Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel Nazionale 4 stars

Corso Matteotti 3, 18038 Sanremo, Italy

#6 of 40 hotels in Sanremo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 761 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not very good.

    The hotel was just in the city centre, very easy to walk everywhere. The breakfast is served on the terrace on the 7th floor so you can get a beautiful panoramic view of the sea and the town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the rooms are rather vulnerable to disturbing sounds. Unfortunately we had - this time -that kind of room.

    The attitude and behaviour of the personnel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel parking not available, not available on streets nearby, probably best to use Casino parking nearby

    Great location next to casino, at the end of pedestrian only shopping area. Nice view of city and sea from breakfast terrace

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room with the view on Casino in Sanremo. It was obvoiusly upgrade, so we felt like V.I.P. The best possible location if You like to be accommodated in San Remo city centre. Amazing view from the breakfast room on the roof top ! Unique !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food after 2.30pm difficult to find. Very awkward to get to the room with luggage. Getting to the hotel by car is very difficult as there is no vehicle access to the door. San Remo needs to get rid of those awful noisy scooters.

    Central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing! First rate throughout our stay

    This is you home away from home. Good breakfast, clean and well presented rooms and a smart restaurant all combine to make you stay most pleasant. Staff go the extra mile to make you stay a pleasant experience and there are a few individual touches that just make this hotel stand out from the rest.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not as good in different choices but the caffe and the staff are very nice...

    Everything was great. Very clean room and a fast and stable wifi connection. Would recommend this hotel at everytime...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    The views from the room were amazing. The higher you are, the better the views. Room 624 is fantastic. Housekeeping is impeccable and efficient. The hotel restaurant is also by far the best in town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No compliants

    Lovely hotel in a great location with a very good value buffet breakfast on the 7th floor roof terrace . The room were spacious and light with comfortable bed, and good large bathroom. First time independent visit from Nice by train to Sanremo, which is full of old world charm and beautiful promenade and bonus private beach fascilities provided by the hotel with 10 mins walk We would come back to Sanremo and this hotel again , food and choices of eateries in Sanremo are excellent value much better than on Cote D'zure

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely clean hotel in a central location. Comfy bed and good sized room. We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening. This was a very pleasurable experience as both the food and service were good. There was also the added bonus of having music provided by a classical guitarist.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of parking at 20 euros

    Staff were really delightful and more than helpful. Bedrooms were spacious if slightly old fashioned but with Tv and plenty of plugs. bathrooms were very modern and well equipped with all the usual bits including fluffy toweling robes and slippers. Good value all round

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it could do with an update, because it was getting old when I first stayed there in 2007. It still looks the same othrt then the new tv set. My room also overlooked the main street and they would be playing loud music untill around 11:30pm so it was noisy.

    location and friendliness of some of the staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the noise from the downstairs restaurant carried upstairs well into the middle of the night

    Location was perfect, right near the start of the mall and conveniently located to lots of restaurants and short walk to the beach, and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found driving hectic and the lack of parking spaces in and around San Remo to be a problem however the hotel staff do their best to help you.

    The 'Nationale' is in the heart of the shopping and Restaurant area of San Remo. It is in a busling area. The staff of the hotel are paricularly helpful especially when it came to arriving late by car. They take your car and park it for you. Great view from the roof of the building where you can breakfast in the morning and have a drink in the evening. We really enjoyed our stay in the BW ' Nationale'

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no bath accessories - very strange for 4 stars Hotel and for Best Western chaine.

    Very good location, standart room is quite small, but clear and light, breakfast on the terrace with good view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff very welcoming & helpful. Excellent location, wonderful restaurant next door; food sublime. Large room, quiet, away from street; large closets, great bathroom w/ tub Great value in off season

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a little drainage issue in the shower where the tray filled up with water and took minutes to empty leaving soap scum. Not really a big problem but just looked a little unclean for the next person!

    We only stayed a single night as we were in transit. The staff were lovely and helpful and did some research for us regarding schedules. The beds were comfortable and our triple room was spacious. It was a corner room with a separate single bedroom and a king bed in the larger room. I had read that the property was needing renovation. Our room was clearly newly renovated so I was pleasantly surprised. A suite opposite was clearly a construction zone and there was no noise at the time we were there. Our room was well insulated. We also had a lovely view and the automated blind was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not noise proof , very hot in the room

    Fantastic position: just at the beginning of the walking area but very close to the public parking and to the Bicicle route. Very kindly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the hotel is in a central restricted area where no cars are allowed, you shall be aware that parking the car nearby might be difficult and expensive. Anyway this is not a drawback to me...

    Nice location in the centre of Sanremo and outstanding hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us it was ok. If you want something more luxurious. Maybe not here. But a great location....

    We invested in a suite...and it was well worth it. Well designed rooms which made our stay very easy. Breakfast was a simple affair but everything was there. For 8 € per person. Very good value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy on Friday night with the restaurant's band on the ground floor and a party on the roof top Didn't get to sleep till 2pm. Hotel did upgrade me for free when I complained, thanks

    Good breakfast selection for 8 € pp

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Personnel really lacked interest in welcoming clients or providing any information about the surroundings - Parking a lot more expensive at the hotel than the public places near the hotel

    + great location near the Casino and close to the beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite small..pillows too hard! But I would certainly recommend this hotel!! Especially because staff was REALLY nice!!! Well priced.

    Staff VERY NICE!! Location GREAT!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Lovely Hotel,Lovely Staff, Great location, what else could you ask for. We stay many throughout the year in Sanremo and this Hotel in our opinion is the best ..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot because it was overall very good. Only "gripe" was car park charge!!!!

    Very comfortable. Location, food, room, breakfast one of the best at a great price.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff members were very kind, the room was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is located in a central location. The rooftop restaurant in which breakfast is served offers very nice views of the sea.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not super fiendly or welcoming. But they were helpful when asked for information. The bed was awful. Our room was a little convoluted and noisey. And they called it a superior double room.

    The location was good but a little difficult to get to because it was on a pedestrian street. They had to come and get our luggage and take our car somewhere else to park it. The breakfast was excellent and full of choice and only five Euros.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, comfy beds. Great for a few days with friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dated decor, uncomfortable bed, very noisy room compared to last years stay. Only news channels on tv

    Very good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheaper to book direct than through Booking.com

    Good restaurant recommendation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds

    The hotel was very noisy andThe beds where very uncomfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in corridor, very small room

    N/a

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Soundproof between the rooms is very bad, I almost couldn't get enough sleep during my stay from the noise of next room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good located, nice roof terrass for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. Nice rooftop deck for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the breakfast and the very attentive employees.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thé breakfast was awful , nothing fresh , coffee machine poor

    Roof terrace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The staff was very friendly, all of the speak English and I really felt like I was at home

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music till midnight. Too loud to sleep.

    Room and staff great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Great location, Very kind and hospitality I will come over and over again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not friendly, room was smaller than other four star hotels in Italy.

    Location was fairly good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking not great. Could be better. Car was just dumped in bus stop.

    Excellent location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast buffet and helpful personnel. We were on bike holiday, so the special bike room was really great to store our bikes!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located centrally.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a weird sewage smell in the room.

    It was warm in the room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, right in the center, next to casino and Ariston venue.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows and bed was a bit uncomfortable.

    Up graded to suite, location was brilliant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    We were a party of '3 adults & the room turned out to be a suite - excellent!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel situation excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As always the hotel of this network was on top. The ideal price for this quality

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was crammed and uncomfortable .wnd smelt

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great and the staff was very helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guys (older one's) at reception are very unpleasant and slow.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Breakfast on the roof top terrace

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice room, very good service, excellent location on the main street close to casino. Cheap (5 euro) and various breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for three people

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism was the juice at breakfast was not so good but everything was just superb!

    This hotel was just flawless!!!😍

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location & room size.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location. Breakfast terrace.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was noise on the street during the midnight and soundproof could've been better

    Breakfast was great, good rooftop and having a view, 5 euros is worth of it.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You can hear every noise and word of a guest staying in next room :(

    The hotel is situated in the very center of the town and is next to the casino and a local parking area. The room was small but had everything you may need for a short stay. Everything was clean and new.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The room was small and bathroom was awkward - it should have a sliding door. Breakfast was not a 4 star quality by far - no tomatoes, no bananas, no short-order cook.

    Bed was firm and excellent. Location is excellent. Cleaning lady very friendly and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For one night stay we paid 138 euros breakfast included. For that price you would expect to receive perfect service from a 4 star hotel and yet we felt we stayed in a cheap 2 star. Quite a disgrace for Best Western. The breakfast had almost stale bread (only two types), no tomatos, cucumber or any salad for that matter and scrambled eggs that were full of liquid. In the room we could not avtivate cooling system, the bed had the linen with uncovered duvet on top. The bathroom had a cheap plastic shower cabin. To top the experience we were awaken at 6.30am by near by very loud noise of cafe opening and people draging tables and chairs on the pavement in very front of the hotel reception.

    Location and staff service.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too firm for me and the weather was still warm but the air conditioning had been turned off for the season, so the room was hot.

    The hotel was beautifully presented and the room was lovely. A taxi ride was required to and from the train station to the hotel but the hotels location to everything else was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff at the reception is not very helpful, when we arrived nobody explained us anything, we had to ask everything ourselves:the location and the hours of the breakfast,the wifi,the keys of the safety box that was absolutely ridiculously small with an old key that can be copied without any problems. The pillows are just horrible. The junior suite is very very small, it can't be called a junior suite. In the room was very hot, we were told at the reception by a lady that they switched off all the climatisation systems from the 1st of October, that is unacceptable for the 4 star hotel. Very very noisy, we were woken up every morning at 7 am by the city noise. The second day finally the climatisation worked. Breakfast doesn't deserve 4 stars. Horrible eggs, synthetic juices, we couldn't drink it at all,absolutely chemical taste. We will not come back.

    The advantage was the perfect location and a good price. That's all.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was one of the best hotels where we have been around the Europe. Everything was just excellent - the staff, the hotel rooms, the breakfast. We have got an upgrade from Superior to Junior Sweet for free. It was an excellent stay - thank you so much!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed cover was not very fresh, the beach was not clean. Its not possible to find the parking and park without calling the hotel first. They also didnt take much cre of the car.

    The view was nice, the location was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast.

    The employers at the breakfast are not very profissional, and one of them was really rude. The breakfast was not in accordance with a four star hotel. Three star...and not very good.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The property needs a renovation. The wifi is slow and you have to ask for a "no-smoking" room because they will automatically put you in a smoking room.

    Location is great and the staff are alays smiling and eager to help.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel manager was excellent. He was always ready to help, flexible, courteous and always looking out for the customers interests. Good manager, motivated staff, great experience!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The internet was absolutely useless in this hotel, and yet again, the staff say "Oh well, it's because you have an Apple computer". What a load of rubbish. It's because the signal is nort strong enough. I am tired of hotels telling us this........just get over it and admist your internet signal is not good.

    Good location, nice room. Very helpful staff - apart from telling us our computers are "no good" :)

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The WiFi signal was poor in our suite. The cheese selection at the breakfast buffet was very limited and the cheese of minor quality.

    Our suite offered great value for money. The room service was always excellent and quick.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot tub was closed probably early season. Breakfast was okay but nothing remarkable

    Helpful reception staff. Valet parking was great and rooms very comfortable and very clean

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were professional however not very welcoming and friendly. They also failed to mention that breakfast was extra.

    The rooftop views at breakfast and newly re-furbed rooms.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: