Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villafranca 4 stars

Via Di Villafranca, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#658 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 687 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location - 10 minutes walking from Roma Termini...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dark, the furnishings and cleanliness doesn’t correspond to a 4 star hotel. However, the bed was comfortable. As well, on the published photos of the hotel in booking.com there is a kettle in the room with coffee and tea, however there wasn’t any coffee and tea.

    Perfect location - 10 minutes walking from Roma Termini Station, 4 minutes walking to Castro Pretorio Metro Station ( Blue line Subway) and 30 minutes walking from almost all main monuments and museums - Fontana di Trevi, Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Colosseum etc.., except the Vatican Town. The staff - extremely polite and responds immediately to the clients needs. The food is acceptable - continental breakfast - pastries, cereal, yogurts, scrambled eggs, cheese etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    4.2
    Dishonest personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room with a roof terrace. When we arrived, they gave us a room with a balcony. We asked to be given the kind of room that we had booked and we got a serie of different answers: 1) terrace is equal to balcony, you have the room you paid 2) the hotel doesn’t have that kind of rooms. There is only a smoking terrace. After we showed pictures from booking.com via our reservation, they told those rooms are fully booked. We replied that we are one of those who booked the room with a terrace. After that we discussed with the manager who told that rooms with a terrace are under renovation (that was also the truth, we checked that). We were given a discount which was only half of the difference compared to a normal room (we had booked two different rooms because there were 4 of us travelling). We didn’t like the way they handled this. The unavailability of the booked room should have been told us beforehand rather than lying us after we had noticed the wrong room by ourselves. We will not choose this hotel when we next time visit Rome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    You're lucky only if you get a room with terrace
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was partly renovated, but the whole structure seems pretty worn out. My room was very small and really old

    Nice position if you want to stay close to public transport. My room had a beautiful terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Fine for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tiny, our balcony was almost as large as the room, bathroom was tired and the shower wasn't great. It did the job for a couple of nights but I wouldn't recommend a long stay.

    Stay was pleasant enough, you're close to a metro but it's not far from the main station of Rome so it's a little dodgy around the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellant front staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Problems with shower and bidet that didn't work.

    Please help me understand that shower?? It wasn't until the last day at the hotel that I didn't flood the bathroom floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay in Roma
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom dated Toilet seat very marked ,needed replacing

    The welcome at reception and contact ongoing with reception staff Comfortable room plenty of space

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall good hotel but pricey and not in my view the standard expected for a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had a terrace which was great but it was poorly maintained. The room we had was quite small, there was leak in the bathroom when showering, quite a lot of water on the floor.

    Good location, great staff very helpful. Breakfast OK but not outstanding. Hotel is clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.2
    It was average due to the hotel facilities which lack maintenance.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is not "ergonomic". It is not easy to live in the room. Furniture is old and sometimes broken. The toilet paper holder fell broken. the mini bar is empty. There is not enough space on the shelves to put your things. There is no place to hang a towel next to the sink. The shower cabin is very small with no place to put the soap. In one word, it lacks comfort. The numbers on the phone are erased with the time.

    Staff was efficient. The cleaning staff was efficient and nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Good spot for over night stay in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one minor thing. The bathroom is a great size but the shower head was very loose and it had to be held to get a decent shower.

    The hotel has an excellent breakfast and begins at a good time if you are catching early train or plane. It is about a ten minute walk to train station, a bit much with luggage but doable. Be careful if you take a cab. Make sure it has a taxi sign on roof and a meter. We got taken.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.0
    the worst journey i have taken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the reception is so rude with the problem happened in the room's facility and no patience to deal with that. the city tax is very high at six euro per person, which i have met during my touring around european.

    it is good except the location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.8
    All together I would not complain much, because most of the day you do sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not the cleanest.It was room number 702 on the top floor. Some things were broken and it was really looking old. The breakfast was a little bit poor.

    I liked the close walking way to the Rome Termini central station and it is good that you are in the center.Many good restaurants are nearby, especially the one on opposite of the road with super kind staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant stay in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room, on the 7th (top floor) seemed a little tired. All facilities were there but quite a small room, in need of a bit of refurbishment. Constant hum during the night from AC generator. Shower head did not stay on wall bracket so rather frustrating when the the water was in full flow and the head suddenly flew off the wall.

    The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel location is really good - just a 10 minute walk from Termini, a couple of minutes to the nearest Metro station , many restaurants and bars nearby and a supermarket in the adjacent road. Plenty of choices available for the included breakfast. Very good value!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    November in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is situated under a metro line so if you have problems sleeping, that might be the reason (we had no problem). The breakfast did not vary from day to day... And was not very vega friendly, but apart from that ok. Also the hotel should email the visitors and informing them of the city tax, although there is a notice at the check in desk.

    Very friendly staff, very clean room, close to city centre and very close to metro and bus station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    A nice one day stay, close to Termini and in a clean and comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They need to offer a gluten free option menu for breakfast

    The room was very clean and the mattress very comfy. The shower was great too! Also the neighborhood is really nice and it's pretty close to the Termini train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, friendly staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a twin room and the room was quite small but if you plan on spending most of your time out of the hotel, this didn’t matter.

    The hotel is located very close to Termini Station which we found you could easily access the rest of Rome from by the metro. We flew into Chiampino airport and got a shuttle to Termini, we did the same going home. The shuttle bus stop is only 5 minutes from the hotel. Breakfast is also really nice in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    Fine for a bargain price but it's really only a 2.5 star not 4 star as advertised unless bad rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and bed hard. Decor very old. Bathroom was too small and in bad condition.

    Clean place helpful staff good restaurants nearby and close to metro and central station Termini

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location from city of Rome and station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sign to the hotel very small and hidden behind trees. Offers TV but nothing in English. Temperature of the room was cold.

    Breakfast had a really good selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    3.3
    Would not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception male staff needs a lesson in dealing with the people who pay the money that pays his wages. Rude. The barman did not speak English and did not understand my attempt at asking for vino. The beds are hard as a board, asked for another room told they are all the same. They provided a mattress overlay. The room is so small, its like a dog box. The breakfast really poor.

    Liked the location, easy to get around. Good restaurants close by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    2.9
    I did't expect to see hotel in this condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    I did't expect to see hotel in this condition. Price doesn't worth it(that time was 159 euro per night). Inside so dirty even iron is so dirty. Location is not so closed for termini. It's walking distance but not on the next street. it's around 500-700 meters.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.3
    Functional, practical good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower was small to say the least. Bar service was slow Room decor scruffy Our room was much smaller than our friends

    Excellent location for visiting, the staff were helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    A great choice for budget travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 star rating was misleading. Appeared more like a 2 or 3. Carpets in common areas were not vacuumed sufficiently. Not attentive to maintenance-- like burnt out light bulbs and window shutters that blew in a the breeze. No pens or writing tablets. Very small bathroom with damaged ceiling plaster. Shower stall was minThe whole place needs a renovation. It felt less me a tourist trap.

    Good breakfast. Quiet street. Near Termini Station where friends were staying. Staff at desk were helpful and welcoming. It was very inexpensive for Rome, but I'd prefer to pay more for more comfort

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.6
    Decent stay for a quick trip in Rome. But overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed. Dated decor in and around the hotel. Only the Lounge/entrance has been refurbished. Breakfast selection is poor. Not many options for vegetarians.

    Friendly staff, okay breakfast selection. Okay facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location for city sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be nice if the hotel could improve the breakfast, it was to basic.

    The welcome at the arrival and the staff behavior was excellent during the whole stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Good, but nothing fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not fantastic. Definetely eatable still. Hotel is a bit worn, not according to European 4-star standard. Still very okayish, and good compared to some other places on Rome.

    Location is superb. Close to Roma termini and many nice restaurant nearby. Staff very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    1) Excellent room service / cleaning staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Although a welcome drink as an offer by the hotel was included on my booking list, I never received such a thing. 2) Disenchanted of the awful image of little flying bugs around the breakfast buffet, entails the fruits weren't fresh... unquestionably

    1) Excellent room service / cleaning staff 2) Considering we had forgotten to bring tooth brushes and slippers with us, 2 pairs of both were offered to us, w/o charge

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    excellent value for money hotel, in a good location for a visit to the eternal city,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms are a little on the small side, but we did not book the hotel for its spacious rooms,

    it was exactly as described, close to the main railway station and close to a metro station as well, for getting around the city, breakfast was acceptable, and a good meal to start the day with, acknowledge that the rooms are small, but this is not a hotel to be spending a lot of time in, but a value for money hotel, close to all attractions,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    Good Location. Unfriendly Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff in the reception were incredibly unfriendly. It seemed like a chore anytime we asked them a question.

    The location is great. It's a short walk away from the train station, which is easily accessible from the airport and you can also use this train station to get all around Rome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.0
    Great Location but poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was basic and the bed wasn''t the most comfortable. I think it was great value for what you actually gor for whatvwas soent. Breakfast was basic. Just dont expect a wow experience when staying at this hotel. My Tv didn't work and they didnt ever answer phone at reception from the room.

    Best thing regarding the property was the location and being close proximity to everything in Rome. Fernando at the hotel was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Close to termini
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were pretty dated with the showers not being very powerful. The breakfast was nice but was pretty basic for a 4 star hotel.

    The location of the hotel is good for people travelling by rail with a 5 minute walk to termini. As you walk in to the hotel it looks very modern and welcoming

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Great location, close to the main train station and has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to the main train station and has loads of restaurants close by. Room was clean and prefect for a city break. Staff are all welcoming and so helpful. Would come back again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was nice most of the time the front desk staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Run down initially we were given a different room for 2 days wires coming out of wall. definitely not 4 star. Front desk staff mixed infriendliness. WiFI not consistent in public area.

    Breakfast was nice most of the time the front desk staff was helpful. Close to metro and hop on hop off bus. WiFi good in room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    The location is near by metro and the main train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is smaller then I expected. Lobby looks newly renovated but not the room.

    The location is near by metro and the main train station. Very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definately not a 4 star (well our room at least!) Really needs a renovation - the lobby/reception was nice and looks very modern. Room - not so much.

    Close to train station. Breakfast was pretty good!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Very close to the central station-but that also means that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast-very poor selection, experienced angry personal at the reception desk twice :/ rooms look much more like 3-stars rooms in real.

    Very close to the central station-but that also means that you are in the bad part of Rome :P Nice lobby, good cafe, fast cleaning of rooms, breakfast/reception personal was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negatives

    Great location handy to train main train station and metro stop subway just around corner. Handy superette and laundry. Super friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Very good location, near to metro station, helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good location, near to metro station, helpful staff, quiet room, older furniture but functional, breakfast tasted, small selection of meals. Overall satisfaction

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked into an ugly quad with peeling paint, broken drainpipes and air con units. Promised transfer did not arrive, waited nearly an hour in the airport, possibly not hotels fault.

    Their honesty. Overpaid on checkout, and they ran out before taxi arrived to sort it out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    DT Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was promised a free drink as part of genius status on arrival which did not materialise. The room was very small and looked out into communal back yard with other adjacent residents able to look into my room. The room/bathroom requires upgrading and the bed was very hard. Other rooms looked much larger than ours and had a view to the road. The Hotel was a fair way from the main attractions.

    It was a limited breakfast selection but food was fresh and nice. The staff were all very polite and friendly. The rooms were clean and towels changed daily.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    3.3
    Aweful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WE were thoroughly disappointed with the service of the hotel. Our room was bad, the paint was coming off in the bathroom. The mini bar was leaking, breakfast was not up to the standard of a 4 star hotel .... The list is endless....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.3
    Great location but very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit strange but fine. Very basic facilities and not very friendly staff so not ideal if you are looking for comfort and great service.

    Was really well situated about a 5-10 minute walk from Termini and 1 minute from Castro Pretoria. Perfect if you just need a place to lay your head and will be exploring the rest of the time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location but room looks old
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound proofing of rooms since can hear movements of the room on top. Toilet bath tub easily clogs and bath tiles have molds. Not sure how come hotel is rated as 4 star.

    Location is great as near Roma Termini and short walk to Castro Pretorio metro.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.5
    Close to Termini but away from the crowds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Matress too stiff. Wifi not really working: signal coming and going. Electric outlet next to bed not working, not even after repair. Breakfast: some pastries seemed stale.

    Good position within walking distance from both Stazione Termini and University La Sapienza, but tucked in a small street away form the noisy, crowded areas. Modern decor. Clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Ideal hotel to visit Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast no water available.

    Great friendly stuff always ready to help. Very comfy bed and spotless bathroom, good breakfast and varied. As for location it is great close to train station and to airport shuttle services. Most of the key historical sites are within walking distance. As for restaurants, it is no problems various outlets very close by.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    5.4
    I lost my money during the stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I lost ~400-500 AED that I put them in my luggage during the stay. People should be very careful when staying in this hotel. Please keep your money with you. I do not feel safe.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.3
    Great location, very close to Metro and only 6/7 mins...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower leaked in the bathroom and complketely wet the floor and seeped out even to the carpet.

    Great location, very close to Metro and only 6/7 mins from Termini, nice quiet location. Good beds and room was ok.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffe faculties in room you had to ask reception for these. We did not recieve welcome drink which was advertised on booking confirmation. City tax added on to room fee 6€ per person per night extra.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Great cheap hotel with amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We arrived at 11pm and the lady at reception couldn't have helped us more. We checked in very quickly and were told about all the local attractions nearby. The lobby is modern and clean. Bar area was very nice too. Our room was beautiful. Small but had everything we needed. Kettle and iron were provided. Room was cleaned everyday and sheets changed. Breakfast was lovely. Lots of different variety of pastry and cakes. Also served hot food like sausage, bacon and scrambled eggs. Staff were so helpful. They couldn't do any more for us. Great locAtions also. 5 minute walk from Termini station that will take you anywhere you need to go. This hotel was a great base for our stay in Rome.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice, clean, central, excellent value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking outside front entrance wafted into rooms above entrance. Sometimes noisy late at night with partying across Street

    Hotel was central, rooms spotlessly cleaned every day, all staff very friendly and helpful, good choice available and plentiful continental buffet breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    5.4
    BELLA ROMA!!!!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ONLY ITALIAN TV. THE VIEW FROM THE ROOM WAS NON EXISTENT . LAST MORNING NO WATER TO TAKE A SHOWER, SOME PROBLEM WITH THE PLUMBING! PROBABLY 2 STAR HOTEL NOT MORE!!!

    AVERAGE ROOM ONLY O.K. GREAT RISTORANTE AROUND THE CORNER ON VIA PALESTRO CALLED TAVERNA PRETORIANA. 5 STARS! TELL THEM YOU KNOW SEAN FROM IRELAND AND YOU GET 10% DISCOUNT :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Overall quality and value of room, breakfast and staff. This was our third stay in 5 years. Easy walk to Termini ( Central rail and bus station). Metro station 2 minutes. For late arrival there are a couple of late-night pizza places around the corner

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    6.7
    Clean rooms and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was not good. Kept going in an out and would not load sites that we need for our logistics throughout our trip. Needs to be fixed or updated.

    Clean rooms and good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Beds were uncomfortable.

    Staff was exceptional. I mistakenly left 50 Euros on my bed in the morning. When I returned in the evening the cleaning staff had placed the money on the side table. Kudos to an honest staff!!! Location to metro is great, breakfast is good. Staff was very helpful with directions and tourist information.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    5.4
    Good location, average room and everything else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room. Very expensive for what it was. Rooms were a little older than what was shown in the pics and i dont know how it has all the stars, its pretty basic in terms of comfort and style.

    good location, 3mins from a metro stop, almost 10mins walk from termini.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Family friendly hotel for your Rome adventure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were super helpful,and did everything to make us feel welcome and valued.... my daughter had hic cups on arrival and the first thing they did was to give her a bottle of water for them. This set the bar for the service that didnt drop throughout our stay. Great location, with most sites within half an hours walk. Throughly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    3.8
    NOT a 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not a four star hotel. This is a very shabby hotel with three or even two stars. The lobby is slightly refurbished, but other rooms are the same as in the early '90 I guess. Our room had problems with lighting (the light turns on when someone turned it on in the next room). You can imagine this in the middle of the night. The fridge wasn't working. Bed was terribly uncomfortable, all the bedclothes (and the entire room) were dusty. There was a strange synthetic blanket instead of cotton sheet in the cot. The bathroom is nasty, old, with a leaking shower. Breakfast consisted mainly of the cheep pastries and was served in not so clean room that looks like the dining room in the train station. We were happy to leave, though we stayed here for the one night only.

    Staff found a larger room for us to put a baby cot.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard. Did not stay for breakfast. Early flight. Night reception recommended excellent trattoria only two blocks away. Leoni D'Abruzzo. Excellent food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    5.4
    I will not stay the hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water cannot pass throw the sink in the bathroom. The air con in the room is not functioning well, very hot! The staff is not very friendly.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice and comfortable accommodation :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is small and wifi isn't good. There is no slipper in the room so take it yours with you.

    We stayed in a clean family room for 3 nights. It is located near the main train station "Roma Termini" and reception gave us a touristic map. Colosseo is 20 minutes away from Hotel by walking.Staff is also kind, helpful and smiling. Breakfast is served until 10.30.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.9
    Rome 2016
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of restaurant was deplorable. Breakfast service was a mess and shoddy. Get more staff to work breakfast times. Rooms could do with refurbishment.

    Location close to train station and sites Reception staff friendly and helpful Lobby lounge and bar is modern and light Luggage storage on day of check out

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    5.8
    Definitely not a 4star hotel. Strongly NOT recommended
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small with almost not comfort. Breakfast was mediocre and not really tasteful. The internet connection was a nightmare (dial-up-like speed and too many disconnections). Additionally, there was too much noise from outside until two o' clock after midnight!

    It was close to Metro Station and to Roma Termini. The room was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.9
    Staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints

    Staff was very helpful. We had a room with a terrace which made the room a great place to be. I think inside rooms would not be as nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.8
    EXCELLENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast.

    Excellent location-6 min. from Termini and 50 m. to bus 492 / to Piaza Venecia and Vatican/ Very clean rooms and bathrooms.Polite staff.The breakfast is super for the money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.1
    Not bad but not the best four star hotel I have stayed in by some way..........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being fobbed off my the receptionist who advised my girlfriend that it was not possible to book on-line tickets for the bus back to the airport and as a result, we nearly missed getting on this bus and missed our flights ! Shower leaked too which is not good for a hotel trying to be a four star hotel......

    Breakfast selection was reasonable selection and room was nice but in general seemed to be at the lower end of the range for a four star hotel.....

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    6.7
    I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Via Villafranca 9, 00185 Rome, Italy The 4 stars hotel is a 6 min walk from the central train station Termini or even closer on the metro Castro Pretorio. Situated in good place for sightseeing. The hotel is an easy walk to all the major sights. Seemed OK when I saw the reception, however when I saw my room I was very disappointed. Room situated in the 6 level of building with nice balcony for smokers. The clean ashtray was in the table. I was a little bit confused because in my note to staff of reception I asked for “no smokers room”. My 2 person room was clean but very tiny with no place to unpack and settle in. The bed was comfortable, soft and after long trip I slept just fine. The bathroom is also small. However, hairdryer, towels are good. Staff are extremely helpful and professional. The room itself was functional but a little meager. Furniture old, perhaps from 90’s. The room and bathroom looks like distinguished old lady early morning. Free wi-fi, a safe, coffee corner and small fridge in room. A few free TV channels but reception was poor. No in the room ironing board and iron. The typical Italian breakfast during 4 days was the same. Many sweet rolls and croissants. Additional some scramble eggs, ham, sausages. No olives and boiled eggs. Not fresh rolls and bread. Question is: why every morning in the 6 floor from 6 o’clock I smell fresh bread ? I had to stay here it's labeled as a 4-star hotel, but really I would label it as a 2.5 to 3-star, sorry. What is more, close this hotel situated so many 3 stars hotels with adequate for this stars prices. People search 4-stars hotels according adequate conditions and price. Good idea for the future start search from 3-stars. Condition the same or better but price is lower. Beware traps in tourists ways. Remember to add the 6 Euro per person per night city tax payable direct to the hotel at the end of your stay. Stayed here 4 nights and will never stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    5.8
    Friendly staff - Don't bother paying for a superior room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The 'Superior room' was not very superior at all. The extra space equalled to a regular double room in most hotels I've been to, and when we asked for a different room we ended up chosing a smaller room ('regular') with a balcony instead, as the rooms were virtually the same.

    The location was good and the staff was very friendly and accommodating with all our requests. The breakfast was simple, but good. Great coffee and beautiful reception area :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice and clean and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for double bed, but it didn't bother us so bad

    Very clean, short walking distance to roma termini and quiet area. Next time surely we will come back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    The location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful No amenities in the room (kettle) (cups) For a four star hotel this was a joke

    The location was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    Pretty old
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty old They are renovating it seems to be

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location and very helpful owner
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and very helpful owner

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.4
    Too old, rickety , extremely small rooms , not worth the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too old, rickety , extremely small rooms , not worth the paid value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    One sunny day and one rainy day but still love Roma.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to Termini, metro, good restaurants and Villa Borghese.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    It was a fantastic hotel and Rome was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I found all the staff were very friendly helpful, we was in walking distance of all the main attractions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Everything was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good!))

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.3
    Business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive

    Position is perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    In general, i would rate this hotel average as there were pluses and minuses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed size, in sufficient breakfast, unsmiling reception personnel, low speed of elevator

    Location, balcony of the room, proximity to metro station

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Villafranca traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: