Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Europa - Skypool & Panorama 4 stars

Piazza Catena, 9, 38066 Riva del Garda, Italy

#35 of 59 hotels in Riva del Garda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice spacious room, small pool on the terrace and great buffet for breakfast. The hotel is right in the main square. There are two car parks and the price is not included in the booking, just fyi. I will definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about the Hotel

    Staff were amazingly friendly at all times of the day and night. The facilities were superb and the location is very picturesque. The breakfast was gorgeous and the view from the breakfast balcony is serene. Can't wait to return again soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that pool was not operational due to replacement.

    The breakfast was fantastic and the view from the outdoor balcony great. Staff friendly and helpful with our two young children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was being repaired which was a shame.

    Fantastic breakfast. Lovely hotel right by the ferry port so didn’t have to lug cases everywhere. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to vacate the room by 10 a.m. A little more time to get organised would have been better.

    It is rated a 4 star hotel and after staying there we know why. We arrived very hot and sweaty after a long ride on my motorbike and were treated exactly the same as if we had arrived in a Rolls Royce.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool & turkish bath were closed - disappointing as we were looking forward to both of these amenities. We were not advised from the hotel prior to checking in. A bit cheeky to charge Euro15 to park.

    Room was clean and very comfortable. One staff member was not so friendly, the rest were great. Breakfast was really good!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgrading the room to match the quality of the bathroom.

    The breakfast buffet was good, if not exceptional, and the pro secco was a nice touch. The room was small, like a 3 star hotel not a 4 star, but the bathroom was in marble and elegant. The location was perfect and the view from the room and breakfast room spectacular.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, very nice town , lots of dining , great for walking

    The aircondition was tuned off, even if it was warm outside during the day, was difficult to get airflow in the room even with the window open.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely loved our room, modern, clean and with a mountain view. Best buffet breakfast throughout our two week Italy travel! The location and stunning beauty of the lake and mountains was nothing like we'd ever experienced before, we loved every part of it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could do with modernisation of the interior, buffet selection not amazing. Fruit wasn't fresh, was too much sugar syrup

    Big bed, comfortable mattress, brilliant view of the lake, sun terrace, location of property. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Very close to the water and the mountains (e.g., if you like hiking) - There's a small pool on the roof with a great view to the lake - If you bring your own bike, then you can use the hotel's bike locks in a separate safety room around 100 meters from the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not friendly at check-in. They should at least offer to help with the bags when you arrive especially if they see you are struggling. Bathroom was for a handicapped person (excellent to have this) but not appropriate for a couple travelling. Breakfast was good but finished at 10 am. Check out at 10 for a hotel like this is not acceptable. Very expensive for what it was.

    The location and the breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron in the room, although this did result in a rather amusing trip to the laundry room with the staff to find one. 😄

    Location of the hotel and views of the lake and plaza. Bonus having a pool as most hotels don't in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showing it's age in places ..... room was updated but bathroom required updating...... very clean and functional still.

    Wonderful location to take in the "old town" of riva del Garda

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very sterile, not overly welcoming.

    Hotel is centrally located, staff friendly, and included breakfast was good, with breakfast room overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior room means room in the attic. Had to go up two steps to balcony where one could barely see the plaza below. Would definitely not recommend to friends even if the break fast was copious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No valet service, no bellboy and very unprofessional restaurant service staff ( older men and women )

    Reception was very good Rooms are fine only a bit cold as design

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in the main piazza. Small pool on roof top. Handy having free bike hire to be able to explore promenade and surrounding area. Extensive breakfast offering and very accommodating staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff we're friendly and very helpful; they happily organised our taxi for us back to the airport. Breakfast was great, lots to choose from. Location was perfect for us; v.close to ferry port and bars/restaurants. Room was good sized, clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    well the price in August at Lake Garda are also outstanding in a negative way, so you really need to like the location :-) I am always wondering how a family with two kits would spend a week at lake Garda paying this level of pricing....

    Fantastic location with the sky pool and the nice terraces for breakfast which was outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel needs modernising, the rooms are soulless and the staff unhelpful. The pool is tiny and the breakfast was inedible. It does not deserve four stars and was very expensive for what it is.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only bought drinks once from the hotel bar in the evening , and 3 very small (breakfast juice size glasses) of soft drinks cost me 10 euros…..expensive even for the Riva area.

    Fantastic location , with amazing views over the lake and surrounding mountains. Was great to be able to walk out of the hotel and be right in the central port area with all the restaurants and the campanile tower right on the doorstep.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my first ever review! I decided that I had to submit one as I felt cheated by this hotel. Staff were very rude, especially breakfast restaurant staff members. They refused to seat us in the shade claiming that all the tables in the shade are "reserved". I have never heard of table reservations for breakfast in any hotel. when other guests arrived, staff happily seated them anywhere they wanted, which was shocked me. When I approached other guests, they told me that they did not need to book any table. I am not sure why the staff had a distinct dislike to me and my family. The bathtub drain did not drain well, leading to an ankle height water build up when taking a shower. maintenance finally fixed the problem after several calls 24 hours later. Old smelly towed that were stained. My room had a mouldy smell to it and was very stuffy. I had to open the windows to air it, and rendering the air conditioning useless; I had to endure to sleep in the hot weather. Finally, the door would not lock!!!! It was absolutely unsafe to stay in that room. They promised to fix it, but never really did. Will never come back to this hotel and certainly don't recommend it. It was quite expensive as well. I don't understand how it is rated 4 stars especially as they don't even have an iron to lend.

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool is very little, and the water is so cold. Sunset there is around 4 pm due to high mountains around, so if you want to choose this place for sunbath in the afternoon it is not that good.

    Bed was comfortable even if they were two single beds put together. Room was simple but nice. There is little balcony from where you can have a view over the lake and harbour. Breakfast is international, cakes were amazing, strudel above all.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overnight parking is expensive (€15).

    Riva is lovely. It is both authentic and has a sporty feel to it. The hotel is in a great location and it is hard to beat the view from the breakfast table.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi could have been better. Dinner choice was limited.

    The breakfast had an excellent choice. Good air conditioning throughout and very friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't told that we needed to reserve a table for breakfast so just turned up. The restaurant manager made us feel as though we were a bother.

    Right in the centre of the town and, if you have a room at the front, great view down the lake. Don't worry about the clock tower it doesn't chime between 10pm and 8am.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was not working under repairs

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms, poor breakfast

    Central

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Invoice was not issued. Unpleasant staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location , great staff, short walk to amazing local restaurants and ideal location for hike to Santa Barbara ....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Car parking spaces are a bit tight for larger cars

    Proximity to old town and restaurants is really good and the staff are very friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was perfectly located, with all the comforts you need. The breakfast has a juicing bar and a coffee bar to suit everyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was slow

    Breakfast,location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they didn't have ketchup for breakfast out on show but i guess i could have asked for it

    The bedroom view was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lake view only if stood from our room.

    Location, parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with tea/coffee in room

    Lovely Hotel - would definitely stay her again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    100 procent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is superb, right on the square in Riva del Garda. We had a See facing room with small balcony. Gorgeous view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional breakfast included with room!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no small snack bar or even a vending machine for water at the pool area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room For the price

    Lovely breakfast Huge choice Great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very low service level, especially in the restaurant, rude waiters, poor rooms, have been bitten by fleas in the bed during the night rest

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    perfect position excellent views

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked the pool, the location and the breakfast :) and the breakfastroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Next to the highway on the non-lake side, but that's irrelevant if you have a lake side view.

    Lake side view is quite appealing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast with a fantastic selection of pastries, fruit and cooked items. Friendly staff. Nice roof terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi and number of sockets

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was excellent and panoramic view of lake superb

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast could of done with a few more hot food options but that was mainly due to personal preference.

    The location was perfect, right in the centre of the restaurants and bars.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms were converted attic spaces. Rooms were stuffy, too warm, sparsely furnished, no tea /coffee facilities. Rooms were charged at superior room rate and were anything but. Car parking costs €15 per day and is not on site. When booking avoid attic rooms.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff which speak several languages, very good service, excellent grand breakfast buffet in a dining room overlooking Lago di Garda and harbour of Riva, private car park, fast wifi.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a moan - just a mention. Breakfast was supposedly served until 10am, however on a couple of occasions toast machine switched off, no plates/cups left and little hot food just after 9am. Had to ask for items.

    Hotel was central and easy to access. Staff were friendly and courteous. Room was clean and comfortable... had a good view of the mountains too! Would definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the hotel was excellent. We were lucky to have a room with view of the lake and that is just priceless. The breakfast was great, huge choice of fruits, eggs, cheese and ham and even a juice machine to make your one fresh juice out of whatever fruit or vegetable you want.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we paid extra for a lakeside view but with hindsight I wish I hadn't as the music in the square and café underneath was sometimes very loud

    reception was very helpful and housekeeping got our room ready as we were early

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This is a very cute hotel in the center of town. We had 2 room that did not connect. Initially we were on opposite ends of the hall, however the staff did everything to get us across from each other.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sky pool nothing like the photos and could really do with a bar. Had to get up twice in the night to find a night porter to flip the circuit breaker to get the air conditioning and bathroom lights working. After attempt two they did but for the rest of the night the ac went on and off, on and off, and sounded like it was tripping the switch each time. Very disruptive! I complained in the morning and was given 10% off the bill - not enough in my opinion. Would not go back ever.

    Good location and excellent breakfast choices.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was sparse and basic. The colour of the room was un-inspiring (sky blue).The curtains were ill fitting. Not at all what a 4* hotel room should be.

    The location was perfect. The car parking facilities were ideal. The general appearance of the hotel was good

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poorly trained breakfast staff who didn't seem to be interested in the guests. We had to clean the orange juicer ourselves and they didn't keep coffee machine topped up.

    Very good central location with view.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pictures on line were deceiving... Pool was really small and no lounge chairs around it. They wouldn't fit. You had only one view from the roof if you went to the farthest corner.

    The location was perfect. The place was very clean. breakfest was really good!!!

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old stained sofas in public areas. Rooms very basic. 4 star on booking.com but no 4 star signs anywhere. Hotel at most 2/3 star so very misleading on booking.com

    Location

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air-con the first night - found out the next morning we had to ask to have it switched on for our room (it is centrally controlled but there is no info on this in the room). We used the car park but were not given a coin to get out of it when we checked out - had to run back to hotel.

    Hotel full of character and in perfect locations

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location couldn't be better. Right by the harbour in the lovely old town. The staff were efficient, helpful and very friendly and the breakfasts were amazing. A brilliant place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were too hot, noise can be heard from rooms, The sky pool is very small and only waist deep. Overall it's a good hotel, however it isn't worthy of 4 stars.

    Location is Central and you have lake views. Staff were quite good and helpful when asked for assistance.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location and friendly staff. The view from the breakfast room is fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave!

    Fabulous hotel, in a perfect location, with secure parking at the end of a great drive across the Alps.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location. Very helpful staff. Fantastic selection of breakfast spread. Free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lack of balcony

    The swimming pool and locatioan

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spotty wifi

    This hotel is in the perfect location and has parking.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The closeness to the Gardalake.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Loved the view of the lake and the Staff!!! Will be back definitely

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was fantastic, our room overlooked the piazza and the skypool was a treat late afternoon and in the morning.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: