Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel San Donato 4 stars

Via Zamboni 16, 40126 Bologna, Italy

#51 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1869 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff interaction hit and miss

    Great location my room was somewhat too warm and air conditioning did not allow for sufficient cooling. Otherwise reasonable value wise

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent 6 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, if you could have a plunge pool on the top terrace, it would be a 5 star hotel.

    All the staff were very helpful and always had a smile on their faces. Very helpful with information and booking taxis.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel would benefit from a little redecoration/modernisation but still lovely and would stay there again.

    The hotel is in a fantastic location. A very short walk to the main sights and restaurant/bars. Very helpful staff. Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Interesting city and very pleased with our choice of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Excellent location right in the old city centre. We paid extra for breakfast but there was a lot of choice and and it was excellent value. The hotel is old fashioned but very charming with a very hot roof terrace and another terrace outside the bar and breakfast room. Stunning views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable room right in the heart of Bologna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arriving to the hotel (don't follow the satnav, but use their guidance that they email to you before hand), we were greated by friendly faces and checked in straight away. The room was comfortable and had a lovely view over the city. The bathroom was very sizeable, my only complaint would be that the shower is not standing and so you have to sit to take a shower. This takes twice as long and is very uncomfortable and awkward. My advise to the hotel would be to extend the hose and put up a curtain. The view from the rooftop was incredible and the location is right in the heart of Bologna, plenty of bars and restaurants and 5mins walk to the towers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful stay and would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing to dislike about our stay here.

    This hotel is located just a minutes walk from the towers, so is in the heart of the city. Our room was was very comfortable and the air conditioning was very welcome. there are two terraces where you can sit out and have a drink in the evening or even eat breakfast out there. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place from which to explore the city. Fabulous views from the roof terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slightly noisy at times due to other guests having loud conversations in the corridor or letting their children use the corridor as a race track - but none of that was the hotels fault!

    Perfect location. Lovely friendly staff. Comfortable and clean room. Our bathroom a little tired with very small shower cubicle but our friends had a lovely spacious bathroom with a huge walk in shower. Roof terrace was great for views and when we were there, a place to escape to for peace and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay for husbands birthday, location was excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay for husbands birthday, location was excellent and hotel was just what we needed for one night. We didn't stay long enough to give more detail but would book again if going back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Marvellous week at the lovely and gracious San Donato Hotel in Central Bologna
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    All good.

    We had a wonderful stay at the beautiful San Donato hotel in central Bologna, perfectly located with easy access to many marvellous sights and museums, right by the landmark due torri/twin towers, the university buildings, major squares, restaurants, boutiques, cafés and the opera/Teatro Commune. Every day we enjoyed breakfast, teas, evening drinks and nightcaps out on the marvellous panoramic terrace. We never tired of the views and the warm and charming staff added to the comfortable and friendly atmosphere. Our room was generously-sized and airy--we kept the large windows open every night but the air conditioning was very effective when desired and there was plenty of hot water at all times. One of the bar men provided excellent guidance to restaurants and entertainment areas. The reception staff and dining room staff were always happy to assist with information and recommendations and in solving problems.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Nice location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The individual room was very small and needs a full refurbishment. Although everything in the hotel is comfortable and still works fine, it looks old.

    Big hotel nicely located in the city centre. Clean room and comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was terrible very hard and positioned agaist the side wall, the airconditioning struggled to cool the room. Constantly disturbed by staff wanting to enter the room.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    I got locked in balcony at 11pm because I close the door and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got locked in balcony at 11pm because I close the door and it was not possible to open it again from outside. I was rescued around 1am, however, I was quite disappointed. Worst hotel night I ever had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    For an hotel in the city centre, it is unlikely to be bettered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As our room faced the square, it was a little noisy but that was to be expected.

    We chose this hotel because of its location and it was perfect for that. It is not easy to get to by car as there are traffic restrictions that apply at certain times on certain streets, but apart from that, it fully met our needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Loved staying there. I think if i was there for longer i would have tried to change rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very plain and rather dark. There was a terrace but it felt very enclosed as the walls were very high.

    brilliant position. lovely terrace, friendly and helpful staff. excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff, comfortable room - more spacious than most for single guests. Reception team very helpful and check in/out very easy. Complimentary afternoon tea and coffee on the roof terrace was much appreciated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    A well run hotel close to the centre with very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was huge but the shower was surprisingly small. They obviously fit the same shower in every room irrespective of the space available.

    Excellent central location with terraces where we could have breakfast outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast out on the Terrace with views over the city. Right in the centre of the historic centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony wall was high so couldn’t see the amazing view

    Problem with the electrics in the room. Spoke to reception and by the time I had got back to the room it was already being fixed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, comfortable but smelly bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom in our room (inner courtyard) smelt really bad, especially in the morning. We didn't complain as I had read it is an issue so the hotel is clearly aware of the issue (also there was an air freshener on the top wall of the shower). I advise keeping the AC on while out of the room to prevent the smell becoming too strong.

    The rooms are a reasonable size with comfortable beds (I liked it though in another room my mum said it was a bit hard). The view from the little terrace by the bar is really nice and eating the breakfast there was a great way to start the day. Breakfast is worth eating at the hotel, even though it is not included in the room rate. The staff are friendly and helpful with anything you might need. Located really centrally!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    First night we arrived, our extra bed was not ready.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night we arrived, our extra bed was not ready. Staff was friendly, but it didn’t help our first night. Breakfast is not superb, but good value for money. Location was excellent, and the terrace overlooking the towers is AMAZING!! I wish we had a good start and could have given here better ratings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    the staff was very helpful , well educated and smartly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the furnishings are a little old

    the staff was very helpful , well educated and smartly dressed and the room was very clean. Even location is very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    central location, friendly staff and convenient parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a bit cold and outdated in my taste

    very nice hotel smack down in the center of town, everything within walking distance, parking although expensive is reasonable for the are, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer real juice for breakfast rather than fake. The bed could have been softer.

    Good range of choice for breakfast. Nice clean bathroom. Little balcony was a bonus. Brilliant location. The offer of a free in room kettle and drinks was great. I liked getting a bathrobe too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.4
    Location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration was old fashioned. Interior decoration was all green and red, carpets even on the walls. Ugly and dirty interior in the Receptionen. The smell everywhere reminded me about China. Some of the staff members were nice and service minded, but the majority seemed not to care about the guests. The girl in the Receptionen when we arrived, did a terrible job. A non service minded voice, as I call it in neutral terms. The breakfast area could be more inviting and the staff more smiling. How this hotel received 4 stars is a mystery to me.

    Location is perfect The small roof terrace next to the bar was nice with a beautiful view Bathrooms were cleaned nicely The hotel is in a building which raised our expectations as we entered the first day, but.....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice location with friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location. Single room was very small and quite basic in general. We stayed during a very busy time in Bologna for a major trade show so prices were very high and the money it wasn't anything special but it also wasn't bad. I would stay again. One issue I did have was the temperature of the room. On arrival the heating was set very high in the room so it was very very warm. I turned the heating off and when I retuned hours later the room was still very very hot and because the single room was so small with limited ventilation it wasn't a good night sleep that night and at 4.30am I spoke to reception who put me in another room for a couple of hours. I was later told my air con was not working and the hotel heating was on. Bar staff very friendly and reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is a bit old but still location is excellent in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    LAck of hot water in the morning in the shower was only negative point in the stay.

    Hotel is a bit old but still location is excellent in the middle of town. Pretty good breakfast and parking possibility was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    In the heart of Bologna - most historic buildings can be reached on foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was unimpressive and in unattractive room. Supermarket standard. Shower not very powerful - maybe cleaning shower head more often will help.

    Location in the heart of historic centre , quiet, traffic-free and yet efficient taxi service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.0
    BANG IN THE CENTRE OF BOLOGNA
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    EARLY CHECK OUT WE ORDERED A TAXI AND IT WAS NOT ORDERED . WE PAID THE BILL THE DAY BEFORE AND NIGHT PORTER TOOK A AGE TO CONFIRM THIS

    PERFECT FOR A BUSINESS TRIP. DOWNTOWN . RESTAURANTS NEARBY.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is clean, but its decor is dreary: it's old fashioned and gives off an institutional vibe. It's the difference between feeling 'wow' and 'yeah, fine' about a hotel.

    Excellent location, although it was a bit tricky to find by car - we went too far and had to reverse down a very crowded street. It's set back, overlooking a square for those planning to drive too. It The onsite parking (which one pays for) is a big plus. Staff are helpful and friendly. I imagine the terraces would be very pleasant in summer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Excellent price-quality ratio, location, and staff, but be aware of medieval sewage smell in WC
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell of sewage emitting from the bathroom drains in the room was sickening. I could hardly breathe in the room, so we left our window open at night. Cleaning staff did something to rectify the problem temporarily, but the smell returned after a while.

    San Donato is optimally situated in the heart of Bologna and gives off the charm of a bygone era. Staff are friendly and professional. Price-quality ratio is very good and breakfast (€6 p/p) is also fairly priced. Check out the fourth floor roof deck for stunning panoramic views of the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.0
    If I go back to Bologna I will for sure chose this hotel again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walls were not very sound-proof, I could here the neighbor snoring, but earplugs solved the issue

    The staff was very friendly and cared very much about my well-being. A water boiler and tea/coffee were available on the room upon request. The location is superior! I requested a quite room and there was no noise from the streets to be heard at all. The internet connection was stable and fast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful location and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For Italian standard the buffet was good - pancakes, eggs and bacon and muesli and yogurt. I ordered a cappuccino and it was a bit cold but otherwise great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in central Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture's of the hotel looks old and worn out

    The location of the hotel is amazing. Staff is very friendly and helpful, specially Ms Nicoletta at front desk showed high level of service & kindness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.3
    Nice enough, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise until 3 AM on Friday and Saturday night from students in surroundings streets.

    The staff managing breakfast were friendly and helpful. Overall pleasant and comfortable if unmemorable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    Very uncomfortable family rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family rooms placed just under the roof, almost without windows. The room was really very very dark, I didn’t like this place at all. Definitly very bad decidion to place families with children in these rooms.

    Very nice hotel terrace, excellent location in the city center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    The location of this hotel is great, literally in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are ok, clean, but should be more comfortable and renovated for a 4-star hotel.

    The location of this hotel is great, literally in the historical centre of Bologna. And the best thing about it are the most amazing views from the hotel‘s terraces! Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.0
    There is room for much improvement.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I used the kettle in the room for making tea. The tea turned out salty. There was cleaning residue in the kettle. This is a health risk. The pillows were hard as wood and gave us neck and head ache. Ventilation was really loud. Breakfast was cheap and nasty. The coffee from the automat was horrible.

    The parking on site was convenient but for EUR 24 per day very expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Incredible customer service, best possible location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The customer service makes up for the fact that the property is slightly tired....like many Italian hotels.

    The customer service in this hotel is FIVE star. The hotel itself may be a bit tired, however, the customer service goes beyond a five star in ensuring that your needs are met. From the breakfast room, to the upstairs bar to the front desk, the staff all recognized guests and asked if they could get you anything! Location can't be beat. My husband became ill while here and we needed a doctor to come to the hotel. The front desk staff were incredibly helpful and also very sympathetic. The housekeeping staff ensured we had what we needed without disturbing us to much. Even the staff I met in the halls, knew that my husband was ill and asked if there was anything I needed. I haven't experienced service of this top quality, in a long time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location. Easy to get to from the airport. Happy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was good. Rooms was renovated and very nice. The view from the room was of the other half of the hotel, so not good. But the view from our common area was of the leaning tower, excellent while having coffee or wine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    The perfect location for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location! - in the university district, the hotel is in the walking distance to sightseeing sites, shops, cafes,restaurant even the the Bologna Central Station. A few minutes to Teatro Comunale di Bologna where I saw Aida which ended just before 11:00 pm, and I was back to the hotel around 11:00 pm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.1
    Ok-ish
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful breakfast! Horrible, dry, cold pancakes. Terrible pastry (while in Bologna they do wonderful cornettos), just don't pay the extra money and head to one of the very good coffe places around.

    The reception personnel is so nice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    I paid online in advance.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid online in advance. When I checked out, they could not find evidence of payment. They made me pay again. Instead of attending the conference session I went to Bologna for, I called my credit card company, went through my bank statements, and went back to the hotel to show that I have already paid (twice, by now). They refunded me - but it is still striking, and in my case injurious, that they are incapable of using their own payment and accounting system.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What could,t you like ?????????

    We have been coming to San Donato for over 5 years , The staff are so friendly it,s just like coming home. They alway,s remember my husbands birthday and insist on him having a capperchino so they can right Happy Birthday alway,s look forward to going back

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    Though it feels a little like staying at your...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls are very thin, fortunately I had rather quiet neighbors. There are no chairs on the terrace.

    Though it feels a little like staying at your grandmother's house, it's very clean, with friendly staff and good breakfast. I had a lovely terrace overlooking the old city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.1
    Reliable accommodation in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor sound insulation between rooms and the corridor. Also, the hotel is located in the university district. Generally, this adds to the liveliness and vivacity of the area. But on the night of Nov 3, 2017 there was a rock concert nearby which ended at 0:40 after midnight. Hardly anything could be done, of course - just a feature which comes with this particular location

    Excellent location only a few steps from the Two Towers Very good breakfast (despite somewhat cramped space) with a beautiful view from window Nice rooftop area Helpful staff Check-out at noon gave us extra time to explore the city before moving on

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Despite the loud music, we thought our room, the location, the staff were all great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because the location was so perfect, we also could hear all the activities going on in town that night until about 2:30 AM. We are not sure if there was some type of festival going on or if it was a typical Saturday night.

    Our room was very spacious, plenty of space for 4 adults. Location perfect, liked the onsite parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    The staff at reception desk, recommended a restaurant, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the weather, only joking, we would stay hear again, ok, the shower could have been a little bigger, the price of a glass of beer & a glass of red wine was a little dear, it was 15 Euro, but I guess thats hotel prices, cheaper outside.

    The staff at reception desk, recommended a restaurant, it was perfect. Also their is a roof top area with good views of the city, another terrace near the breakfast area is fantastic. We got the red bus from the airport, it says 4 stops to hotel, but it is 3 stops. you get off at the last stop, its at the train station, then its a 20 min walk to hotel, not a 10 min walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Close to the center of Bologna and the towers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower area is a little narrow and dim. Window edges were too sharp and I hurt myself while opening the windows as they fell in and scratched my back(was quite a bad scratch but thank goodness I had a mini e-kit with me to wash and band aid the wound). Otherwise overall good experience.

    Close to the center of Bologna and the towers. Spacious room and bathroom. Sheets were clean and staff were helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    The best place to stay in Bolognia. You are right in the middle of it all.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Beware: although the bathrooms are top notch (clean, ample, modern), there are no showers. It is the typical Italian/British setting: a bathtub and a "telephone" shower. Other than that would love to spend an entire month there.

    The view of Bolognia from the hotel terrace is breathtaking. Staff is friendly, breakfast and coffee service superb. The location is perfect for visiting the city center and the building is both elegant and sober. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.0
    Bad experience in Bologna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not provide wake up service even though I have asked for this 3 times. Nerly missed my plane. Did not provide fresh towels daily. Problems with hot water availability.

    Location is excelent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay in a comfortable, quiet, centrally-located hotel with friendly and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Shower in need of upgrading (but satisfactory)

    Quiet room (as requested at back of hotel) Comfortable beds. Friendly and attentive staff. Location right at the heart of the historic centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    The Heart of Bologna is vibrant and energy abounds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is perfect...bar and restaurant right next door! The breakfast was filled with variety and customized lattes available! There are multiple outdoor terraces and a roof top terrace overlooking the city. The staff was great and actually all was amazing? Irish bar just around the corner!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Highly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound insulation between rooms and corridor not very good. Little terrace unswept, cigarette ends, no outside chairs. Should be told price of parking not just 'available'

    Bed very comfortable. Availability of tea and coffee very good. Staff very nice. Lovely terrace with view to the towers for drinks, and roof top panoramic terrace with tables, chairs and sunloungers. Wonderful sun set views. Man in reception very friendly and helpful on our arrival. Hotel in exceptional position for visiting all parts of the city. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    A convenient hotel in a wonderful city - lots of walking but also lots of food and drink
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At the breakfast buffet the toaster was not equipped to cook the bread efficiently - it took ages to brown

    the best thing about this hotel is its location - close to all the main attractions in Bologna within easy walking distance to wonderful shops and fantastic restaurants and bars the reception staff were particularly helpful and very pleasant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    Not sure I would stay again not good value for the money...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We rented the family room and it was spacious and clean but it has NO HEATER and if traveling with children it could be an issue I ended up with a sore throat... The living room has no TV nor anything more than a bench and a vinyl covered settee no one could sleep on so the extra room was not well used.. Tried to request a television but not available. We came for Cersaie show and it was triple the normal rate so $3,500euro for 6 days and although the location makes up for many of the short comings as a designer and procurement specialist familiar with Best Western I was disappointed at how run down the lobby and public spaces were. The food was average 3 of 4 days coffee/espresso had grounds and the pastries were hard.

    Best Part... Location, Location, Location, close o city center walkable to eat and shop and the staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Difficult to find by car but great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find by car but great location. It is located on the edge of a pedestrian only area which made it diffficult for GPS to locate. Loved the location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    I would not stay at this hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were super uncomfortable. Very hard, thin bedding. Bathroom shower stall very small and slippery. Overall a very uncomfortable room. I could not wait to move to another hotel for a better bed.

    The location was great and the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Value for money in this welcoming and central hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets a little thin and carpet in corridor a little tired. Suggest refurbish next year.

    The welcome received from the lady st reception was exceptional. Unfortunately she wasn't there when we left so we couldn't thank her personally. (She has dark hair & glasses). The hotel is very central although quite difficult to navigate to even when you have satnav. Beware of driving through restricted areas to get to the hotel. Try and book your parking in advance. All the staff are very personable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    Μέτρια
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff in reception are not so friendly and helpful. Parking cost is 24 € per day . Sound insulation does not exist in this hotel , very noisy from the other rooms .You can hear with every detail the conversations of the near room.

    Location was perfect 1 min from.the city Venter.The room was clean .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We specifically asked for a quiet room and we got one. But is was not very attractive. The shower had no hand shower and was very slippery.

    The location of the hotel could not be better. Breakfast on the terrace upstairs is very nice and not expensive (6 euro's p.p.). In front of the hotel on the square there is a very cheap but good students restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    We love Bologna ... we'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast croissants

    The location in the University district was perfect for us. Our room was comfortable and quiet ... what we had asked for. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. The rooftop terrazza for an aperitivo at sunset, surrounded by Bologna's Torre, was a plus. The carpark at the hotel was very convenient, but we were not aware till we arrived that it cost €24 a day. It was worth it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable , great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was pricey.

    Excellent location a few steps from the two towers. Room was compact but comfortable with a nice balcony and view over the terracotta roof tops of the city. Parking was useful in the area of town where visitor cars are now allowed....was pricey however.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, great for single female travelers and brilliant location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities for printing without asking, furniture needed on room balcony. Room a bit small but didn't spend much time in it.

    Staff were excellent, breakfast great. Location amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfasts only continental type.

    Hotel in the center of the historic city Bologna, everywhere nearby, parking on site, room with the view on the city and highest Bologna tower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.6
    All in all OK. Wouldn't stay there again simply too difficult to find. Even a cab driver couldn't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find. Tom-Tom just couldn't get it and too many one way streets and blind roads. Expensive parking when they need the car traveller as off beaten track. No choice but to pay as no other parking available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel with very pleasant staff. The hotel was quiet and had everything we needed for an overnight stay in Bologna. I would stay there again should I return to Bologna.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel but staff problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude. The hotel's wifi problem covering the whole of the second floor was known to staff but the response was very dismissive. Obviously they may not be able to solve the problem but to address their customers so poorly requires some staff training! It was not a second language issue just plain rudeness.

    The location is very central enabling easy walking around the older parts of the city. Good shopping streets nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location hotel not up to rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you arrive by car you have to use the hotel car park and at 24 euros a day it is expensive. The WiFi was advertised as working in all rooms I could only get a signal in the downstairs lobby area. The bathroom in our room was very small with the shower claustrophobic not suitable for a hotel of this alleged standard.

    Liked location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Great place and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although our room had a balcony / terrace no table or chair to sit.

    Great location... Staff are friendly... Close to everything and for 5 Euros breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    A charming hotel in the hearth of the old city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A charming hotel operating in an old building. Breakfast served on a tarrace with a magnificient view of the old town towers and roof tops. A very professional and kind staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first, we got a poor 3 star hotel instead of a 4 star.We thought that was the quality of the hotel.Fortunately for us, the air conditioning did not work in the first room and we got a better room.

    Great location, nice room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    The 4th floor panoramic terrace is a hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 4th floor panoramic terrace is a hidden gem that we only discovered on the day we left . It could have been made more of ie umbrellas and a few plants

    Helpful staff. Room had good aircon and was quiet. Really good central location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.1
    Brilliant location for visiting the sights of Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor of the hotel is a little faded and the bathroom in particular could do with being upgraded. However it was all perfectly clean and functional.

    The hotel is in a great location, very close to tourist attractions and many bars and restaurants. There are several outside terraces, which is lovely for breakfast, and the rooftop terrace is great for a drink at the end of the day. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Grate location and value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a little basic, tiled floors, dated furniture but all acceptable

    Central location and a few minutes walk to the Piazza Maggiore. very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Great location, and great service.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    non

    It's the second time and even better. Location is fantastic. The building is old and impressive Rooms are nice. Breakfast on the balcony. Parking on site (very important). Did I say location??

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    Location exceptional and the little terrace exquisite.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location exceptional and the little terrace exquisite. A smiling cup of cappuccino for breakfast reflects the passion with which the staff do their work.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Hotel San Donato traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: