Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel San Giusto 3 stars

Via Cristoforo Belli 1, 34137 Trieste, Italy

#29 of 40 hotels in Trieste

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 658 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had the view of an ugly alley but the rooms on the other side had a decent view of the street.. not a big deal as the room was good.. Good reception staff..

    Serves a decent breakfast. Easy to get into the town area by the bus with the stop only a few metres outside the hotel. Plenty of cafes around..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is costly, personnel not useful for tourist information, room and bathroom smaller than on all adds, 95% of channels on TV in Italian

    Well situated, clean room, nice bed, good breakfast, complimentary safe deposit box.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel informed that I cannot get Best Western points when rooms are booked via Booking.com. Additionally there is no rates in Booking.com including breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They advertise air-conditioning. however, they turn it off starting October. Biggest disappointment because I was unable to sleep. Not in the best location and we arrived on a Monday and most restaurants in the area are closed.

    Breakfast was awesome. Lots of choices. only 3 Euro per person. Rooms were clean and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive for what it is, in comparison with other places in town. It's a bit of a walk to the centre

    The hotel is comfortable enough, one of few places in town with 24hr reception

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find any control for the air conditioning. I would have liked it a little cooler in the room, but that was only a minor issue.

    It was a lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. It was great to park securely under the property. Breakfast was great and so cheap.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect.I wish I booked more nights.

    So clean, staff very professional and helpful. Their English was perfect. They provided alot of suggestions on places to go, even though we were there on a Sunday evening (most things are closed). Everything is walking distance, but we did take to public transit back because it started to rain. Michele, who worked in the front desk assisted with providing options of to and from the city centre. Last but not least, Breakfast was AMAZING!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a double bedroom, but initially the receptionist gave us a single bedroom. When I complained he immediately replaced to a double, so I felt this was nice try from him to cheat us. Old hotel on the hill side of the city, not so far from the center.

    Nothing really, it was OK to sleep.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower: it's difficult to set the desired temperature of the water.

    The hotel is near to the city centre of Trieste, you can easily reach all the attractions (San Giusto Castle & Cathedral, the promenades on the sea, Piazza Unità d'Italia). The staff has been really kind and helpful. The hotel has its own private parking, but since we stayed for Easter there was plenty of people and we weren't able to find a parking space for every night, anyway there are some other parkings nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from city center but still very easy to get to tourism places and train/bus stations by bus directly.

    The room was very nice, large and comfort. 3 Euro for breakfast is worth it. The staffs are very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet area for a good night sleep.Good selection for breakfast where beside prepare American coffee you can also order expressly made cappuccino or espresso. two bus lines just 20 meters away.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small (unlike picture), i could not fit under shower (my head was hitting showerhead). Receptionist did not have bowl or bucket for ice. Really old air conditioner. Underground parking have big drop (we hit bottom of our car into the ground - no warning sign), but as we we're leaving staff laid some carpets on the ground so they protected car while exiting.

    Staff was very polite and friendly. Breakfast were very good, variety of food to choose from. Private parking under hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    coffee at breakfast could have been better.

    staff were very friendly. it was easy to get there with the bus. I was really impressed by Trieste a lovely city

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The garage is extremely tight, ( I have an Audi 4), you can hardly park your car.You cannot reserve a place so there is only a matter of luck to find a place. In order to park, I had to make very many movements. And it costs 16 euro/day. The shower place is extremely small (aprox.70/70 cm) so if you are a bit taller or robust, it is a problem to have a decent shower. The room very small- we had a twin for which I paid 103,50 euro/night. We could hardly move in the room.We could not bring our luggage after we saw the dimensions. I think this hotel is not for the Best Western chain as it has almost nothing of the BW values.So do not be fooled by the name !

    The beds were comfortable.The bed linen was very clean. The receptionist ( Michele) very helpful and polite. The breakfast is varied but variety is full only at 7.20 hours. So, if you are an early bird, you may not have everything on the offer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small range of foreign tv channels :)

    Unusually rich breakfast (not included), good wifi, air-conditioned room, 15 minutes walk from the centre, helpful staff, own parking lot (not free of charge), very good price-value rate, comfortable pillows

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee satchels in room, but that is the only observation, not a criticism.

    Provision of secure parking, location to bus stop for the centre, beautiful city.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was wonderful and gave a real variety of delicious food! The room was very spacious and perfectly clean. The bed and towels were changed every day! The staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful with directions and advice. The price was very good value for money and I was genuinely surprised how nice it was considering the low cost.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room.

    Michele was a great help at check in with info about Trieste. On site parking. Bus to the port across street. Lea was sweet and bery accomodating in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost

    Garage - breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower drain was clogged, dirty water wouldn’t drain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking rate 16€ 😡😡😡

    room and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was really good, room is okey , I would recommend this hotel for short stay in Trieste

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location noisy, room small

    Pastries were delicious, especially potica and other Slovenian types, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laberynth to get into room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Easy location. Serviced well. Staff very helpful and rooms very big and comfortable. Breakfast excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy at reception was very rode

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is very dated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking.

    The breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit expensive, not very comfortable

    Nothing in particular

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    you can hear your nabours very good through the walls

    Very friendly, Very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was more than worth the extra cost! Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircon not strong enough, it was hot outside and the system struggled to keep temperature down

    quiet room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i liket everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely helpful staff even though there was a language difference.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The park car

    The bedroom

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessibility of the hotel parking VERY difficult.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was very poor

    The bed is very comfortable, room is very clean and stuff is very helpful and kind

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit complicated to find the hotel which is quite far from the center of Trieste

    Lovely staff and very good value breakfast .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room clean. International breakfast. Staff were helpful and cheerful as well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice staff. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was rather tight and also the lift was very small

    Nice breakfast, clean room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really worn out hotel. Far away from center of city, approximately 30 min walk.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't speak for the other rooms, but I had a basic single and it was very small and dated!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. It was great to have parking. Walking to the center was about 15 mins and there was a bus stop almost outside the hotel

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no good transport to the city centre you need taxi. there isnt a minibar in the room, but you can get drinks from recep.

    breakfast was really good ++ bathromm clean + it was not noisy, good to sleep +

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is a little outside of the center and you have to walk around 25 minutes. When we ate breakfast at 9 (it is from 7-10), there were no plates, no forks and no cups for the coffee which was really annoying.

    It was a very nice stay, the stuff was nice and there is free parking in the area around!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit expensive for a small room in a hotel that's not even in the center. Also €16/day for parking on top of it was a bit excessive.

    - Nice breakfast - Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Generally, in Italy you cannot have a dinner before 1/2 8 - 8. You come back to the hotel at around 1/2 10- 10. The bar in the hotel is already closed at this time, you are offered only to have water, beer or coffee.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I would have liked a barfridge.

    The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was really very helpfull and friendly. I loved the coffee machine in the lobby for quest use. Best coffee in the world.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was not ready to check in until 4pm , expensive parking and if you pay 18EUR /night there is no guarantee to find a spot if you leave and want to park again in couple hours. Hotel is pretty far from the city center.

    Pretty good selection of the breakfast , clean place but the common are needs some update.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi connection was a bit unstable at times but working well most of the times

    Magnificent breakfast, friendly staff. The hotel has a distinct Italian character and some individuality. It is located away from tourist areas with good dining facilities in the neighbourhood. Good bus connection.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room quite small and dull. Shower cabin small. No minifridge in the room. Lucky for me I didn't spend much time in the room.

    Breakfast is indeed ok. Good cappuccino. I liked seeing the hotel is pet friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi was not working because of some problems not caused by the hotel.

    We liked the approach of the staff, they were very helpful, excellent breakfast, and a quite good location.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The attitude of the chief, the claviger and the staff in general was extremely attentive. Attentive to important items, but certainly ALSO to [seemingly] less important subjects. I have highly appreciated this attention for perfection in service !!

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room size could be a bit bigger for a longer stay. For a day or two, OK.

    Staff friendly, helpful and ready to meet guests needs. Our request for extended car parking easily accommodated. Breakfast choice superb!

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no fridge in the room for cool drinks storage, or any kettle for making of coffee / tea in room. Also a much larger shower cubicle would be appreciated especially for larger person...600mm x 600mm is not big enough.

    Central position to the city excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The moquette in the room and the room itself was really small. You can stay there only for one night.

    The breakfast was really good and the staff was really nice.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking 16e!??? This 16e per day is too much (you dont need it) but i will still give you 10

    Five star breakfast, stuff, very clean appartment, every day change of towels

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You need Sat Nav to locate bedroom. The location is a non starter for restaurants, bars and nightlife. But I can't blame B.W. for that. Rather an observstion for fellow travellers.

    Overall the hotel was fine. It's surprisingly cheap.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    THE HOTEL WAS VERY GOOD BUT I WOULD ONLY GIVE THE ROOMS 8. AS WITH THE HEAT THE ROOMS NEED A FRIDGE SO WE COULD HAVE COLD DRINKS OF OUR OWN IN IT

    it was very good stay I WOULD RECOMEND THE BEST WESTERN AT SAN GIUSTOTO ANY ONE GOING TO TRIESTE THE STAFF WERE ALL VERY HELPFUL FROM CLEANERS TO BREAKFAST AND RECEPTION STAFF WERE MOST HELPFULL .IF YOU ASK ME I WOULD GIVE ALLSTAFF 10 OUT OF 10.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was quite small.

    Best breakfast ever! The room was nice and comfy. Nice private parking lot (garage) with access from the lobby. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    filled it in wrong. Good hotel pleasant clean good breakfast comfortable. Helpful staff. location maybe a bit far from central but lots of public transport

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It didn't have any fridge and Mini bar. Small rooms. Far from the old city.

    its location nearby the bus stop to the train station. Its breakfast. Free wi fi. Beds and pillows

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was great but felt Trieste didd't have a unique cultural personality of its own. Yes some great historic sites but we travel for the cultures too. Trieste seemed to be lacking in this category. Strange how you don't realise how important something is until you find t's not there.

    The hotel was great. Helpful at reception, excellent breakfast. Hard to find Italian restaurants close by. Lovely turkish ones though

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i bit far to walk to the centre or main areas which i did twice. so if your not fond of walking this might be problem, not much around the hotel a few small bars and cafes and local shops.

    very good staff, helpful and very good on the really friendly at breakfast and good food too. very comfortable apartment as i was not in the main hotel as over booked. reasonable location. great little pizza place called st james near the church very close to the hotel. local bus 1 went right to the central train station outside the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a very inspiring location. Garage use was a bit expensive. Wifi was tricky to use: my wife had trouble connecting/authenticating using her smartphone (Android 4.1.2) and the connection was like hijacked - visiting any page provoked a prompt for getting a battery optimizer software or so (an annoying experience I did not experience anywhere else and probably elevated risk for less tech savy users).

    Solid room (not expecting anything inspiring for the price), solidly clean. Though near the regularly busy street soundproof when windows were closed. It was good it had a usable garage.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel charges credit card twice for the same amount of Euro 57.60 without my approval. Dishonest reception staff. They also took my passport without returning me till I went down quickly to ask for it again. Very bad experience!

    Nothing!

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is very difficult to find a place where to park around the hotel. And the option offered by the hotel is very expensive

    Staff and services are very good. Wifi very fast

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Couple

    It was a windy night and impossible to sleep. Doors banging and things rattling. Staff not interested. We were leaving at 2.00 for a ferry and never slept a wink. No apologies and even charged us full 16€ for car park.

    Wifi.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the area around the hotel was dead after 9pm - no bars or restaurants were still open then parking around the hotel was difficult, and there was a hotel garage (that I didnt know about) that charged for parking

    staff were very friendly and helpful, room and breakfast were also very good

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel has no safe place to keep valuables dangerous place if you do a do it yourself tour , even the taxis cant be trusted

    Castles, tram, caves museums

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is quite far from the Castle and Center City.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the AC and air ventilator in bathroom are really noisy

    Good room and staff really excellent

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is OK

    Everything is OK. I like this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somehow "old fashioned" but not bad if simply want a place to sleep... Quite noisy...

    Reasonable...

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Hotel San Giusto traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: