confusion regarding our booking which was rectified. Waitress not particularly helpful or pleasant. Breakfast was ordinary, not a lot of variety and replenishment of food and crockery quite slow. Upon check in we were told that breakfast was served from 7-10am, we went at 9:15 and discovered that check out was at 10am, so then a rush for us to meet this deadline.

    Our room was clean and comfortable but looked nothing like the photos on the website (they are mostly of themed suites available). Located a short walk from the station and close to the town centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.1
    WE enjoyed our stay but it was spoilt by what happened after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service for dinner at niht could have been better.My husband was very ill the day after we left from food poisoning.That was the only place we eat and he didn't like the food said it didn't taste right.

    Didn't have crossaint. bed fine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.9
    We were taking the bernina express the next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room only had a bathtub. We prefer showers.

    We were taking the bernina express the next day. This hotel was right next to the station so the location was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The hotel was a traditional design, very attractive, the staff were exceptionally helpful. Good restaurant and good breakfast with gluten free pastries. Excellent car parking facilities and inexpensive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    The room at hotel Bernina was the best one amongst all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room at hotel Bernina was the best one amongst all the places we stayed at during our trip. It was great value for money, the breakfast was a very good spread. The location is brilliant, very close to the station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable, and convenient for Switzerland and Italian train stations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk does not open until 7 a.m. This made checkout tight with a 0712 train to Milan, but we made it. The outside cafe seating is managed separately from the inside restaurant, which was a bit confusing, but food and ambiance was good.

    Excellent location across from/close to both the Ratischebahn (Bernina Express) and Italian railway stations. Restaurant and cafes are good. City center and old town are not far.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.9
    solo in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    I booked this hotel as it is right next to two train station.. The Bernina express train station is a few minutes away... its very convenient .. the hotel is quite good.. the rooms and bathrooms were big and very clean... the breakfast was awesome

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    5.8
    In the single room description there was a photo of a bath...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the single room description there was a photo of a bath tube, and that what i wanted. On check in i've been told that bath tube is in the other, more expensive room, and it is occupied. Misleading pictures should be deleted or replaced!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.3
    Great spot to overnight en route from Italy to mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hadn't checked but several restaurants are closed on Tursday nights

    Location great for early start to st Moritz hotel quiet clean comfortable Breakfast great selection and delicious

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    6.3
    Good value,excellent restaurant, bag storage completely inadequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at check in and check out was efficient but perfunctory and no information was volenteered. Bag storage was chaotic and quite unsafe, just put them all under the stairs with no ticketing. In my view this creates a very real opportunity for your bag to be accidentally collected as part of a bus group. Given that many travellers will be storing bags for a few hours whilst waiting for the Bernina Express, this is not really good enough. Bags can be stored at the Bernina Express station but this is CHF 5 per bag. At least the station storage is ticketed and secure.

    Very good value. Great location right by the railway station. Excellent for those making connections from Italy to catch the Bernina Express. Room was adequate. Breakfast is in the restaurant and was good. A real surprise was that the restaurant was excellent for dinner, with a good range of local dishes and an excellent range of local wines. Service in the restaurant was efficient and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    We went on a trip on the scenic Bernina Express train from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    We went on a trip on the scenic Bernina Express train from Sankt Moritz (Switzerland) to Tirano (Italy) and back. The hotel is directly opposite to the railway station and it is exceptionally clean with very friendly staff. Breakfast is very good, when compared with other hotels of its class. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Well located for train travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms might be a little stuffy in warm wather (no a/c)

    Easy walk (50m) from the FS and Rhaetian railway stations. Great pizza restaurant with guest discount.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is great value for money. The restaurant is pretty good a well. More importantly the management and staff are extremely helpful and supportive. I was taken ill shortly after checking in and taken to hospital. Though we had only booked for one night the hotel looked after other members of my party for the next 9 days and made sure that I had a room on my discharge from hospital. I plan to return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.3
    Very nice hotel, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faster Wifi.

    Friendly staff, excellent diner and breakfast. 100m from train station.Single room ok with nice bathroom and shower. Toiletries, soap bar and shampoo in bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.5
    Hotel in good position near railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot with a window that barely opened and very little light coming in. Fan provided but just circulated hot air.

    Veryvgood position near railway station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    6.3
    Below average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, although our booking was quadrable room for four adults, you can barley move inside the room. Uncomfortable bunk beds, not for adults at all, not even for older children. Very hot rooms, No AC For its facilities, it is overpriced.

    It is literally 2 minutes walk to the train station, so very good for just over night rest and go. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    5.0
    Lower your expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bad joke. We had a double bed crammed in an alcove, and a sofa bed that somehow converted to bunk beds. Zero floor space - literally had to get on the bed to get past somebody. We have 2 large teen aged sons. It was ludicrous. Stifling hot, too. Staff was clueless about finding a restaurant showing the Euro Cup.

    Location is the only thing good we have to say about this hotel. It was clean too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    10
    loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant' food and staff were only average

    they had air conditioning and it was a hot summer day. the rooms in the annex were very comfortable, modern and each had a different theme of a city skyline.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Te location in the center, and also the restaurant is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Te location in the center, and also the restaurant is a really good one.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    good location if you want to bernina express experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    just a minute from rail station, in center thecity, surround by resto, cafe, minimarket, etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    The location is fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is fabulous. bathroom is clean and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommend. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location was perfect for our purposes. Everything is in very easy walking distance. Staff was eager to please.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be more accommodating and co cooperative.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Only stay one night after a trip on the Bernina Express, room was very good clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy access from train station and hotel suited our needs perfectly

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Bernina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: