Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Continental by B&B Hotels 3 stars

Viale Innocenzo XI, 15, 22100 Como, Italy

#26 of 29 hotels in Como

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1857 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were a bit small, but they were fine for us as we were out most of the time.

    The location was perfect for us. The hotel was walking distance to the train station, near a restaurant for an evening meal, a cafe for coffee and a comfortable walk into the city center. The breakfast for 3 euros was excellent with a great range of food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very well maintained. Very clean and comfortable. Good location. Just few minutes walk from S. Giovanni station and city centre. Breakfast has a vast variety of options for just €3 per person / day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very good value for money. The location was very close to the station and 10 MT walk to the Cathedral. Very good breakfast. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small single room, parking garage was fully booked and not available. Paid parking on the street

    The hotel relatively inexpensive, very good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I honestly didn't like the lighting in the room , it was too low. and I expected to have a garden in the hotel or at least a green space.

    The location was amazing , it was close and near to everything . the staff were kind and they served us well especially the old man on the receptionist called Simone was amazing with us , so funny and cooperative. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast is superb with the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They advertise parking but for 70 rooms they have 10 spaces. It is pretty small but that is fine for one or two nights for me. Tiny shower so a big person would have a challenge getting in and washing.

    Very firm and comfortable bed. Easy 10 minute walk to the lakefront. Nice and helpful staff. Super clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    One reason for selecting this hotel was, that from other reviews, I thought it was close enough to walk to from the train station but it's not if you have luggage. It was also not very close to Lake Como. The shower was extremely small.

    The Breakfast was vey good and a great value for only 3 Euros per person. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small. But all in all was suitable for out needs. We only used the room to sleep in. We did not eat the breakfast as we left very early in the morning. Staff we friendly enough. They charged for parking which I found strange. But all in all a pleasant stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 10 parking spaces, so everything was full. Public parking in front of the hotel, 1 euro/minute. Good so.

    From outside... my god, where do we are ? Really not sexy ! But inside, you have a modern, clean hotel hall, and the room (double, 3rd floor) was not huge, but big enough, clean, with minibar. Bathroom was really clean. True that the shower could be a little straight for some persons, but ,nothing dramatic. The breakfast, 3,5 euro.... awesome for that price ! We were completely surprised. Not far from city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room decor is a bit old but the toilet facility is complete (1 bathtub & 2 toilets)

    the front desk are helpfull and the location is walking distance to ferry lake como terminal and train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff, when I arrived I asked if there was a bar was told NO, so went out looking for somewhere then when I got back someone was sat there with a drink ? Breakfast was a fiasco, coffee machine not working and lots of guest wandering around the dinning area, must of been 5 minutes before any staff turned up to take orders for coffee.

    location, cleanliness, room, comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As small goes, this is world class. I might not have been able to touch both walls with my arms outstretched, but it was close. So narrow, you couldn’t really stand upright beside the bed. Only room for one bedside table; the other side was a wardrobe. The bathroom was equally built for dwarfs. Sitting on the toilet, squeezed between the wall and the shower, there was no room for arms. No longer a Best Western. I wonder why?

    The shower, although small, gave a good, strong shower. Como is also a stunning location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location - when found route to duomo via park it was ok but walking along other roads from ferry port was very industrial and not pleasant at all

    Good comfort and service as expected from a best western hotel. Very good price for breakfast (3 euros). Location was actually ok but right on main road

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite literally a shoe box Shower leaked and didn’t feel clean No irons could be used in the room. All ironing had to be done in a small utility room surrounded by linen and spare kettles Worst hotel I’ve stayed in

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stone hard bed in a small room . Breakfast was a not so good ( cappuccino coffee from the machine was really bad , apples and pears were old) but there was a large selection of cheeses and pastries. Not bad for three euros .

    Nice location, easy to find near the train station. Staff at the reception very helpful . Clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was not really helpful when asked about the directions or suggestions.

    Location is good. Only 5 mins walk from the train station. Breakfast was superb. Lots of choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Otherwise .... it is obvious that this hotel has not seen any invest or renovations for many years. Elevators are frightening .... houses like this one tarnish the Best Western brand. All in all I consider the room to have been overrated by at least 20 EUR for what it was worth. Rather 3 Stars than 4 Stars (not deserved). Location however top: v. central !!

    Good location and great value-for-money breakfast for only EUR 3.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I tried to make contact with the hotel before my stay about airport transfer and window location in the room, however I never got an answer from the hotel. If I was not busy to make another hotel reservation, I would have probably cancelled this reservation.

    - The breakfast was wonderful and costed only 3 Euro. I strongly recommend you to have your breakfast at the hotel. - The hotel room was not small, but it was not spacious either, therefore the hotel is not suitable for a long stay. - The hotel room had a very small window, it was located at the end of the room, therefore the room was quite dark and claustrophobic. If you are sensible on those kind of issue, it would be helpful to communicate your room in prior with the hotel. - I stated that the hotel met my expectation, because I have previously experienced "best western" hotels, so the reason for my choice was this simple.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in the rooms - can be a bit more well lit

    Staff - Professional, friendly and helpful Breakfast - good quality, nice variety and a bargain Location - Close to the lake; although it faces the main street, noise wasn't an issue

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We used the underground garage, which was very tight for space. Also unable to access Hotel from garage, which was in convenient. It would have helped in this regard if clients could have had a code/PIN to access the garage without contacting reception. Also signage above the garage would assist, as it was not clear that the access door was connected to the hotel.

    Location was good, easy to find.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was advertised with a restaurant but only has a breakfast restaurant and if you are there on a Monday there is nowhere local to eat

    The staff and the facilities were lovely and it was near the station. The breakfast was excellent and the room was very high standard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    let say that every thing in the hotel was good, but having a very large buffet breakfast, more that really in many other places for only 3 euros is a lotto.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to complain

    The breakfast here is cheap and nice. The room is very comfortable and clean. There are a nice lady in the front desk showed us where to visit in city center and what to do in Como and she allow us to have a little bit late check out which makes us satisfy. I like her a lot. The location is also very nice and it's near by train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Not a quiet room, could hear the neighbors at 3 am. Yuck. The bed was hard and pillows were flat. Breakfast was decent.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing as such.

    The location was excellent as I came from Centrale Milano and the hotel was close to the station. The room was spacious enough and the wi-fi was of excellent strength. Switzerland Hotels are more expensive than other hotels elsewhere in Europe and Best Western was no exception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could have been better, with fresher fruit, but it was only 3 euros so can't complain!

    Lovely bright room with a window view of mountains

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is the most uncomfortablr, a cubiclr in whiche on can not even open the bags. Terrrible!

    I Just santos to record that this was that worst Room I've ever stayed in my life.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv in room. No tea or coffee making in room.

    excellent breakfast. Hostess was absolutely sweet. Lovely little balcony overlooking lake. Quaint step back in time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unattractive street

    Soundproof rooms. Very good breakfast. You can park right in front of the hotel( 1 euro per hour between 8 and 20 hrs) or use the hotel parking(15 euro per 24 hrs). Short walk to the lake and city centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was good. Easy walking to all the things we wanted to enjoy. The bed left much to be desired!! Hotel itself was more than adequate, and breakfast was typical European. the first evening we arrives, the clerks at the desk were rude, and short with us. However, following that, the person on the desk was very helpful and pleasant. When we left, it was a very short walk, with luggage, to the train station, that was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very good! Staff was very friendly and informative! Rooms were clean. Public parking just in front, plus parking avaliable at the hotel at a small price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As seems the norm in Rimini public areas of hotels is to max out on ghastly chandeliers and marble to cater for their less discerning clientele. Charming staff. Bathrooms are completely shot with mouldy grout, door that hits the loo, flaking paint and mingy towels. Breakfast on 5th floor is pretty good for Italy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The elevator did not seem to remember more than one command at a time (i.e. if several people pushed different buttons, it would go directly to the last selection). Breakfast could be better. The shower is quite small.

    The city center and the lake is within walking distance of the hotel (approx. 5-10 minutes). There are several nice restaurants nearby. Good air conditioning. The Wi-Fi connection was good throughout the stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room is little small, but not big deal for just one night stop over

    good location to walk to the centre of the town and lake. comfortable and clean room. quiet. Easy to park car in front of the hotel for night and 1 euro /day for day. breakfast is good for the cost.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very friendly staff nothing was to much trouble. They ever supply me with a kettle plus tea, coffee and milk so I was able to make a very welcoming cup of tea as the bar was closed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent buffet breakfast. Very well placed to walk to all areas of Como. Clean and comfortable and friendly staff. A problem occured with one of our room's toilet but despite being the weekend everything was done to resolve the matter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the sixth floor bags with laundry were in the hallway at 5 in the afternoon.

    Very good breakfast and friendly service.You can walk to the ferry and shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good and at a very good price, the room was clean and confortable, in front of the hotel it is a big public parking at reasonable price. The hotel's location is good, close to shops, restaurants, bars.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No swimming pool Wifi not always working No microwave in the room No fridge in the room, except a small minibar fridge

    Good location Free good breakfast Grossery 24/7 walking distance

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No secure storage when leaving your bags for the day and no check to verify I was taking mine when I went to pick them up!

    Basic accommodation but exactly what I had booked! Clean room, easy check in, breakfast available for €3 the next morning which provided a perfect selection of fruits, yogurt, bread etc. Nothing elaborate but simple fare. Good wifi available. Only stayed one night but was perfect for that. Hotel is 5 min walk from the train station and 10 mins or less to the old town and the lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms facing backwards were quiet despite road nearby.Very good location as train station is within 5 min,city centre cca.8-10min.super friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed was not very comfy. female receptionist was very surly,, men were fine. except for breakfast they do not serve food. bar was not used either from what we could see.

    air conditioning if a little noisy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better, cappuccino only by asking the staff, the normal coffee from the machine was like water.

    Kind staff, car park in carage with extra charge was possible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar. When the web site states there is one. Told we have no bar staff for whole of our stay. No dining room again web site states there is one for dinner. We had to go out every night. Which, when you have been riding a motorbike all day, is thE last thing you want to do. We like to change. Have drink in the bar and do into dinner.

    Breakfast was poor. Ha I got to wait for bread, teabags, eggs etc. Staff left a lot to be desired.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated decor and furniture in rooms....felt old and slightly tatty. No in room facilities for tea and coffee. Garage tiny...had to get another car moved so we could get an Audi A5 in the only space it could fit !

    Large rooms with comfortable beds. Air conditioning a definite plus. Secure underground parking was a bonus as our car was filled to capacity with wedding items and we were nervous about leaving it on the street. Breakfast basic but cheap and good. Short walk into town centre. Excellent restaurants around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived earlier than check in with the purpose of leaving our bags and walking around Como for a bit. Our room was ready on arrival which made everything much easier for us. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dry clean services, so if you have a wedding or a ceremony to attend better be prepared.

    The hotel has a great value for money. Great place if you are planning to stay close to the train station. It is close to almost everything you want in Como. Clean and has everything you need.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff attitude and customer service needs to improve. Very functional and old, dull, shabby, lifeless. Once we figured out how to get to the hotel which is alongside the main road through Como we found a parking space outside the hotel. This was lucky because there were very few spaces and as we were about to find out the hotels underground car park was full. One of my main criteria for choosing this hotel was car parking so already disappointed. Oh and street parking is chargeable, not overnight but during the day at an euro an hour. Next it was on to reception, an experience not dissimilar to arriving at the dentists for root canal work. A smile goes a long way on such occasions. Off to our room and it became obvious that this was a hotel much more suited to the business community travelling round to meet clients than those of us touring by car for pleasure. It's clean, functional but lacking those little touches that make such journeying enjoyable. I'm not saying much about the room because there wasn't much to say. Lets move on to breakfast. Breakfast is served until 10:00 but by 10:00 there won't be any breakfast available. Breakfast is served until 09:30 and its then a race to see how quickly it can be cleared away. The early bird catches the worm, no sorry the early bird catches the milk! Be careful, I thought the room rate included breakfast, it doesn't, it's charged separately as stated on the booking confirmation. And so on Sunday morning we left the Hotel Continental in Como to drive alongside the lake and over the high Alps to Switzerland. Such a beautiful drive and lovely places that we look forward to returning but we wont be staying at the Hotel Continental.

    I'm struggling, everything could have been so much better. Any redeeming features, no, not really!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect

    Lovely staff. Clean. Quite. Confortale. Nice view on the city from the room. Near the city center, port and train station. Restaurants, shops nearby. Great breakfast for only 3 extra euros. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows could have been plumper but that's nit-picking really!

    Best value breakfast in the whole of Europe!!!! Couldn't believe the quality, variety and quantity of offerings for a 3 euro breakfast! Excellent value for money in a great location for the railway station and only a 8-10 min walk from the 'promenade' and around a couple of corners from a 24 hour supermarket. Liked the in-room fridge too and ice on request.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks uninviting from the outside. The breakfast room was very bland, however the 3 euro breakfast was very adequate with a huge choice.

    We booked the BW Continental because of its proximity to the station, 5 mins walk. We stayed for one night and then went to Milan the next day. We were able to leave our car outside the hotel for 1euro per hour. The first evening we walked into the old town, near the duomo, about 10 mins walk. The room was fine. Comfortable bed and good linen and towels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been much better. Also, the bar was not working at all, although the hotel was packed with guests. At the check-out it was quite a challenge to communicate all the details with the receptionist, because of his poor knowledge of English language.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. Beds were comfortable and generally the room is quite ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minibar should be refreshed everyday

    Walking distance 5-7 minutes to the train station, 15-20 minutes to the port. Breakfast is well worth you pay. Comfortable rooms. Friendly personnel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a wide range of savoury items and cakes but the scrambled egg was burned and the coffee (from an urn) was stewed. Noisy air con.

    This hotel was one of the cheapest of all 10 on our tour (€119 after upgrading +€3 each for breakfast); unfortunately, the price reflected the standard of the hotel. It’s not in the best part of Como and the exterior condition matches its surroundings. Parking on site was a major reason for selection but the garage was full; however, on-street (meter) parking was close by. The room was agreeable with the only down point being lack of coffee/tea making facilities. A major plus was proximity to Lake Como’s south shore and the delightful Piazza Alessandro Volta. Overall, just about value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    air conditioning was very noisy, and the view from our room 504 was into a block of flats. Also the fire alarm went off during the night and we had to evacuate the room and run down stairs from the fifth floor, it turned out to be a false alarm but was pretty scary.

    Breakfasts were good, as was cleanliness, our room was cleaned to a high standard. Staff at reception were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a shambles. We got there after some but before others. Bacon was gone; scrambled eggs were hard; cold meat was almost gone; tablecloths had not been changed from early risers; had to ask for more coffee cups; the list goes on. And it was €3 each. Better to stop at McDonald's.

    Good beds--best night's sleep I've had on my trip to date. Also had top sheets on the bed. Staff was very friendly. Garage parking (€15/night) was limited, but I got a spot, and it was a convenience--parking out front is in great demand.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very short trip from train station, five minute walk. Also you can get to the main center within a 5/10 minute walk. All the walking really helps when you eat loads of lasagna, gelato and all other great foods!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff. The bar never seems to be open.

    Easy to find. Fairly good value for Comox. Not too far from the old town. Breakfast is pretty good. Pet friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was extremely noisy and didn't work efficiently. Turned off to sleep at night. Then room far too hot.

    Comfortable bed. Clean.Quiet. Breakfast only 3 euros per person but quality as good as anywhere else.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location in relation to the train station is good. The old town is walking distance where one find a variety of shops and restaurants, piazzas and magnificent buildings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    private parking is available for e15.00 a day, but it turns out there is only 15 spots available for the 400 plus rooms they have, leaving you with the option to battle it out for paid parking out side.:(

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern air conditioning unit but very poor performance. Did not report as stay was only 2 nights.

    Good location for Milan train. Friendly, courteous staff. Very good breakfast deal at 3€ per person. Nice modern rooms with comfy beds. Good Wi-Fi. Lake Como is of course wonderful. Who could fail not to love it!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel did not serve evening meals and, whilst there were many eating establishments near the lake, there were very few in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

    The breakfast was very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dear Sir, I had made a booking for the double bed . I was expecting two separate bed an I got one small room with small FRENCH Bed . It was very uncomfortable to stay and to sleep . We were ready to pay the difference to change the room but we were told that all the rooms are occupied. we had very hard time to stay. Hope you will understand and do the needful. Regards, Sanjay Kumar

    Dear Sir, Location is good . but I have experience that when we book room through Booking.com they give the bad rooms. I am frequent visitor of Italy and it was the most difficult one. Regards Sanjay Kumar

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a little small. I didn't have a side table, but overall the room was clean and tidy and the bed comfortable. It was an ideal stopover for a night and offered good value for money.

    The breakfast was excellent. There was plenty to choose from including eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cheeses, croissants, etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smallest rooms we have ever stayed in. The shower was 24 inches by 24 inches. The opening to the shower it was a struggle to fit through. I am 5ft 8inches tall , weigh12 and a half stone, how a medium to large size guy could fit I do not know. The rest of the room it was difficult to get around with our cases as extra obstacles!

    Breakfasts were good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited tea and coffee making facilities. I was given a tray when I asked but the choice was limted.

    The room was spacious, the bed was HUGE and the bathroom had a bath as well as a shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst was the breakfast: supposed to be from 8 to 11 but when we arrived at 09:40 all croissants were finished and all that was left was a couple of slices of what could've well be store-bought cakes. There wasn't even any chance of having anything different from what already on the service tables because unfortunately the kitchen was already closed. Coffee and milk were not worthy of being served in any Italian hotel, apart from the fact that the only available coffee was the filtered version, you had to get either of them from what looked like big pre-heated machine resembling an automatic vendor. What saved the day was really just the wonderful locally-sourced cheese and the good bread.

    Pretty basic but clean hotel, clean was the room as well as the bathroom although the former was a bit small. Check-in/out were quick and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should be more clear about parking. Secure parking in the basement was 15 euros per night - quite a lot. Parking on the road was virtually impossible.

    Charming staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Various descriptions of hotel inferred a lake view. Definitely not. The room was small and unmodernised it was the worst room stayed in during 3 week road European road trip. We did have a dog do that may have influenced things. We asked to change room but no availability we were told. Staff were pleasant and it was not far to walk to center and then to lake. But choose this as last resort if there is nothing else available. Como is expensive overpriced busy stay somewhere else on the lake. And visit it by boat if you must.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Location of the hotel is near the train station and are walking distance to the old town. Counter staffs are very helpful and polite. For Euro $3.00 the breakfast is indeed very reasonable and nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a double room with children up to 12 years old for free. When we arrived we were told the room was just a french bed and there was no extra bed for the baby (fortunately she just turned 3) and she was supposed to sleep with us. We had to find another larger room at extra cost. I consider Booking.com and Best Western responsible for deliberately setting a policy of very poor communication of conditions of room. Next time, before booking through booking.com I will think twice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    In our opinion it couldn't be better.

    The breakfast was excellent the only item that was un properly cooked was the bacon, soggy and unhealthy in cooking process.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very good. pavement s and steps in Como were all potholes and uneven,had to be careful after I had a fall off steps next to hotel too narrow.

    Very close to railway station ,shopping areas and Lake,staff very helpful.rooms cleaned daily,toiletries replenished towels replaced.breakfast had a very good selection and delicious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle is very small and you have to squeeze yourself in.

    Location is 10 min walk away from Como S Giovanni train station, 15 min walk away from the lake and the Duomo in the old town. The staff is very helpful and welcoming. A kettle is provided on prior request. The breakfast for €3 is sumptuous

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: